Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
105,405 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 3500 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chevrolet Silverado 3500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 3500 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #34

Feb 122014

Silverado 3500

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Why isn't NHTSA forcing GM to recall all these trucks and SUV's with badly rusting brake systems"?" my 2001 Chevy Silverado 3500 has major brake issues due to rust/corrosion. I was traveling the interstate and went for my exit, stepped on the brake pedal and it went to the floor, nearly a no brake situation, fortunately I still had my front brakes working. This truck spends it's nights in the garage, and is well cared for with low mileage for a 2001 (only 98,000) miles, my 2002 Dodge Grand Caravan has 210,000 miles! and I've never had any issues with brake-line rust/corrosion. I don't feel safe taking my truck on long vacations or using it to tow a travel trailer (which is why I bought it) and it only has 98,000 miles, but my trusty Grand Caravan gives no problems with its brake performance even with 210,000 miles.

- Rossville, IL, USA

problem #33

Mar 122014

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • 137,500 miles
My wife was backing up the truck to give me and my stuck four wheeler a tow and just barely got the truck to stop. I jumped in to move it and the brakes went to the floor, no warning lights. I then noticed it was leaking brake fluid on the driveway.

- Stacy, MN, USA

problem #32

May 282014

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 23,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet silver ado. The contact stated that while attempting to stop, the brake pedal abnormally traveled to the floorboard. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that all the brake lines were severely corroded. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 23,000. Updated 8/14/14 updated 8/26/2014

- Milwakee, WI, USA

problem #31

May 302012

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • 187,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My truck was parked on a hill the emergency brake didnt hold I had a trailer on the back and it caused the trailer to jacknife and damaged my bed.

- Heiskell, TN, USA

problem #30

May 162014

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
I was pulling into a parking slot at home depot and pushed on the brakes to stop. Brake pedal went to the floor twice before applying parking brake to stop. No one was parked in the slot in front of me so I was able to stop without any accident. One of the brake lines, near the electro-hydraulic control unit, had sever corrosion and had ruptured causing failure of the complete brake system. There was no indication of any leakage from these brake lines before the failure. The oil was changed and vehicle inspected at the dealership about one month before this incident. Upon inspection, after this incident. All brake lines are corroded and need to be replaced. The fuel lines were replaced at the dealer about a year ago as they started leaking and were also corroded.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #29

Apr 152014

Silverado 3500

  • 90,800 miles
The brake lines are rusting out. I have spoke to two other people one with a 2002 Chevy Avalanche and another 1993 Silverado their brake lines have already rusted and failed. How many injuries or deaths are you going to let happen before you make GM recall the 1999 to 2006 GM trucks.

- White Plains, MD, USA

problem #28

Sep 182013

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My wife was driving truck to post office when the brake pedal went to the floor slowly. After getting it home safely I looked at left front wheel area and saw brake fluid everywhere. The leak was in the bundle of brake lines just above the frame, going from the reservoir to the ABS unit under the driver side of the frame. Inspection showed that all of these lines were severely corroded. The lines going from the ABS unit to the back brakes appeared to show some corrosion as well but not nearly as bad. I have replaced all lines from ABS to the front with an aftermarket set and will replace the backs soon. This truck was bought new in South Florida by me and has never been up North until just a few months ago. There is also significant rust on the frame and suspension parts as well for truck of this vintage. I am very disappointed in the quality of this crucial safety component of this vehicle. I hope our 2011 Malibu which we bought new, doesn't end up with the same problem a few years from now.

- Saluda, NC, USA

problem #27

Feb 012014

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph, he depressed the brake pedal and the pedal abnormally traveled to the floorboard. The vehicle was towed to a certified mechanic, who stated that the brake lines were corroded and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 85,000. Updated 04/14/14 updated 04/18/2014

- Cranford, NJ, USA

problem #26

Dec 302013

Silverado 3500

  • 117,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Silverado 3500. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph, the anti-lock braking system activated while the contact was attempting to park the vehicle. As a result, the contact crashed into a guard rail. The contact reported no injuries during the crash. The contact notified the dealer of the incident but the vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The contact was informed that the vehicle was not listed in NHTSA campaign number 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic). The failure mileage was 117,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #25

Sep 242013

Silverado 3500

  • 211,000 miles
I had just picked up 2 cu. Yds of mulch and was going home when I was coming up to a roundabout. I slowed down more than usual, started braking early, since I was driving with a load. As I got to the intersection I noticed a car that was coming through quickly and got to the intersection before I did so I had to stomp on the brake a little more than I had planned. As I did the brake pedal went to the floor. Luckily the hole was small enough that I still had some pressure and was able to slow down and just miss the car. I slowly crawled through the intersection and pulled over at the next street. I was thinking it was the calipers but when I looked under the truck I saw that the leak was coming from higher up. I crawled under the truck to get a better look and saw that all the brake line where severely corroded. I had the truck towed back home and need to have it towed to the dealer tomorrow to see what the damage is.

- Greenwood, IN, USA

problem #24

Mar 162012

Silverado 3500

  • 211,409 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that he noticed brake fluid leaking from the vehicle and onto the ground. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who stated that the sub frame and brake lines were corroded. The mechanic attempted to put the vehicle on the lift but and as the lift began to rise, the vehicle began to crack. The vehicle was not repairable. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 211,409.

- Butler, TN, USA

problem #23

Aug 192013

Silverado 3500

  • miles
Brake lines ruptured, parking brake non-existent, corrosion of brake line, fuel lines, frame and brake dust covers.

- Phyllis, KY, USA

problem #22

Aug 012012

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 194,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact stated that the brake lines failed while exiting a residential driveway with a steep incline. The contact was unable to stop the vehicle using the brakes and had to utilize the emergency hand brake, which allowed the brakes to catch very slowly. The vehicle did not stop until it had reached level ground. The contact's personal mechanic confirmed that the brake lines were rusted and caused the failure. The failure and current mileages were 194,000. Updated 09/17/13 the consumer and his wife experienced brake failure, twice. His wife noticed something was wrong with the brakes. When she exited the vehicle, she saw brake fluid on the ground. The first time, the brakes failed, while backing out of the driveway.

- Coatesville, PA, USA

problem #21

Aug 072010

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
Driving down my driveway ready to take a heavy load of shingles to the dump, the brake pedal went almost to the floor. Barely could stop from 5 mph. Upon inspection brake fluid was dripping down the frame rail under the drivers seat location. All of the five brake lines running down along the top of the frame rail were corroded to the point one failed.

- New Tripoli, PA, USA

problem #20

Jun 082013

Silverado 3500 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
On Saturday, June 8, 2013, I was traveling approximately 3-4 mph (or less) entering a parking space. The parking lot was level and dry. I applied the brakes to stop, the ABS activated, I.e., I heard a growling noise, the brake pedal vibrated and pulsated, it became soft and promptly bottomed out on the floor. No brakes. It was necessary to shift into neutral while standing on the emergency brake. My vehicle jumped the curb onto the sidewalk and stopped approximately 10 inches from the building. I raised the hood to check the brake fluid level. It was full, no leaks noted under the hood nor under the vehicle. What now?

- Topeka, KS, USA

problem #19

Dec 272011

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • 151,250 miles
I was descending a driveway and applied the brakes and they failed due to brake line corrosion. The rear line is rusted through. Upon inspection of the other lines I found they are also corroded. I was lucky to be where I was in order to avoid an accident.

- Harvey's Lake, PA, USA

problem #18

Jan 012013

Silverado 3500

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Silverado 3500. The contact stated that while driving approximately 15 mph, he depressed the brake pedal but the brakes did not respond. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated that the front wheel assembly had to be replaced. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock). The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 77,000.

- Athens, WI, USA

problem #17

Sep 012012

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 104,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Silverado 3500. The contact stated that the brakes failed to engage, causing the contact to drive through a red traffic light. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic and a diagnostic was performed. The failure was located at the rear brake lines and the fuel tank, which was severely corroded. The contact stated that the front frame was also found to be corroded. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate current and failure mileage was 104,000. Updated 01/05/13 the consumer stated this malfunction has also caused the left rear rear brake caliper to fail. The caliper had not been replaced. Updated 02/08/2013

- Bensalem, PA, USA

problem #16

Sep 262009

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
I own a 2001 Chevy Silverado 3500 extended cab 8' bed 4X4 and have had the brake lines rust out to where the brakes failed and the fuel lines rust to the point of leaking. I am having to completely replace both sets of lines. Have there been any other complaints as to this issue?

- Spotsylvania, VA, USA

problem #15

Jul 162012

Silverado 3500

  • 126,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 20 mph with the brakes engaged, the vehicle decelerated to 10mph and the ABS began to pulse. The brakes continue to be depressed until the vehicle came to a complete stop. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnose that the wheel speed sensor was corroded and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since recall NHTSA campaign id number: 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic: Antilock) was closed. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 126,000 and the current mileage was 127,000.

- Endicott, NY, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?