Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
25 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
37,650 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 3500 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chevrolet Silverado 3500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 3500 Owner Comments (Page 4 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #149

Aug 012005

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Failure of brakes at low speed, almost stopped, which seems to engage ABS and clicking sound, but stopping is very delayed. Has caused me to run off my driveway and out into intersections. GM refused to repair under recall case number 05V379000 because they said my VIN was not included in the group.

- Tuscaloosa, AL, USA

problem #148

Nov 222005

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,470 miles
The contact states there is an NHTSA recall campaign 05V379000 concerning antilock brakes. This vehicle is experiencing the same problems as indicated in the recall, but this vehicle is not included in the recall due to VIN. The contact repaired the vehicle at his own expense. Updated 12/7/2005. The dealer replaced both front wheel speed sensors.

- Jackson, MI, USA

problem #147

Nov 182005

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
Driving at slow speed in dry weather coming up to a line of traffic at a stop light. Applying the brakes the anti-lock mechanism kicked in and my braking ability was severely decreased to the point I almost hit the vehicle in front of me. I have not replaced and parts yet, but I have discovered recall 05V379000 that seems to be the culprit. For some reason Minnesota is not included as a salt belt state. Believe me, there's plenty of salt applied to the roads in Minnesota during winter.

- Champlin, MN, USA

problem #146

Jan 102005

Silverado 3500 4WD 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There is a recall on 99-02 Chevy pickups for malfunctioning antilock brakes that only covers a few states. My truck is having the same problem and GM will not fix it, even though I travel to one of these states all the time even in the winter.

- Smiths, AL, USA

problem #145

Nov 132005

Silverado 3500 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Contact states he is a police officer that worked an accident case that was the result of brake failure. There is an NHTSA recall campaign id #05V379000 concerning the service brakes, hydraulic: Anti-lock. The consumer experienced the same symptoms as indicated in the recall. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Danielson, CT, USA

problem #144

Oct 012005

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,500 miles
2001 Silverado anti-lock brake problems, activation at low speeds. Ongoing and consistent. Several close calls on stopping in time. No accident yet!

- Garfield Heights, OH, USA

problem #143

Jun 012005

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Anti lock brakes engage as truck is coming to a stop, for no apparent reason. This causes an increase in stopping distance and some loss of vehicle control. This is also very disturbing to the driver who feels they do not have complete control of the vehicle. Same problem that 1500 series Chevy Silverado are having.

- Mantua, OH, USA

problem #142

May 012005

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
The consumer stated that there NHTSA recall campaign 05V379000 involving the anti lock brake in which his vehicle experienced the same symptoms as indicated in the recall but was not included due to the VIN. No repairs had been made at this time. (11/22/05)

- North Andover , MA, USA

problem #141

Aug 012005

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact's vehicle was having the same problem as stated in recall 05V379000. He contacted General Motors, but this vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN. There have been no repairs to the vehicle at this time. He does have an appointment at the local dealership this week.

- Kenosha, WI, USA

problem #140

Oct 202005

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
Brakes failed on two occasions. Pedal goes to floor vehicle keeps going. Once almost putting us in a lake and another hitting garage at home. Have records of brakes being repaired after first incident at GM dealer service garage, on 7-26-04 after lake incident. Vehicle is at GM garage at this time for second repair on ABS brakes.

- Nothfield, OH, USA

problem #139

Aug 302005

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,122 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact stated when the brakes were applied at low speeds the ABS activated. The service dealer determined the wheel speed sensors needed to be cleaned. The repair was done at the contact's expense. This remedied the problem. Recall 05V379000 for this year, make, and model was issued, but this vehicle was not included in the recall. Due to VIN.

- Vermontville, NY, USA

problem #138

Oct 152005

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,000 miles
The contact stated the ABS activated at low speeds. When he applies the brakes, the pedal pulsated and locked. The vehicle has not been inspected by a service dealer to determine the problem. The manufacturer said to take the vehicle to a service dealer to be inspected. The manufacturer stated there was recall for the ABS, but his vehicle was not included in the recall.

- Charlemont, MA, USA

problem #137

Sep 202005

Silverado 3500 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact states at low speeds the ABS activated. This is a company vehicle. The contact does not drive the vehicle, but the person who drives it reported the problem. The vehicle is currently at a dealership and it is still being inspected. Updated 11/16/2005 - upon inspection the dealer determined that the front wheel speed sensor was dropping out at low speeds. R&R sensors and cleaned corrosion, treated with corrosion resistant grease and reinstalled.

- Hamilton, OH, USA

problem #136

Oct 142005

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles
1) brakes activating anti-skid when braking at low speeds with extremely unpredictable stopping !!!!!!! 2) brakes failed to stop vehicle four times: In garage, in parking lot, in work place parking lot and at intersection. 3) taken to harold Chevrolet 10/14/05 to have checked out and repaired. Found out there was a campaign for this problem. Harold inspected and cleaned the front wheel speed sensors and mounting surfaces. On 10/17/05 brakes failed again even after having taken the vehicle in for repair. Vehicle did not stop at intersection!!!! took vehicle back to harold. As a good will jester they replaced one right hub and speed sensor assembly for our safe driving. Received a recall letter upon returning home 10/17/05.

- Coldwater, MI, USA

problem #135

Dec 082004

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
The contact received recall 5V379000 concerning the ABS sensors on 2001 Chevrolet Silverado on 10-17-05. The contact had the rear brakes, pads and rotors replaced in December 2004 at a cost of $300. The truck had approximately 42,000 miles on it. The brake shop service man told the contact the rear brakes had not reached the sensors at the time he had them replaced in 12-2004. The contact talked to a dealer, who told him they would honor the part of the recall about the cleaning of the sensors. The contact would like to be reimbursed for the $300 he paid back in 12-04.

- Hubbard Lake, MI, USA

problem #134

Sep 282003

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,816 miles
Antilock brakes engaged without warning and required excessive pedal pressure and/or release re-engage to stop vehicle at slow speed. Critical to stop at slow speed since steep driveway enters busy local college traffic and is blind until very end of driveway. There were several instances when unable to stop until front of vehicle was extended into the path of oncoming vehicles. Right hub and wheel speed sensor was replaced under warranty. Left side hub and wheel speed sensor was replaced the following year at my expense when it failed in the same manner. The dealer did not show me the parts or offer any sort od extended coverage. Both should have been replaced together. I am unaware if during the replacement procedure any procedures were taken to prevent this from recurring in the future.

- Corning, NY, USA

problem #133

May 182005

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles
On several occasions, my Chevy Silverado almost failed to stop at slow speeds because the ABS was engaging on dry pavement. Approx 12 times it almost caused me to crash in parking lots.

- Tipp City, OH, USA

problem #132

Apr 082005

Silverado 3500 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,840 miles
The contact stated there a recall O5V279000 on the year, make and model of this car regarding the ABS system. He owns a 2001 1500 Chevrolet Silverado. The ABS kicked in at low speeds of 4-11 mph. He noticed this happening in April 2005. The contact's state of Kentucky was not included in the recall. He had to pay $434.94 for the part and the labor to fix the brakes. He felt the state of Kentucky should be included in this recall. Updated 11/15/2005.

- Richmond, KY, USA

problem #131

Sep 262005

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles
On September 26, 2005 the ABS system locked on and the brakes pulsated when going under 10 mph. When slowing down the consumer had to increase the stopping distance, and one could hear the ABS brakes kicking in. This happened every time while driving the vehicle and was getting worse. The consumer contacted the dealer, and they said that there was a recall but this vehicle was not included in the recall. The consumer had an appointment for October 12, 2005 for them to check the brakes because the consumer could not drive the vehicle like this. The consumer had an independent mechanic inspect the vehicle, and they determined that the sensors on the brakes rusted from the salt on the highways. (11/23/05)

- Marquette , MI, USA

problem #130

Aug 192005

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
My 2001 Silverado sat unused for about one month. After that every time I would come to a stop the anti-lock brakes would engage at about five miles an hour. This caused me to almost have more then couple of miner crashes. The light for the anti-lock brakes did not come on at any time to indicate a problem until I pulled the fuse out to prevent the brakes from not stopping the truck. I took the truck in to a shop and had them look at the anti-lock brake system. They found rust around the sensors on the front two wheels pulled the sensors off and cleaned the rust off put the sensors back on. I have not had a problem with the anti-lock brakes going off since.

- Weston, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?