Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
21 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,078 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 3500 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Silverado 3500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 3500 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #100

Sep 302005

Silverado 3500 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles


Under normal braking just before stopping the ABS activates.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #99

Jul 082005

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles
The contact stated the dealer diagnosed the problem as the ABS signal dropping out at low speeds. This vehicle was showing the same symptoms as indicated in the recall. The delaer told her on 11-05-29005 this vehicle was not involved on 11-05-05 the wheel speed sensors had to be replaced at the contact's expense.

- West Seneca, NY, USA

problem #98

Oct 252005

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact received NHTSA recall letter 05V379000 concerning ABS brake failure. The vehicle was taken to the dealership for repairs. Upon leaving the dealership experienced the same ABS brake problems as those prior to the repairs. The dealership then drove the vehicle and could not duplicate the problem. General Motors told him if the dealership could not duplicate the problem then there was nothing they could do. The vehicle was taken to another service station, and they told him the problem was still with the ABS. Updated 11/29/2005 -

- Wakeman, OH, USA

problem #97

Aug 302005

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,349 miles


The contact stated that when applying brake pressure to make a sudden stop the ABS did not activate. There was no feeling of pulsation. There was extended stopping distance. Was able to avoid a rear end collision. The contact took the vehicle to a dealer, who insisted the disc brakes delaminated. There was NHTSA recall, but this vehicle was not included in the recall due to VIN although the vehicle experienced the same ABS problem as indicated in the recall. No repairs have been made at this time. Updated 12/7/2005 - the vehicle was taken to the dealer who determine that the speed sensor was corroded. The dealer informed the consumer that there was a recall for the 1500 Silverado but not the 2500hd Silverado.

- Greenville, NY, USA

problem #96

Oct 082005

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,050 miles
Truck will not come to a complete stop. I ran into another person coming to a stop. Truck will just keep rolling a little even with the brakes fully depressed. Talked to a couple of service stations and they said it was my ABS sensors in the front hubs. GM has a recall but not in my state and that is why I am filing a complaint.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #95

Sep 012005

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact stated anti -lock brakes were activating at low speeds. Road salt corrosion led to false brake sensor readings, causing anti lock brakes to activate at wrong speeds. While driving in a parking lot the contact ran over a concrete parking barrier because he could not stop. The parking lot was dry. He had not contacted the manufacturer. Took vehicle to a dealership, and they were able to clean the sensors. The consumer didn't learn about the recall until after he paid for the repairs. Updated 11/29/05. Updated 11/29/05. The consumer contacted the manufacture and was told that Wisconsin was excluded from the recall. The consumer was not aware of the recall until after the dealer had repair the problem. The consumer request reimbursement for the repairs.

- Brookfield, WI, USA

problem #94

Oct 202005

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


My 2002 Chevrolet Silverado truck has started experiencing symptoms of low-speed ABS brake failures.

- Georgetown, KY, USA

problem #93

Oct 032005

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,594 miles
Consumer states the drivers seat slid forward six inches from back, it broke and hit the tilt lever. It causedthe consumer's aunt to have a broken back, and she was paralyzed from the waist down. This happened on October 3, 2005, consumer stated that her aunt had foot on the brakes, but the vehicle accelerated instead of slowing down. There was no forewarning before this happened. At this time consumer has not contacted the dealer or manufacturer.

- Mannford, OK, USA

problem #92

Jan 162004

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,855 miles
ABS brakes engaged at speeds below 5 miles per hour regardless of road conditions. I nearly crashed into parked cars in parking lots, and my own garage at home. I did crash into steel dumpster at work. ABS engaged while doing 5 mph going down a hill at work. They would not disengage after repeated attempts pressing and releasing brakes. The vehicle sped up due to no breaking and slide sideways which resulted in me striking a steel dumpster at work caving in both doors on the driver side of truck. This resulted in $4346.38 insurance claim which I paid a $500 deductible on. I had to disconnect the ABS after that as the constant engagement of the ABS would occur at anytime I was going 5 mph or less.

- Fulton, NY, USA

problem #91

Aug 172005

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,980 miles
Poor quality vehicle/parts anti-lock brakes activate when they should not, there is an upcoming recall as GM is aware of this problem on the 2002 Chevy Silverado, however they will not fix it until the recall is active. I am having a problem with the brakes now, this is a safety issues and they should fix them now and not make me pay for this service and then require me to submit a bill at a later date to be reimbursed.

- Wampum, PW, USA

problem #90

Sep 082005

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles


The contact stated that the brakes on H 2002 Chevrolet Silverado were bad. At low speeds the truck will not stop. The contact noticed this a couple of weeks ago. When he took vehicle to the dealer they replaced some sensors, and it was still doing the same thing. The pedal went to the floor. NHTSA recall 05V379000 regarding the ABS brakes was issued. But the state of Virginia was not included in the recall. He has not yet talked to the manufacturer. Also, was having problems with the rotors. The contact had to replace the rotors at 40,000 miles about a couple of months ago.

- Davenport, VA, USA

problem #89

Sep 182005

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,800 miles
'02 Silverado 1500, ext cab... pls add me to the list of faulty ABS experiences... the truck ABS activated at a slow speed brake, just prior to full stop... tapped the rear of the car in front of me... luckily, no damage and no one was hurt but, it could have been serious. It now seems that the faulting ABS has been noticed before but, it was intermittent and only suspect... the 60A fuse has been pulled to disable this "safety" feature...

- Essex Jct , VT, USA

problem #88

Jul 192005

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact stated ABS brakes activated at low speeds. The brakes pulsated, and the vehicle did not want to stop right away. This started happening a couple of months ago. The dealer said that recall 05V379000 did not apply to the state where the consumer lived. The ABS light came on when he applied the brakes.

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #87

Jul 152005

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The consumer complained about the ABS brakes kicking in at low speeds. The problem first started on July 15, 2005. There was GM NHTSA recall 05V379/ GEM recall 05068 a recall for this type of vehicle. When the consumer contacted the manufacturer, they told him that the recall was not official yet.

- Sparta, OH, USA

problem #86

Aug 302005

Silverado 3500 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles
In the early hours of Monday August 29, upon arriving home, we were pulling into our driveway at about 10 miles per hour in our 2002 Chevrolet Silverado, the anti-lock brakes engaged and we had difficulty coming to a stop and almost hit our garage door. On Tuesday August 30th, my husband was pulling into a parking space at work going approx 5-10 miles per hour and the anti-lock brakes engaged, causing him not to be able to stop and hitting another persons car across from him in a parking space. In talking to a co-worker about what the anti-lock brakes were doing she directed me to this website to check if there were any recalls. On August 29th, there was a recall notice issued about this very problem. We called our local dealership, cody Chevrolet in montpelier, vt. They told us to pull the fuse on the anti-lock brakes until we could bring in the truck on Thursday, Sept 1 to have the problem corrected. The other person's car that was struck by our truck took their car to get an estimate, which came back at $688. I called GM to get them to pay for it. They keep saying they need to investigate this further. My concern is that rather than hitting a parked car, my husband could have hit a person. He could have been traveling downtown at a slow rate of speed, come to a person crossing a crosswalk, the anti-lock breaks could have engaged and he could have struck a person. GM has told me that the recall is not being released until there are enough parts available at which time it will be released to owners in January in VIN # order. I feel that this could be a potential public safety hazard. I also feel GM has an obligation to pay the damage done to the other vehicle, especially since our local dealership fixed the problem at no cost to us based on the recall.

- Montpelier, VT, USA

problem #85

May 282005

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles
Anti-lock brakes activate at slow speed. It has now become constant at all decelerations.

- Malone, NY, USA

problem #84

Aug 042005

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,500 miles
When the vehicle is slowing to a stop and almost stopped the ABS activate and cause the vehicle to continue coasting. There have been several near accidents however, luckily no collisions have happened yet. The vehicle is scheduled to go into the shop for repair on September 16th. The problem is continuous and happens about 5 out of 10 stops.

- Oak Creek, WI, USA

problem #83

Jun 012005

Silverado 3500

  • 40,200 miles
The ABS comes on at low speed when it shouldn't, resulting in extending stopping distance. Dealer miss diagnosed the problem as the left front hub. Replacing both front hubs and wheel speed sensors which fixed the problem.

- Ortonville, MI, USA

problem #82

May 082005

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,624 miles
The consumer stated that she was having a problem with 2002 Chevrolet Silverado. The ABS system kicked in at low speeds of 0-10 mph. This happened when the truck was slowing down or coming to a stop. This has been happening since May 2005 intermittently. The consumer had the ABS sensors cleaned, and the truck was driving much better after the cleaning. The dealer has not been contacted because the vehicle was out of warranty. The manufacturer was contacted, and they told the consumer that this truck was not included in the recall currently. General Motors told the mechanic at the repair shop to just clean the sensors instead of replacing them. This was at consumer's expense.

- Dayton, MN, USA

problem #81

Jul 222005

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles
Consumer complained about a front brake problem. The problem started on 7-22-05. While coming to a stop at 4-5 mph the brakes failed. This occurred every time the consumer applied pressure to the brakes. There were no accidents. The consumer has made the necessary repairs to the vehicle himself. He did so because he could not drive the vehicle unless it was repaired. When the consumer contacted the manufacturer, they told him they would not assist him because he repaired the vehicle himself. Also, they told him this vehicle was not included in any recalls.

- Ortonville, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?