Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
101,535 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 3500 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Chevrolet Silverado 3500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 3500 Owner Comments (Page 7 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #14

Aug 152012

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • 73,697 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving our 2003 Chevy Silverado in a residential area at speeds of no more than 40 mph. I braked at a stop sign and noticed that the brakes went way down to the floor and yet the truck wasn't stopping. When I applied even more pressure (at this point I was up against the steering wheel and practically standing upright!) the "service brake system" warning light suddenly popped on with a ringing bell. I was less than two miles from home, so I continued my drive, downshifting to 1st as I approached a stop sign. At a red light, I shifted into park to avoid rolling into traffic. After returning home, I noticed a line of fluid drips on the driveway. I put a dish under the area that seemed to be leaking (under the driver's side door) and my husband later confirmed that it was brake fluid and that a line had ruptured. Two separate repair shops confirmed that five brake lines had rusted out and one had ruptured. We paid over $1000 to replace parts that would not have rusted out if they had been made with a rust-proof material rather than steel. If this brake line rupture had occurred one day earlier, the scenario could have been much uglier: I had been driving to the beach, at highway speeds, with my two young daughters as passengers. Our Silverado has about 74K miles on it and has been nothing but a headache with parts rusting out before their time... updated 08-30-12

- Monmouth Junction, NJ, USA

problem #13

Aug 182012

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 80,403 miles
Loss of brakes due to defective brake lines. Had a 5000 lb. Boat on. I was very lucky to avoid accident. Brake pedal went to floor without warning. No brakes whatsoever. Accidents and fatalities are foreseeable. GM should do something about this!

- Trevose, PA, USA

problem #12

Sep 012011

Silverado 3500

  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that while driving at low speeds and attempting to make a stop, the anti-lock braking system activated before the vehicle would stop. The failure occurred without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the brakes and the brake pads were fine. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure however no further assistance was provided. The current mileage was 106,000. The failure mileage was 103,000.

- Milwaukee, WA, USA

problem #11

Aug 122012

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • 64,402 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I stepped on the brakes to slow down and make a turn, the pedal went slowly to the floor. I drove slowly home as I was only a few hundred yards from home. Upon inspection of the brake lines, I found where one had rusted completely through and was leaking fluid. All the other brake lines were severely rusted.

- Corinth, NY, USA

problem #10

Jul 202012

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 122,000 miles
Brakes went to floor when descending hill to house. Unable to stop my wife down shifted to first gear to try to slow truck down but still could not get it to slow down. End of road is cul-da-sec (luck it was early morning and kids weren't out playing yet) with a walking trail to woods at the end. She figured that was best way to slow it down so aimed towards trail. After entering the woods 75 feet the truck finally came to a stop. Luckily my wife was not hurt and also the truck was not damaged, but now my wife is afraid to use the truck. Mechanic told me brake and fuel lines are no longer stainless steel. Who's bright idea was it at GM to cut cost by making the brake and fuel lines not be stainless steel. I have never heard of lines not being stainless and shame on any safety industry personal that decided this was ok. I would gladly pay the extra $20 on truck cost to have it stainless. Here in the new england area they use salt on the roads during the winter and even if I rinsed off the truck every day it would still corrode out the lines. GM got luck with this one that no one was hurt, they offer recalls for other items which are wasteful, but for something like this they don't. I have been a GM owner for a long time but if GM is going to take risks with me and my families life, this maybe the last GM product I own.

- Seymour, CT, USA

problem #9

Jul 202012

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • 79,102 miles
While towing a boat and trying to come to a stop, by brakes had gone out (as indicated when I pressed the brakes to the floor and warning light came on). I applied the emergency brake immediately and downshifted, but this was not enough to stop me and I narrowly missed oncoming traffic turning left at a red light. Upon further investigation, I had found one of my break lines was completely corroded by the ABS under the driver side door behind the front left wheel. I also noticed all of my other lines are severely rusted as well. According to multiple sources, this is a known GM issue, but there has not been a recall placed"?"

- Howell, MI, USA

problem #8

Jul 172012

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • 143,806 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Pulling out of driveway with a MINIexcavator on trailer attached to vehicle, stepped on brakes and peddle went to the floor, vehicle barely stopped before rolling into traffic, brake fluid on ground and brake lines under drivers side door ruptured leaking fluid causing break failure, truck has new brake pads, calipers and rotors installed within last year.

- Eastham, MA, USA

problem #7

Jul 102012

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado. While driving approximately 7 mph at a state inspection station, the contact drove over a skid pad for the inspection of the brakes and the brake pedal dropped to the floorboard. The contact stated that he applied the emergency brake, but experienced difficulties stopping the vehicle. The vehicle was inspected by an independent mechanic. The mechanic stated that brake fluid was leaking because the brake line had fractured due to corrosion. Also, the contact stated that the emergency brake's rear dust shield was corroded and had disintegrated prior to the brake failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000. Updated 7/26/12 the consumer was advised to consider replacing the rear brake backing plate/dust shield. Updated 07/30/12

- Hockessin, DE, USA

problem #6

Nov 152011

Silverado 3500 8-cyl Diesel

  • 84,000 miles
Had corroded fuel lines replaced. Mechanic stated that brake lines looked in bad shape and suggested they be replaced also. Had limited usage of my truck while I looked into having them replaced. On one occasion I was approaching a stop sign with my wife in truck, as I went to stop, line ruptured, pedal went to floor and I came close to going through stop sign in front of oncoming car. I replace the line since it was easy, and now on 7/8/2003 two more lines have ruptured.

- Wurtsboro, NY, USA

problem #5

Jun 282012

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
Came up to a stop sign tried to stop and rear brake line burst open. Could not stop at stop sign and went through intersection lucky no one coming. Used hand brake to stop truck. There was no warning brake pedal just went to the floor. Had line repaired for $252.84 and repair shop said other lines were real rusty and did not know how long they will last but not long.

- Meherrin, VA, USA

problem #4

Jun 092012

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • 112,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was coming home from the store, when I saw traffic lights turning red, I slowly applied the brake pedal, it felt so soft and it went all the way down to the floor, I try once more and it went all the way to the floor again, so then I turn my steering wheel to the right (emergency line) and applied E-brakes and I stopped just before the cross road. When I looked under it was leaking in between the pump and the tank. It was a front brake line the get so rust it that burst. Last year when my brother in law and I was changing brake fluid in the whole system the rear brake line burst. Now I have brake lines made of nickel and copper mix, those will last for ever.

- Pocono Summit, PA, USA

problem #3

Aug 052011

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
Brakes went to the floor, no (slow) stopping. This is the third occurrence of brake line failure. The brakes have never been quick on this vehicle, but this is the 3rd time I have had a failure due to brake line blow out. The vehicle is garaged and cleaned on a regular basis. These lines just seem to keep rusting out.

- Canterbury, NH, USA

problem #2

May 262011

Silverado 3500

  • 53,000 miles
Backing boat trailer on boat ramp, summitt lake, tekamah, ne. Sudden brake failure (pedal went to floor) with no warning or warning light. Managed to get truck into drive, and pull out before I went in the water. The brakeline under the drivers side door had rusted through, and there were no brakes working. Had the truck taken to blair, ne, and repaired at private shop. Before repair, I contacted the service manager at dillon Chevrolet in blair to ask if covered, was informed no warranty was available despite low miles, and cost of repair would be approx $1000 to $1500 depending on amount of corrosion present. The independent garage repaired for ~$800. There are thousands of complaints noted on various internet web sites, and I am aware of current investigation due to other catastrophic failures. Fortunately, there was no accident. Had I been on the highway when the brakes failed, I can only imagine that the outcome might have been different.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #1

Jun 182012

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact stated that while driving 2 mph, she applied the brakes and the pedal depressed to the floorboard. The vehicle experienced an increase in stopping distance during the failure. The contact also stated that the failure occurred moments after taking the vehicle through a car wash. The contact examined the vehicle and noticed that brake fluid was leaking from the brake lines. The vehicle was then taken to an independent mechanic and the contact was informed that the brake lines needed to be replaced due to severe corrosion. The vehicle was in the process of being repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 68,000. Updated 8/6/12 updated 08/15/2012

- Hamilton, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?