Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

2.9

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,072 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 3500 accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chevrolet Silverado 3500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 3500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #103

Nov 162015

Silverado 3500

  • 277,638 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that the instrument panel would not illuminate at night to display pertinent information, such as the speedometer. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 277,638.

- Pinedale, CA, USA

problem #102

Jun 122012

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that the speedometer, fuel guage, odometer, pressure and the high/ low beam indicators failed to display. The contact mentioned that the instrument panel failed intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was unable to be duplicated. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000. Updated 08/18/14 updated 09/5/2014

- Prospect, OR, USA

problem #101

Apr 192012

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • 116,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated they received a letter approximately one year ago from the manufacturer stating that the instrument panel warranty was extended to seven years and 70,000 miles. In addition, the contact was advised not to bring the vehicle in under the warranty unless the fuel gauge had completely failed. The contact stated that the speedometer had been stuck at 120 mph. Later, the speedometer independently dropped below zero and remained stuck there. In addition, the engine RPM gauge would fluctuate sporadically but the engine would not respond. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was told that the failures were not covered under the extended warranty for the instrument panel and was advised that the entire instrument panel would need to be replaced. The failure mileage was 116,000 and the current mileage was 117,000. Updated 7/18/12

- Pheonix City, AL, USA

problem #100

Jul 302010

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that the speedometer on his vehicle was faulty. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that instead of just repairing the speedometer, they needed to replaced the entire instrument cluster. The dealer was contacted and stated that they were aware of the failure but were unable to help since the warranty had expired. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 95,000 and the current mileage was 98,000. Updated 3/14/11 the consumer was informed Chevrolet would replace the instrument cluster up to 5,000 miles and they would bill the consumer $500-700 to have the instrument cluster replaced since the vehicle had over 95,000 miles. Updated 03.21.11.

- Meridian , ID, USA

problem #99

Sep 092010

Silverado 3500

  • miles
Odometer failer. 2004 Chevy Silverado. 61,966 miles.

- Lakemore, OH, USA

problem #98

Aug 302010

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 99,820 miles
Speedodometer changes and may be correct, next time may show off 5 miles an hour, next time may be off 60 miles an hour, may be fast, may be slow.

- Miles, TX, USA

problem #97

Jan 152010

Silverado 3500

  • 91,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that on January 15, 2010, he noticed that the speedometer did not function properly. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop where the contact was informed that the instrument cluster was defective. The contact called the authorized dealer and manufacturer who both stated that the vehicle was no longer under warranty. The failure mileage was approximately 91,000. The current mileage was 98,560.

- Boise City, OK, USA

problem #96

Apr 222009

Silverado 3500

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact was driving at approximately 40 mph and the speedometer indicated the mileage as 0 mph. The failure has occurred multiple times. The authorized dealer was informed twice because the vehicle was recalled. They stated that if the vehicle was not broken they weren't repairing it. One year later he took it back to the dealer because he started experiencing the failure with the speedometer and stated that they could not repair the failure because he was over the mile restriction on the warranty. The manufacturer stated that the contact would indeed have to repair his vehicle at his own expense. The vehicle has not been repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 85000 and the current mileage was 110000.

- Moravia, NY, USA

problem #95

Nov 102008

Silverado 3500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Silverado. He stated that on several occasions the speedometer, oil pressure warning light and RPM light components became inoperable on the instrument panel. The dealer was contacted and advised replacing the entire instrument panel at the owner's expense. The manufacturer would not offer any assistance. No repairs were made to the vehicle to correct the failure. The speed, failure and current mileages were unknown due to the failure on the instrument panel.

- Fayettville, GA, USA

problem #94

Nov 222009

Silverado 3500

  • 91,000 miles
The speedometer suddenly goes to 120 mph and sticks there. It will reset itself within 3 days (usually) but is happening more often now.

- Spooner, WI, USA

problem #93

Nov 202009

Silverado 3500

  • 126,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Silverado. Immediately after the vehicle was started she noticed that the speedometer moved from 0 to 120 mph without the vehicle moving. The dealer informed the contact that the speedometer needed to be replaced. There were no prior warnings and the vehicle has not been serviced. The current and failure mileages were 154000.

- Whetherford, TX, USA

problem #92

Mar 012009

Silverado 3500

  • 114,000 miles
I too have a 2004 Silverado. My speedometer went out. At first it registered zero. Later it went up to over 120 and stayed off the scale for the entire trip. This occurs now everytime I drive the vehicle.

- Salinas, CA, USA

problem #91

Feb 022009

Silverado 3500

  • miles
04 Chevy Silverado spedo goes to 120 mph and stays there and will not go down.

- Platteville, WI, USA

problem #90

Nov 302008

Silverado 3500

  • 33,000 miles
I was driving and heard a pop. A couple of miles down the road noticed that my speedometer was way off. It said that I was doing over 100 when I was probably only going about 60. I search and noticed that this is very common with my truck. It's a 2004 Chevy Silverado with about 33K miles on it. I contacted the service department and asked if it was covered under the extended warranty and she said they would have to scan it and contact the warranty company.

- Newalla, OK, USA

problem #89

Nov 212008

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,959 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Silverado extended cab. While driving less than 30 mph, the speedometer dial went straight to zero. The failure occurred approximately three times within one week. The failure mileage was 83,959 and current mileage was greater than 84,000. Updated 1/6/09 updated 01/14/09.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #88

Nov 072008

Silverado 3500

  • 90,000 miles
2004 Chevy 1500 truck, I received a recall for the dash cluster, all my dash components do not work, the recall is if only there were less than so many miles, now at 90,000 miles, mine quit working, why is a recall only good for so many miles when there is a problem with it.

- Alanson, MI, USA

problem #87

Oct 102008

Silverado 3500

  • 63,000 miles
The odometer and instrument panel in my 2004 Chevy Silverado is not working, meaning that I can not tell how fast or slow I am driving. I was not sure if a safety recall has been issued to make GM repair this free of charge. The speedometer is stuck on 5mph and does not move the entire time I am driving.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #86

Aug 132005

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that the speedometer on the instrument control panel was inoperative. She was unable to determine what speed she was traveling. She took the vehicle to the dealer, but they could not identify what component needed to be replaced. The repair would cost $800. She called the manufacturer in reference to a class action lawsuit and was informed that they were not responsible because the vehicle exceeded 80,000 miles. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 50,000. Updated 09/17/08. Updated 09/24/08.

- Went Worth, SD, USA

problem #85

Jul 102007

Silverado 3500

  • 101,000 miles
I own a 2004 Chevrolet Silverado 3500. The speedometer and other gauges do not work properly. For example, the speedometer reads that I am doing 120 mph. Keep in mind I haven't even released the brake pedal yet. There is also an issue with the amperage gage. I have received a letter from Chevrolet extending the warranty, but of course even with the extension, it is still out of warranty. This is a huge safety issue. If the speedometer is reading 120 mph while sitting still, how do I know that when it says I am doing 55 mph that I'm not actually doing 120 mph. This is a defective part that GM manufactured. Looking at the internet, this affects pretty much all of the large GM trucks. I when to check the cost for replacement of this part and they wanted $450 just for a refurbished cluster. This is an on going problem and the corporation is giving out defective parts with out regard to the safety of the people driving the vehicles or anyone around them. An odd thing that I have noticed is that if I let the fuel to deplete completely, then fill it up, it will reset the speedometer the second fill up. I have tested this several times and it seems to reset it at least by the second time. If I do not deplete the fuel take it never gets below 40 an the speedometer. This un-scientific test has not affected the amp meter being bad though. This is continually happening.

- Front Royal, VA, USA

problem #84

Mar 132008

(reported on)

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
2004 Chevy Silverado with the speedometer sticking. Consumer states that the speedometer will stay at 50 mph for a while then drop to 0 mph after stopping a few times and might not move from 0 unless he shuts the vehicle off and restart it.

- Anderson, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?