Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 8
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,774 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 3500 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Silverado 3500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 3500 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #17

Jan 272012

Silverado 3500

  • miles


Defect in my 2007 Chevrolet Silverado as reported by GM in a letter recently received. Recall initiated in Canada, why has NHTSA not issued one in us. GM states my 2007 truck is defective and the "interface between the electrical terminals on the relay resistor module and the wiring connector that powers the module may be incapable of conducting higher current levels for sustained periods of the blower motor operation.... thus can cause overheating which will cause the blower motor not to operate and can be accompanied by a burning smell or smoke." Basically my car can catch fire.

- Luling, LA, USA

problem #16

Oct 032011

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • 96,490 miles
I have marked power train and electrical since both are involved. I was driving home from work when my truck message center indicated (reduced engine power). This is dangerous when my vehicle is impeded from accelerating and slowing down to no more then 20 - 25 miles per hour. Since I could of interfered with the traffic and cause an accident or bodily injury to others. A recall should be made since I have noticed a lot of other vehicles have the same scenario.

- Hayward, CA, USA

problem #15

Jun 252011

Silverado 3500

  • 16,000 miles
The contact owned a 2007 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that the vehicle was parked when a fire began under the hood. The fire department appeared on the scene to extinguish the fire. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to an auto repair yard. The manufacturer was made aware and the contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 08V441000 (electrical system). The approximately failure mileage was 16,000.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #14

Jul 082010

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • 46,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Silverado lt. The contact stated the throttle would stick anytime he attempted to release the pedal. The vehicle slows down very slowly. The engine continues to run at 800-100 RPM's until the brake is applied to stop the vehicle. The consumer also stated while stopped at a traffic light or a stop sign, the engine would occasionally speed up to approximately 1800 RPM's. the consumer also stated a new engine was installed on April 11, 2001 due to a faulty oil pump. The throttle body and engine control module were replaced twice, the hbac control module, oil deflector, purge valve and canister, maf sensor, wiring harness, speed sensor, CO2 sensor, 175 amp fuse box, transmission control module and under hood wiring were all replaced. An engineer from General Motors has worked on this vehicle at all three dealerships and has not been able to repair the problem. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered little assistance. The failure mileage was 46,000. Updated 06/22/11 updated 07/08/11 updated 3/8/12

- Grantville, KS, USA

problem #13

Jan 012010

Silverado 3500

  • miles
2007 Chevrolet Silverado. Consumer writes in regards to heated side mirrors looked as if they had over heated and burned. Bubbles, singe looking and discloration had occurred on the outer case of the mirrors the consumer stated the dealer replaced both mirrors as a goodwill gesture. However, the problem resurfaced a year later on the driver's side mirror. The dealer informed the consumer, he would have to pay for the replacement mirror. The dealer felt as though the problem was caused by the car wash having a heating system that was perhaps too hot.

- Millis, MA, USA

problem #12

Mar 152010

Silverado 3500

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated the windshield wipers would continuously fail without warning. He located a recall for the failure (NHTSA campaign id number: 10V240000-electrical system) but was unable to confirm if his vehicle was included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The current and failure mileages were approximately 72,000.

- Downing Town , PA, USA

problem #11

Jun 282010

Silverado 3500

  • 40,000 miles


2007 Chevy Silverado 2500.

- Whitefish, MT, USA

problem #10

Mar 122010

Silverado 3500

  • 50,000 miles
While driving in the rain, certain electrical components will completely shut down. The components consists of the door lock, gps, radio, windows, air controls, all dash gauges, etc. In addition, several different service warnings will start flashing including which will include "service air bag", "service tire monitor, "service engine", etc. This has happened to me twice, once at 50,000 miles and just today at 56,000. The first time it happened, the dealership said it was because of a computer located under the carpet beneath the driver seat that was getting moisture in it. They cut a slit in the carpet to let it "air out" and charged me $350. I later found out that it was a recall issue. But even with the carpet cutting 'fix', it appears to still be happening.

- Owings, MD, USA

problem #9

Feb 232010

Silverado 3500

  • 45,000 miles
Water comes into vehicle through third stop light and causes electrical problems which makes service air bag light to turn and this causes vehicle to shut down my concern is air bag failure to deploy or not to deploy when needed.

- Alton, TX, USA

problem #8

Nov 042009

Silverado 3500

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Silverado purchased pre-owned in 2009. While driving in reverse attempting to park the vehicle, he noticed that the driver's side door panel began smoking. Once the smoking ceased, he noticed that all of the electrical components on the door failed, including the power windows, mirror adjuster and power locks. The manufacturer was contacted and would not assume liability for any of the repairs. The current and failure mileages were under 65,000.

- Stone Mountain, GA, USA

problem #7

Oct 152009

Silverado 3500

  • 29,000 miles


While driving my 2007 Silverado's electrical system seems to totally shutdown just for an instant. This last time on 10/15/09, the electrical system shutdown, then came back on. I parked it shortly after and discovered my electric locks didn't work so I tried staring it, but it was dead. Had to have local Chevy dealer come jump it and I took it directly to the dealership to investigate. It happened again on the way there. Of course, they could not duplicate the problem and said truck checked out perfectly. Obviously something isn't right. I took it to a 2nd dealer the next and they said the same thing.

- Highland Village, TX, USA

problem #6

Jun 232009

Silverado 3500

  • 18,355 miles
2007 Chevrolet Silverado Z71, 18,355 miles still under factory warranty. Driving down the road today at 45 mph, A/C on high since it was 90 degree's out and out of no where the cab starts filling up with smoke and a burning plastic smell coming from the passenger side vents and from under the dash on the passenger side. I quickly pulled over shut the truck off, took the keys out of the ignition, popped the hood and noticed the A/C was still on as I was getting out. I looked under the hood seen nothing. I went to the passenger side opened the glove compartment and smoke started rolling. A passer by stopped and luckily had a socket set so I asked to use it to disconnect the battery to get the A/C to shut off. The fire department arrived the same time the gentleman got back from getting his socket set out of his car and the fire department disconnected the battery for me as I was throwing my belongings out of the truck in attempt to save them from a fire. The smoke stopped when the battery was disconnected and the A/C shut off. I contacted the dealer since the truck is still under the factory warranty, they towed it in and said that this is a common problem in 2006-2009 GM fullsize SUV's & trucks. The blower motors burn up. I asked why they haven't been recalled and the service guy said he wasn't sure. They replaced the blower motor, blower resistor and connector. The old parts were literally melted and were actually on fire. If I would not have thought to disconnect the battery the entire truck would have been burned or suffered serious water damage from the fire department. This could be life threatening to people who do not know to unhook the battery or people who panic in situations like this. I pray this does not happen to an elderly person or anyone else for that matter. GM needs to put out a recall regarding these issues. I have researched this issue on the web and found hundreds of these same exact complaints. Does it take a death before GM recalls these parts.

- Noblesville, IN, USA

problem #5

May 092009

Silverado 3500

  • 63,477 miles
We have a 2007 Chevrolet Silverado. The problem is that all of the electrical components on the dash quits, the radio, the gauges, the air conditioner, air bags don't work, the stabilititrack is off, the traction control is off, and the truck shuts off. This is the second time it has happened but this time a message comes across the speedometer that say engine power reduced and it is missing very bad. The first time this happened the engine did not miss and that message did not come across the screen. The problem resolved its self the first time and it has been a few months since the first time that it has happened again.

- Delight , AR, USA

problem #4

Jan 202008

Silverado 3500

  • 10,000 miles
I am a fire investigator working for an insurance company. I recently investigated a fire loss involving a 2007 Chevy Silverado classic which originated beneath the bench seat and involved the electrical wiring, which is attached to the driver side of the seat. Fortunately the 85 year old owner of the vehicle was not in the truck at the time of the fire.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #3

Dec 052008

Silverado 3500

  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Silverado king cab. Ever since the vehicle was purchased, the starter has failed. Initially, the dealer believed that the onstar was affecting the starter. The manufacturer remedied the onstar issue, but the failure recurred. The dealer finally stated that there was a defect with the starter. The contact must call the manufacturer in regards to the starter defect. The vehicle is currently at the dealer for repair. The failure mileage was 14,000.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #2

Jan 142009

Silverado 3500

  • miles
Battery charging at incorrect / inconsistent levels, the gage will show battery charging at 15 or higher and suddenly change to 11 or lower. Vehicle has been at the dealership for service and the mechanics either do not check it or fail to acknowledge the issue. Today the dealer provided a bulletin stating that this is normal. This bulletin is dated July 2008; however the vehicle has been in the service department several times since for this issue. Additional issue is the back up warning feature; the vehicle has sensors that notify the driver when the vehicle is too close to an object, the sensors either fail to work altogether or signals the driver when it is too late. Have nearly backed up into people / other vehicles, to date no accidents. But the vehicle size it is difficult to know when an object is behind it; or how close it is.

- West Covina, CA, USA

problem #1

May 262008

Silverado 3500

  • 19,000 miles
On May 26 2008 my Chevy Silverado wires caught on fire I was able to get it put out pretty quick with only a minor burn to my finger but GM does not want to admit there is a problem with the truck they cant say why it happened there trying to blame it on me I hope you can look into this so maybe if there is a problem with there trucks some one don't get hurt of die.

- Orange Park, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?