Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 8
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,774 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 3500 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Silverado 3500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 3500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #37

Sep 212015

Silverado 3500

  • 116,442 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dashboard light flickering. ABS, tire pressure, and air bag lights come on and off. Radio comes on and off. Did this for 40 miles constantly. Outside light working fine. Signal light would not work inside, but were working outside. Gauges (fuel, speedometer, throttle, etc) would stop working or would stick on whatever reading they were on when the flicker happens.

- Shiloh, GA, USA

problem #36

Apr 132013

Silverado 3500

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that while attempting to start the vehicle, the ignition key would not turn. The vehicle only started when the contact used the wireless vehicle starter. The contact stated that the failure recurred continuously. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but there was no diagnosis or repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Masa, AZ, USA

problem #35

Jan 022008

Silverado 3500

  • miles
I've had issues with my truck from the beginning. You can say it's a lemon I had the truck for less than a year and had to have the transmission repaired, radio doesn't work, window does work, back window slider doesn't work. All lights are going on. I should not have all this issues for this truck. That's why bought a new truck.

- Santa Barbara, CA, USA

problem #34

Dec 222014

Silverado 3500 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On December 17th, I brought my vehicle in for a key/ignition recall.they installed a key insert and key rings on both the keys. On Monday, December 22nd, my daughter inserted the key into the ignition and it automatically locked on her and she could not turn the key nor could she take the key out. I called betten Chevrolet thinking that this had to be related to the recall that was done. The person who answered the phone at betten Chevrolet stated there was no way that this was related to the recall and that she must have a dead battery and that we should try jumping it. We attempted to jump start it with no avail. I called betten back and they said they would send a tow truck but wouldn't be able to get to my car until the next day.I called the next afternoon and they told me that my battery was corroded and fried and that had also fried my computer module. Is it coincidental that my battery checked out good on the inspection but that in 5 days the battery is corroded? I am sure that if the battery was corroded on the initial inspection that would have been brought to my attention and suggested to be replaced at that time. I told him it had to be related to something they did during the recall maintenance. I was told that this was a separate incident and that this was coincidence. I called a mechanic and he said that any key that is altered will send an alert to the car that the key is altered and that this could be someone trying to break into the vehicle and that would cause the key to lock up. Therefore, betten altering the key for the recall could have potentially caused this lock up. This lock up could have caused the computer module and the battery to fry.

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #33

Jan 012009

Silverado 3500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the fuse box needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Veradale , WA, USA

problem #32

Jun 022014

Silverado 3500

  • 100,000 miles
Noticed that cruise control did not work while driving. Took vehicle to auto shop to have problem fixed, was told brake lights remained on even when brakes were not being applied (did not remain on when ignition was off), had the brake light switch replaced and problem was fixed. A few months later, a fellow drive told me that my brake lights were staying on while driving and then I noticed that the cruise control was not working again. Took back to auto shop, was told that the brake light switch was ok. Took vehicle to GM dealership and was told that the body control module needs to be replaced. I did some research and noticed that GM had a recall in May 2014 for passenger cars with similar problems.

- Collierville, TN, USA

problem #31

Nov 192014

Silverado 3500

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that the gauges in the instrument panel failed to display the correct information. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Glenpool, OK, USA

problem #30

Aug 012013

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 107,159 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 107,159. Updated 1/23/15 updated 02/19/15

- Clifton , CO, USA

problem #29

Jul 172014

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
I have had to replace two door locks on the driver side door since purchase this vehicle brand new. I have had the vehicle lost function of the air control unit and then reset months later. I have taken the vehicle in once to program the computer and air control unit, which has gone out twice and then returned back to the correct functional air setting months later after supposedly programed while under warranty. Just recently it has started to give me a check engine light which states the ignition switch is having the wrong key, and the vehicle has been giving me other warnings with traction control, check gas cap, and the radio time clock resets itself. I had to replace a battery in this vehicle in it's 3rd year. Is this vehicle in trouble as all the other problems General Motors have had"?"

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #28

May 052014

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that the radio failed to work intermittently which prevented the gauges to illuminate on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the radio needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 37,000 and the current mileage was 39,000. Updated 08/27/14 the consumer stated the seat belt and the door chime does not operate. Updated 09/17/2014

- Vashon, WA, USA

problem #27

Apr 012011

Silverado 3500

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

ABS does not work, light is on the dash. Airbag lights are on the dash and not sure if they are working, tailgate does not latch closed. Key does not always want to turn and we need to move it back and forth before it will start the vehicle.

- Novelty, OH, USA

problem #26

Aug 222011

Silverado 3500

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns 2007 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that the lights on the instrument panel illuminated independently. The contact stated that the failure was recurring. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer for diagnostic. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Easley, SC, USA

problem #25

Feb 202014

Silverado 3500

  • 65,500 miles
Doors continuously locking/unlocking, all dash lights continuously turning on/off, clock reset itself to 12:00, engine cutting in/out which also resulted in the loss of power steering and power brakes, all of which occurred while at freeway speed. I purchased the vehicle approximately a year and a half ago from a Chevrolet dealer in sacramento, ca. Since I've owned the vehicle there have been multiple occurrences of the clock resetting itself to 12:00, complete power loss when attempting to start the vehicle.

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #24

Apr 202011

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
This relates to the vehicle recalls related to the ignition switch this happened multiple times driving through the parking lot my vehicle would stop running completely before I knew unfortunately this was always at speed slower than5 miles per hour I did not experience this issue at traveling speeds however was very encouraged to remove the vehicle from my ownership due to this issue I had reported the issue to the car dealership as well as another auto mechanic neither of which were able to replicate the issue.

- Catlett, VA, USA

problem #23

Mar 312011

Silverado 3500

  • 78,000 miles
Vehicle has dual air condition (A/C) controls. The driver side starts blowing hot (heater hot) air all of a sudden. The passenger side is okay, stays cold. Even when the A/C is turned off it still blows hot air. Even with the windows open, it is still hot air coming out of the vents; like as if the heater is on. Close the vents but still blows hot. Have to stop a few minutes and something must reset because it works okay for a while. Sometimes have to stop several times to get home or pull off to the side of the road. I live and drive in South Texas... it gets 105 in the shade... 120 in a vehicle. I decided to file this because I have read on the internet many others have this same problem and now a friend of my wife's has the same problem on her Chevrolet. This is an opportunity to fix something that I believe is a design issue. To be proactive and not reactive before an accident occurs. The heat causes severe distraction. Especially if someone in the vehicle is young, elderly, ill etc. The driver is forced to keep driving. I filed a complaint with Chevrolet on 3/4/2014. Was called back and told they could not help and to report this to NHTSA.

- Floresville, TX, USA

problem #22

Aug 282013

Silverado 3500

  • 150,000 miles
When getting onstar tbt navigation the route guidance is displayed in the (dic) rather than the radio display as shown in onstar commercials and dealer demos.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #21

Feb 102014

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
While driving at highway speeds the interior lights began flickering on the dash and in the cabin. Approximately 45 seconds to one minute after the initial dash and light issues the check engine light came on and a notice of battery charging failure occurred, within a few seconds of this occurrence I began to slow down and pull over. The engine shut off before this could occur. By the time I coaxed the vehicle onto the shoulder the electrical system and door locks were no longer working. Smoke and flames began to enter the cockpit and I immediately exited the vehicle. The interior of the vehicle was fully engulfed in less than a minute and the entire truck, bed, and gas tank soon followed. The truck was completely consumed and is now a total loss.

- Millsboro, DE, USA

problem #20

Mar 202013

Silverado 3500

  • 110,200 miles
Dash board lights work on and off. This has happened three times.

- Franklin, WI, USA

problem #19

Jan 212013

Silverado 3500

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact stated that while driving approximately 55 mph, the speedometer failed without any warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where a technician stated that the vehicle speedometer needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and advised the contact that there were no recalls. The approximate failure and the current mileage was 53,000.

- Jasper, TX, USA

problem #18

Aug 132012

Silverado 3500

  • 72,000 miles
Drivers side door caught on fire while the vehicle was parked and running. Burned wire and smoke evident.

- Harrison Twp., MI, USA

Read the next 17 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?