Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
6,860 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Chevrolet Spark drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Chevrolet Spark:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Chevrolet Spark Owner Comments

problem #12

Jul 142016

Spark 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles


I am on my 3rd transmission in 2 years. The car hesitates when pulling out from a stop. At times the hesitation is so great that the car does not move at all, despite the gas pedal being pressed to the floor. The most recent episode was total transmission failure. But the transmission has had this problem since I got the car and the dealer has tried to "fix" it repeatedly, with no success.

- Arnold, PA, USA

problem #11

Apr 112016


  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Spark. Within six months of owning the vehicle, the independent dealer did not mention that there had been three recalls on the vehicle. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer for three manufacturer recalls. Prior to the repairs, there were no failures. After the repairs, there was an antifreeze leak, an oil leak, and the gears were slow to change over. The dealer was notified of the failures. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who indicated that the vehicle needed to be diagnosed to determine the failure. The contact reported to the manufacturer that failures progressed after the dealer supposedly completed three recall repairs. The contact was waiting for the manufacturer to provide a permanent repair solution to the dealer. The contact had been waiting for longer than two weeks for a solution from the dealer and the manufacturer. The failure mileage was not available.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #10

Jul 092015


  • 27,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Spark. The contact stated that while driving at low speeds, the vehicle jerked forward without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer however, the failure was unable to be diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 27,000.

- Springfield, OH, USA

problem #9

Jun 112015


  • 4,100 miles


2014 Chevy Spark with just over 4 K miles with severe acceleration problems from a stop. I took it to the dealer the first time and was told that the computer had to learn my driving style this was with about 2K miles driven. Then on June 11, 2015 I took it back to dealer again with the same compliant this time they did a driving test and scan the cvt was found to be sticking in high gear and would not shift into low gear. A new transmission was ordered and it took about 8 days to arrive. They installed the new cvt and when the technician tried to back my car out for a test drive it would not go into reverse another bad transmission. So another new cvt transmission was ordered and installed so far this one is working, total time for this repair was from June 11, 2015 to July 3, 2015.

- Ofallon, MO, USA

problem #8

Sep 252014


  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Spark. The contacted while driving 40 mph, the vehicle started to shake and failed to accelerated higher then 40 mph as all warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact quickly exited the freeway and the vehicle resume normal function. The failure was intermittent and occurred on 3 separate occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician stated that the vehicle was working up to specifications. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 100.

- Los Angeles , CA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #7

Apr 212014


  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Spark. The contact stated that while making a right turn, an abnormal noise emitted from the front drivers side of the vehicle. Also, the contact mentioned that the vehicle would decelerate sporadically. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of failures. The failure mileage was 6,000.

- Colorado Springs , CO, USA

problem #6

Oct 062014

Spark 4-cyl

  • 1,500 miles


When decelerating in my 2014 Chevrolet Spark between 25 and 15 mph it feels like someone is applying the brakes. Service technician said it's normal for a cvt. I have driven multiple cars with cvt and never experienced this problem. Also, a loud ticking from the engine. Technician states it's the fuel injectors. I am not accepting this explanation because the engine also "misses" a stroke once in awhile.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #5

Jul 142014

Spark 4-cyl

  • 485 miles
With less than 500 miles on it, vehicle was hesitating intermittently upon acceleration from a stop; occasionally would miss briefly, would not always "shift" unless you took foot off gas; would feel like brake being applied when coasting at low speed; and was getting bad gas mileage. Car was not showing any error codes but mechanic found these issues upon test driving it himself. Dealership replaced pistons, rods, etc. Was told wrong pistons installed at factory. Upon test driving after repairs mechanic found transmission problems (leaking) and found a crack in the housing and an O ring not seated properly. Replaced housing and again test drove and had transmission noise and found metal shavings in pan) and they then replaced entire transmission. Loved the style of this car but am totally disappointed in the quality of this car.

- Kerrville, TX, USA

problem #4

Jan 072014

Spark 4-cyl

  • 110 miles
The car acts sluggish and act like it is going to stall out when you push on the gas pedal after you slow down or come to a complete stop. It also has tried to stall out while driving three times when you press on the gas pedal with other than slight pressure. At low speeds the steering goes a little crazy so that you can't control the car very well. I did send a similar complaint to Chevrolet corporation back in approximately March through their website but have not heard back from them. I did let them know this car is dangerous and should not be sold. My son had the accident happen on May 4, 2014 when he had stopped to get gas. He was pulling away from pumps and the car kept going right into curb because it was trying to stall out. I will be submitting same information again to Chevrolet corporation through their website.

- Holiday, FL, USA

problem #3

Jun 232014

Spark 4-cyl

  • 25 miles
June 21st I bought a 2014 Chevy Spark and only used to get to work & back.then on the 23rd I was sitting in traffic waiting to move.I pushed down on the gas peddle & was jolted forward & back.I thought this was normal since I never had this type of transmission (cvt). Then I noticed that I really had to give it gas to get going up a hill & after stopping at a red light.the next day it happened again so I called the dealer the next day & they said to bring it in.after they took the car for a test ride & ran a diagnostics on it they said that there was something wrong with the transmission.tried to up date the software & they had no luck.then they called GM & told them what they found.came back to tell me that I needed a new transmission.have been waiting for the transmission & in the mean time I found out after calling GM that in may of this year there was a recall for a knocking noise of the engine & acceleration problem.also, checked to see is any other recalls were for my car.found out in South Korea the Spark was recalled due to a defective transmission mount, with gearbox mount that may destabilize and cause a drop in transmission power.gave the dealership this information that I found.still waiting to get my car back & not sure I want to keep it.the dealership will not buy back my car & said that they can give me another Spark if this one not top it off I 'm paying my car insurance for a car I don't have.

- Bridgeville, PA, USA

problem #2

Jun 272014


  • 3,000 miles
While I was driving, I lost acceleration, I heard a loud boom, and was propelled forward with such force I thought I had been hit from behind. The engine light came on immediately after. I am nervous to drive the car in traffic now. 2014 Chevy Spark.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #1

Feb 282014

Spark 4-cyl

  • miles
I purchased a 2014 Chevy Spark on 2-26-2014. 40 hours later the check engine light came on and vehicle was struggling to shift. Returned to dealer and they said that a sensor was not plugged in all the way and the transmission issue was because a new vehicle "needed to be broken in...which takes about 1000 miles). Service manager decided to keep vehicle because transmission didn't seem right. They kept vehicle until 3-7-2014 and still did not shift right. Had 4 days, and check engine light came back on. Returned car to dealership on 3-14-2014 and they had vehicle for 13 days before any contact from them. Called on 3-27-2014 & they stated that they had to change pistons and other engine components and vehicle would not be ready for about a week. To further my suspicion, they want me to come in on 3-28-2014 to sign papers to refinance vehicle from gmac auto finance because they "found a lower interest rate"!! and to further my disgust with this situation, they never sent the payoff to my finance company of the vehicle that I traded in and now they have adversely affected my credit. I have only had possession of this vehicle for 9 days in a 30 day period. Any suggestions??

- Creston, OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?