Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,751 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Chevrolet Suburban brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chevrolet Suburban:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chevrolet Suburban Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #46

Sep 012010

Suburban 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Suburban. The contact stated that after receiving a recall notice in reference to NHTSA campaign id number 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock) and for 05V155000(fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump). The first recall repaired the failure that occurred seven months later when the ABS lights illuminated on the instrumental panel. The vehicle was inspected by the dealer who stated that he needed to replace the braking module and the ebcm. The vehicle was repaired. The second recall notice was issued the failure occurred later in 2010 when the vehicle stalled while driving at various speeds. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who advised him that the fuel pump and the fuel filter needed to be replaced. The fuel pump and filter were repaired. The failure mileages was approximately 120,600. Updated 03/24/11 updated 04/28/11

- Lehi, UT, USA

problem #45

Jan 012010

Suburban

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Suburban 1500. The contact stated that the anti-lock brake sensor would independently engage when driving at speeds of at least 10 mph. When the ABS would activate it would cause an unusual increase in stopping distance. The contact previously received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic: Anti-lock) but was advised by the dealer that because the vehicle was over 100,000 miles, they would not make repairs. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 65,000 and the current mileage was 113,000.

- Hampshire, IL, USA

problem #44

Dec 102009

Suburban

  • 8,500 miles
The NHTSA campaign id #L 05V379000 on my 2001 Chevrolet Suburban was performed in 2005 at the valenti auto mall in mystic, ct. The intent was to treat a GM recall no. 05068 to fix ABS front hub sensors that would corrode. Supposedly they did this at 85,000 miles in 2005. In 2009, I have been having recurring ABS issues and they replaced the inaccurate sensor signal at $675. Recurring issues they now need to replace the passenger side sensor at $675. The issue is that the sensor recall did not solve the problem, GM has stated the customer must pay for the very issue the recall called out, which was corroded senor hub assemblies and the customer must pay. This has been a very dangerous condition that GM/Chevrolet knew of and did not fix in an appropriate manner. The Suburban barely does not stop well at all and is very dangerous.

- Mystic, CT, USA

problem #43

Jun 012005

Suburban

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Suburban 1500. The contact stated that the ABS was engaging prematurely. While attempting to park the vehicle at 5 mph, the contact attempted to depress the brake pedal, but the vehicle did not stop. The vehicle crashed into the wall of his garage. The dealer repaired the front hubs and ABS sensors for free and the contact was reimbursed for the damages made to his garage doors. Shortly after the repairs were made, the manufacturer issued a recall on the same defect he experienced. The contact stated that the failure recurred at 87,000 miles. The ABS light illuminated and the vehicle failed to come to a complete stop until a few seconds after the brake pedal was depressed. He called the manufacturer to notify them of the failure, but they were not willing to authorize the repair of the ABS for free. The VIN and recall number were unknown. The failure mileage was 30,000 and current mileage was 87,000.

- Poughquag, NY, USA

problem #42

Jan 192008

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,600 miles
I have a 2001 Chevy Suburban that is also having the dreaded ABS issue, ABS engages at low speeds and while cornering while braking at low speeds. I notice there is a recall for this problem, but because I live in the northwest, not the midwest or northeast, it does not pertain to me. This is absolute horse caca. I live in a coastal town (salt air= corrosion) also a military area(people move here from the afore mentioned trouble areas). In today's day and age of auto auctions, interstate travel, etc... autos are transferred everywhere. How can GM issue a regional recall? my first occurrence of this issue was last weekend on a road trip with the family. I entered a turning lane to make a left turn into the hotel parking lot, while slowing and then braking for the turn the ABS engaged and kept me from stopping for approx 3-4 seconds( a Suburban can travel quite a distance away in 3 seconds even going under 10 mph. The poor girl that was in the turning lane ahead of me must of thought her Honda was about to become recyclable(crunched). Only by the seat of my pants did I avoid a collision. On coming traffic eased and I was able to take evasive actions. (hit the gas and fish tail into the hotel parking lot, stopping only by hitting a snow bank! I have a appointment with the shop Friday to have it fixed. Even better, I'm only 800 miles out of the extended warranty we purchased. From the looks of it, $1000 to fix ABS, $2,400 worthless extended warranty=$3,400. This Chevy was my first and last american car purchase. Have 2 imports with 250K and never more than routine service. Argh! just because there was not a injury, death, fire, etc.. doesn't excuse GM from national responsibility.

- Keyport , WA, USA

problem #41

Oct 022007

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
ABS kicks in at speeds under 10 mph even after recall fix in Oct 2005 dealer kindly did a goodwill repair at minimal cost to me on 11/7/2007 I just want people to know this problem is recurring.

- Oakland, MI, USA

problem #40

Sep 012007

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The ABS on my 2001 Chevy Suburban activates at slow speeds extending my stopping distance. I was subject to a recall in October, 2005 when I had no symptoms but took my vehicle to the dealer who says they completed the recall requirements. Now, I am having the symptoms and GM refuses to take care of the problem. I spent $80 at a dealer for diagnosis and they say it is a faulty wheel sensor(low voltage) and want another $330 to repair. The recall letter I was sent specifically states that "in some cases, the front wheel speed sensor may require replacement." GM offered me a 10% discount on the repair after I called them. I feel they should repair it. NHTSA recall # 05V379000.

- Woodstown, NJ, USA

problem #39

Sep 232007

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 219,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Suburban. While driving 5 mph, the ABS activated without warning and the stopping distance increased. As of September 24, 2007, the dealer had not inspected the vehicle. The contact believed that the ABS wheel sensor caused the failure. The manufacturer stated that his VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign id number 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic: Antilock). The current and failure mileages were 219,000.

- Oxon Hill, MD, USA

problem #38

Aug 242007

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 114,800 miles
Same symptoms as was subject of a recall to brakes done 09-06-06 (service ticket ctcs224790). Intermittent ABS activation on slow speed stop that causes the stopping distance to increase. No slippery surface or tire skidding that would cause the activation. Prior to the 2006 recall, these same symptoms had begun on the vehicle and gradually worsened. I took the vehicle to the dealer (damascus Chevrolet 301-253-2151) on 8-24-07 (service ticket ctcs233310). Service writer butch eccard states the mechanic could find nothing wrong except one front backing plate touching the rotor. No code stored in the computer. ABS activation occurred two more times since the service.

- Damascus, MD, USA

problem #37

Feb 102007

Suburban 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,999 miles
- the contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Suburban. The contact purchased this vehicle on January 26, 2007. On 2/10/07 the contact noticed that it was taking longer than expected to brake and he was too close to other vehicles at low speeds. The contact said that the brake pedal push upward and then it went down. It became difficult to avoid other vehicles when coming to a complete stop. The contact took the vehicle to auto sale in pasadena md. The contact then called Chevrolet, and was told that this vehicle did not fall under a current recall that described the same symptoms as in the vehicle. NHTSA recallrecall 05V379000/GM recall 05068 wa sissued. The failure mileage was 76999, and the current mileage was 77213.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #36

Sep 272006

Suburban

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

ABS module failed @ 37,000 mi and again @ 67,000 mi. Dealer charged approx. $1200 each time.

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #35

Jul 152006

Suburban 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles
Anti-lock braking system failure. Pump on anti-lock braking system continues to run causing pump failure unless disconnecting fuse at panel. Upon disconnecting fuse the anti-lock braking system is useless as is the traction control feature. All lights, ABS, traction assist, brake become illuminated on dash board. I feel this is a hazardous condition due to the driver not having the anti-lock brakes or traction assist. I've talked with numerous owners of the same type vehicle and they all have the same complaints. The only repair is to replace the electronic brake control module (ebcm) that is mounted to the top of the ABS pump. GM is charging in the ballpark of $700-$900 for this part and they are aware of the problem. 8jb

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

problem #34

Jul 012006

Suburban 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,000 miles
ABS and brake lights continue to come on.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #33

Jan 102006

(reported on)

Suburban

  • miles
2001 Chevy Suburban was involved in a collision due to a defect in the ABS system as stated in recall. ** answer required***

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #32

Jan 302004

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,022 miles
Contact stated the control module for the ABS system shorted out. The indicator lights on the dashboard had been on. The motor to ABS system would running continuously. He removed the fuse to the ABS system. The ABS system no longer worked. He contacted the dealer, who stated they could replace the motor, however, they offered no free remedy. Updated 12/27/05.

- Bay City, MI, USA

problem #31

Nov 052005

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
2001 Chevy Suburban - anti-lock brakes activate at slow speeds, when they should not. Vehicle takes longer to stop, almost causing accidents. Dealer replaced rusted wheel hub. But, indicated that it would not be covered by recall campaign number 05V379000. I believe it should be.

- Westminster, MD, USA

problem #30

Jul 302004

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact states when he applied the brakes the ABS activated. This happened at lower speeds when the brakes were applied. On one occasion he panic braked and the vehicle would not stop. This resulted in the contact's vehicle hitting another vehicle. There was a recall for this type of vehicle, but the manufacturer said this vehicle was not included in the recall. The service dealer cleaned the ABS sensors after the accident occurred. He assumed this was a safety problem. This corrected the problem.

- Gainsville, VA, USA

problem #29

Sep 012005

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Honorable senators & congressmen: We seek your investigation and protest over General Motors' outrageous decision to exclude Wisconsin from its recent truck/SUV anti-lock braking system recall. Some 14 "cold weather" states (plus Canada) were covered, including all bordering Wisconsin---but not Wisconsin! our 2001 vehicle experienced the anti-lock problem. Our GM dealer simply did the repairs, and stated that we'd be reimbursed after the recall went into effect. Thus, we had no need to file any formal complaint. Now GM states that Wisconsin was excluded because it had not received sufficient complaints! gr-R-R-R!! this must not stand. We have also requested assistance from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. We would also appreciate your assistance. Warm regards, mark & sharon leider 1319 woodview avenue sheboygan, wi 53081 leiders@charter.net.

- Sheboygan, WI, USA

problem #28

Aug 152005

Suburban 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
My ABS engages at low speeds on dry pavement almost every time I come to a stop.

- Cohoes, NY, USA

problem #27

Aug 182005

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,545 miles
I have the exact problem identified in PE05020. The ABS comes on almost every time I stop. My wife almost crashed in another car in a parking lot. While I don't live in Canada where GM recalled vehicles for the same issue, I live in the North state subject to the same conditions. What is GM waiting for, more casualties? this is on a 2001 Suburban with a complete set of new rotors and pads. It started about 1 month or about 1000 miles after the brake job ( mid August). I have parked the vehicle until I can get it fixed. I am telling all my friends that have Suburban and Avalanche to look out for this problem. I know I will stay clear of them in parking lots and stop lights. Someone should put a warning out to the media -- these vehicles are dangerous!

- Cary, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?