Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,346 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Suburban accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Suburban:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Suburban Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #40

Jul 152014

Suburban

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Suburban. The contact stated that after starting the vehicle, the two wheel or four wheel drive light failed to illuminate. The failure prevented the contact of knowing which gear the vehicle was in. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #39

Apr 012014

Suburban

  • miles
2005 Chevrolet Suburban. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle odometer problems. The consumer began having problems with the speedometer approximately 2 years ago. Intermittently, the needle on the odometer would climb above the actual speed he was traveling, then move up and down tens of miles above the actual speed, at times, it would rise to 120 and remain there. When he turned the vehicle off and on again, it worked fine, until the next time.

- Bethesda, MD, USA

problem #38

Jan 162014

Suburban

  • 110,000 miles
Speedometer stayed at speed I was driving when I stopped the car. When I restarted the car it did not return to zero but started at last speed I was driving, then increase from there. Speedometer finally stayed at 100 mph, it did not return to zero and I was unable to determine speed of car when driving. RPM also malfunction, it stayed at 1.5 when driving and didn't vary when I increased or decreased my speed. Had to have it replaced as I could not determine speed I was driving. No official recall, only a class action suit. My make/model/year was part of the cars affected in the suit, only I didn't qualify for reimbursement of repair because the problem occurred outside of the 7 year 80,000 mile parameter GM set up for reimbursement.

- Plymouth, MN, USA

problem #37

May 212011

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I went to Washington auto show today 2/4/2012 and one of your rep gave me a card about your service. I came home and check out your website and found out you have been receiving complaints about instrument panel of Chevy Suburban. I bought a 2005 Chevy Suburban in March 2005 from win kelly chevorlet in clarksville, md. About middle of last year I noticed that my speedometer is always stuck, running high than the speed I am driving and just exactly as being described by other owners of these vehicles. What is the department doing to help with this manufacturer's defect and have it corrected rather than we consumers being saddled with unexpected repair cost?

- Beltsville, MD, USA

problem #36

Nov 152011

Suburban

  • 88,422 miles
I have a Chevy Suburban 2005 my speedometer has stopped working. I also have a 2005 duramax that this has happened to. I would like to see a full blown recall placed on all GMC/Chevy vehicles. Apparently these are hundreds of thousands people with this issue across the U.S./ world according to forums I have been on. While there is a class action lawsuit out there for a very limited group of GMC vehicles, making lawyers rich. Instead of taking care of the people whom make this world actually run. This issue needs to seriously looked into. My next step is to get the media involved showing how again the average consumer can get screwed by the big companies. I am not keeping my mouth shut about this. Thank you

- Union, KY, USA

problem #35

Sep 012011

Suburban 8-cyl

  • 106,389 miles
The speedometer reads erroneously high and often exceeds 100 mph readings while my gps reads at 70mph. There is no time at which indicated speed readings can be trusted.

- Las Cruces, NM, USA

problem #34

Jan 012009

Suburban

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Chevy Suburban odometer is faulty. It stop working properly on my Chevy truck. It overshoot the speed all the way to more than 120miles/hr when I do not go over 30miles/hr. GM needs to take ownership of it. Needs to have recall. It is safety of general public. Please force them to recall for the odometer.

- Des Plaines, IL, USA

problem #33

Dec 272010

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • 79,750 miles
My 2005 Chevrolet Suburban has 79,985 miles and this week while driving route 95 (70 mph highway in the South) from New Jersey to South Carolina my speedometer started showing a much higher speed then I was traveling. I was using my gps at the time and it said I was doing 69 mph while my gauge showed a constant climb till it reached 120 mph and flat lined beyond that point. This was a 1600 mile round trip and if I had not had my gps with me I would not know how fast or slow I was going. I was waiting for something else to go wrong. While in South Carolina I went to recalls on the internet with 2005 GM SUV's and found a whole bunch of similar complaints, yet GM (Chevrolet) has not done anything that I could find. I returned home today and called my local Chevrolet dealer and explained to the service department what had happened and they said they never heard of this and gave me an appointment for next Monday 1/3/2011 to bring in the SUV. Since this car is out of service I am holding my breath as to what the bill could be. This is a very dangerous thing, I could be not looking at the gauge and be running right into a high speed error and putting my family in harms way. Can anyone help?

- Somerset, NJ, USA

problem #32

Dec 152005

Suburban 8-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
Speedometer stopped working on our 2005 Chevy Suburban. Started out going from 20 to 100 and not registering the proper speed. Now is stuck at 120 mph. Cost ranges from 300 to 1000 dollars to fix. Having to use gps for speed which is a distraction and safety concern.

- St.Johns, FL, USA

problem #31

Dec 032010

Suburban

  • 115,000 miles
While driving the speedometer jumped to 20 mph and never dropped back down.

- Manlius, NY, USA

problem #30

Jul 012010

Suburban 8-cyl

  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Speedometer for Chevrolet Suburban 2005 no working properly, even when the car is stop the speedometer show 70 mph.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #29

Apr 092010

(reported on)

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2005 Chevrolet Suburban. Consumer states defective speedometer. Consumer sent in duplicate letter on 3/25/2010. The consumer stated the speedometer was stuck at 120 mph. The consumer was informed her vehicle was not a part of the recall, as her vehicle identification did not fall within the range. The second problem with the vehicle was the transmission. The consumer stated the vehicle had to be towed to the dealer, due to the interal failure of the transmission. Updated 04/12/10.

- Monument, CO, USA

problem #28

Dec 012009

Suburban

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Suburban. While driving approximately between 55-60 mph, the speedometer displayed inaccurate readings. While traveling at any given speed the failure occurred without warning. The authorized dealer stated that the instrument cluster required replacement. The vehicle has not been repaired at this time. The failure mileage was 55,000. The VIN was not available. The current mileage was 56,000. Updated 11/16/10.

- Hillsboro, OH, USA

problem #27

Jan 062005

Suburban 8-cyl

  • 58,754 miles
I have a 2005 Chevrolet Suburban Z71 with 59,799 miles. The speedometer on it recently stopped working correctly. The day the speedometer stopped working correctly I was on an hour long trip on the highway. During the trip I noticed the speedometer showed I was going 95 mph. The speedometer continued to increase even when I slowed down, until it passed 120 mph where it was stuck for several days. It started to slowly go back down. Since that day then the speedometer continues to show the incorrect speed of the vehicle. The speedometer sometimes reads as high as 120 mph when the vehicle is not moving, and at other times displays the vehicle going 10 mph when the vehicle is not moving, and other times shows correctly at 0 mph. The problem seems to get worse when I drive the vehicle on longer trips. I have contacted the local dealership and was told there is a recall to correct this problem but that my VIN number is not included in the recall.

- Loveland, CO, USA

problem #26

Aug 282009

Suburban

  • 60,000 miles
Speedometer does not work on my 2005 Chevrolet Suburban 1500. Stopped working at about 60,000 miles - there should be a recall as this is a common problem on this vehicle and it costs approx. $500 to fix and it is a safety hazard.

- Corrigan, TX, USA

problem #25

Feb 122008

Suburban

  • 44,000 miles
We bought a 2005 Chevrolet Suburban in early 2006. In early 2008 the speedometer started to act up (bouncing, steadily decreasing until zero) we have just completed a long trip and the speedometer was not working for 4 hours.

- Galena, OH, USA

problem #24

Nov 012008

Suburban

  • 35,000 miles
I have a 2005 1500 Chevy Suburban that the speedometer reads erratic. It goes 120+ while at a red light or 25 cruising down the interstate. This has been going on for about 5 months now. I talk to the dealers and they say there is nothing they can do that I will have to pay the 600-900 dollars for the repairs. Not knowing how fast or slow you are going only guestamating is very dangerous for myself along with everyone else I share the road with.

- Poway, CA, USA

problem #23

Nov 202008

Suburban

  • 49,200 miles
In November, my speedometer on my 2005 Suburban 1500 started fluctuating all over the place. Sometimes it doesn't even read on the numbers. Called dealer and they said their was a recall only up to 2004. I read on line that alot of people were having trouble with the cluster. Now in beginning of February my gas gage is reading wrong. Things on the instrument panel are not working right. This all started happening under 50,000 miles. My husband is laid off and we just don't have the money to fix it. Please help!!

- Gansevoort, NY, USA

problem #22

Feb 142009

Suburban

  • 66,747 miles
The speedometer in my 2005 Chevrolet Suburban just stopped working. The needle is indicating 30mph all the time. This initially lead to me thinking I was going slower than I really was until I figured out that it wasn't working properly.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #21

Nov 212008

Suburban 8-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Suburban. The contact stated that the speedometer displays inaccurate readings on the instrument panel. He cannot determine the appropriate speed, which is a safety issue. The dealer stated that the instrument control cluster needed to be replaced at the cost of $600. The manufacturer stated that because a class action lawsuit does not include the contact's vehicle year, they would not assume any responsibility for the repair. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 54,000 and the current mileage was unknown. Updated 5/26/09 the speedometer is broken and the electrical communication makes a buzzing sound. Updated 05/28/09.

- Oakland, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?