Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,025 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Suburban electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Suburban:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Suburban Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #40

Aug 072016

Suburban

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Chevrolet Suburban 1500 4X4 flex fuel, 5.3L. This vehicle's instrument cluster does not work. Tachometer pegs and sticks. The speedometer is stuck at zero. This is a very serious safety concern that General Motors/GM should do a free recall for as many owners of this vehicle have the same problems. My ABS sensor light comes on and off numerous times a day, and cluster states service air bag. General Motors should also fix this for free under a recall as others have the same issue with this vehicle. My third major complaint, is the vehicle starting problem/hard start. It takes two turns of the engine for the vehicle to turn on and stay running. I have researched this on various search engines, forums, and including recall.gov. General Motors should address this issues as well under a recall. GM installed faulty fuel pumps or fuel pumps with faulty components in them. A vehicle should start with one try. I should not have to get the fuel pressure going in the on position, or crank it twice for my truck to start.

- Hagerstown, MD, USA

problem #39

Jun 012010

Suburban 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
The driver side seat heater randomly turns itself on. When you turn it off it comes back on again and randomly cycles through the various settings. It's almost a constant battle trying to keep it turned off which creates a hazardous situation equal to, or worse, then texting while driving as you have to keep looking down to push the button, especially here in Florida where you don't need (or want) seat heat in the summer. I've fought this to the point that I've worn the paint off the switch. If you search the internet this is a very prevalent problem with GM vehicles during these model years. I also have a 2006 GMC Sierra that does the exact same thing. I've been to at least 5 different dealerships and either they can't fix it or they claim they've never heard of the problem. That can't be true since GM issued a tsb for this problem but the recommended fix (reprogramming the driver door switch) actually does not fix the problem. In fact, when the dealer reprogrammed my GMC it actually made it worse to where it happens much more frequently. I contacted GM and even though I took it to a dealer 4-5 months ago where they couldn't fix it, GM says I have to take it back to the dealer (pay another $100 diagnostic fee) to meet their policy that they will only address the issue if you've been to a dealer within the last 30 days. Some reports are the seat heater elements are shorting out. Either way this creates a very unsafe situation for drivers. GM says I can pull the fuse for the seat heaters. However, when you remove the fuse labeled "seat heater" it actually does nothing. The seats are still powered and the problem persists. This clearly indicates an electrical problem and design flaw. The only sure cure is to remove the 30 amp breaker under the dash rendering your driver/passenger inoperative. GM must fix this problem before someone gets killed from being distracted.

- Navarre, FL, USA

problem #38

Nov 202009

Suburban 8-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
At approximately 4 years and 45,000 miles after purchase of my 2005 Suburban, the tachometer began failing with intermittent low readings or no reading. Since the vehicle was out of warranty and the tachometer isn't really very useful for an automatic transmission vehicle, I was not overly concerned and I did not bring the vehicle in for repair due to the anticipated high expense. Shortly after the tachometer failure (about 55,000 miles) the gas gauge began failing with erratic readings. Ultimately the behavior degraded to a pegged counter clockwise condition where the reading now stays at all times. Although inconvenient, the 'miles to empty' information display seemed to continue to work normally and I decided I could use that method instead of having a repair performed. I've been using that method ever since without any issues, but I tend to be conservative and fill up before I come close to being empty. Within the next six months after the gas gauge failed (about 60,000 miles), the volt meter began giving erroneously high readings of about 20 volts. It was a pretty rare event. When it showed this over voltage condition, I checked the charging voltage at several locations and found the voltage to be normal. When I determined that there wasn't an actual over-voltage condition, I wasn't too concerned about this infrequent issue. Several months after the gas gauge failure, the speedometer began failing with low or no readings. It started out to be a very rare occurrence. The issue now seems to be occurring with greater frequency. The increased failure rate concerns me since it can result in a safety hazard as well as could result in a costly speeding ticket. I was not notified of any of the GM campaigns for this issue on the same model vehicle on different vins. GM's position is any repair will be at my full expense (approx $600).

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #37

Apr 202013

Suburban 8-cyl

  • 189,233 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Attempted to lock the vehicle using the key fob - all four doors locked - the rear hatch did not - tried the key fob several more times with the same result - opened the driver's door and used the manual lock button - got the same result, the four doors locked but not the rear hatch - for my 2005 model, and for several model years other than my 2005, I read many complaints about the same problem on this website prior to sending this - and many complaints about the opposite problem, namely, the rear hatch door locks and cannot be opened - there is no key hole in the door, only the key fob operates locking and unlocking the door - obviously a design problem that you ought to issue a recall on - and, read many, many complaints about the instrument cluster over many model years - again, obviously a design problem - why don't you folks make GM fix these faults " - they are not few in number - they are not isolated - they certainly are not owner generated - make GM fix them - isn't that your job" thanks for your help and good luck, waiting to see in Alabama

- Tuscaloosa, AL, USA

problem #36

Aug 152012

Suburban 8-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
I was driving on a trip to Florida when at 65 mph my speedometer kept increasing and pegged out at the 120 mph mark. I pulled over to try and resolve the issue but to no avail it stayed stuck at the 120 mph mark. When I restarted the vehicle all my cluster gauges were pegged out: Oil, battery, temp, and even gas gauge. I also started getting info that my airbag system needed attention. Four wheel drive light came on just a different array of malfunctions came flying across my display. To this date my battery gauge is still pegged out my airbag light is on, service four wheel drive light still flashes inadvertently and now my drivers side heater and controls are not working correctly. Brought in to repair shop & they said no recall has been issued so my cost would run well over $1500. Ridiculous. Own up Chevy fix this.

- Port St. John , FL, USA

problem #35

Dec 032012

Suburban 8-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
My speedometer recently started malfunctioning. It read 20mph when I was driving at least 50mph, then it read 90+mph when I was actually driving 30mph. Finally, my speedometer gave out and is "stuck" in the 120+mph position. Thankfully, I have a gps navigation system that has a gauge on it so I know my rate of speed. I contacted GM and they refused to remedy this "widespread" problem. They said that my "special coverage" has ended (referring to the 2008 class action suit that prompted it). I am very upset! I have read many, many forums and found that this is a very common issue. My mechanic says they replace them "all the time" and charges $700-$1,000 to fix it. In my opinion, there should be a recall on the instrument cluster panel. I just don't understand why GM won't step up and fix it free of charge.

- La Marque, TX, USA

problem #34

Aug 152012

Suburban

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Electrical cluster speedometer went haywire then quit odometer did the same.

- Novato, CA, USA

problem #33

Jan 142013

Suburban 8-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Our speedometer just all of a sudden stopped working, from time to time it looks like it is working but it is not going the speed that it says. Since this started our oil gauge, and now fuel gauge has stopped working.

- Weymouth, MA, USA

problem #32

Sep 062012

Suburban 8-cyl

  • 61,545 miles
On August 3rd, 2012 my 2005 Chevrolet Suburban 1500 first showed signs of the instrument panel cluster failing. The tachometer showed a reading of 5,000 rpms with the engine idling. This continued for a few days and then seemed to go back to normal. About a week later the speedometer began to indicate incorrect readings. By September 6th, 2012 I had noticed it would sometimes show a speed of 120 mph while going an actual speed 50 mph or sometimes show 29 mph while going 50 mph. For a while it was moving the needle below 0mph. I can no longer rely on the gauges of this vehicle with only 65,000 miles on it.

- Westford, MA, USA

problem #31

Oct 012010

Suburban 8-cyl

  • miles
Speedometer very erratic, shows excessive speeds (120mph) or doesn't register correct speed at all. Called dealer numerous times about problem and never told about the tsb only that it would be over $600 to fix. Did research online and found tsb and called again. This is a huge safety hazard and one that Chevrolet should address across the board with the vehicles affected by this. Then was told can't fix it because of mileage unless I pay out of pocket. Now needle is stuck at zero and unfortunately being military we don't get paid enough to just shell out $600+ on a whim. Someone needs to make Chevrolet take care of their faulty products, if you pay for a premium product you should get one.

- Fort Hood, TX, USA

problem #30

Oct 092012

Suburban

  • 107,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Suburban 2500. The contact inspected the vehicle and detected a shortage within the circuits under the driver's side dashboard, which resulted in the wires becoming melted. The manufacturer was notified and recommended the vehicle be taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis. The vehicle had not been repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 107,000.

- North Pole, AK, USA

problem #29

Jun 052012

Suburban

  • 102,800 miles
Heating, ventilation, and air conditioning blower not fully functional on all blower speeds, runs continuously with the ignition off. Discharges battery with ignition keys removed, and has a burning smell.

- Damascus, OR, USA

problem #28

Nov 302011

Suburban

  • miles
A/C system would randomly blow hot air; then fan would run with ignition off; then fan speeds would quit working; finally blower quit altogether. GM has 2 service bulletins out with exact problem description, but they claim my vehicle not covered.

- Sugar Land, TX, USA

problem #27

May 212011

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
I went to Washington auto show today 2/4/2012 and one of your rep gave me a card about your service. I came home and check out your website and found out you have been receiving complaints about instrument panel of Chevy Suburban. I bought a 2005 Chevy Suburban in March 2005 from win kelly chevorlet in clarksville, md. About middle of last year I noticed that my speedometer is always stuck, running high than the speed I am driving and just exactly as being described by other owners of these vehicles. What is the department doing to help with this manufacturer's defect and have it corrected rather than we consumers being saddled with unexpected repair cost?

- Beltsville, MD, USA

problem #26

May 062011

Suburban

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Suburban.the contact was driving approximately 45 mph and noticed the speedometer, fuel and oil gauges failed to operate. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 69,000.

- Gainsville, FL, USA

problem #25

Apr 302011

Suburban

  • 85,000 miles
Instrument panel - cluster device -- panel/ speedometer went dead. GM service dealer told us, " the entire truck could die and stop working as a result. "

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #24

Nov 202010

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • 99,350 miles
At 99K miles the speedometer started acting erratic. There are times it is correct and times when it reads 5 to 25 miles more than my traveling speed. It is definitely hit or miss as to when this will occur. Now the oil pressure gauge and the RPM gauge are acting faulty as well. I have not taken any measures to correct the speedometer but it will reset itself after several times of turning the car on an off. This is definitely a safety hazard when the speedometer reads errantly while driving on the interstate.

- Parkville, MD, USA

problem #23

Dec 142010

Suburban

  • 50,000 miles
Speedometer on our 2005 surburban has been malfunctioning like all others reported on this site - ours for well over two years: Sometimes reads zero when driving at highway speeds, other times is tacked at over 120 mph. We can be at a stop and it reads 90. Afraid to use cruise control - who knows what will happen! waiting for NHTSA to demand a recall these vehicles: What will it take" someone dying because they hydroplane, or roll, or rear end someone because they have no clue how fast they are going"

- Newbury Park, CA, USA

problem #22

Nov 202010

Suburban

  • 121,000 miles
We own a 2005 Chevy Suburban, and the speedometer began to jump around and act erratically. It now shows about 60 mph, even though the vehicle is at a stop. Goes up above 120 mph while driving through town. We called the dealership, and just like others reported, was told we were going to be taken for over $600 for a repair that is occurring in virtually every 2005 GM truck (along with other years). We can no longer tell what speed we are driving, which is a serious safety hazard, especially for my teenage drivers that drive this vehicle.

- Catawba, NC, USA

problem #21

Nov 192010

Suburban 8-cyl

  • 42,600 miles
2005 Chevy Suburban the speedometer just went out @ 42,600K miles.

- Beaumont, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?