Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,081 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Chevrolet Tahoe brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Chevrolet Tahoe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Chevrolet Tahoe Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #43

Sep 042009


  • 104,000 miles


The contact owns a 1998 Chevrolet Tahoe. At low speeds he experienced unwanted anti-lock brake (ABS) activation. The condition leads to extended stopping distances. The vehicle has not been taken to the dealer for inspection. The current and failure mileages were 104000.

- Lawrence, MA, USA

problem #42

Jan 012007

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
1998 Tahoe ABS braking problem. ABS system engages at low speed making it very hard to stop vehicle safely.

- Cottage Grove, MN, USA

problem #41

Oct 032006

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
When traveling 10 mph or under the anti-lock brakes system starts making it hard to stop.

- Norwalk, IA, USA

problem #40

Apr 202006

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 170,400 miles


ABS system engages and creates dangerous brake sponginess. I have a difficult time stopping this vehicle. I have taken it to numerous dealers who attribute the problem to the existing recall on similar GM light trucks and SUV's related to oxidation/corrosion of the brake system. I would like this fixed.

- East Stroudsburg, PA, USA

problem #39

May 042006

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 122,000 miles
While trying to stop while driving at a slow speed my ABS fail causing my vehicle not to stop and in 2 incidences we have hit other vehicles. Spoke with dealer and they said ABS sensor is problem. This is recalled in the same vehicle in 1999 but my vehicle is a 1998.

- Snyder, NY, USA

problem #38

Mar 282006

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 131,000 miles
: the contact stated while pulling out from a red light at 5 mph, a vehicle in front of the contact slammed on the brakes. When the contact went to apply the brakes, the ABS engaged and the brake pedal went to the floor and the vehicles crashed. The contact's vehicle received no damage; however, the other vehicle sustained property damage to the rear bumper. The police were called to the scene although there were no injuries. GM stated because of the age and amount of mileage on the vehicle they would not cover any repairs, however they did pay for the inspection of the vehicle. Updated 06/30/06.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #37

Feb 162006

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles


My 1998 Chevy Tahoe has an ABS event when coming to a stop at approximately 6 miles per hour. This just started happening at around 60K miles. It has gotten progressively worse as the miles accumulated. Currently I have 80K on my SUV. This increases my stopping distance an worries me about how much control I have if I need to stop quickly. I have not done anything yet to fix the problem. I just started researching this and found that there is a limited recall already happening on GM SUVS and trucks from 1999 - 2002. I am scared to take it to the dealer due to the costs. Everytime I come to a stop, the ABS kicks on.

- Dryden, MI, USA

problem #36

Feb 122006

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles
: the contact stated while applying the brake on wet pavement at speeds of 4 mph the anti-lock engages. There is a NHTSA recall, # 05V379000, regarding the anti-lock brakes. The vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall; however it is not included in the recall due to the VIN. Updated 03/03/06

- Utica, MI, USA

problem #35

Nov 102005

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles
Antilock brake activation at low speeds (< 5mph). Sounds same as recall 05V37900. Started out intermittent, now occurs 80% of time. Dangerous as it effects stopping distance as you approach to make a stop. Dealer will not address as recall is for 1999+, my Tahoe is 1998.

- Propect Heights, IL, USA

problem #34

Jan 242006

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,000 miles
: the contact stated the ABS activates at low speeds. There is a NHTSA recall, #05V379000, regarding the antilock brakes. The vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall; however, it is not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Red Wing, MN, USA

problem #33

Dec 282005

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,230 miles


Low speed antilock brake activation causing excessive stopping distances. Dealer service rep stated that the ABS sensors were corroded most likely from road salt. Started out as very intermittent but recently became a constant problem.

- Germantown, WI, USA

problem #32

Oct 012005

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact states there is NHTSA recall campaign 05V370000 concerning the anti lock brakes. This vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall, but is not included in the recall due to the VIN. No repairs have been made.

- West Saint Paul, MN, USA

problem #31

Nov 152005

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
ABS activation at low speeds for past 9 months on a 1998 Chevrolet Tahoe recalls in my state applicable to 1999 & newer despite GM service bulletins of models of 1995 & up affected by problem. Paid dealer to clean ABS since GM refused.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #30

Dec 232005

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
This is to address the recent expanded recall of GM light trucks/SUVS. I have a 1998 Tahoe and have been experiencing the exact same issues that have caused GM to recall the trucks/SUVS due to rust affecting the ABS system. I brought my vehicle to a Chevrolet dealership and they confirmed that I am experiencing the same corrosion related issues that are addressed by the recall - however, because I have a 1998, GM will not provide me any assistance. When I inquired as to whether the wheel hub assembly (that houses the wheel speed sensor) in my vehicle is any different than the vehicles being recalled, the dealership confirmed that there was not any difference. My complaint specifically addresses the fact that GM has acknowledged that there is a faulty design in the wheel assembly, however, will not take any action to remedy this situation - ultimately leaving my vehicle (as well as many others built in 1998 or 1997) as unsafe to operate.

- Mendota Heights, MN, USA

problem #29

Jan 012003

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles
I have had a problem with the ABS brake not working now for about 2 years. The ABS will kick in at 10 mph or less and will not stop the vehicle. The vehicle will slide and the tires just lock up. If I release and pump the brake, I am able to stop. I have learned to drive very slowly when coming to a stop but I feel that in an emergency, I may not be able to stop at all. I notice that GM has put out a recall for this exact same thing. They recently added mn & wi to that recall but not the earlier years. My Tahoe is a 1998. I don't feel I should have to pay for repairs of a bad sensor, which is what a service tech had told me 2 years ago, when there is a known problem with the sensors. This is something that happens every single time I apply my brakes.

- St Cloud, MN, USA

problem #28

Apr 132005

Tahoe 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact stated the ABS was making a grinding noise on the driver's side. The vehicle was taken to the dealership, and they found the grease was getting between the wheel bearings, causing them to slip. There was no remedy offered at that time. Therefore, she disconnected the fuse for the ABS in April 2005. When she recently tried to reconnect the fuse the grinding noise worsened and she disconnected the fuse. Updated 12/27/2005 -

- Etna, NH, USA

problem #27

Dec 232003

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,175 miles
23 December 2003, while in stop and go traffic my truck would not stop until I pumped the brake pedal. I came within inches of rear-ending another vehicle. Right out of the blue, no warning, the same situation, the pedal went right down to the floor. The next morning I called lannan. The earliest appointment I could get was for Friday, 2 January 2004. 2 January 2004, while driving to lannan, in woburn square, I nearly hit a lady who stepped out in front of my truck, while she was in the crosswalk. I received the żżevil eyeż of a policeman standing nearby. At lannan, I was informed by service pro, Mr. Ożżmalley that the problem with my brakes was due to a dirty ABS sensor. I read (enclosed) service bulletin #02-05-25-006A. See enclosed lannan invoice #ctcs203241. I paid $278.25 to clean off the rust. I can not appreciate why an ABS sensor (responsible for stopping large vehicles safely) is mounted on a corrosive material that will eventually degrade sensor communication. This degradation prevents large vehicles from stopping at all żż this is not acceptable. I cannot appreciate why there is no warning to the driver when the ABS sensor communication is impaired. I cannot appreciate why I was not informed of the potential danger. All those people driving all of those listed vehicles could inflict all kinds of damage and injury to others because of impaired ABS sensor communication. Why is there no scheduled maintenance on those sensors" is there a recall? should there be a recall? are you retrofitting? the people who own those listed vehicles should be notified of the potential danger. What type of ABS sensors are you using on the other vehicles in your fleet? do you have any idea of what a predicament I would be in today if I hit that lady? at my trial, how well would it be received when they read about the ABS activation at low speeds" it would not help that lady that could have been lying under my 5,000 lbs truck.

- Wakefield, MA, USA

problem #26

Oct 202001

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,033 miles
ABS brakes system road grime wedged into plastic piece covering the ABS sensor causing salt corrosion and improper activation of the ABS brake system.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #25

May 172005

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
A current investigation esists (PE05-020) for unwanted ABS brake activation on model year 1999 - 02 GM C/K series vehicles in salt belt states. This investigation should be further expanded to include, at least, model year 1998 as this condition is also exhibited in this vehicle. Reference vehicle is a 1998 Chevrolet Tahoe with 63,000 miles. Condition has existed for more than 2 years. During this time repairs were made to correct the problem, which were effective for less than a year. Problem condition has returned. Problem has resulted in minor contact with other vehicles and objects in that a driver can not predict when the problem will occur and braking distance is extended even on dry pavement. Situation is worsened when in "reverse" and problem occurs.

- Littleton, MA, USA

problem #24

May 112004

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles
Anti-lock brake falses at 6 mph. No difference if accelerating or de-accelerating. In the beginning the problem was intermitten, but with time the frequency of falsing increased. Finally a trouble code set indicating the right front sensor. After following the procedures in the second edition of the C/K truck servce manual it was determined that the right sensor didn't pass the mv test. The sensor was repalced w/a sensor from a GM dealership. The sensor didn't correct the problem. After following the service manual it directs you to replace ebcm after additional testing. A ebcm was purchased at a GM dealership. The dealership did program in the correct tire size. The falsing at 6 mph contiunes with no improvement. A scan tool was plugged in with the following results: All three (3) sensors, the left, right sensor, and the rear wheel through the ECM. All three (3) sensors read the same until 6 mph is reached at which time the left front sensor will suddenly show 3 mph with the other two (2) sensors will still show 6 mph, the anti-lock falses. When the speed cheanges either > or < 6 mph, the falsing stops. The falsing occurrs with brake pedal applied or not. The mv test indicated the left front sensor was within spec's w/a mv read of 129. The left front sensor was replaced once again purchased from a GM dealership. The falsing continues and the test above with the scan tool was repeated with same results. The anti-lock does operate correctly when brakes are applied and a wheel slip takes place. Your GM dealership can't really help without changing more componets. The problem exists today. Number of failures: Every time 6 mph.

- Oakalnd, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?