Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,260 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Chevrolet Tahoe brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chevrolet Tahoe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chevrolet Tahoe Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #60

May 122010

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Tahoe. The contact stated that the ABS system would independently engage when driving at low speeds, increasing brake stopping distance. The contact stated that the failure was sporadic over a period of six months. The manufacturer advised the contact that the vehicle was not under recall and did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was approximately 85,000. Updated 1/19/2010 the consumer stated he purchased a complete bearing assembly which came with a wheel speed sensor. He also had to purchase an axle socket to get the hub off. The consumer made the repair himself and the problem has not returned. Updated 03/31/11

- Fargo , ND, USA

problem #59

Jul 072010


  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Tahoe. The contact stated that at a slow speed while attempting to stop the vehicle the ABS engaged extreme pressure was applied to the brakes, extending the stopping distance. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that the were familiar with the failure. NHTSA recall campaign id number: 05V379000, service brakes hydraulic, antilock was related to the failure; yet, GM informed him his VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The current and failure mileages were approximately 103,000.

- Bangor , PA, USA

problem #58

May 132008


  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Tahoe. The contact stated that his vehicle was involved in recall 05V379000, antilock brakes. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred after 5 years. The current mileage was 107,000. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Baldwin, MD, USA

problem #57

Aug 122009

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Tahoe. NHTSA campaign id number: 05V379000, service brakes, hydraulic:antilock repair was performed on the vehicle; however, the contact's failure is directly related. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealer. The current and failure mileages were 55000. Updated 9/23/09 the consumer stated when coming to a stop, the ABS activates and it makes the brake pedal push back toward the him causing greater stopping distance. The ABS light does not illuminate when it happens. The consumer received a recall and the problem was repaired on Oct 25, 2005, however the problem has returned. Updated 09/28/09.

- Carlisle, PA, USA

problem #56

Jul 102009

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 111,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Tahoe. The contact stated that the ABS failed. Whenever he approaches a slow stop at 5 mph, the ABS makes it difficult to stop the vehicle. The dealer stated that the braking system was disabled. The contact had to pay for the repair. He called the manufacturer, but they would not assist. The failure mileage was 111,000. Updated 8/24/09 updated 08/26/09.

- Beaufort, NC, USA

problem #55

Jun 262009


  • 130,000 miles
05V379000 service brakes, hydraulic: Antilock. Recall date 8/29/05 my 2001 Chevy Tahoe is activating my antilock brakes while trying to stop. I have come close to several accidents. I bought it used in February of 2006. I called GM and they will not honor their recall and fix my Tahoe. I do not feel safe driving it and I have a small child. I want to know what I can do to have my Tahoe fixed. I do not have the money to pay for it to be fixed. GM should honor their recalls and fix this problem. What can I do?

- Columbia Heights, MN, USA

problem #54

Jun 212006

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • 40,000 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Tahoe. The contact stated that the brakes would not engage properly and stop the vehicle when the pedal was depressed. The failure progressively worsened. He took the vehicle to the dealer for brake service and was informed of NHTSA campaign id number 05V379000. The vehicle was repaired according to the recall. He recently noticed the issue resurfacing and the dealer referred him to the manufacturer. The manufacturer stated that they could not assist because the recall repair had already been performed. The current mileage was approximately 118,000 and failure mileage was approximately 40,000. Updated 05/06/09 the consumer stated GM provided a temporary fix 2 years and never really fixed the problem. Updated 05/08/09.

- Byfield, MA, USA

problem #53

Dec 012008


  • 135,000 miles
The ABS is malfunctioning on my 2001 Chevrolet Tahoe. During an internet search I discovered that the problem matches that found in campaign #05V379000, however, my vehicle's VIN was not included in that recall. I believe that my vehicle, and possibly many others, should have been included.

- Hanover, MD, USA

problem #52

Nov 152007


  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Tahoe. The antilock brakes would engage during deceleration and while driving on dry pavement. Occasionally, the vehicle would not stop at the appropriate times when driving between 1-15 mph. The vehicle has not been inspected by a dealer. NHTSA campaign id number 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock) was referenced. The failure mileage was less than 115,000.

- Deforest, WI, USA

problem #51

Apr 162007


  • miles
2001 Chevrolet Tahoe ABS module failed at 40000 miles. Replaced the part, then it failed again at 80000 miles. Two failures of the exact same safety related component in 80000 miles seems excessive.

- La Mesa, CA, USA

problem #50

Feb 202007

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,686 miles


Experienced unwanted anti-lock brake system (ABS) activation twice with 2001 Chevrolet Tahoe owned in Alabama. Activations occurred in 2004 and 2007. Crash can occur due to increased stopping distances during low speed brake applications. ABS module replaced twice by certified auto mechanics.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #49

Jan 242007

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
ABS sensor is not working properly. ABS "dummy" lights goes off and on intermittently.

- Carlsbad, CA, USA

problem #48

Dec 012006

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My vehicle exhibits the same problem as NHTSA recall #05V379000. I purchased the vehicle new in portland Maine and operated it there for 1 year. I am active duty navy and hence was not a residence of Maine. I did not title the vehicle in Maine. GM will not honor the recall since the vehicle was never titled in one of the target states.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #47

Sep 272006

Tahoe 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,000 miles
: the contact stated the ABS activated at 10 mph. A NHTSA recall, #05V379000 was performed on the vehicle in August 2004 concerning the service brakes, hydraulic: Antilock, however the recall did not remedy the problem. The dealership would not offer a second repair under the recall. Updated 10/17/2006 -

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #46

Sep 052006

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 114,963 miles
Anti-lock braking ebcm failure, this module was replaced in may of 06 and has now failed again in September 06. One day the anti-lock warning light comes on along with the traction lock light. The cost to replace is in excess of $1000.

- Rowlett, TX, USA

problem #45

Jul 242004

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles
The anti-lock brakes activate when they are not supposed to. 2001 Chevrolet Tahoe / 4 wheel drive. They activate on moderate braking on dry pavement. This increases stopping distance. I had a minor accident as a result of this problem. Incident date is an estimate. I noticed that GM has a recall for this problem - but it does not cover my vehicle since it was not registered in a state that salts their roads. My vehicle was bought and operated in Maine (recall state), but I had it registered in South Dakota - I am active duty navy.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #44

Jun 072006

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,122 miles
While traveling to NJ we found the ABS pump would not shut off. This occurred on 06-07-06. We contacted a mechanic who advised us to pull the fuse for the ABS brakes. I have found that this is a common problem with several GM vehicles. I have a 2001 Chevy Tahoe. The control module is bad and will cost over $800. Both the ABS and brake warning lights now stay on. If there is a further problem with my brakes I have no way to be warned. Kelsy hayes is the manufacturer and should be made to correct the problem.

- North Augusta, SC, USA

problem #43

Apr 152006

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,100 miles
Bought a used 2001 Tahoe a year ago. Recently, the ABS and brake light would come on and stay on. After reading all the complaints concerning the matter, the dealer diagnosed it as ebcm failure. Repairs would be $1200+. it's an obvious defect with this model and a recall needs to be done and repairs made for free.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #42

Apr 272006

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
: the contact stated the service ABS light illuminated indicating the antilock brakes were engaged. This happens at all speeds. The manufacturer was alerted. There is a NHTSA recall # 05V379000 concerning the antilock brakes for which the vehicles VIN is not included. Updated 5/16/2006 -

- Boone, NC, USA

problem #41

Apr 202006

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,114 miles
My car ws not serviced to correct the defects which were present at purchased. This greatly inhibits my ability to drive safely and responsibly.campaign number: 05V379000 date: 2005-Aug-29 component: Service brakes, hydraulic: Anti-lock defect summary: Certain pickup trucks and sport utility vehicles may experience unwanted anti-lock brake system (ABS) activation. This condition is more likely to occur in environmentally corrosive areas. This recall will be launched in the "salt belt" states of Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Maryland, Massachusetts, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, West Virginia, Wisconsin and the District of Columbia only. Consequence summary: This can cause increased stopping distances during low-speed brake applications, which could result in a crash. Corrective summary: Dealers are to remove the wheel speed sensor and thoroughly clean the wheel speed sensor mounting surface on the bearing, apply rust inhibitor to the cleaned surface, grease the mounting surface, reinstall the wheel speed sensor, and check the peak-to-peak output voltage to ensure the wheel speed signal is within specifications. The recall began September 22, 2005. Owners may contact Chevrolet at 1-800-630-2438 or GMC at 1-866-996-9463.

- Mount Bethel, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?