Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,612 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Tahoe brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Tahoe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Tahoe Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Jun 032013


  • 180,000 miles


First recall as: NHTSA campaign id number : 05V379000 I have experienced unwanted anti-lock brake activation during low speed braking. This has occurred several times in the past year (2012-2013), which would have resulted in a crash without evasive maneuvers and luck. I have called Chevrolet several times to ask about the original recall, which my vehicle was a part in. My vehicle was serviced in the first recall, which requires the technicians to inspect and clean the speed sensors. Well I guess the sensors have become dirty again and symptoms are recurring (vehicle has been in the "salt belt" area its entire life). Chevrolet will not service vehicle under current recall. I still see many of these popular vehicles on the road and think that their sensors may too become dirty again causing accidents. I think that it is due diligence for Chevrolet to continue to "clean" these sensors since they have issued a previous recall and the only fix was to "clean" the sensor and surface. Thank you for your time.

- Hughesville, MD, USA

problem #28

Jul 092012


  • 136,000 miles
I had a brake failure on my 2002 Tahoe after driving at hwy speeds then coming off the exit to stop; the, service brakes light came on. I then attempted to brake and the pedal went all the way to the floor making it very difficult to brake.., could have been catastrophic, and or deadly; I drove home 2 miles away, very slowly; I had very little brake control.(two infants in the car at the time) two out of four brake lines completely rusted with a hole; brake fluid leaked out quickly at time of hundreds, and thousands of other complaints of same exact problem. The brakes themselves are fine.,. to replace all four of my brake lines, it cost me $858($813 w/coupon). Recall id # 05V379000 - service brakes, hydraulic:antilock may address the problem if you get to it done before the lines completely fail. Applying rust inhibitor to your brake lines may also help. This could have been completely avoided since many have complained. The mechanic did not mention a recall when fixing the brake lines.

- Ansonia, CT, USA

problem #27

Nov 042011

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 141,500 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Tahoe. The contact stated that the anti- lock braking system would engage whenever the brakes were engaged at low speeds. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnose or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic:anti-lock). The failure mileage was 141,500 updated 12/28/11 updated 03/01/12

- Fairborn, OH, USA

problem #26

Jan 312011

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • 47,663 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Tahoe. The contact stated when coming to a stop and depressing the brakes, the ABS sensor would engage independently and cause the vehicle to lunge forward. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who informed the contact that there was a recall for the failure under NHTSA campaign id number: 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic: Antilock), which was repaired in 2006. The manufacturer was contacted but provided no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 47,663 and the current mileage was 91,000. Updated 03/10/11 updated 03/14/11

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #25

Oct 292010


  • 86,000 miles
2002 Chevrolet Tahoe experiencing unwanted antilock braking system activation at low speed. A recall for the exact same symptoms has been issued. I called Chevrolet at the number stated in the recall and was told it does not apply to my vehicle thus Chevrolet will not repair the defect on my vehicle. I find it an unimaginable coincidence that I have the very same year/model vehicle exhibiting the exact same symptoms as stated in the recall yet Chevrolet states that it does not apply to my vehicle and will not perform the repairs under the recall. The GM recall # is 05068, NHTSA campaign id # is 05V379000 and the NHTSA action # is PE0502. My vehicle should be repaired under this recall.

- Vienna, VA, USA

problem #24

Aug 162010


  • 184,000 miles
My 2002 Chevy Tahoe antilock brakes have malfunctioned and I was unable to stop at the stop sign because my vehicle kept going. I was going at a low rate of speed and there was a scrubbing sound. My vehicle went through the stop sign and I cam to a stop in the middle of the intersection. I contacted my mechanic and he stated that it sounded like the antilock brakes and said that there had been a recall. I looked it up online and found there had been a recall. I contacted GM and was told that my particular vehicle wasn't part of the recall NHTSA #05V379000 because my VIN number wasn't listed. My mechanic said this is not the first time he's heard of this particular vehicle having this same problem.

- Valley, AL, USA

problem #23

Apr 202010

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • 60,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Tahoe. While driving at approximately 10 mph under snowy conditions, the contact depressed the brake pedal but the vehicle did not slow down. The contact called the manufacturer and was informed that the vehicle was not included in the recall 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic: Anti-lock). The failure and current mileages were approximately 60,000. Updated 10/28/10 the consumer stated when he depressed the brake pedal, the vehicle slowed down gradually and eventually did stop, but at a ar greater distance than normal. The consumer believed that the computer detected slick road conditions and activated the anti-lock instead of the normal system. However, the ABS did not work properly which left little braking capability. The consumer stated the repair cost $ $758.68. Updated 11/01/10

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #22

Sep 012005

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Tahoe. During a routine maintenance the dealer completed the repairs referenced in recall# 05V379000(service brakes, hydraulic:antilock). After the repairs the brakes locked. He notified the dealer, and a technician repaired the recall a second time per the remedy. He notified the manufacturer and made them aware that the failure recurred. A representative stated that because of high mileage, they would not assume any responsibility. No repairs were made. The failure mileage was 95,000. The current was 123,000. Updated 10/27/09. The consumer stated when stopping at low speeds the brake pedal vibrated and made a rumbling sound. At times, it would take longer stopping distance to stop the vehicle. The ABS wheel speed sensors were replaced. Updated 10/29/09.

- Addison, IL, USA

problem #21

Jan 152009


  • 97,500 miles
Failure of ABS speed sensors causes unexpected increased stopping distance. Same symptoms as NHTSA campaign id number 05V379000. Occurs nearly every time you attempt to stop at a slow speed. Could be a bigger problem in slippery (I.e. snow/ice) conditions. ABS safety component is to make braking safer, a failure of an ABS component should not make things worse. The ABS component should be "fail-safe."

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #20

Mar 052004

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,995 miles
At slow speeds and usually under damp conditions, the antilock brakes on my 2002 Tahoe take hold when I am stopping and allow the car to continue at least 10 feet ahead into the roadway with no stopping the vehicle. Condition can easily cause accidents as I have had numerous close calls. No codes appear on auto computer when I take it to the dealer. There is a recall #05V379000 that exactly explains the situation but since my VIN# does not seem to be included in the recall, Chevrolet will do nothing about the situation which has been ongoing since March of 2004. I have had the vehicle in many times and just discovered on my own that Sept 22, 2005 this recall came out. I had the vehicle to sigel Chevrolet for the third time on Sept 14, 2005 and was once again told that the brakes were functioning properly. They could not duplicate the situation so it must not be happening. When I nearly hit our garage door on 11/16/2007 with my husband as a passenger in the car, I went looking for any recall information and found that there was one out there but the dealer told me it did not apply to me and so did Chevrolet customer service who has a file on this now (#71-578554426) but they still denied there is anything they should be doing. On 11/30/07 I took the vehicle in again for a diagnosis as suggested by Chevrolet customer service and again they found nothing but I requested the dealer perform the remedy that is explained on the recall notice and I paid for that service to be done.

- Grants Pass, OR, USA

problem #19

Feb 152007

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,000 miles


In February 2004, I purchased a used 2002 Chevrolet. In June 2004 the vehicle's electronic brake control module failed and was replaced by my local Chevrolet dealer. At the time of the repair the vehicle had 52, 000 miles. On February 15, 2007 the same part failed again. The vehicle now has 102,000 miles. The electronic brake control module is a non-wear item. I contacted Chevrolet to inquire about a recall on this item. No recall exist however there have been technical service bulletins issue concerning this item. I was told by Chevrolet and the repair facility that because my vehicle now has more than 100,000 miles I would have to replace the item at my expense.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #18

May 042005

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
Problem with braking system of my 2002 Chevrolet Tahoe ls 1500. Within a year of purchasing the Tahoe the braking system began to act strangely. For example, while driving my daughter to preschool in san francisco, ca. There is hill I drive down with a stop sign at the bottom. There is a bump in the road approx. 30 feet from the stop sign - almost every time I hit this bump, with the brake already engaged - the brake system "disengages" when I hit the bump and I have to frantically push the brake again to try to stop the vehicle. A few times I have ended up in the middle of the street before the brake engages. It is only pure luck that no one has been hit or killed. I know now to avoid this street, but it happens approx. 5 to 10 times a month at different times, weather conditions, road surfaces, etc. I am utterly paranoid about this and drive very cautiously - it is only for that reason that I haven't been in an accident. In may of 2005 I finally insisted on replacing the brakes at my own expense, yet this hasn't solved the problem. The emergency brake problem is horrible. This started as soon as the brakes were replaced in May 2005- it started sticking once in a while and worked its way up to a few times a day. The emergency brake was replaced in April of 2006 yet this solved nothing, the problem is just as bad if not worse now. The Chevrolet dealer I have been working with, putnam Chevrolet in burlingame, ca., acts as if I am driving the vehicle like a maniac and it is all my fault. For the first time tonight, in a terrible case of frustration, I turned to the internet to investigate and was stunned by what I discovered-a problem with ABS brakes for this vehicle that has been recalled in only 20 states, and a known defect with the emergency brake that has resulted in bulletins to the dealer but no recall. Five other people I know have experienced the same type of problems with either a Tahoe or Yukon - huge problem and needs to be investigated.

- Daly City, CA, USA

problem #17

Jun 012006

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,600 miles
: the contact stated that in 2005 the front end was replaced due to a lock up while making a turn. The dealer determined it was due to catastrophic failure. On 06/01/06, there were problems with the front ABS sensor. The brakes would not work properly at a very low speed. The vehicle was taken to the service dealer on 06/16/2006 where the dealer determined this ABS sensor failure was recalled and the remedy repair was already process on the vehicle. The hub was referenced as the cause of the ABS failure but was not included in the recall. The vehicle can not be driven because it is unsafe. The manufacturer alerted the contact the vehicle would not be repair under the recall or warranty until a manufacturer investigator inspects the vehicle in a month. The rear differential was replaced. The driver side windshield wiper arm was replaced. Updated 07/25/06.

- East Meadow, NY, USA

problem #16

Feb 182006

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,500 miles
I have a 2002 Chevy Tahoe and because I live in ca, I am not covered under the hub bearing recall. I hear noises when I break and sometimes my car jerks forward when I'm stopping. I have had no accidents yet but I'm upset that I have to pay for a problem that is an apparent issue.

- Anaheim Hills, CA, USA

problem #15

Jun 152005

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles
The contact stated ABS brake system malfunctioned. The dealer and manufacturer informed the contact that his state of residence was not included in NHTSA recall 05V379000 concerning anti lock brakes. The consumer stated when he applied the brakes, the ABS would engage which made it difficult to stop the vehicle. Updated 11/29/05.

- Oconomowoc, WI, USA

problem #14

Sep 152005

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles
(1)I've recently experienced issues with my anti-lock brakes on my 2002 Chevy Tahoe. I consulted with my mechanic and understand that if I lived in several states in the "salt belt" or Canada, this issue would be considered a safety concern and covered with a recall. However, since I live in Minnesota (where we have significant snow and ice each winter, and salt is heavily used on the roads) the recall does not apply. To me, this indicates that my safety is not as important as those in other states who have perceived worse winter conditions? (2) I am going to have to get this issue repaired, and would prefer it to be covered. I just purchased this vehicle (GM certified used) in February and would have hoped it would be in great condition. If I do not get this taken care of, my understanding is that accidents could result from malfunctioning brakes. (3) I have contacted GM in an effort to get this taken care of, so we'll see if they come through. However, my research doesn't give me great confidence. I wanted to file a complaint here in hopes that others from mn (or wi, for that matter) with the same issue wouldn't have the same frustrating experience.

- Woodbury, MN, USA

problem #13

Aug 152005


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Unwanted activation of anti-lock brakes. It has happened several times in the last two months and is very dangerous. I noticed that there is a product recall for this very issue and want something done about it.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #12

Jul 162005

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The consumer was having a problem with 2002 Chevrolet Tahoe. The ABS system activated at low speeds. This has caused a couple of near misses because of the ABS kicking in. This is happening around 90 % of the time. The consumer has just had the brakes and rotors replaced, and this has not helped the situation. The consumer will call GM today, and the dealership has confirmed that it was the ABS system activating. The consumer was upset that she saw the tbs from the dealership and she thought that GM should have corrected this problem long before now. The speed is 20 or below.

- St Joseph, MO, USA

problem #11

Aug 252005

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
The consumer's 2002 Chevrolet Tahoe has anti lock brake issues. When trying to apply the brakes vehicle did not come to a complete stop. Saw recall 05068 T on NHTSA's website. The dealer will not commit to do a recall remedy. And GM did feel it has to do a recall. The car was unsafe to drive. My wife drove into a intersection and fortunately nobody got hurt. The sensors would pulsate and cause the vehicle not to stop.

- Lancaster, NY, USA

problem #10

Mar 302005

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The ABS light kept coming on. Could hear clicking in the brakes. Contacted the dealer, they said to bring the vehicle in. Took the vehicle to dealer, and they fixed the vehicle, but had to pay out of pocket. Took the vehicle in on March 30, 2005. They replaced the number two injector.

- Jackson, MS, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?