Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,910 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Chevrolet Tahoe accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Chevrolet Tahoe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Chevrolet Tahoe Owner Comments (Page 4 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #64

Dec 102007

Tahoe

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Tachometer and fuel gauge are inoperative.

- Ozark, MO, USA

problem #63

Dec 052007

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles
Speedometer malfunction stuck and erratic when driving. Have no idea how fast we are driving.

- Marshfield, WI, USA

problem #62

Mar 142007

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Tahoe. The components on the instrument panel work intermittently. There is a special warranty on the instrument panel for 100,000 miles or seven years. The vehicle is within the year requirement, but has exceeded the mileage. The purchase date was unknown. The current mileage was 107,241 and failure mileage was 102,000.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #61

Nov 012006

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Tahoe. The gauges on the instrument panel malfunctioned. The speedometer would display high speeds when the vehicle was stopped. The vehicle ran out of fuel because the gauge indicated that fuel was present. The manufacturer sent the contact a letter to have the vehicle inspected concerning these failures. She stated that it was not a recall repair, just an improvement. The vehicle exceeded the 70,000 mile limit that was referenced in the letter, therefore the adjustment was not free. The failure mileage was 60,000 and current mileage was 77,000. Updated 12-13-07. The air bag light had illuminated as well.

- Bradanton, FL, USA

problem #60

Nov 192003

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,527 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Tahoe. The contact stated that the fuel gauge worked intermittently and displayed false readings. As of November 26, 2007, the dealer had not inspected the vehicle. The failure mileage was 17,527 and current mileage was 78,000. The consumer stated the problem didn't warrant further inspection. Updated 12/07/07

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #59

Nov 242007

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,500 miles
We own a 2003 Chevrolet Tahoe that was purchased in December 2002. As of November 2007, it has 82000 miles. A few days ago the speedometer suddenly stopped working while driving on highway. About 45 minutes later, after a stop, it began to work again. At the same time, voltage gauge on instrument cluster was pegged all the way to the right giving false reading of 19 V. later, that gauge corrected itself only to act erratically again. Very unnerving to drive at night when the speedometer went out. In addition, we thought we were having alternator problems due to the faulty voltage reading. I have since taken the Tahoe to my Chevy dealership for inspection and they mentioned the recent letter from General Motors detailing that this instrument panel cluster problem is rather common. We are now waiting to hear back from the dealership to see if GM will pay for the replacement since we are technically over the mileage allowed (70K) by GM.

- Allen, TX, USA

problem #58

Nov 022007

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The odometer on my 2003 Chevy Tahoe is acting erratically, especially on cold days it will stick to 40 mph even while standing still. It has this week been stuck at the 120 mph mark. Even while using the cruise control, the needle would bounce around. I have seen hundreds of complaints online for this same issue. It is dangerous to not know the speed limit that you are doing, I believe that since there are so many complaints for the same issue with the same exact symptoms, that it is a manufacturers defect. I have 4 months left on the dealerships warranty, so I had them asses it, they said I would need to have the cluster replaced, which they did so today with a used cluster that has 124,000 miles on it, which my vehicle will now show permanently. I dropped it of yesterday with 72,000 miles, needless to say II am very upset about the whole thing.

- Evington, VA, USA

problem #57

Nov 032007

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,400 miles
While driving my speedometer is registering erratic mphs. Sometimes going well over 120 mph while I am actually only doing maybe 65. And other times will be doing 65 and only shows 40.

- Key Largo, FL, USA

problem #56

Nov 032007

Tahoe 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,388 miles
I own a 2003 Tahoe and my speedometer just stop working.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #55

Oct 262007

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles
Speedometer quit working. Spoke to dealer and they advised there is a bulletin for vehicles under 7 yrs old and less than 70K miles which my vehicles does fall under the mileage requirement.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #54

Jan 012006

Tahoe

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Chevy Tahoe. Since about 50,000 miles my speedometer and gas gauge have not worked properly. I have 90K miles now and I've been hoping for a recall.

- Cedar Park, TX, USA

problem #53

May 012007

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
My vehicle is a 2003 Chevrolet Tahoe with 60,000 miles. The speedometer and other gauges on the instrument panel do not function properly. They move to places which are completely off the chart. As an example, the speedometer suddenly began to read that the vehicle was traveling 120 mph when it was going about 30 mph. The oil gauge also reads higher than the numbers go and the gas gauge has begun to give the improper reading; when I fill it up with a full tank it says I only have half. I have not taken the vehicle in for repair due to the potential cost. It seems that it would be an extremely expensive repair and it's probably a defect anyway.

- Los Lunas, NM, USA

problem #52

Feb 202007

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Speedometer started just started to stick at certain speeds, occasionally come down, or stay a one speed until acceleration, and then continue to climb. Had the cluster replaced, at a substantial cost. Now my oil pressure gage doesn't work.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #51

Aug 132003

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2003 Chevy Tahoe speedometer has stopped working, needle is stuck past 120 mph, even when vehicle is stopped or off! call GM customer service, but haven't received any help. Have been called on 2 different days, that they would call the next day with info, but only called and told they will call tomorrow.

- Atlantic Beach, FL, USA

problem #50

Jul 232007

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • miles
2003 Tahoe lt instrument panel - intermittent all indicators on 0 reading...

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #49

Jan 152005

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
Very well documented via internet: Speedometer and fuel gauges failed to work. The speedometer will stick at a random point and then add the speed traveling, and this results in the speed not being accurately displayed. The problem has been ongoing for over 2 years starting with the gas gauge showing fuel remaining but the tank being empty. Very unsafe and costly known problem by GM and most owners.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #48

Jul 062007

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,000 miles
Speedometer on 2003 Chevrolet Tahoe gives incorrect reading. RPM gauge also fails to provide accurate readings. Contacted local Chevrolet dealership who told me they weren't aware of the issue and wanted hundreds of dollars to repair even though this is a known issue with gmac and obviously a very dangerous issue.

- Olive Branch, MS, USA

problem #47

Jun 242007

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,000 miles
Tachometer and speedometer failed. Speedometer did not display proper speed on highway. It read 0 when going 65 mph.

- Lansdowne, PA, USA

problem #46

Jun 192007

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,650 miles
We purchased our 2003 Chevrolet Tahoe lt on June 17, 2007. On June 19, 2007 the speedometer began reading 120 mph when the truck was parked. The speedometer failed to return to zero. Additionally, with the onset of this problem, the fuel gauge and oil pressure gauge were reading inaccurately. Parkland Chevrolet was made aware of the problem and immediately diagnosed this as a defect in the instrument cluster that they informed me was quite common on GM vehicles of this year. Additionally, I have found over 1000 posts on the internet where this same problem has occurred to other GM vehicles model years 2001 to 2006. We are currently awaiting repair parts for this vehicle.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #45

Dec 012005

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
I purchased the 2003 Chevrolet Tahoe in February 2004 at about 60000 miles the speedometer stopped working, later the rpms, and the fuel gauge stopped working. The dealership told me that they would have to send these components out and it would take a week or two, and the cost would be around $1,100. I have not had it repaired, yet, I am in the process of buying a second vehicle so that I would be able to let the vehicle go for that long. I have noticed on the internet a number of this same complains. One website had 622 emails of complains about this same problem. This was a manufacturers defect, and General Motors needed to take care of it. This could be a potentially dangerous problem.

- Covington, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?