Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,477 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Tahoe drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Tahoe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Tahoe Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #4

Feb 022009

Tahoe

  • 37,419 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Continuation of same problem after eight (8) documented repairs by Chevrolet motor division. This last incident resulted in a non-0injury collision, where my vehicle sustained damage. See previous complaint: ODI 10253010 vehicle maintains and increases in acceleration with no application to the gas pedal. Chevrolet motor divisions attempts/"repairs": cropper's nogales in: 09/18/2008 30940 out: 09/25/2008 N/a -7 days replaced accelerator pedal - - - - - - - - - - people's Chevrolet in: 09/29/2008 31829 out: 09/30/2008 31838 -1 day replaced ECM & PCM/vcm reprogrammed ECM - - - - - - - - - - people's Chevrolet in: 10/03/2008 na out: 10/03/2008 na -1 day installed vehicle data recorder (vdr) in vehicle - - - - - - - - - - people's Chevrolet in: 12/13/2008 na out: 12/13/2008 na -1 day vdr contained four (4) data recordings of transmission data. Data was reviewed & forwarded to tech assistance - - - - - - - - - - people's Chevrolet in: 12/14/2008 na out: 12/14/2008 na -1 day vdr, reconfigured to record engine data and reinstalled in Tahoe - - - - - - - - - - people's Chevrolet in: 12/27/2008 36685 out: 12/27/2008 36685 -01 days people's Chevrolet unable to check safety concern on saturdays - - - - - - - - - - people's Chevrolet in: 12/29/2008 32267 out: 01/24/2009 36900 (75) -26 days replaced input speed sensor & 1-2 shift solenoid reconditioned input clutch housing assembly & R & R control valve body refaced front brake rotors - - - - - - - - - - people's Chevrolet in: 02/03/2009 37419 out: Pending -pending.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #3

Sep 182008

Tahoe

  • 30,000 miles
Vehicle will accelerate and max out at fuel cut-off. Acceleration is unresponsive to brake application to include 100% application, resulting in smoke and odor. Vehicle cannot be stopped other than placing the vehicle into neutral and turning the ignition off. Upon restarting the vehicle, RPM will immediately climb to in excess of 5000 RPM. Acceleration problems normally occur at higher speeds but have occurred also on city streets. The problem then resets itself at its discretion. Cheverolet has been "working" on finding the problem since September, total in excess of 90 days. I was provided with a vehicle data recorder (vdr) to image the issue. Vdr has a cable plugged into vehicle computer the dangles between the gas/brake pedal and driver posing an additional hazard. Vehicle is an extreme safety hazard likely to result in great bodily injury and/or death. I am unable to and have been unable to enjoy and utilize the vehicle for the purposes to which it was intended for/purchased and have been placed in a severely risky position by Chevrolet. In addition, control of the vehicle in inclement weather has been compromised due to failure of the stabilitrac where it engages and disengages without application of the button. This issue has also been raised with Chevrolet but no codes were read due to the vehicle being turned off, causing a reset (per Chevrolet). However, when stabilitrac problem surfaced yet again, problem was witnessed by Chevrolet service rep but no work could be done due to an open ticket with GMC regarding the acceleration issue. Chevrolet has downloaded images/information from the vdr and has stated that there is/are issues and reset and returned the vdr to me requesting again that I take more images when my vehicle is stuck in acceleration and to be careful. Initial attempt for this repair in September noted "drivable concern." Problem is recurring from 0-9 incidents each day. I am concerned for the safety of others as well as myself.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #2

Jun 132007

(reported on)

Tahoe

  • 20,748 miles
2007 Tahoe with a malfunctioning transmission customer states that the car just stopped in the middle of traffic just after 20 thousand miles than at 23 thousand miles the left front hub bearing loose* the consumer provided an invoice for repairs. The dealer stated grinding noise from front end, dealer replaced left front hub bearing assembly.

- Van Buren, MO, USA

problem #1

May 072007

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
I have a brand new 2007 Chevy Tahoe, the car was driving normal, I was heading to the on ramp of the freeway, but to get into the freeway I had to make a right and then the on ramp is in front of me. Of course you also had cars coming from the right of me. When I saw a gap where I could go, I floored the gas, to go into the freeway, when I heard a loud noise, and all of the sudden the car slowed down. I had to think quick being that the car was an automatic, I shifted to a lower gear, the car started moving but it was making a grinding noise. I finally got out of the way. And I called onstar, my transmission had given. On a 6 month old 2007 Tahoe. They took it to the dealer, at the dealership they replaced a gear inside the transmission, to no avail. Finally they ended up replacing the whole transmission, because they couldn't figure what was wrong the car. No warning lights or nothing. The guy at the dealership told me, that this was so weird that the techs in Michigan wanted the whole transmission shipped to them. They had the SUV for a total of 21 days.

- San Pedro, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?