Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Trailblazer emerged from an "upscale trim line" of the Blazer, but there's nothing upscale about its transmission problems or its wonky, unpredictable headlights.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,002 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #68

May 102010

Trailblazer

  • 184,224 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer. On May 10, 2010, the contact attempted to shift gears to the drive position but the gears would not function properly. The contact pushed the vehicle to a repair shop. He called the dealership and was informed that the vehicle was not included in recall 01V283000 (power train: Transfer case (4-wheel drive)). The current and failure mileages were 184,224.

- Olive Hill, KY, USA

problem #67

Feb 102009

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 122,117 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving approximately 40 mph on normal road conditions, the engine revved up without warning. The contact depressed the accelerator pedal, but there was no response. In addition, the four-wheel drive indicator was flashing intermittently. Roadside assistance was called to the scene and the vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing. The dealer stated that the encoder motor in the transfer case was the cause of the failure. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 01V283000 (power train;transfer case,4-wheel drive). The vehicle has been repaired. The failure mileage was 122,117 and current mileage was 122,250. The consumer stated the vehicle slipped out of gear and would not move. The 4ed drive indivator light illuminated. Updated 04/16/09.

- Huron, OH, USA

problem #66

Dec 232007

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,050 miles
This vehicle would go out of gear without warning because of a faulty 4 wheel drive switching system. This occurred in traffic, and an unoccupied park situation. The vehicle went out of park and rolled into a door while in the garage. The vehicle also went out of gear in traffic situations causing the driver to find the road shoulder. If the driver manipulated the switch it would sometimes re-engage the transmission. An encoder motor sensor was replaced, then failed in two weeks. It was then diagnosed that the encoder motor was faulty and causing the encoder sensor to fail. Replaced motor and sensor again. This is a defect that should be part of the existing recall for all 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazers, not just the select few as prescribed today.

- Sioux Falls, SD, USA

problem #65

Jan 202008

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 137,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The 4 wheel drive randomly engaged and the selector lights would switch between AWD, 4hi, & 4lo. This occurred on three separate occasions. The 4 selector switch now has gone out completely.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #64

Nov 112003

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving approximately 50 mph, the contact heard a loud screeching noise underneath the vehicle. The check engine light illuminated on the instrument panel. The dealer rebuilt the transmission and the sun shield. One year later, the failure recurred and the dealer made the same repair. The failure recurred for the third time a year later and the dealer stated that it was an internal transmission failure. The contact filed a formal complaint with the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 45,000 updated 3/5/08 the consumer stated second failure mileage was 77,000 and the third was 167,000 miles. The consumer further stated the dealer rebuilt the transmission and sunshield 1st and 2nd time but refused the third time. The consumer stated the dealer replaced the 4 wheel drive switch because it kept blinking. Updated 03/05/08

- Cleburne, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #63

Dec 062007

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,493 miles
My 2002 Chevy Trailblazer is having problems with the 4 wheel drive system. About a year ago when my vehicle was still under warranty I had a problem with my 4-wd system, the dash said service 4 wheel drive. I took it to the dealership and they plug it in to the computer and said they recalibrated the system because it was a computer error not equipment failure. On Dec 5 of 07 the roads were snowy so I put my vehicle into 4 wd, but the 4 wd did not engage and I slid off the road and almost ended up in a ditch. After that incident the service 4 wheel drive light came on again, on Dec 6 of 07, I took my vehicle in for service, and now my vehicle is out of warranty, this time the dealership said my 4-wd actuator was shorted out, my bill came to $838.07. I contacted seven of my friends who have the same make and model, a couple with newer models, and they all except two of them, have had the same problem with the actuator shorting out. I then contacted GM corporate office on this matter and ask for assistance in paying for this repair due to faulty equipment and I said there is no reason for this part to go bad with 70,000 miles on a 2002 Trailblazer, they told me that due to my year of vehicle and miles there was nothing they would do for me. I told them there are other cases in the area with this same problem and I asked them to investigate this because it needs to be a recall, or find out what the problem is and fix it before other newer models are sent out with the same problem, and somebody actually gets hurt because of equipment failure. GM stated there is nothing they will do with this unless it turns out to be an actual recall. So here I am making a complaint and asking for help. This needs to be investigated and solved before somebody is seriously hurt due to GM equipment failure!!! please help!!!!

- Lowell, IN, USA

problem #62

Nov 202007

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,009 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Jan/Feb 2007. Switched Trailblazer into 4 wheel drive high for first time since purchase (April 2006), and would not transfer into 4 wheel drive. Took to local GM dealer, replaced control module, cost around $700. October 24, 2007 while Trailblazer was in park and running the vehicle changed from 2 wheel drive to 4 wheel drive low. The switch was still in the 2 wheel drive position. The vehicle would not change back into 2 wheel drive at all. I took the vehicle to the GM dealer and they replaced the encoder motor. November 20, 2007. Left vehical running while in park. Went into a family members house, then returned to vehicle and began to back out of driveway. As I was backing up, the vehicle stopped, as if I had backed into an object (ie, another car), I pulled forward back into the driveway, and looked around, saw nothing, and was going into the house to get a flashlight when they noticed that yet again, the Trailblazer had changed into 4 wheel drive again. This time I was able to get the vehicle back into 2 wheel drive, and drive the vehicle home. I have made an appointment to have the 4 wheel drive system checked again. Total cost for repairs to 4 wheel drive system January to date is more than $1200.

- Ripley, WV, USA

problem #61

Feb 082007

Trailblazer 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,610 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet trail Blazer. While driving 10 mph including making left and right turns the 4 wheel drive engaged and became difficult to steer the vehicle. The contact attempted to accelerate and was unable to due to the 4 wheel drive. The warning indicator 4 wheel drive light was illuminated and remained on until the engine was turned off. The current and failure mileage were 57,610.

- Willits , CA, USA

problem #60

Mar 172007

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
- the contact stated that while having the 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer parked in the incline driveway with the emergency brake engaged the vehicle rolled from the park position and crashed into the house. This failure happened to the contact's vehicle twice. The first time on January 29, 2007, and the second time was on March 17, 2007. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and felt that the vehicle should be cover under NHTSA recall campaign id number: 01V334000 for the power train: Transfer case (4-wheel drive), but the dealer stated that the vehicle did not fall under the recall. The current and failure mileage were both 40,000.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #59

Mar 072007

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles
I was pulling a trailer with a 2002 Chevy Trailblazer and it switched into 4 lo on its own causing me to loose control of the vehicle. I have had this problem with the 4 wheel drive for over a year. I have been turned away by GM and GM dealerships when I brought the problem to their attention.

- St. Marys, PA, USA

problem #58

Jan 252007

Trailblazer

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This will be the third time I have had my Trailblazer to the dealer for the same problem. When driving, the car will shift itself between 2hi and 4 hi. Also, after utilizing the selector on two occasions the car got stuck in neutral and had to be towed. After being treated like an ignorant woman who doesn't know how to operate the controls I am finally changing dealers. Maybe they should read this and see that apparently I am not the only person having these problems.

- Harwinton, CT, USA

problem #57

Jan 172007

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,500 miles
Service 4WD light came on after numerous attempts to change the transfer case from AWD to 4WD. Dealer telling me that its a motor sensor that encodes the transfer to shift. This is the second repair on the same part. I would like this part recalled and to be reimbursed money for repairing it myself.

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #56

Dec 262006

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,104 miles
At 34000 miles 4 wheel drive transfer case failed and the rear differential had to be replaced, still under warranty. At 70000 miles both repairs are needed again along with others- sway bar worn, short in headlights (previously repaired), interior lights shorting. Dealership quoted around $3000 to fix everything. Nothing they can do about any of the problems. So the vehicle is without 4 wld and often only has 1 working headlight.

- Englewood, CO, USA

problem #55

Nov 222006

Trailblazer

  • miles
I just purchased this 2002 Trailblazer Sept 30 2006.. it was November 22, 2006- the 4 wheel drive indicator lights were blinking when I put it in reverse. The onstar lights were on. The seat belt lights were on. Later the next day, my father got in my vehicle to move it, when the brake sensor came on and wouldn't go off. He didn't use the emergency brake. My father called apple Chevy in West york pa to see what they could do. The 24th they called and said the vehicle needed a E.B.C.M. ( electronic brake control module ). I have a 9 month old son. I get to go pay for the bill, and it costs 930. 25 for a vehicle that wasn't that old. It does have 144, 000 + miles but it was well maintained or so I thought. They did a car fax and it was clean. Or so I thought. Apple Chevy in West york wouldn't help with any cost repairs. They said when you get an as is vehicle, its your problem. Well after 4 vehicles that my dad bought from them, we are no longer customers. Me being a hot head, my dad told me to not say nothing and be nice. I kept my comments to a low roar. I called the general manager and he said an as is sale is what it is. I got no satisfaction. But a comment I said to him was- what if it was your wife and son what would you do? he said I wouldn't buy an as is vehicle. I basically asked if he wanted some lemonade from the vehicle I just got. I said well I must have sucker written on my head and that next time warn me about getting more ky for the screwing I just received. He basically said sorry I feel that way. We could bring it back and get something different from them. But I basically said no and hung up. Still the radio malfunctions, the 4 wheel drive may work sometimes, the vehicle acted like it was in neutral. Then after being towed, it acts fine. So at present, it sits in my parents garage not driven with $ I still pay for insurance and payments. I did hear a grinding from the shifter when putting it into drive. I don't trust it. Thank you.

- Red Lion, PA, USA

problem #54

Aug 062006

Trailblazer 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,000 miles
2002 Trailblazer was running bad around 34000 miles. Took it to dealership and they had to fix the rear differential and reprogram the 4 wheel drive transfer case. All repairs were under warranty. I am now having the same problems at 70000 miles. Dealership wants to charge about $2000 to fix the problems. Have talked to several other trail Blazer owners and mechanics and it seems that GM has a lot of problems like this, but won't do anything about it.

- Englewood, CO, USA

problem #53

May 302006

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Transmission does not shift smoothly and the vehicles seems to "skip" when driving, had checked and was told the transmission needs servicing. Also, several times the car has jumped from 2wd to 4WD on its own, while being driven. Thankfully only when going approximately 10 - 15 mph. Now the service 4WD light is on. Fuel filter needs replacing. Oxygen sensor needs replacing. This car is a 2002 with 71,000 miles.

- Lincolnton, NC, USA

problem #52

Feb 272006

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,358 miles
: the contact stated the range shift collar fractured resulting in failure of the transmission. The vehicle would not go into drive or reverse and would not stay in the park position. There is an NHTSA recall, # 01V283000, regarding the power train: Transfer case (4-wheel drive). The vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall; however it is not included in the recall due to the VIN. The vehicle was repaired prior to the recall.

- Paterson, NJ, USA

problem #51

Feb 022006

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving at 70 mph, the vehicle slipped out of gear. The engine revved up to 4,000 RPM's; however, this did not cause the vehicle to accelerate. The vehicle was pulled over and it went back into gear. The transmission slipped again, but the vehicle was taken to the contact's residence. This happened 2 more times. The vehicle was then towed to the dealership. The dealership stated there is a broken gear in the transfer case and the transfer case must be replaced.

- Framingham, MA, USA

problem #50

Jul 172005

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
4 w/dr light goes to 4hi/ all wheel dr/4 low without warning at anytime. The computer mode was replaced once under warranty at the moment it doesn't seem to be actually shifting. Also had a loud jet sound coming from the engine as if it was laboring and had to have the fan clutch assembly replaced @ a cost of over $800.

- Port Huron, MI, USA

problem #49

Nov 292004

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
Sharp turn steering locks up. Passenger seat belt gets tighter and tighter doesn't release pressure. 4 wheel drive not working. Tapping sound in engine. The only thing the dealer has done is replace power steering pump and within 5 miles it was not working again.

- Dingmans Ferry, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?