Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Trailblazer emerged from an "upscale trim line" of the Blazer, but there's nothing upscale about its transmission problems or its wonky, unpredictable headlights.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 8
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,761 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 4 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #49

Jun 202006

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Exterior side mirrors with memory option fail to return to set position when key is inserted in ignition. Mirrors have to be reset almost every time key is inserted in ignition. Dealer re-programmed mirrors. But problem still exists. Dangerous because if you don't notice mirrors have moved and you go to make lane change in emergency mirrors could be out of adjustment causing increased time to change lanes.

- Whittier, CA, USA

problem #48

Nov 112005

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Tie rods, multiple transmission module problems, airbag, taillights, stop, turn signal rear problem, electrical/ wiring, radio, HVAC, pressure control,2 batteries, 2 fan clutches, among other problems.

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #47

Feb 162004

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles
Feb. 04 46,000 miles repaired transmission, 2nd gear and reverse broken, was told by a GM transmission repairman that this is very common problem, sometimes it takes just one fix, some Trailblazers have required many repairs (also problem on Envoy), being a straight 6, the transmission cannot handle the torque causing the gears in the transmission to break; vehicle cut off on me at a red light for unknown reason; dash gauges and radio would not come on when car started, drove for a few miles, cut car off, restarted and all came back on;radio facing becomes extremely hot to touch at times and flickers on and off; obnoxious squeak in the front end of car, taken to mechanics with no reason why; ticking noise while running; other than the transmission, no action has been taken due to reading the filed complaints of others with no real successful results or answers from dealers. I hate this car!!

- Campobello, SC, USA

problem #46

Oct 212005

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,671 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

02 October 2005 my wife and I were returning after shopping in the evening is when the first incident happen. Traveling at 45 mph the vehicle completely shut down. We coasted to the side of the road. After several attempts the vehicle restarted. We continue our travel home with no further incident. 03 October 2005 I contact the dealer where the vehicle was purchased at, notifying them of the problem. The vehicle was dropped off that evening with no incident. They held the vehicle for 10 days and could not identify the problem. 21 October 2005 on a trip to the mall with the family in the vehicle again the vehicle completely shuts down. Again, we coast to the side of the road. We were traveling at 30 mph. After several attempts to restart the vehicle, the vehicle restarts. We also notice that the dials on the dashboard would go haywire during restart. No further incidents. 24 October 2005 I notify General Motors of our situation. General motor will document the complaint and gave me a service request number. General Motors also informed me that there are no recalls on the vehicle.

- Port Byron, NY, USA

problem #45

Dec 012003

Trailblazer

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer was involved in an accident as a result of the rear tail light being inoperative. The consumer's vehicle was rear ended while he was slowing down in traffic. This SUV had other failures to include the windshield wipers, engine(6 times), battery (2 times), dash board, head light and various electrical problems.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #44

Dec 142004

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The front door controls are inoperable!! no windows, no locks, can't use my remote lock and alarm. The part is $200 and only available at a dealership. I tried to get one from a junk yard, and was told they have no Trailblazer doors because of this very problem. I also called several dealerships in the area, and they are fully aware of this problem also, and don't understand why it hasn't been recalled. Everyone wants to diagnose the problem, and I cannot afford the many hours they want to spend on my 2002 vehicle. I have already had to replace the front wheel bearings (at $400 each just for parts), which I should not have had to do yet!!! if the dealerships and junkyards are aware of my door problem, why aren't you? not being able to roll down my windows or use my alarm are definitely issues in my book!!!

- Fowlerville, MI, USA

problem #43

Dec 072004

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Contact bought a 2002 trail Blazer in 2004. Contact complained about electrical problems. Brake lights/headlights/ 4-wheel switch, and blower switch went out. On 12-720-04 she started having transmission problems. It started grinding when she put in fourth gear. When she took vehicle to the dealer, they told her that gears were faulty. When she put vehicle in 4-wheel drive, it broke. She had it repaired, and then the headlights went off because the headlight switch burned out. Then she had a new actuator put on it and a month later, she had to have another actuator put in. On 7-20-05 while driving, the 4-wheel drive switch came on, and was switching between 2-wheel drive and 4-wheel drive. Vehicle stopped, and she put it in 4-wheel drive. Went back to the dealer, who told consumer differential failed. Before she could drive home the transfer case module went out. The name of the dealer where she has been taking the car was gillelands at 3019 division street, St. Cloud, mn 56301. In addition to all the vehicle's problems, the sunroof was broken and the sway bar links were loose.

- St. Stephen, MN, USA

problem #42

Oct 282001

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
My turn signal switch was defective from the day that I bought my 2002 Chevy Trailblazer in October of 2001. It took at least 8 visits to various dealerships on long island and mount vernon, Washington (I moved several times) before it was repaired satisfactorily in 2004. I raise this issue because I read about GM's recall of their 2003 and 2004 and it should also apply to their 2002 vehicles

- Bethlehem, NH, USA

problem #41

Mar 312005

Trailblazer 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
A spark plug has pop out of the engine while waiting at an intersection control by a traffic light. The vehicle was towed to a repair shop. The cause of this problem has not been determined at this time.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #40

Aug 202004

Trailblazer 4WD

  • 25,848 miles
Re defective 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer 4X4, problem with 4 wheel drive, A/C, batteries, taillights and electrical problems. While driving 55 mph the vehicle's 4-wheel drive went into four wheel high or low intermittently. The vehicle's battery loses it's charge. The taillights went out and the blower in the air conditioner had to be replaced. Fuel splashed out of the filler while the consumer was filling the tank. The vehicle stalled intermittently.

- Auburndale, FL, USA

problem #39

Dec 012003

Trailblazer

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Numerous problems. Car stall 3X, battery went out, windshield wiper worn and tail light out, considered not safe. The vehicle was hit in the rear. The dash system went out and the vehicle idled rough.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #38

Jul 302002

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
Engine stalls ; engine hesitates; engine trembles.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #37

Jul 192003

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
Vehicle constantly displays "service engine lamp", air bag module had a problem, rear brake lamps blew out, 4 wheel drive mechanism on dash was replaced, ignition never turned off all the way, killed battery because it drained battery.

- Fair Lawn, NJ, USA

problem #36

Sep 142004

Trailblazer

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving at night or day the interior lights would come on and off intermittently. The driver was able to drive it to the dealer for inspection. The mechanic can not duplicate the problem. Please fill in additional information.

- Los Altos, CA, USA

problem #35

Aug 272004

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,230 miles
Vehicle type: 2002 Chevy Trailblazer. Brake lights, tail lights, and turn signals at the rear of the vehicle fail without warning. Light bulbs burn out in hours or days, rather than weeks or months. No signs of moisture in the tail light assemblies that would shorten bulb-life. The total light failure has happened 6 times in the past 3 months. No accidents, but several near misses. Have spent more than $150 in new bulbs for tail lights and brake lights over this time frame. Old bulbs do not always appear to have burned or broken elements, but have replaced them anyway for safety sake. Windshield wipers don't work when turned on, or come on when switch is in the off position. Dash lights all light up for no reason. Heater/air conditioner blower won't work, and power windows won't work when dash lights are lit. Took this problem to the dealer for repair. Said they couldn't find anything, but reset the computer just in case it was malfunctioning. This happened again on the way home from the dealer. Called them back the next morning, they said there wasn't anything else they knew to look at. This happens about once every other week and is intermittent. This part of the problem does not occur at the same time the brake and tail lights fail. Problems have been on-going since I purchased this vehicle in February 2004.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #34

May 092004

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving check engine light appeared on the dashboard and remained on. Vehicle was taken to a garage for inspection, and mechanic determined that the computer sensor needed to be replaced, and replaced it however, the problem recurred.

- Princeton, NJ, USA

problem #33

Jun 202002

Trailblazer

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
The driver noticed that the rear tail lights were burning out continuously. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection. The mechanic informed the consumer that the tail lights needed to be replaced. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer, because the problem recurred, however the mechanic was unable to duplicate the problem. This information was provided by bryan's father john savchak.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #32

Oct 212003

Trailblazer

  • 49,530 miles
While driving at 65 mph vehicle stalled without warning. When this occurred vehicle lost power, which almost resulted in loss of control. Upon inspection of the vehicle dealership determined that an electrical short caused vehicle to stall. (ak

- Andover, NJ, USA

problem #31

Oct 212003

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,530 miles
My wife was travelling on I 80 when the vehicle lost all its electrical power, she was able to pull over. She was stranded for approx. 3 hours until the vehicle was towed to the dealer.

- Andover, NJ, USA

problem #30

Jun 012002

Trailblazer

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles
Purchased a 2002 Chevy Trailblazer in March 2002. Since June 2002 have had it numerous times to dealer for electrical problems. A/C won't work entire intruement panel blackouts, service engine light comes on intermittently cannot find cause. Insuffcient lubrication front differential output shaft seals, they said they lubricated them, about 3 weeks later needed to have seals replaced. Service 4WD light, ABS light, emergency brake light all came on at the same time, then heater fan wouldn't work. Called garage cannot take it in for another week. Have just written a letter to GM and called the dealer to see if they can do anything about this. I do not want the car anymore. It only has 19,500 miles. 3000 were just put on it over X-mas, we drove to fla. Keys and back.

- White Haven, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?