Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The Trailblazer emerged from an "upscale trim line" of the Blazer, but there's nothing upscale about its transmission problems or its wonky, unpredictable headlights.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,163 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments

problem #17

Feb 012005

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet trailer Blazer. The contact stated that the instrument cluster panel was replaced three times for a recurring failure. The manufacturer advised the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 03V096000 (electrical system: Wiring: Interior/under dash). The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 15,000 and the current mileage was 74,000. Updated 07/19/12 the consumer stated the instrument panel was replaced for the third time at a cost of $ 580. Updated 07/23/12

- Tucson , AZ, USA

problem #16

May 132005

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the instrument panel cluster fails to work properly on occasion. As a result, most of the gauges and the tail lights do not work, with the exception of the service engine light, turn signal indicators, and the instrument panel cluster back-lighting. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign id number 03V096000 (electrical system:wiring:interior/under dash). The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 50,000 and current mileage was 98,000. Updated 07/10/09. When the electrical systems shut down, it affected the gauges as well. The defroster would not operate on high and the rear wipers failed at times. The consumer stated after he disconnected the battery and re-tested it, everything worked fine. Updated 07/10/09.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #15

Apr 032009

Trailblazer 4WD

  • 79,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the instrument panel and radio lights failed to illuminate without warning. The vehicle still operated normally without interior lighting. The vehicle was not diagnosed by the dealer. GMC stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 03V096000 (electrical system:wiring:interior/under dash), although the failures were identical. The contact would be responsible for the repairs. The vehicle is currently at his residence and has not been repaired. The current and failure mileages were 79,000. The consumer also stated the four-wheel shift knob on the dash flashed from all-wheel, four-wheel to low-wheel drive while driving on the highway at any rate of speed. Updated 05/06/09.

- North Fork, CA, USA

problem #14

Jan 182008

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer. If the contact does not unhook the battery post each night, the vehicle will not start in the mornings. She purchased a new battery, but the failure persists. The front passenger side of the vehicle near the tire makes a roaring sound intermittently. Neither weather nor speed were factors. The contact believes that the gas tank is leaking fuel because it is burning more fuel. The vehicle was not taken to a Chevrolet dealer, but was taken to the dealer from where the vehicle was purchased. The mechanic stated that the vehicle was experiencing electrical failure and should be taken to the dealer. The contact was informed that the following NHTSA campaign id numbers did not apply to her VIN: 01V126000 (suspension:front:control arm:lower arm), 03V096000 (electrical system:wiring:interior/under dash), and 02V121000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:hoses, lines/piping, and fittings). The current mileage was 165,000 and failure mileage was 150,000.

- Stockbridge, GA, USA

problem #13

Mar 122007

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The dashboard panel illuminated intermittently. The failure prevented the dashboard from displaying the speedometer and tachometer. Occasionally, the tachometer and speedometer displayed incorrect speeds. The dealer stated that the vehicle needed an instrument panel cluster, and mentioned recall # 03V096000 for the electrical system: Wiring: Interior/under dash. Although this vehicle was excluded from the recall, the contact did not feel obligated to pay for the repairs since General Motors was aware of the recall. The current mileage was 72,449, and failure mileage was 71,000.

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #12

Mar 082007

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,000 miles
- the contact stated that while driving the 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer at 60 mph she smelled ammonia and eventually she smelled smoke. The contact stated she did not see smoke until she pulled the vehicle over to the side of the road. The contact stated approximately three minutes after exiting the vehicle she saw a fire underneath the steering wheel. The fire department informed the contact the cause of the fire was an electrical problem underneath the steering inside the dash board. The vehicle was unable to be driven. The contact stated her insurance company inspected the vehicle. The vehicle currently had 94000 miles. Consumer provided pictures of the damaged vehicle and incident report. Update 4/9

- Alvarado, TX, USA

problem #11

Nov 092006

Trailblazer 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,707 miles


: the contact stated the instrument panel was inoperable. There was a NHTSA recall, #03V096000, regarding the electrical; wiring; interior/under dash. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #10

Nov 112005

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Tie rods, multiple transmission module problems, airbag, taillights, stop, turn signal rear problem, electrical/ wiring, radio, HVAC, pressure control,2 batteries, 2 fan clutches, among other problems.

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #9

Jul 152004

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles
The consumer went to the dealer for a recall on the tail light and once the consumer left the dealership, it was discovered that the tail light was not repaired. The dealer was contacted and they stated that the problem was now the consumer's and refused to repair vehicle, per the service manager.

- Fruitland Park, FL, USA

problem #8

Jun 012002

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,000 miles
Purchased Feb 1, 2002. Since then have had nothing but problems. Had into 4 different dearlerships fixing many problems but after each visit another problem occurs. From tail lights burning out, windhshield wiper motor failures, instrument cluster replaced, heater control panel replaced once, memory mirror modules replaced 2 times, heated seat switches replaced 2 times, rear window defogger/replaced entire rear window 1 time, battery replaced 1 time ( said battery was at fault for current problems) battery was fine and charged me $ 150 for new battery that was not the correct battery replacement, exhaust gasket became loose/loud and had to be replaced, the fuel pump replaced because it just cut off as I was on the expressway going approx 65 miles an hour, I had to get to the side of the road quickly- had to be towed to dealership. Problem fixed, however after I picked it up then the current problem began. I could go on and on with the problems that I have had. Present problem is that whenever I turn on the heat it dies out with no warning---just stops and stalls. Dealership says they fixd it but upon pick up the problem still exists. Gone to pick it up 2 times, but when I start it and put on heat, it dies all over again even after dealership claims they fixed it. I live in Chicago and it has been a cold winter. Almost caused a crash on another expressway on way home from having the airbag sensor and a complete brake job done and all fluids changed. This vehicle is not worth $ 37,000 and I feel it is time that GM accept some responsibility for this lemon of a vehicle. It is my only vehicle and I am still paying dearly for it but lately cannot even use it as it remains in one dealership after another at my expense. I will not purchase another vehicle from GM. I need help and answers as I am not getting anywhere even with this vehicle still under warranty.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #7

Jul 152002

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


There is a knock in the engine of my vehicle. The new engine with the new design of the pistons straight layout is making my engine have a continuous knock. My four wheel drive does not work due to a electrical short in the dash harness. Wire harness is located behind dash. Tail lights constantly burning out.

- Madison Hts, MI, USA

problem #6

Apr 152003

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Electrical system located near dash. Lights are constantly going out and may have a short in the electrical unit.

- Madison Heights, MI, USA

problem #5

Feb 112002

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68 miles
Since purchase (Feb. '02) to present (July '03) there has been a "humming" / vibrating noise coming from my vehicle's instrument cluster. It is very prominent during slow speeds, such as in parking lots and when beginning to accelerate from a stop. Representatives at dealer's service dept. Have told me that this is "normal with Trailblazers".

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #4

Jul 032003

(reported on)


  • miles
Vehicle experienced intermittent starting problems. Vehicle was taken to the dealer for a recall #03V096000 repairs concerning instrument panel cluster in may of 2003. Vehicle is still having the same problem, and is currently with the dealer (fred beans Chevrolet).

- Doylestown, PA, USA

problem #3

Jun 192003

(reported on)


  • miles
Consumer received a recall notice 03V096000 subject: Instrument panel cluster. Consumer contacted the dealer on 6/11/2003 and made an appointment. On the day of the appointment (6/18/2003) consumer called, and the dealer stated no parts were available.

- Hillside, NJ, USA

problem #2

Aug 222002

Trailblazer 4WD

  • miles
Wiring harness burned up. Caused damage to control panel, dash, computer system. Entire vehicle gutted to replace wiring. A door panel was broken in process. Several rattles now exist. We were told there was no way of knowing if electrical problem would occur again. GM agreed for repurchase. However, they delayed procedure so that 0% financing can not apply. Also wanted us to pay out of pocket, buy back amount said we would be reimburced, but would not put it in writing.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #1

Sep 042002

(reported on)


  • miles
While driving instrument panel completely shorted out. There was no illumination in the dash. Took vehicle to dealer, problem has not been resolved.

- Jasper, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?