Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Trailblazer emerged from an "upscale trim line" of the Blazer, but there's nothing upscale about its transmission problems or its wonky, unpredictable headlights.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,667 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments

problem #13

May 152012

Trailblazer

  • 2,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer equipped with capitol precision trac II tires, size: 245/65R17. While driving at 70 mph, the front driver side tire experienced a blow out. The contact stated that the tires were replacement tires. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the tire was replaced. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate tire and vehicle failure mileage was 2,000. The VIN and dot numbers were not available.

- Ardmore, AL, USA

problem #12

May 082010

Trailblazer

  • 52,403 miles
I was driving West on the #10 fry near palm springs ca (65-70 mph) when the front left tire began to thumb and come apart. Aprx. 80% of the tire tread/belt separated from the definity Dakota tire. The remaining tire never went flat. After pulling to the side of the road I called aaa and they removed the tire and replaced it with my spare. The aaa tow truck driver said the tire clearly failed due to a defect. Three days later the car ( Chevy. Trailblazer) was taken to a repair shop, due to the flapping tread causing fl body, headlight, F bumper, L running board and fl wheel well damage. Seidner's repair shop removed the defected tire, it was discarded in error and they were not able to retrieve it. The orig set of tires were purchased at pep boys 5/21/06, when I returned last week (5/22/10) to the store where I purchased the set they told me per there Corp. Office current recalls did not cover my size. Also (5/25/10) the pep boys Corp. Office had a call in to copper tire hdq for a complete list of definity Dakota size recalls and to report this complaint. As of 5/29/10 copper has not returned there call, or a call to me.

- San Dimas, CA, USA

problem #11

Nov 162009

Trailblazer

  • 136,000 miles
Greetings national transportation safety administration, I would like to introduce myself as anthony horsley, sr. On Tuesday morning at 5:30am, my cooper made tires broke down on the left rear side of the of my vehicle, which is a 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer. I managed to get off the freeway and exit safely. I pulled over at a parking lot to discover that the tire had separated and the loose rubber had ripped a hole in my bumper. The cooper tire is a dominator class 255 - 70 - R16, originally purchased through discount tire, with full warranty. In February of 2008 I was alerted when I brought in the Trailblazer for an alignment check that the tires were being recalled and they subsequently replaced the front tires with Michelin ltx tires. I asked them why they had not replaced the rear tires as well as they were the same type. Discount stated that they were only given instructions to replace the front tires. At this point I believe that the national transportation safety administration should look further into this matter. I hope to resolve this issue by having cooper tire providing me a right rear tire to match the three tires. I have been in touch with Mr. Alex pendelton, manager at discount tire, 702.435.1533. Thank you

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #10

Sep 242009

Trailblazer

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bridgestone dueler apt tire purchased in 2007 experiences 2nd sidewall blow out of the original purchase of 4. both tires sidewalls bulged, exploded while traveling on expressway at 70 mph. First incident in July 2009, second incident on September 24, 2009. Sears/Bridgestone does not appear to be concerned about sidewall issues with 2 of the 4 tires purchased together.

- Midland, MI, USA

problem #9

Jan 172007

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,940 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer. On January 17, 2007, the contact heard a loud boom and the transmission failed while driving 10 mph. He then coasted the vehicle at 5 mph to the nearest shop. The mechanic stated that the actuator fell from the transmission and the entire transmission failed. The contact was also informed that all four tires were rotted and needed to be replaced. The engine size was unknown. The current mileage is 28,000 and failure mileage was 22,900. The consumer stated wants to GM to pay the cost of repairs for the defects in the vehicle, however consumer is stating not responsible for defect the part provided is not the same part stated in the recall. Updated 06/08/07

- Brown Deer, WI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #8

Feb 012007

Trailblazer

  • miles
2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer with problems with car radio customer wants reimbursement for repairs* some type of electrical problem caused a loud pop to come through the speakers. The caused the radio to short out and the speakers to blow. The radio and speakers had been replaced several times. The amplifier also had to be replaced. The vehicle has been taken to the dealer on numerous occasions but they have been unable to correct the problem. The middle seat belt in the second row locked up as soon as it was fastened into the buckle. When the defroster was used the consumer heard a clicking noise. The dealer replaced the mode actuator and mode valve per tsb 04-01-38-002. The quarter panel on the roof seam sealer cracked and was rusted. The pull down strap on the rear hatch broke. The sway bar broke. A grinding noise was heard coming from the left front wheel when making sharp left turn. The dealer determined that suspension was misaligned and caused shield to touch rotor. The instrument cluster gauge was inoperative. The rear wiper did not touch the rear windshield. There was a high pitched noise coming from the right side tire whenever in motion. The dealer indicated it was improperly sealed.

- Chapmanville, WV, USA

problem #7

Feb 242006

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Trailblazer tire blew out. The consumer lost control of the vehicle and hit a divider wall and then stuck an embankment. Updated 05/02/06.

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #6

Sep 252005

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,333 miles
The spare tire hoist cable system tangled or jammed and would not allow the spare to lower further or raise. I had to use rope to tie the spare tire to the frame to make sure it would not fall down while I was driving which clearly could have thrown the back of the vehicle upward. The dealer had to cut the cable and replace the entire hoist assembly: $176.54. The hoist had been used successfully on three other occasions.

- Leonard, MI, USA

problem #5

Jul 152003

Trailblazer

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles
My vehicle has been in the shop for these reasons and more. Faulty back light- dvd systems. On top of all these it has had three recalls in the nine months I've owned it. Bought it new!

- Oak Grove, LA, USA

problem #4

Oct 072003

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have 4 (245-70-16) bf goodrich open trail T/a tires that came original on my new 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer ls 4WD. I have 20,649 miles on my vehicle. I have 5/32 tread left, I have belts broken in the sidewall, cracks in between the tread. Although 5/32 tread is "acceptable" according to B F goodrich I have recently experienced sliding in wet conditions as opposed to when I first bought the vehicle and the tread depth was more abundant. According to B F goodrich, these tires are not subject to replacement under the terms of their warranty. It's against my better judgment to keep driving on these tires, but if I listen to them and accept their position that these tires are safe, I will be risking the lives of myself, my wife, and my passengers. I hope this organization will investigate this tire and I will be more than happy to have them pulled from my vehicle and shipped to you for examination.

- Ravenna, OH, USA

problem #3

Nov 032002

Trailblazer

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased car two weeks later was in dealership with problems when driving. Was told tires were bad. Tires were replaced. Car has two noises when driving down the road and you hit a bump. Car still has whinning sound in the passenger side door even though the seal has been replaced in all 4 doors. When you close the driver door you hear the same noise that you hear when you are driving down the road. Has already been to the dealer for this several times but they don't know what to do about it.

- Chapin, IL, USA

problem #2

Sep 282002

Trailblazer 4WD

  • miles
Tire blow out on a straight road (route 22, pa) with nothing to cause the blow out resulting in crash with another car and the barrier wall. No one was injured.

- Bethlehem, PA, USA

problem #1

Mar 222002

Trailblazer 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving 60-65 and without warning right front tire blewout, resulting in a frontal side collision.

- Ware, MA, USA

Not what you are looking for?