Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page Notes: Carrying the not-so-proud traditions of its 2002 predecessor, the 2003 has a handful of instrument panel malfunctions that can leave you guessing your speed, engine temperature or how much gas is left in the tank.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,341 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #62

Oct 012010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles


The instrument cluster on my 2003 Chevy Trailblazer is malfunctioning. Specifically, the speedometer doesn't work correctly.

- Westlake Village, CA, USA

problem #61

Nov 202008

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving all of the lights and functions on the instrument panel stopped working. The vehicle was not inspected or repaired. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that they could offer him no assistance. The current mileage was approximately 35,000. The failure mileage was approximately 21,000. Updated 1/19/2010 the consumer stated the speedometer, tachometer and temperature gauge stopped working. Updated 03/31/11

- Tamaqua, PA, USA

problem #60

Apr 152007


  • 127,000 miles
My cluster on my 2003 Chevy Trailblazer has gone out causing all but one gauge to work that is the speedometer..

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #59

Sep 142010


  • 146,000 miles


I have a 2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer with 146,000 miles on it. About 3 years ago when there was only around 50,000 miles on it the tachometer stopped working. Now the speedometer is acting up and showing I am going 85 when I am going approximately 50 miles per hour, or showing 30 when I am completely stopped. From what I have been reading on other posts on the internet this is a very common problem with these vehicles and I am wondering why you have not recommended a recall on this problem, I personally love my truck, but it would be nice if Chevrolet had to stand behind this, just as we stood behind them with a bailout!

- Chattanooga , TN, USA

problem #58

Aug 012010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
We have a 2003 Chevy Trailblazer that the speedometer went out on. It was diagnosed as a cluster that needs to be replaced at almost $600 I told GM in case# [xxx] that an independent mechanic diagnosed it but they made us go spend $96 on a GM dealership to diagnose it and then 3 hours later tell us so sorry, we know there are a lot of complaints but there is no bulletin O recall on this so we cant do anything. A speedometer should no go out on a car, no matter how many miles and if it is not an isolated instance, there needs to be a recall. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

problem #57

Feb 102010


  • 175,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving various speeds, the speedometer would stop working and within a few minutes it would began to function normally. The dealer confirmed that it malfunctioned and would cost $1000 to repair it. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 175,000 and the current mileage was 180,000.

- Lillian, TX, USA

problem #56

May 032010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,000 miles


The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer lt. The contact stated the gauges on the dashboard would fluctuate back and forth. The fuel gauge would read inaccurate fuel levels and the speedometer would read inaccurate traveled speeds. The dealer advised that the entire instrument cluster would need to be replaced in order to remedy the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 97,000 and the current mileage was 105,000. Updated 12/01/10. The consumer stated still has not been replaced. Updated 12/09/10

- Three Forks, MT, USA

problem #55

Jun 152010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
My speedometer quit working and I can no longer tell what speed I am going. This happens everytime I drive. To correct the problem will cost me around $500 to $700. My vehicle is a 2003 Chevy Trailblazer with 4WD.

- Lawrence, KS, USA

problem #54

Apr 012007


  • miles
3 year ago I bought a 2003 Chevy Trailblazer it had 75,000 miles on when I bought it the week after my tach stopped working no reading at all I went to every mechanic they toll me to take it to the dealer I took it to the dealer and they told me that it was a module problem and that and that is going to need a new one they wanted to charge me over 2,500 dollars to fix the problem I have search around auto parts to see if there is any sensor for the tach. Since then it has not work.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #53

Jan 042010


  • 101,000 miles
After a freeze the speedometer on my 2003 Chevy Trailblazer stopped working. After doing research I found out that this is very common.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #52

May 032010


  • 73,153 miles


The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact was driving approximately between 35-40 mph approaching a traffic light. When coming from the complete stop the speedometer displayed an inaccurate reading of 95 mph. The vehicle continued in operation. The failure occurred intermittently with the speed rate reading fluctuating. The authorized dealer was notified which stated the vehicle was not covered under a service warranty. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The contact had concern of the safety risk involved. The failure mileage was 73,153.

- Conyers, GA, USA

problem #51

Nov 242009

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
I have (one of many) a 2003 Chevy Trailblazer with a bad instrument gauge cluster. Currently, my RPM, speedometer, gas, oil pressure gauges do not work at all. From my research, I have learned that GM has this problems on almost all of their other trucks which they have a recall on. For some reason, the Trailblazer does not have a recall on this problem. I would like to know why.

- Brownsburg, IN, USA

problem #50

Mar 292010


  • 88,000 miles
My 2003 Chevy Trailblazer's speedometer cluster went out it is not gauging with mph. This is a safety hazard because you can't tell what speed you are going I phoned Chevy since my warranty is expired this should have been a recall. They won't fix it unless I pay for the repairs.

- Castro Valley, CA, USA

problem #49

Mar 052004

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer speedometer failed the speedometer would register as high as 120 mph. The vehicle was inspected and it was determined there was an internal malfunction on the instrument cluster. The consumer was informed it would cost $550 for a replacement cluster. The rear passenger taillight and passenger side head light burned out and was replaced. The water pump and serpentine belt were replaced. The mechanic noted a broken bolt in the water pump that held down the housing and the ball joints were replaced.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #48

Aug 192008


  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact observed while driving approximately 45 mph; the instrument cluster displayed an incorrect reading intermittently. In addition, the RPM remained incorrect and the speedometer showed a faulty reading. The failures occurred at any speed rate. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The current mileage was 69,488. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- Moundsville, WV, USA

problem #47

Mar 042010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 119,114 miles
Speedometer sticks at 65 mph when using the cruise control. This is the fifth time this has happened. Dealer suggests instrument cluster replacement. This is a safety hazard. Many posts on internet for same problem, but no vehicle recall. Meanwhile truck series had same problem and was recalled. This need to be taken care of now.

- Willoughby, OH, USA

problem #46

Dec 152005

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
2003 Chevy Trailblazer. Instrument cluster started making a noise when you turn off the vehicle. This was about 30,000? miles. Dealer said was normal. Now for the past 5 years battery just goes dead overnight. Traced to a continual battery draw from the instrument panel. Dealer only wants to charge for a diagnostic test and said would not be covered by any warranty even though it started prior to warranty expiration.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #45

Feb 182010


  • 64,000 miles
I own a 2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer that has a malfunctioning speedometer. Although GM has issued a recall on other trucks and SUVS with the same problem, the Trailblazer has not been made a part of this recall. I have friends who have experienced the same problem with their Trailblazers, so it seems to be a common issue. My vehicle only has 64K miles at the current time, which would fall within the realm of warranty repair for the other recalled vehicles. I am an avid Chevy owner, but I feel that GM has fallen down on addressing this concern with Trailblazer owners.

- Spotsylvania, VA, USA

problem #44

Dec 092009

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
Speedometer inconsistently failing. Updated 03/15/10

- Columbia, MO, USA

problem #43

Jan 172010


  • 76,000 miles
Speedometer of 2003 Trailblazer failed, reading 2-3X actual speed. Obvious safety issue. Internet search reveals this a common problem.

- Weatherly, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?