Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

CarComplaints.com Notes: Carrying the not-so-proud traditions of its 2002 predecessor, the 2003 has a handful of instrument panel malfunctions that can leave you guessing your speed, engine temperature or how much gas is left in the tank.

2.1

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,341 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #42

Dec 292009

Trailblazer

  • 79,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer. During a stretch of sub zero temperatures, the speedometer is consistently showing incorrect speeds. When the truck is turned off, the speedo shows 60mph. Checking with local mechanics, they advise that this is a common problem that they see with this make and model. They inform me that numerous recalls are available in the Tahoe and Silverado for this same issue in the 03 model. I have lodged a complaint with Chevrolet customer service. Currently, no recall is in effect for this defect (my truck just turned 80,000 miles). The estimate I've received to correct this defect is around $400 to $600 depending on who services the vehicle. A vehicle with this type of defect is unsafe and unfit for my family to drive. Mis-judging speed, especially during winter driving conditions could lead to serious injury or even death (I live in the midwest). I am also at an increased risk for receiving speeding tickets. I appreciate the opportunity to file my concerns on the ODI website. Thank you for your time.

- Ankeny, IA, USA

problem #41

Nov 072009

Trailblazer

  • 89,000 miles
Instrument panel failing on 2003 Chevrolet trail Blazer, RPM, 3-6 months ago, fuel gauge 2-3 weeks ago; unidentifiable light comes on and off.

- West Point, GA, USA

problem #40

Dec 202009

Trailblazer

  • 97,000 miles
Speedometer in vehicle stopped working then it starts again then it tops out at 120 mph while vehicle is sitting still or 30 mph while vehicle is sitting still then at certain times it will work and then it doesn't I don't know whether to replace it or what then the RPM gauge works then it won't.

- Gulfport, MS, USA

problem #39

Jul 092009

Trailblazer

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Instrument panel malfunctions...speedometer jumps and gets pinned also tachometer does the same thing. You can be driving 20 miles per hour and the speedometer shows 85. Its happening more and more.

- Levittown, NY, USA

problem #38

Nov 192009

Trailblazer

  • 83,114 miles
2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer with approximately 83,000 miles on it. I was on the way to work this morning and my speedometer out of the blue just started reading the wrong speed. I was doing 35 mph and it showed I was doing 120mph. The needle then shot straight down and now it starts off at around 90-100 mph mark and still rotates clockwise. This is a serious problem and could lead to the safety of me, my occupants, and others. The dealership wants $350 for parts and labor, that is outrageous since this is totally out of my control, this is not a part that somebody should have to pay out of pocket for. I see a lot of complaints regarding this item in my vehicle as well as the GMC Envoy. Please help !!!!

- Bristol, CT, USA

problem #37

Apr 122008

Trailblazer

  • 7,300 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer. She smelled fuel fumes coming through the air vents of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, and the fuel tank was replaced. The repair did not remedy the failure. Secondly the head-lights fail while driving. Lastly, the lighting of the instrument control panel was inoperative. She contacted the GM manufacturer, and was referred back to the dealer. The vehicle has been taken to several dealers, but the failures have not been remedied. The failure mileage was 7,300. The vehicle identification number was unavailable.

- Hope Mills, NC, USA

problem #36

Oct 132009

Trailblazer

  • 70,127 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Speedometer is broken with only 70,000 miles on the vehicle.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #35

Mar 012009

Trailblazer

  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the RPM dial fails to move and the speedometer is beginning to fail. Initially, the speedometer made a ticking noise as the speed increased, but currently the dial is stuck at 40 mph. Whenever the engine is turned off, the speedometer dial does not go back to zero. When the vehicle is restarted, the dial will drop to 35 mph. When the driver accelerates, the dial moves and remains at 40 mph. As a result, the contact is never sure how fast she is driving. The manufacturer stated that they were aware of the failures and issued an improvement campaign for those with vehicles that had less than 80,000 miles. Through research, the contact found numerous vehicles with the same failures, but with more mileage. She believes that a recall should be issued because it is obviously a manufacturer defect. The vehicle has not yet been repaired. The failure mileage was 96,000 and current mileage was 101,000. Updated 08/31/09 updated 09/04/09.

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #34

Jan 152009

Trailblazer

  • 54,000 miles
Speedometer quit working. It would freeze at 120+ mph. Eventually it would work it's way back down to 0 mph and works when it wants. It accurate when it does work?? ac blower quit blowing in the front - blower module resistor replacement needed. Seems to be popular complaint on this vehicle. Ambient temperature sensor went out - affects inside temp w/ac as well. This went out 100 miles after warranty expired and dealer wouldn't fix under warranty. All of this of course after warranty expires.

- New Iberia, LA, USA

problem #33

Jul 032009

Trailblazer

  • 116,000 miles
I have a 2003 Chevy Trailblazer and after some heavy rain my speedometer stopped working. I did research on the web to find that there are others who have the same issue where a change in weather makes the device stop functioning. When I contacted GM they said that despite the lawsuit that is evident about the same type of issue, my model was not listed. I have read online where other people have experienced the same thing. I find it odd that GM knows this is a problem but expects everyone to pay $400-600 to get it fixed. If it is a defect in their product they should honor the fact that we paid for it and now it has failed people.

- Riverview, FL, USA

problem #32

Mar 022009

Trailblazer

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving approximately 70 mph, the speedometer read 110 mph. The contact stopped the vehicle for a few minutes to allow the speedometer to reset, but it only decreased to 90 mph. The dealer stated that there was electrical failure and the instrument panel console cluster needed to be replaced. The vehicle has not been repaired. The contact must use her gps to determine how fast she is driving. She feels that GMC should be responsible for the repair. The failure mileage was 75,000 and current mileage was 78,734.

- Ankeny , IA, USA

problem #31

Jun 182009

Trailblazer

  • 80,000 miles
I own a 2003 Chevy Trailblazer. Noticed the speedometer doesn't go past 0 on my vehicle. All other gauges working properly. I'm reading a lot of complaints regarding this gauge on this particular model of Chevy, but no recalls. Why not?

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #30

May 222009

Trailblazer

  • 45,000 miles
I have an 2003 Trailblazer with a bad instrument cluster(speedo, tach, gas gauge, temp) all not working! all of Chevy vehicles in this class( Tahoe, Silverado) have been recalled for this problem except for the Trailblazer. This seems a bit ridiculous to me considering the part numbers for the clusters are all exactly the same. When I went to the dealership I was told it would cost around $500 for the repair. I contacted Chevy and was told it is not their problem even though thousands of their vehicles have been recalled for the exact problem with the exact same part numbers. I had to buy a gps system just so I could know how fast I am traveling because I could not afford the full repair cost, nor do I feel I should have to. I have done plenty of online research and have found thousands of complaints identical to mine. My problem is that I don't understand why they recalled the Tahoe and Silverado and not the Trailblazer when the part numbers are identical.

- Dayville, CT, USA

problem #29

Apr 012009

Trailblazer

  • 52,000 miles
Started hearing a ticking noise coming from under the hood. Took it in to get checked out. Had to replace fan clutch motor at a cost of nearly 500 dollars. 2 weeks later started having crazy speedometer readings.

- Amory, MS, USA

problem #28

Feb 112007

Trailblazer

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving 25 mph, the contact noticed that the fuel gauge was not registering the correct amount of fuel. Occasionally, the gauge would indicate that no fuel was present in the vehicle at all. The vehicle was not inspected and no repairs were made at that time. One year later, the temperature gauge, actuator on the air conditioning/heating system, and the speedometer failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they confirmed that the actuator failed. The vehicle was repaired at the cost of $720. The manufacturer stated that no compensation would be provided because the failure was not under recall. The failure mileage was 30,000 and current mileage was 44,000. Updated 4/23/09 updated 04/28/09.

- Groesbeck, TX, USA

problem #27

Jan 272009

Trailblazer

  • 74,000 miles
Speedometer quit working during a cold rainy spell in January 2009. As the weather warmed, the speedometer starting working but quickly malfunctioned again. Now the speedometer does not work at all and stays at 120 consistently. I have the vehicle speed sensor replaced in Feb. 2009, but it did not correct the problem. I have had all fuses and wiring checked by an ase certified mechanic and he has come to the conclusion it could be the instrument cluster. I have researched on the internet that this seems to be a problem for Chevrolet Trailblazers.

- Brookston, TX, USA

problem #26

Jan 032009

Trailblazer

  • 92,000 miles
These speedometer ceases to work in cold weather. It will show 40 or even 80 mph when the vehicle it stopped at a stoplight. Often when the vehicle is in motion the indicator is pointed at the odometer. This is a serious safety hazard. Not knowing your actual speed is extremely dangerous. I have been told there was a recall for this but was told by a Chevrolet dealer that I would have to pay for it. I looked on this website and did find one but I may have missed it, as I am new to this area of car ownership.

- Union, SC, USA

problem #25

Jan 112009

Trailblazer

  • 136,000 miles
Speedometer reads 60 mph too high. Has returned to normal one time but problem has happened again (original problem was too weeks ago.) tachometer also reads too high (3000 rpms) and has for several months.

- Columbia, TN, USA

problem #24

Dec 182008

Trailblazer

  • miles
Driving on highway speedometer went above 100 mph then above 120 mph. Now the needle is pointing straight down.

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #23

Nov 012007

Trailblazer

  • 160,000 miles
I purchased the used 2003 Chevy Trailblazer May 2006. Last year the speedometer started jumping above my actual speed. Approx. 4 days later it rectified itself. It has happened 4 - 6 times and each time the same thing happens and it takes about 4 days to fix itself again. I haven't kept a log but it seems to be happening more frequently. I've read other owners stating what they had done. I cannot afford $300 - $400 taking it to a dealer. How many complaints need to made before a recall it set in motion for Chevrolet? thank you!

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?