Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

CarComplaints.com Notes: Carrying the not-so-proud traditions of its 2002 predecessor, the 2003 has a handful of instrument panel malfunctions that can leave you guessing your speed, engine temperature or how much gas is left in the tank.

2.4

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,240 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments

problem #19

Dec 022011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have bought many Chevy vehicles but with all the problems im having with this truck im not sure I will purchase another. Last year my transmission was giving me problems and there was a recall on it and my truck was not covered under the recall also same was with the tail lights. This year I am having problems with my wipers during rain storm I went to turn them on and nothing. I couldnt see so I had to pull over until the rain had let up(2hrs later). I am just speechless when it comes to these "recalls". it seems that myself nor anyone I know ever falls on these lists, you would think with all the money we are paying to purchase these vehicles that someone would want to make sure they keeep our business.

- Lincoln Park, MI, USA

problem #18

May 022011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
Wipers power on without me turning on the switch. I can not turn them off. Can not defuse them either by removing fuses. Sometimes they will not come on and I can only get them to turn on high. No washer fluid power either. Searched the recall for this vehicle and apparently my VIN isn't covered under the recall for this problem that already had a recall issued in 2004. That recall states the same issues that I'm having. Recall: 2002 - 2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer NHTSA campaign number: 04V046000. My Trailblazer is a 2003 but when I called the dealer they stated that my VIN isn't covered. What gives?

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #17

Mar 182011

Trailblazer

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving approximately 45 mph, the windshield wipers engaged intermittently, then suddenly they began to function in slow motion. NHTSA recall campaign id number 04V046000 (visibility:windshield wiper/washer) was associated with the failure; however, the VIN was not included. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage approximately 130,000.

- Stone Mountain , GA, USA

problem #16

Jun 052010

Trailblazer

  • 104,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that on June 5, 2010, the vehicle was turned off when it began to make a humming noise and the windshield washer pump began vibrating. Also, when the contact started the vehicle, the windshield wipers would turn on and could not be turned off. The contact consulted a mechanic who stated that the vehicle was not included in recall 04V046000 (visibility:windshield wiper/washer). The current and failure mileages were approximately 104,000.

- Bay City , MI, USA

problem #15

Jan 262010

Trailblazer

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the windshield wipers would not turn off at times. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where the contact was informed that he would have to pay a diagnostic fee. The vehicle was not inspected or repaired. The contact called the manufacturer and was told that the vehicle was not included in recall 04V046000 (visibility:windshield wiper/washer). The failure mileage was approximately 68,000.

- Salinas, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Nov 012009

Trailblazer

  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer which was purchased used in 2009. The front windshield wiper motor failed and the wiper washer would not shut off. The contact had to disengage the washer by disconnecting it from the vehicle. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that there was a recall; however, the repairs were done with the previous owner (see NHTSA campaign number 04V046000); therefore, the manufacturer no longer had any liability for the vehicle. No repairs were made to date. The failure and current mileages were under 118,000.

- Sante Fe, NM, USA

problem #13

Mar 102009

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving approximately 35 mph in rainy weather conditions, the windshield wipers failed to operate in two speeds within the mode selection. In addition, the windshield wiper system failed to deactivate without shutting off the engine. The failures occurred without warning and each time the windshield wipers were activated. The VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign id number 04V046000 (visibility;windshield wiper/washer), although the failures were identical. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 110,000 and current mileage was 117,000. Updated 3/4/2010 the consumer stated the windshield wipers did not shut unless the engine was turned off and they only operated in 2 speeds. The consumer was informed his vehicle was not included in recall 04V046000 even though the failure was identical. Updated 05/20/10.

- Bloomington, MN, USA

problem #12

Apr 162009

Trailblazer

  • 78,724 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The windshield wipers would not shut off; however, the driver can increase the speed but not turn them off. The failure occurred one time. The dealer repaired it and stated that it was the wiper assembly module and the contact was responsible for paying $298.14. NHTSA campaign id number: 04V046000 component: Visibility:windshield wiper/washer is related to the failure. The dealer stated that the VIN is not a part of the recall. The failure and current mileages were 78,724.

- Landcaster, VA, USA

problem #11

Aug 292007

Trailblazer

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the windshield wipers will activate, but not shut off. The contact has to pull out the fuse each time the windshield wipers have been used. He took the vehicle to the dealer and they identified the failure in the circuit board. The dealer repaired the vehicle. The manufacturer stated that his VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 04V046000 (visibility:windshield wiper/washer). The failure mileage was 65,000 and current mileage was 99,655. Updated 09/10/08. The circuit board shorted out. Updated 09/16/08.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #10

Mar 072008

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The windshield wipers failed. The contact stated that the wipers will activate at anytime and he is unable to shut them off with the switch. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 04V046000 (visibility:windshield wiper/washer). The current and failure mileages were 62,000.

- Peabody, MA, USA

problem #9

Jan 232008

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,068 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving 55 mph, the windshield wipers turn on and off at random. If the contact activates the wipers, then they remain on and will not shut off. In order for the wipers to deactivate, the vehicle has to be off for 30 minutes to reset the switch. The contact spoke with the dealer and they stated that her VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 04V046000 (visibility:windshield wiper/washer). The contact would like the recall to include her VIN. The current and failure mileages were 53,068. Updated 02-14-08.

- Oswego, NY, USA

problem #8

Nov 152007

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,000 miles
The windshield wipers do not function properly. The wipers fail to turn off when the wiper switch has been turned to the off position. I later found that there had been a recall issued for this failure mode in this vehicle make and model, but my VIN is not included in the recall notice. I believe that the failure mode I am experiencing is the same as that described in the recall notice (NHTSA #04V046000) and believe the recall should be expanded to cover my vehicle.

- Delaware, OH, USA

problem #7

Nov 142006

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,000 miles
: the contact stated while traveling 45 mph on rainy wet road conditions, the front windshield wipers would not turn off. The service dealer was contacted, who determined that the windshield wiper module had failed, and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was contacted and notified the contact that the vehicle was included in NHTSA recall #04V046000, regarding the visibility: Windshield wiper/washer. The service dealer was contacted for the recall repair, but declined repairing the vehicle because they found that the VIN # was not included in the recall. The manufacturer was contacted again, and confirmed that the vehicle was not included in the recall due the VIN.

- Central Square, NY, USA

problem #6

Sep 072006

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 90 miles
I have a 2003 chev. Trailblazer. The windshield wiper recently refused to turn off. It had been raining and they could not be stopped. My wife had to drive the car with them pointed forward until repair could be had. I noticed that a recall for the precise problem had been issued by nhsta--for vehicles mfd April 2002 to Nov.2002. My vehicle was built Dec. 17 2002. The dealer has been excellent, but I had to contact Chevrolet motor division and they said my car was not covered--too bad. I find it incredible that this event that is precisely described in recall number 04V046000 and service bulletin 10008492. I am requesting your help with this matter, or the time period for the recall should be extended as clearly my vehicle suffers the precise problem you have specified.

- Clearwater, FL, USA

problem #5

May 032006

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,774 miles
: the contact stated while the vehicle was receiving a regular maintenance inspection at an independent repair shop, the mechanic determined the right front outer tie rod assembly needed to be replaced. After the replacement, there was a rattling noise in the front suspension, but the vehicle was not seen for further inspection. In addition, NHTSA recall, #04V527000 repair was performed on the exterior lighting however, the recall repair did not remedy the problem. The contact replaced the bulbs in the exterior brake lights, but the dealership was not contacted. In addition, resurfaced rear rotors and replaced pads. Also, replaced rear windshield wiper arm. The door locsk were inoperative. The rear brake lights were inoperative. Updated 05/30/06.

- Endicott, NY, USA

problem #4

Sep 022005

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Brakes front & rear, climate control, windshield wipers, rear tail lights.

- Beaver Falls, PA, USA

problem #3

Jun 122005

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevy Trailblazer in which the windshield wipers would not turn off. The consumer had to turn the engine off before they would stop working. The manufacturer stated that his VIN was not qualified for NHTSA campaign id number 04V046000, dated May 2005. The part is available for inspection.

- Glen Saint Mary, FL, USA

problem #2

Feb 172004

Trailblazer

  • 500 miles
While driving at any speed windshield wipers worked intermittently. Vehicle had been to the dealer several times, but the problem could not be resolved.

- Idaho Falls, ID, USA

problem #1

Jun 212003

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,400 miles
Windshield wipers stopped working in middle of downpour!!!!!!!!!!!!

- East Rockaway, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?