Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

CarComplaints.com Notes: It would be ill-advised to blaze any trails with the 2004 Trailblazer. Its faulty fuel gauge could leave you stranded.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,592 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 2 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #224

Jul 012010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While at a stop light, the contact noticed the speedometer was providing a speed reading of 60 mph. The reading of the other gauges on the instrument panel also fluctuated erratically. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing or repairs. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000. Updated 02/14/12 updated 02/17/12

- Franklin, OH, USA

problem #223

Nov 272009

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 55,380 miles
Speedometer said I was doing 100 miles a hour tack does not work gas hand goes way pass full and when I stop and put $25 of gas in you know it is not full so not for sure if oil pressure & temp gauge is right but it is not over heating guess I will know when steam comes out from under the hood GM recall some of the cluster why not the Trailblazer.

- Narrows , WV, USA

problem #222

Nov 182011

Trailblazer

  • 66,000 miles
The speedometer stopped working today. I checked online to see if anyone else was having the same problem. Apparently there is a lot of us all experiencing the same problem. I don't think it is fair that we all have to pay $500 to repair the problem. If we are all having the same problem there is obviously something wrong.

- Dayton , OH, USA

problem #221

Sep 162009

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 64,210 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Instrument cluster fails to operate properly. The speedometer stopped working first, then battery, gas, and temperature gauges failed to work properly. Finally, there is no odometer reading or gear indicator showing on cluster.

- Orangeville, PA, USA

problem #220

Aug 162011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Instrument panel failure, ran out of gas on a busy four lane highway during morning rush hour. I was in the left hand lane and was unable to move to the shoulder. I now became a major traffic problem until some nice citizen helped me push the truck out of harms way, having to stop both lanes of traffic so I could cross. Had I a working gas gauge I feel this would not have happened, none of the instruments in the vehicle work, Chevy has recalled other models of this year with the same problems, but not the Trailblazer. Why?

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #219

Mar 012011

Trailblazer

  • 70,000 miles
My instrument panel on my 2004 Trailblazer is slowly not functioning. It started off with my tachometer and now my gas gauge is not working. My vehicle has not been neglected and is serviced when needed. The gauges are not working now on a daily basis. I have yet to replace the part due to cost and also because many people are having the same issue that I am having.

- Mount Juliet, TN, USA

problem #218

Mar 012011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the instrument cluster was defective. The speedometer did not indicate the speed in which the vehicle was traveling and the tacometer was also defective. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified, but denied any assistance with the repair of the vehicle. The contact also stated that the front drivers side headlight would constantly burn out, causing the headlight to melt and emit smoke. The failure mileage was 69,000 and the current mileage was 72,000. Updated 09/19/11

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #217

Jun 122011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,200 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet trailer Blazer. The contact stated that the instrumental panel failed as the vehicle was started. The manufacturer was contacted and advised the contact to have the dealer diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 55,200. Updated 07/20/11 updated 08/26/11

- Asheboro , NC, USA

problem #216

May 232011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 69,258 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving approximately 30 mph, the contact noticed the speed odometer registered over 120 mph. The failure occurred whenever the vehicle was in motion. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The contact stated the instrument cluster needed to be replaced which was a common issue with this model year vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 69,258. Updated 07/18/11

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #215

May 312011

Trailblazer

  • 105,000 miles
Speedometer goes erratic. When idling at stop speedometer is sitting at approx 90 to 110 mph and when moving from a stop continues to the 6:00 position.

- Endicott, NY, USA

problem #214

Nov 092006

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,460 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the ABS light illuminated on the instrument panel with the chiming of a warning alarm, followed by the malfunction of all of the instrument panel gauges. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer three times but the dealer could not duplicate the failure. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that they could do nothing to assist. The vehicle was not repaired. The current mileage was approximately 49,400. The failure mileage was 19,460. Updated 07/08/11 updated 11/28/11

- Kettering, OH, USA

problem #213

May 052011

Trailblazer

  • 14,367 miles
Driving home on the interstate the speedometer on our 2004 Chevy Trailblazer suddenly started to climb and then decend done to well below -0 mph and stayed there even though we were traveling at 75 mph. The speedometer is currently frozen at about 20 mhp making it impossible to determine how fast we're traveling. Dealer quoted repairs at appx $800.

- Bismarck, ND, USA

problem #212

Mar 152011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
The speedometer/odometer in my 2004 Chevy Trailblazer is malfunctioning. At some points it seems to work correctly, then it will stick, or drop to zero. Sometimes I can be traveling approximately 30-35 mph and the reading will be at 110+. I am reading that others are having this same problem, that it is widespread, but as far as I can tell there is no recall. The first time it occurred was on the freeway - going 55mph - I looked at the speedometer and it said I was going 110! no other cars around - very hard to judge speed.

- Muskego, WI, USA

problem #211

May 182010

Trailblazer

  • 126,735 miles
Faulty speedometer and gas gauge on 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #210

Jan 022011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving approximately 35-40 mph, the speedometer began failing intermittently. The failure progressed until the entire instrument cluster failed. The contact was able to secure an appointment with the dealer for diagnosis and possible repairs. The approximate failure mileage was 44,000 and the current mileage was 48,000. Updated 06/07/11 the consumer also stated the tachometer and oil pressure were not working as well. Updated 06/10/11 updated 06/20/11

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #209

Oct 252010

Trailblazer 4WD 8-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
Automatic headlights go completely off for no reason, and then will come back on but no apparent reason, leaving you driving completely in the dark. (turning the car off and restarting it does not effect it either.) daytime running lights will also go off. This problem 1st began appr 2 years ago but has become more frequent 3 times a week in the last 6 months. Also the speedometer and tachometer no longer work. They periodically will come back on but has not worked in 2 weeks.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #208

Aug 012009

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving approximately 40 mph the contact noticed the speedometer was operating erratically and would also freeze at a certain number. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the speedometer was manually reset yet the failure recurred. The vehicle was not further repaired. In addition, the contact stated that the plastic that covered the instrument cluster was also damaged from attempting to reset the speedometer. The manufacturer was contacted but offered no assistance. The approximate failure mileage was 69,000. Updated 6/8/11 updated 06/16/11

- Poughkeepsie, NY, USA

problem #207

Jan 102011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
My car has only 54000 miles on it and the instrument panel is shot. The dealer wants $600 to fix it. My speedometer, oil pressure, and gas gauge only work maybe 10% of the time. It is just terrible that I have to pay for this out of my own pocket when this is obviously a detective part. If this would have happened at 120,000miles I would not have been upset. That's normal wear and tear. Outrageous. I feel taken advantage of.

- Billings, MT, USA

problem #206

Jan 012009

Trailblazer

  • miles
Cluster not working in 2004 Chevy Trailblazer. Chevy recalled clusters in other Chevy vehicles but not Trailblazer.

- Richland , WA, USA

problem #205

Oct 272009

Trailblazer

  • 78,000 miles
The speedometer quit working and over the next year all the gauges have stopped working and I have been told the instrument panel needs to be replaced. I feel this is a safety issue that needs to be recalled as do alot of other people. I contacted GM and have received no help.

- Perryville, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?