Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

CarComplaints.com Notes: It would be ill-advised to blaze any trails with the 2004 Trailblazer. Its faulty fuel gauge could leave you stranded.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,592 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 4 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #184

Sep 202010

Trailblazer

  • 51,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The instrument cluster on my Trailblazer has begun to fail. The tachometer, speedometer and temperature gauge are not always accurate. My vehicle is no longer under warranty and the dealer will charge to repair. After looking online a lot of people have had the same issue. Chevrolet has issued a recall for trucks with the same instrument cluster, but my vehicle is not covered for some reason even though it uses the same hardware.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #183

Sep 082010

Trailblazer

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact was driving approximately 40 mph when all of the gauges and lights on the instrument panel failed. The contact replaced the instrument panel fuse yet the failure persisted. The vehicle was then taken to a local, independent mechanic where the contact was informed that the entire instrument panel would need replacing. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 55,000.

- Greenwell Springs, LA, USA

problem #182

Sep 132010

Trailblazer

  • 107,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact was driving approximately 45 mph when all of the instrument panel gauges failed. The vehicle was pulled over and shut off. Upon restart, the gauges began to function properly. The contact stated that the failure would occur intermittently. The vehicle was not taken to be examined for the cause of failure nor repaired. The failure and current mileage was 107,000.

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #181

Aug 102010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving at approximately 60 mph he noticed the speedometer was displaying a speed of 25 mph. Intermittently the speedometer displays different speeds other than the speed the vehicle is actually traveling. The vehicle had not been taken to be examined for the cause of failure and it had not been repaired. He also mentioned that approximately 6 months ago the tachometer experienced the same failure in which it displayed improper readings. The vehicle had not been taken to be examined for this failure and had not been repaired. This failure continues to recur intermittently. The failure mileage was 90,000 and the current mileage was 91,000. Updated 11/02/10. Updated 11/19/10. The consumer also stated the tachometer did not work as well. Updated 12/02/10

- Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

problem #180

Sep 022010

Trailblazer

  • 88,000 miles
My voltmeter on the gauge cluster doesn't work. It appears to work when the car is started and jumps to 12-14 volts but slowly moves down to zero and stays there no matter what I do to try and make it move. If I do not know the voltage I am running I wont be able to quickly resolve any problems should there be any serious problem that would show through my voltmeter.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #179

Jan 212008

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the tachometer no longer functioned. The speedometer would stick at the bottom and function intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership where the contact was informed that the instrument cluster needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired when the complaint was filed. The contact had not spoken with the manufacturer. The current mileage was approximately 90,000. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000. Updated 12/23/10 updated 01/03/11

- Atwater, CA, USA

problem #178

Sep 012010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Chevy Trailblazer lt speedometer flicker.

- Parsippany, NJ, USA

problem #177

Jul 292010

Trailblazer

  • 118,000 miles
2004 Chevy Trailblazer. Instrument cluster (speedometer, fuel gauge, oil pressure gauge, RPM gauge) inop. Gauges consistently don't work. Speedometer can be off 10,20 or 70 mph. Tremendously unsafe. From research, GM knows about this widespread problem. Almost runover by a truck on the interstate. Thought I was going 65 mph on a dark, deserted stretch of highway. Was actually going 35 mph.

- Highland Heights , OH, USA

problem #176

Aug 182010

Trailblazer

  • 113,000 miles
On 8/18/2010 after visiting my grand dad at hospital, pulled out of packing garage and noticed my speedometer started working improperly. I was going maybe 30mph it read 115mph. I currently have 110,000.

- Quincy, FL, USA

problem #175

Dec 132009

Trailblazer

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the instrument cluster malfunctioned while driving 70 mph. The contact was unable to read the battery meter, odometer, and speedometer. The contact had not taken the vehicle to a dealer regarding the instrument cluster. The contact was concerned about the related complaints regarding the malfunctioning of the instrument panel. The contact called the manufacturer regarding the instrument cluster and they advised him to contact the dealer since the vehicle was under a warranty. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Ogben, IL, USA

problem #174

May 042010

Trailblazer

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving down the highway and looked at my speedometer and it said I was going 80 miles an hour and I noticed all the other cars were passing me! I then noticed my speedometer continuing to rise until it went to 120 mph! I knew I wasn't going that fast. Sometimes it works if I shut the truck off and on until it gets to 0 mph but then it only works for a short period of time and goes crazy again.

- Waltham, MA, USA

problem #173

May 042010

Trailblazer

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the instrumental panel gauges, including the speedometer and the odometer, failed. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for a diagnosis of the failure. The manufacturer was not contacted. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 110,000 and the current was unknown.

- Montrose, MI, USA

problem #172

Jan 162008

Trailblazer

  • 65,000 miles
My odometer one day stopped working and then it would start working again. A few days later my speedometer started messing up. Every time it would do that I would have to stop the car, turn it off and start it up again. I would have to keep doing this until the speedometer went back to working. This worked for about 6 months and now my speedometer doesn't work along with my odometer and the rest of my gauges. The only gauge that does work is my gas gauge. This is a problem Chevy has recalled on other vehicles but not 2004 Trailblazers. They recalled 2004 Chevy vehicles with the same problem but not Trailblazers. This needs to be recalled.

- Lawrence, KS, USA

problem #171

Mar 012010

Trailblazer

  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated the instrument panel cluster failed. The fuel level gauge would intermittently operate yet the speedometer, battery indicator, and tachometer had completely failed. The tachometer remained stuck at 1500 rpms. The manufacturer advised because of the mileage on the vehicle, they would not assist with repairs. The contact was able to locate hundreds of complaints online pertaining to the failure for her year, make and model. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 87,000 and the current was unknown. Updated 10/05/10.

- Uncasville , CT, USA

problem #170

May 042010

Trailblazer

  • 105,249 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the instrument cluster failed. The fuel level and battery gauge would fail intermittently. The dealer advised there was a defect in the ground wire and repairs would be at the contacts expense. The contact believed the manufacture should take the liability for the failure because he was able to locate hundreds of similar complaints online for his year, make and model pertaining to the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 105,249.

- Dancille , VA, USA

problem #169

Jun 292010

Trailblazer

  • 116,000 miles
Yesterday my speedometer needle started jumping between numbers rather than moving smoothly. Today it stopped working completely, it stayed below the 0 and wouldn't register the speed at all. I stopped at a Chevy dealership on the way into work and was told the instrument cluster had to be replaced at my cost of about $400. Driving away from the dealership the speedometer started moving slowly (I was going around 55 mph but the speedometer showed 15 - 20 mph.) when I got to work I ran an internet search and found that this is a recall for Chevy trucks but not for Trailblazers. Also found numerous complaint sites with consumers reporting the exact same issue (model year and mileage varied.) obviously this is a widespread issue and should be addressed by a recall from GM. This presents a safety hazard as most consumers don't have the money for the repair cost so they aren't fixing the faulty speedometers which could lead to accidents and fatalities.

- Zimmerman, MN, USA

problem #168

Dec 222009

Trailblazer

  • 52,000 miles
The speedometer goes off most of the time you can turn of vehicle then just keep clicking and it will go back to 0 sometimes you star driving and it will go start acting up again and sometimes it stays the way it should be. I think this is a safety hazard you don't know if it is working properly or not and you really don't know the speed which you are traveling. I have request at many places to fix the problem but have been told over and over again that I may spend the money to replace the cluster which is what is causing this problem but it would probably do the same thing. From there knowledge of this problem there are many of these with this problem and I am told if I replace it the other that I replace it with would probably do the same thing. So I am just wondering how can this company get away with letting this problem exist. This is a very unsafe issue and if I cant resolve this I am going to have to trade in for another form of transportation. Please help me with this issue I have kids and a grandchild that depend on this car for transportation and I want them to be safe all the time not just sometimes when the cluster wants to work.

- Manchester, KY, USA

problem #167

Nov 102007

Trailblazer

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While the contact was driving approximately 65 mph, suddenly the speedometer displayed an inaccurate reading. The reading would fluctuate intermittently at any given speed. The contact stated the failure could be corrected by turning the engine off and restarting; and disabling the battery cable. The failure progressed. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Hermitage, TN, USA

problem #166

Jul 062009

Trailblazer

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the air bag warning light would intermittently illuminate and the RPM gauge would continue to fluctuate between rpms. The dealer performed a diagnostic and found that the instrument panel was failing. The vehicle was not repaired. In addition, the contact stated the seat belts would not operate and the instrument panel completely failed. The failure mileage was 58,000 and the current mileage was 73,000.

- Good Hope, GA, USA

problem #165

Feb 212008

Trailblazer

  • 60,312 miles
Our 2004 Chevy Trailblazer has had a failure of it's instrument cluster and the fuel gauge, speedometer, voltmeter, oil pressure gauge and tachometer have failed and now that we can not know how fast we are going we have had 3 speeding tickets and the officers have said that's not an excuse but we think it's a good excuse. I have researched this issue and many people (at least a hundred on each site) have had this complaint about the Trailblazer and Chevy just doesn't seem to care about the problem. Nothing happened leading up to this event it just started failing one after the other.

- Columbus, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?