Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page Notes: It would be ill-advised to blaze any trails with the 2004 Trailblazer. Its faulty fuel gauge could leave you stranded.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,592 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 5 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #164

Sep 012009


  • miles


The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that all the components on the instrument panel began to fail one by one until nothing on the instrument panel functioned at all. The vehicle had not been inspected at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was unknown. The current mileage was approximately 130,000. Updated 11/03/10.

- Pijeras, NM, USA

problem #163

May 082010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 59,500 miles
The speedometer on my 2004 Trailblazer is broken, it does not go below 90mpg, so 90 is my new 0. this just happened and from looking into it is very common. This is very costly to fix and a safety hazard and should be a recall. GM had recalls on it's other SUV's for the same issue.

- Whitehall, PA, USA

problem #162

May 072010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
The gauges on my 2004 did not work the tachometer I see there are many complaints for this, . I want to have it fixed before the speedometer stops working too.

- Middleburg Heights, OH, USA

problem #161

Oct 302009


  • 70,000 miles


Instrument panel has RPM and speedometer displaying incorrect metrics. RPM displays zero; speedometer displays incorrect speed. Chevy dealership service department says known issue for Tahoe model. Service representative said 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer "instrument cluster" is the issue but your make and model is not on the recall list so it will cost about $500.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #160

Apr 042010


  • 86,500 miles
Speedometer quit working while I was driving. I had slowed down because the speed limit slowed and the speedometer just stayed at the same speed. We pulled over and stopped and it stayed at 60. We turned the car off and then started it again. The speedometer did not move. It has now been over a week and has stayed at 80 and does not go back to zero.

- Seward, AK, USA

problem #159

Jan 082010


  • miles
While driving my 2004 Chevy Trailblazer home from work about 3 months ago I noticed my speedometer reading at 0, however I was driving approx. 30 miles per hour at the time. I accelerated to check to see if that would make the speedometer move above 0, but it stayed at 0. I informed my spouse of this speedometer misread and he attributed it to the cold weather. My spouse thought that the speedometer would return to normal once the weather warmed up. Well, the temperature warmed to 65 degrees and once again my speedometer continued to malfunction and read below 0, while driving. My husband has also noticed that the speedometer wasn't working while he was driving. They speedometer just stops working sometimes without warning. Two weeks ago my family and I started out on a 180 mile highway trip and within 20 miles from my home the speedometer just started descending to below 0 while I was driving on the highway and it remained there for the entire trip!!!!! I feel that this is a very hazardous situation and these vehicles should be recalled. After finding numerous other Chevy owners experiencing the same problem, it frustrates me to think that Chevy does not feel that this isn't important enough or serious enough to correct this problem at their expense!!!!!!!!!!!!! this is my only vehicle and I depend on the safety of this vehicle to Transport my family which includes a 3yr. Old and 13yr. Old every day to school and daycare. And furthermore, I should not have to worry about getting a speeding ticket because I am unaware of my actual speed. I shouldn't have to alter my travel plans in fear of getting pulled over on the highway for this speedometer malfunctioning either. Please recall these vehicles immediately.

- Merrillville, IN, USA

problem #158

Jan 012010


  • 62,000 miles


The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. He stated that the instrument panel would intermittently fail. He verified that the speedometer and fuel level indicator would not read properly. There were also other random warning lights that would illuminate sporadically. The dealer stated that the vehicle could be repaired at the owners expense. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 62,000 and the current mileage was 63,500. Updated 05/13/10.

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #157

Mar 012010


  • 17,008 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact noticed that the tachometer began moving erratically while driving 10 mph and then it stopped functioning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who replaced the dashboard cluster assembly. The failure mileage was 17008 and the current mileage was 17185.

- Wiloughby, OH, USA

problem #156

Mar 142010


  • 41,700 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving the contact observed the entire instrument panel failed. The speedometer displayed inaccurate readings at any given speed rate. In addition, the other gauges were nonfunctional. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for inspection. The instrument panel was replaced for the malfunction. The failure mileage was 41,700. Updated 05/14/2010.

- Margate, NJ, USA

problem #155

Nov 242005


  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While the contact was driving approximately 65 mph, the vehicle fuel gauge and temperature gauge became inoperative. There was a separate occasion the entire instrument panel failed to function. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for inspection. The technician stated the instrument panel required replacement. The vehicle had not been repaired for the failure at the time of the complaint. The VIN was not available. The failure was 65,000. The current mileage was 74,000.

- Covington, GA, USA

problem #154

Feb 012010


  • 71,000 miles


I have encountered a problem with the speedometer not working properly or not working at all in some cases. I was going about 60 to 65 mph when the speedometer was reading over 100mph now the speedometer is not working, there has been report that other Trailblazer were doing the same, there should be an recall on this.

- Morrisville, NC, USA

problem #153

Sep 202009


  • 48,000 miles
Speedometer stopped working on my 2004 Chevy trail Blazer dealer said it was not covered under warranty the car had 48000 miles on it when it stopped working.

- Pine Mtn Club, CA, USA

problem #152

Feb 122010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,397 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving 70 mph the contact noticed that the speedometer increased from 70 mph to 120 mph. Although the speedometer read 120 mph the vehicle was not traveling at that speed. The contact took the vehicle to a dealer regarding the instrument panel and they stated that it needed to be replaced. The contact has reviewed concerns regarding the instrument cluster for his year make and model and since there was a related recall, the manufacturer should be responsible for the repairs. The failure mileage was 42,397. Updated 3/16/10 the consumer was informed his vehicle was not included in the recall, because the instrument cluster panel was made by another manufacturer. Updated 06/11/10.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #151

Dec 092009

Trailblazer 8-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
Speedometer malfunctions at various times. On there are 46 complaints of speedometer problems with this model vehicle and nothing is being done about them and nobody knows what the fix is. One garage told me the battery was bad so replacing it would fix the problem, it didn't. I had a speed control sensor put in, and that didn't fix the problem either. No warning lights are coming on, so nobody knows what else to do. I don't have any more money to put in this vehicle. The battery and the speed control sensor together have cost me over $200.

- Fairfield, VA, USA

problem #150

Sep 072009


  • 650,000 miles
The speedometer on my 2004 Chevy Trailblazer doesen'twork due to the stepper motors in the instrument cluster GM knows of the complaints on their other vehicles of the same years and have repaired them. The speedometer starts out working but fails after a few miles down the road. I've read E-mails from people on the internet who have gotten speeding tickets from this problem.

- Walledlake, MI, USA

problem #149

Dec 182009

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 70,365 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. Whenever the contact drove the vehicle at various speeds around 45 mph, she noticed that the instrument panel illuminated intermittently. The dealer informed the contact that the failure could not be reproduced. The current and failure mileages were 70,365. Updated 05/13/10,

- East Jordan, MI, USA

problem #148

Nov 122009


  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. Whenever the contact drove the vehicle, he noticed that the instrument panel displayed inaccurate information regarding the vehicles speed. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealer. The current and failure mileages were 92000.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #147

Dec 012009


  • 60,000 miles
The instrument cluster is not working properly. The speedometer, and RPM needle are operating erratically. They started conveying incorrect information. A new cluster was installed. It has since been replaced, the cluster was showing a battery light error.

- Mansfield, TX, USA

problem #146

Nov 012009


  • 95,000 miles
Instrument panel gauges on my 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer has stopped working. I have no way to gauge speed, RPM's, fuel, temperature, oil pressure. I have contacted my dealership and have been advised that my vehicle is not being recalled, nor are there any NHTSA bulletins. I have learned, however, that larger GM vehicles have been recalled for the same problem. I would like to respectfully request that Trailblazers be repaired likewise. I have absolutely no funds to cover this repair. With two jobs, it is all I can do to keep above water financially. Thank you very much for any advice and help you can offer.

- Concord, VA, USA

problem #145

Sep 252009


  • miles
The speedometer stops working or will accelerates with you putting your foot on the gas pedal you have turn off the car and keep starting and turning off the car to get back to 0mph.

- West Pittston, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?