If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
37,865 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 4 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #17

Apr 112006

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,818 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car died on exit ramp of 290 and thorndale. Pushed car to side of road where we noticed smoke coming from under hood. Upon opening hood saw fire coming from filter under air cleaner compartment. Flagged down police officer who helped put out fire with fire extinguisher. Had car towed to advantage Chevrolet who said they had never seen anything like this and perhaps a cigerette got sucked in and started the fire. Contacted GM who sent out a rep and could not explain fire so he concluded GM was not responsible under warranty because the car must have sucked in some foreign object and it was not a mechanical failure. Car was repaired under my insurance, who is fighting the claim. Parts replaced were air cleaner compartment, ducts, clamps, sensors, snorkel, element etc. Was told old parts were in back of car, but when we looked parts were missing. Dealer still looking for parts. No one has yet to address why car died in the first place.

- Willow Springs, IL, USA

problem #16

Apr 202006

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
I own a 2004 trailbrazer that have the same problem as the GM recall on lose brake-lamp function or have brake lamps that are always on. On vehicles with cruise control, that function also becomes inoperative.. the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration contacted GM to inquire about the issue after receiving three complaints, and the company issued the recall in response, adler said.

- New Albany, IN, USA

problem #15

Apr 062006

Trailblazer

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
We have a problem with our vehicle 2004 Chevy Trailblazer, purchased new. It has a problem where it will shut down while driving. It may or may not stall, but it goes into reduced engine power with all service engine lights on. It did stall one particular time while my wife was driving it. She was on a steep hill and the vehicle stalled and rolled backward down the hill. It was vary difficult to steer and brake for her without the power steering and braking on. Luckly no one was behind her. This vehicle has been to our dealership for the 5th time now and twice to another dealership for the same problem.

- Jonesboro, AR, USA

problem #14

Mar 202006

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving at night, I noticed the dash lights dim and headlights dim at the same time. The lights then immediately flicker back to normal nighttime lights. It appears they are flickering between daytime and nighttime settings. When I took the car to the dealer, they could find nothing wrong.

- Brighton, CO, USA

problem #13

Feb 072006

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,500 miles
2004 Chevy Trailblazer electrical system has serious problems. In the rather short time I have owned it, it has been in the dealer repair 7 times for the same group of problems. The outside mirrors keep pointing to the sky randomly causing brief confusion when they are needed for safety. The pre-set memory keeps clearing itself. The headlights and dash lights often go very dim and flicker causing distraction to the other drivers and fear in the driver operating this vehicle. The driver's side heated seat stopped working. The passenger side door window controls randomly stop working. Turning off the vehicle and restarting it is the only way to correct it. All of these items have been looked at by the dealer but no solution has been found. Several computer reprogramming and parts have been replaced but the problems still remain. The dealer does not acknowledge that information posted on the internet by other owners of this vehicle is valid. That is bull~H@T !they seem reluctant to continue troubleshooting it. My greatest fear is that it ends up burning to the ground like many other owners have reported. Something has to be a common problem for all of these electrical issues with these vehicles.

- Morristown, TN, USA

problem #12

Jan 242006

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
I bought vehicle in October 2003. It is a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. In the months following I began having electrical problems. Check engine light would flash on and then went off again. The first time it happened car stalled as well. I would bring it in to the dealership and they would say that they could not duplicate the problem, and they hooked up to the computer and didn't find any problems. I also had my headlights flicker when accelerating and decelerating. I have had numerous problems with my blinkers. I have had the tail light assemblies replaced twice. I recently took it again because my left blinker would flash much faster when I touched the brake. Also, if I just touched the brake the right blinker light on my console would illuminate. Also, it looked as if I had my lights on for reversing while I was driving, which was extremely unsafe as other drivers thought I was reversing when I was going forward. I have had 4WD light come on and then turn off again later. I have had my main computer replaced twice and my flasher computer replaced once. I had to have my keys reprogrammed twice and they finally found out today I had faulty electrical wiring which was supposedly causing the trouble with the brakes and flashers. I have brought it in for this problem 3 times in the last couple weeks. I also have a problem with the gas tank overflowing everything I fill up no matter what I do and I am not trying to "top off". also, I have had several problems with my seat belts and have them replaced as well. They would lock and I would be unable to get it one to drive the car safely. I had to drive my car to the dealership with no seat belt. Overall, these problems amount to a poorly made very expensive car that leaves me feeling unsafe in my car. Please make Chevrolet listen to its consumers and pay restitution. We were all lied to by the car manufacturer, who had to have known it was producing an inferior product.

- Suffolk, VA, USA

problem #11

Dec 052005

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer lt. On December 5, 2005, my wife backed the vehicle out of our basement. She noticed smoke coming from the dashboard. Immediately, she saw flames. The vehicle burned completely, also burning the end of my home. I contacted G.M. about this problem and was told I was way down the list of problems. My concern is that this could be a serious problem that could result in death the next time this happens. I sincerely hope this is not the case. I would hope that G.M. would look into this matter before this happens again. Considering this vehicle was purchased new and had only 27,000 miles on the vehicle.

- Pinson, AL, USA

problem #10

Dec 122005

Trailblazer

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I bought this vehicle brand new and since purchase it is in and out of the show with numerous electrical and gas problems. Everytime you put gas in the vehicle it spills out from the underside. The dealership has replace parts pertaining to the fuel system and it has not solved the problem. My radio has been replaced and still does not work properly. My headlights dim up and down, the air blows low and high the interior lights flash off and on the engine runs rough and all these symptoms happen sporadically. It has been in the dealership numerous times and everytime I take it they state they cannot duplicate the problem. This vehicle I feel is a safety issue and I do not feel comfortable putting my family in it. I am currently filing a lemon law complaint with the better business bureau.

- Orange Park, FL, USA

problem #9

Oct 192005

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I want GM to be looking into a problem they have about there Trailblazers. I have had many problems with electrical and stalling. I have had 3 computer brains put in, and the electrical done once. Yet the dealership can find no problems with this vehicle!! in the electrical the gauges would freak out, and even took out the fuel sensor. Then I had a shock when you touch the gear shift, I was told to quit dragging my feet on that one. Then it went to the car stalling or not even starting at all. The dealership yet to figure the problem out. Know the warranty is expired I am having a hard time with the getting repairs, or it looked out. I no longer trust this car, and do not allow my children to ride in for long distances at all. I have had more problems since my warranty went out, and it proceeds to only get worse. And I can do nothing about it, since the problems started after the time line for the lemon law was up (bought as a previously owned vehicle.) or dealer trade back!

- Casa Grande, AZ, USA

problem #8

Sep 282005

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving headlights dim very low to the point that you can not see. Doesn't happen every time. Dashboard lights also go very low. Vehicle taken in to dealership in April. Tech says can not duplicate problem. Car taken in again this time cd player will stop playing if volume is turned all the way down for more that 2 mins. In order to make it play again you have to eject cd and reinsert. Radio was suppose to be ordered never received it. Car taken in again this time different dealership found problem with radio and it was replaced asked for them to check headlights because problem still happens. They also cannot duplicate problem. After leaving dealership cd players stops play again. Sept 28, 2005 while at bank drive through car stalls out, able to restart car. Took vehicle to dealership told them about the stalling out, headlights, and cd player. After having my car there a week and 3 days there conclusion was that the stalling out was because the was carbon build up in throttle body this was cleaned out. My car has 19,000 miles and is a year old I don;T believe this is the problem. While there a new cd player was put in, I was told that the one that was replaced before was a refurbished one and it didn't surprise them that it didn't work. The headlights we were told that we were crazy at first and then after speaking with the service manager was told that my vehicle has California emissions which means we have a 2nd air intake on it that causes the alternator to drain causing the lights to dim. GM has told us this is normal!!!!!! I am sorry I am not willing to put my family lives on the line because I happen to buy a new car in Virginia that was made in California. I leave in a rural area not the city so if I lose my headlights then that means I can't see. This doesn't mean anything to them. We do have a meeting in Nov with the northern area manager. This is not a normal operation of a car nor should it be designed to do this.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #7

Mar 132005

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

(1) driving on a straight road, very frew street lights, few bumps but not many. 2) while driving, noticed the lights dimming and becoming bright again while on low beam. It appeared as if I was flipping between low beam and lower beam (if there was one). During this time, I noticed the dash lights would become dim, but still very visible. Watching the voltage meter, that did not move at all and remained slightly above 14 volts. No other equipment (radio, etc) made any type of noise or indication that any voltage has dropped. I've had the vehicle for approx. 5 mos and this has happened very sporadically, but just recently it continued happening for approx. 10 minutes striaght until I stopped and shut the vehicle off. (3) nothing was done at this time. It was brought to the dealership and they were unable to reproduce, hence they would not do anything to fix this safety issue.

- Egg Harbor Twp, NJ, USA

problem #6

Feb 122005

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The home security (automatic garage door opener) system has been failing in my Trailblazer. A few days ago were leaving the house for dinner, I opened the garage door with the manual button just inside the garage. Approximately 1 minute later I began pulling out of the garage when I suddenly backed into my garage door. Confused about the situation I pulled the Trailblazer back in and got out to investigate. The garage door had closed approximately half way and hit the tailgate just below the wiper blade causing several deep scratches. I managed to pop the garage door back into the rails and bend the aluminum pieces back in place so that the door is now serviceable. Now late for an appointment I got back inside the truck and the door began to close again. This has now been happening quite frequently. It is my belief that there is some kind of a short or something in the electronics that cause the automatic garage door opener to send a signal when someone closes the door. I now have an estimate for over $500 in paint and repairs which I am eager to have fixed, but not if this keeps happening. I've contacted my dealer and he has told me how to deprogram my opener but I am holding off until I can have an insurance agent or someone from the dealership look at the problem.

- Lagrange, IN, USA

problem #5

Jan 012005

Trailblazer 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,510 miles
I was backing out of a driveway when my radio starting sounding funny, then smoke started filling up in the car it smelled like wires were burning. I could not see the gear, the door or window would not open and I was trapped in my seat belt. All of my passengers got out safe. I was screaming that I could not get out that's when my son came and pulled me out the truck. I got a few scratches on my leg and my knee. The truck would not start back up for awhile. It shut it self down, it started back up about 15 minutes later. I was about 3 blocks from my home, I was dropping off a neighbor. I did manage to drive home this happened on January 1, 2005 at about 2:30 am. I did start the truck up about 2:00 pm you could still smell burnt wires. I am afraid to drive it. The doors will not lock and all of the dash board warning lights are lit up, like the check engine, battery, brake light and etc. I will be getting it towed on Monday, January 3, 2005 to bill wink dealership.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #4

Nov 012004

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Occasionally, there was a burning smell inside the vehicle. The electrical system had caused the radio, fuses and navigation system to fail and shut down the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer six times, but the cause was still undetermined.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #3

Nov 302004

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 4,437 miles
While driving home from work late at night on six different nights, doing approximately 65 mph the vehical just shut down, check engine light and reduced engine speed lights came on(actualy the engine was still running with no exceleration) pulled to side of road, turned vehical off and restarted, check engine soon light remained on till next day when it shut off, GMC dealer said no way to check if intermittent problem, if light came on during the day to bring it in right away!

- Royersford, PA, USA

problem #2

Nov 292004

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,700 miles
I was at a stop sign turning right. The trail Blazer was in A4wd. I took off rather quickly and the "service 4WD" light came on. The light stayed on until I got home (a 20 min drive). Once the Trailblazer was turned off, the light did not come back on. I took the Trailblazer to the Chevy dealership. The service department stated they did not find a code.the service department stated that the light must not have been on long enough for it to register anything wrong or it's possible that it might register later. The receipt states: Transmission work - job #1 - service 4X4 lite on. Check for codes. Check over updates. Reprogram PCM with latest updates. Courtesy inspection - job#2 - 27 point courtesy inspection. Trailblazer was bought 10/31/04 and has 3,700 miles.

- Hilliard, OH, USA

problem #1

Sep 072004

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,200 miles
Major electrical problems inside the vehicle. I have owned it less than a year.the vehicle has been in the shop twice in the past two weeks. Exiting the freeway the I had a complete power failure. The vehicle completely stopped and locked up and there was a semi truck behind me! my vehicle was moving and in "drive" when this happened. I had two of my toddlers in the car with me! the vehicle was taken into a local dealer and unfortunately they could not find anything wrong with it. Apparently, when the vehicle is restarted it erases the codes in the engine as to what caused the problem. Well, it happened to me again this evening. Same problem. This will be my 5th time of bringing this vehicle in for electrical problems in less than a year. I only have 9400 miles on the vehicle and bought it brand new. I do not feel safe driving this vehicle with my 5 children as passengers. Is there a way GM can get me a better running vehicle? I paid a lot for this vehicle and am very unsatisfied with it's performace. There always seems to be something wrong with it. The connell Chevrolet service here in killeen has been very helpful. I feel sorry for them because they did not sell me this vehicle but they are the ones nice enough to try and fix the multiple problems.

- Killeen, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?