Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

CarComplaints.com Notes: It would be ill-advised to blaze any trails with the 2004 Trailblazer. Its faulty fuel gauge could leave you stranded.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
26 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
41 / 4
Average Mileage:
55,315 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #26

Apr 162016

Trailblazer

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving at approximately 55 mph, another vehicle crashed into the passenger side door of the contact's vehicle. As a result, the vehicle spun out of control and crashed into a guardrail and a tree. The contact stated that the air bags did not deploy. The driver sustained head, neck, and knee injuries. The passenger sustained shoulder, neck, knee, and ankle injuries. Both injuries required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed and towed. The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Lithia Springs, GA, USA

problem #25

Jan 192016

Trailblazer

  • miles
I was recently in a car accident due to bad weather and road conditions. Leaving work driving interstate I89 9state northbound. Came upon black ice my car fishtailed out of control ; trying to gain control back before I knew it I was heading tords a guard rail. I was only driving 50 to 55mph. Beyond the guard rail I do not remember. I suffered upperbody and head injury and my front air bag failed to deploy. Others are telling me and my husband to look into this as my airbag failed to deploy. Can you help

- Georgia, VT, USA

problem #24

Aug 012015

Trailblazer

  • 200,000 miles
On Saturday, August 1, 2015 at approximately 8:55pm my mother was involved in a 1 car accident on baum rd located in tallahassee, fl. She was the only passenger determined to be in the vehicle at the time of the accident. According to the crash report, D1 (driver one) was traveling westbound on baum rd going the normal posted speed of 55mph, when she veered towards the center of the rd and suddenly turned right veering of the right shoulder of the rd and striking several trees on the drivers side and front end. D1 was wearing her seatbelt and managed to exit out the drivers side window before coming to her final resting place on the shoulder of the rd. When I went to retrieve my mothers things from her Trailblazer, I noticed that no air bags had deployed. And as fast as my mom was going and the type of impact & damage her SUV sustained, I would think and hope the airbags would deploy in this type of accident, thus preventing serious injury or death. My mom was not so lucky, and myself and my family have endured great pain from loosing her so suddenly.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #23

Jul 012015

Trailblazer

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger tire left the roadway and the vehicle flipped and rolled. None of the airbags deployed and the vehicle is totaled.

- Vevay, IN, USA

problem #22

Aug 182014

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
I was on a 4 lane highway traveling eastbound going 50 mph posted speed 55 mph wearing our seat belts, when another vehicle waiting to U - turn in the center median decided to turn right into me-oncoming traffic. This person collided with me, which that impact sent me into a head on collision with the guard rail. The Chevrolet Trailblazer is completely totaled. There were 2 incidents in that sequence of events that the airbags should have deployed, but did not! this accident caused several injuries to myself and my passenger. We definitely could have been killed and no airbags to help save our lives.....updated 09-03-14 updated 11/7/2014

- Murphy, NC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #21

Jun 162008

Trailblazer

  • miles
On the afternoon of 6/16/08, me in my family was traveling North on I95 in North Carolina going toward our destination in baltimore md., when another vehicle click us and cause my sister to lose control of the vehicle crashing into the guardrail. My two aunts and myself were ejected from the vehicle, both my aunts die instantly. My mother, sisters and myself survived but had several injuries. The airbags did not deploy, and the doors that were initially locked; but somehow the rear doors (middle) open during impact causing my aunts in myself to be thrown from the vehicle. Be advised the vehicle was a green Trailblazer (extended cab).

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #20

Nov 282013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was come down a secondary road there is a stop sign so I came to a stop look both ways to make sure I could make it cross the highway safetied I made it cross two lanes got in the turn lane so I could get in the other lane but before I could do that a car hit me on the drive side total my Trailblazer out my airbags didn't come out at all the hood of my SUV came off door wouldn't open up they used the jaws of life to try to open the door but it didn't work so they got me out on the passage side. I had a head injure got staples in my head. It was a lot of damage done to my SUV I'm blessed to be alive. The person in the SUV he got hurt nothing to bad he didn't have to go to the hosp his up back some injure to it.

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #19

Oct 292013

Trailblazer

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the driver became distracted and crashed into a tree. The air bags failed to deploy and the seat belt failed to restrain, causing the driver to be thrown forward. The driver's head impacted the windshield and as a result, he sustained bleeding from the brain. A police report was filed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was destroyed. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was unknown. The VIN was not available.

- Lancaster, SC, USA

problem #18

Sep 062013

Trailblazer

  • 116,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated while making a U-turn, the air bags failed to deploy when the front bumper of another vehicle crashed into the drivers side and rear of the contacts vehicle. The contact sustained back and nose injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 116,000.

- Roy, UT, USA

problem #17

Jul 012013

Trailblazer

  • 129,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that while driving 30-40 mph in rainy weather, she lost control of the vehicle. The vehicle flipped over several times before landing on the passenger's side. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained injuries to the face and the right leg. A police report was filed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not inspected to determine the cause of the air bag failure. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 129,000. Updated 8/5/13

- Pamplico , SC, USA

problem #16

Aug 132011

Trailblazer

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I hit a deer at approximately 65 mph and the air bag did not deploy. My son that was riding in the passenger seat also was wearing his seat belt but the seat belt did not catch and he was slammed into the dash. I refuse to believe that this is normal behavior for those safety devices.

- Dierks, AR, USA

problem #15

Sep 192010

Trailblazer

  • 107,000 miles
The contact owned a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the airbags did not deploy when his wife crashed into a deer at approximately 35 mph. The driver was also involved in another crash when traveling approximately 55 mph. She looked down to check on a noise she heard and when she looked up the the vehicle lost control and crashed head on into a tree. The driver and three other occupants were inured. The Georgia highway patrol responded and filed a report. The paramedics also responded and transported the four occupants to the hospital. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to a storage lot. The failure mileage was approximately 107,000.

- Monroe , GA, USA

problem #14

Jan 022010

Trailblazer

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that he was involved in a crash where the air bags did not deploy upon impact. A police report was filed yet no injuries were reported. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic for repairs. The contact also stated that he has only entered the vehicle three times since the crash and each time, he experienced a stinging sensation in his eyes that he stated was similar to tear gas. The failure and current mileages were 50,000.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #13

Apr 212010

Trailblazer

  • 80,700 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving 35 mph, the contact attempted to maneuver the steering wheel to avoid crashing into a deer and lost control of the vehicle. The vehicle crashed into a tree. The air bags did not deploy upon impact. The contacts face hit the steering wheel upon impact and sustained a broken nose. The contact was taken to the hospital. The vehicle was destroyed and was towed by her insurance company to an unknown location. A police report was available, if needed. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 80,700.

- Brookville, PA, USA

problem #12

Nov 252009

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet trail Blazer. While driving approximately 25 mph and engaging the brake pedal, the vehicle accelerated, spun out of control and rolled over down a hill. The consumer suffered minor injuries. The vehicle was destroyed. A police has a report is available if needed. The Chevrolet manufacturer stated that there were no related incidents. The failure mileage was 56,000. Updated 01/08/10 the consumer also stated the air bags did not deploy and it felt as though the gas pedal was stuck. Updated 01/12/10.

- Jemison, AL, USA

problem #11

Mar 072007

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
I was rear ended by a guy doing 40 mph. My truck was lifted in the air and pushed into the rear end of another vehicle. My airbags never deployed and my seat broke!! possible defect in the seat? I was stopped at a red light when the accident happened. The spare tire holder was ripped off my truck.

- Pittston, PA, USA

problem #10

Nov 062006

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
I was side swiped by another car that went through a red light. My truck then proceeded to hit another car and finally the front end of the truck got airborne and landed with the tires in the front windshield of another car. The truck sustained over $6,000 in damage as well as the front frame where the motor sits was damaged. Insurance company said it could be replaced. Not sure how because it was welded in place. And my airbags never deployed.

- Pittston, PA, USA

problem #9

Feb 222008

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving approximately 35 mph, the contact rear ended a school bus. The vehicle was completely destroyed and none of the air bags deployed. Two passengers were injured and a police report was filed. Prior to the failure, she never experienced any air bag failure. The dealer and manufacturer have not been notified. The contact has pictures. The VIN and engine size were unknown. The current and failure mileages were 44,000.

- Cordova, TN, USA

problem #8

Jan 132007

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles
- the contact stated that on 1/13/07 he crashed into another vehicle with his 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The odometer read 33,000 miles at the time of the crash. He was driving at 45 mph and collided with the second vehicle in a perpendicular angle "T-bone" striking it on the side as it crossed in front of him. The driver was the only occupant in the vehicle and the driver's side airbag never deployed. There were 5 people injured in the second vehicle.

- Gettysburg, PA, USA

problem #7

Dec 012006

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet trail Blazer. During a snow storm the contact's vehicle was involved in a head on collision. The contact was driving on the highway at 55 mph, and the air bags did not deploy. There were no warning indicator lights. The manufacturer sent an investigator to access the damage, and stated that there was $10,000 worth of damage, and that the vehicle was only traveling 8 mph.

- Cary , IL, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?