Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: It would be ill-advised to blaze any trails with the 2004 Trailblazer. Its faulty fuel gauge could leave you stranded.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
72,949 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments

problem #10

Jun 152015

Trailblazer

  • 122,494 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving I-85 North bound on the morning on 6/15/2015 headed to work when the rear passenger tire blew out causing my 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer to cross over into another lane then back into the lane I was in, spin uncontrollable, all of a sudden the steering wheel started spinning and then the vehicle just shut down, steering wheel locks, the car comes to a stop and slams into a guard rail where I am facing South bound traffic, none of my air bags deploy, I have a neck and back injury that to this day I am still being treated for and my passenger who was a coworker riding to work with me that morning also had a back injury. My vehicle was deemed a total loss by insurance company could not be repaired, lost time from work, still have medical bills, occurring, although I have full coverage insurance but because it was a one vehicle accident there is nothing that can be done about loss wages. Just had these tires put on my truck about 6 months ago, heard about people passing these bad tires on as new tires, don't know if this is the case or not. Don't know why air bags did not deploy, don't know why steering wheel spin then locked up, thank god it was not worse! state trooper said it could have been worse from the way I landed.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #9

Dec 212014

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 134,000 miles
Well I bought this SUV used from americas carmart in gadsden Alabama.they have a 100 plus lots and advertise good used qualtiy cars..when I bought the SUV I wanted to take it to the Chevy dealer but was told their on site certified mechanic checked it all out and with the service agreement thought I was ok....had it two days and the transmission went out..the suspension was also an issue then 12/21/2014..going past 50 it shook like crazy....and then the transmission was slipping againi purchased a service agreement for $595..it covers what my problems are...but the contract says they can use non manufacter parts which is fine...when I brought it to them with the transmission..they put a junkyard salvage transmission with 100.000 miles on it...when I called them in December about the shaking and suspension and the transmission...they said bring it in...I asked them where they were going to take it..they refused to tell me...and I told them I didn't want a junkyard suspension or transmission as per contract was not suppose to happen..I also asked for a certified mechanic to do the work...they said they would see what they could do.I do a lot of driving in Tennessee..alot of mountain driving and I was not going to have the front end {ball joints, etc go out there..not real safe..they came and got the car...I thought they were going to fix it as agreed...that was on the 8th of Jan..now they say they are going to sue me for the remaining balance....I just want to call attention to this SUV as it is not safe..and its my opinion they do this a lot to other people...I wanted to draw this to your attention as I would feel bad if I heard of someone getting seriously hurt..due to their inability to sell quality used cars as they advertise...and believe their practices on repairing these cars with a service agreement gets checked into..I filed a complait w/the ftc and agoffice.

- Gadsden, AL, USA

problem #8

Apr 012012

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
Three times since purchasing this vehicle in January 2012, I have had to replace the right front wheel hub assembly due to bearing failure. Recently the transmission, which has not exhibited a leak, was very low on fluid, (3 quarts) and the fluid was burned. The transmission now slips and is changing erratically. The vehicle was regularly serviced at buff whelan Chevrolet in sterling heights, mi.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #7

Mar 162009

Trailblazer

  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Instrument cluster failure on 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. Oil pressure and amps gauge malfunction. Mechanic quoted price $650 to replace cluster. Emissions failure paid dealer approximately $375 to replace emissions pump. Air conditioning mode motor actuator out; blower doesn't operate on high setting. Dealer quoted price $750 to fix air conditioner. Sporadic electrical issues-service engine soon light on-first time code read faulty thermostat cooling sensor, next it read faulty air mass sensor, another time it read faulty emissions sensor. Mechanic quoted price $40 per hour plus parts to isolate problem. A person could go broke before fixing possible problems, considering no accident occurred due to all these possibilities. Front suspension problems, hard to isolate. Paid mechanic $135 to replace right side inner tie rod end. Did not fix problem. Problem occurs when returning steering wheel from a right turn, front right side makes a single "pop" sound. Had to replace "burnt" headlight pigtails on front, and park light pigtail on right rear. Property damage is considered damage to vehicle due to the complaints listed.

- Linn Valley, KS, USA

problem #6

May 202007

Trailblazer

  • 120,000 miles
Sway bar links (also called stabilizer links) replaced several times on my 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer: I had all 4 replaced in May 2007 by a local repair business, then 10 months later the rear 2 were replaced by autodealership in March 2008, then yet again 8 months later I had the right rear one replaced by same autodealership (in all cases parts were only good for 12,000 miles and I had traveled over the limit). I asked the auto dealership if they themselves have seen a trend in replacing these parts they gave me a GM# to call - which I didn't. I figured I would start here first. (I knew there was some kind of problem in all three cases when I heard loud rattling noises coming from rear of the SUV - I additionally had all 3 repair places show me the old sway bar links to observe damage.) I do have high mileage on my Trailblazer but replacing sway bar links 3 times on same vehicle seems excessive.

- Martins Ferry, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #5

Apr 072007

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that when she steered the vehicle she heard a grinding noise and sometimes felt vibration. The failure occurred when turning or just switching lanes. Speed was not a factor. The noises began the first week of April 2007, and became more distinct, consistent, and loud. Also, the contact also stated that therewas now a periodic rattling and clunking sound coming from under the hood of the vehicle. The current mileage is 62,400, and failure mileage was 62,000. The contact had the name of the dealer where the vehicle was purchased, but could not provide the address or telephone number.

- Kingsville, TX, USA

problem #4

Dec 152006

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Snapping and popping from front and rear suspension. Took to dealer and they replaced the stabalizer links. This seemd to take care of the problem for a while. Now the noise is back and at times is quite loud. Vehicle has 21,000 miles.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #3

Sep 052006

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles
I have had my trail Blazer for 1 yr and 1 month. In that time I have had to replace front and back pads and rotors, ball joints, catalytic (sp) converter, and now they just told me I have to replace the head gasket on the manifold. What the hell is going on with this vehicle. I no longer feel safe driving it. The other day the radio just stopped playing and then the service 4 wheel drive light came on.

- Oostburg, WI, USA

problem #2

May 042004

Trailblazer

  • miles
When driving the vehicle over bumps, the consumer heard a knocking noise. The consumer took the vehicle to the dealership for an inspection, the mechanic replaced, the struts, however, the problem still continued.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #1

Oct 212003

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
The consumer felt the vehicle handling was very poor. The front suspension was unsteady when being passed by another vehicle of any size. The dealer examined the vehicle five times and was not able to find the problem. Windy conditions added to the vehicle's poor handling. The dealer claimed that this condition was normal for SUV's. the manufacturer was contacted and agreed with the dealer therefore they took no further action.

- Palm Coast, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?