Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.

2.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,898 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 5 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #91

Feb 012008

Trailblazer

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Speedometer quit working at about 70,000 miles, headlight burned out and fried the wires, air conditioning has not worked for 4 years, cd player does not work, winding noise (fixed once when vehicle was 1 year old) when driving.

- Centennial, CO, USA

problem #90

Jun 042010

Trailblazer

  • miles
2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. Instrument cluster has intermittent failure of speedometer and tachometer. Has been happening for several years, GM wants $600 to replace cluster. Instrument cluster has been recalled on every other GM vehicle that uses this cluster.

- Cape Girardeau, MO, USA

problem #89

Mar 182010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The instrument cluster on a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer has ceased to work correctly. The speedometer no longer works at all and the oil pressure gage has failed as well. There was no obvious cause for the failure and the problem is continuous, not intermittent. The dealer has said that correction is by replacement of the whole instrument cluster unit.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #88

Apr 102009

Trailblazer

  • 73,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Control cluster failure for a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer, speedometer works about 15% of the time.

- Hill Afb, UT, USA

problem #87

Jul 032009

Trailblazer

  • 60,000 miles
I own a 2005 Chevy Trailblazer with 76,000 miles on it. The gas gauge and speedometer started messing up about a year ago. It stopped working and started back on its own. Well now a year later the gas gauge does not work and the speedometer works when it wants. After further study into the problem my mechanic says its the instrument cluster. So I go online to try and find one and instead I find that its an ongoing problem with thousands of Trailblazer owners. I call GM to see what can be done and was told since out of warranty to bad. I think that with as many complaints that I have read and know about this is a matter that GM should resolve. They recalled the same cluster that was put in the higher priced vehicles but will do nothing to help us out. Please check into this since this is my wife and kids car. I don't feel safe with them riding around without knowing how fast they are going or how much gas they have. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Gainesville, FL, USA

problem #86

Dec 152009

Trailblazer

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer ls. While driving approximately 60 mph, the contact stated that the speedometer registered a speed of 120 mph; although she was driving 60 mph. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer (as advised by the manufacturer) where the contact was informed that the instrument cluster was defective. The manufacturer refused to assist with the repair expenses. The vehicle had not been repaired when the complaint was filed. The failure mileage was approximately 77,000. The current mileage was 79,369.

- Smyrna, GA, USA

problem #85

Apr 082010

Trailblazer

  • 65,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving my 2005 Chevy Trailblazer last evening 4/08/2010 in town and my speedometer starting speeding up without me accelerating. At rest the speedometer shows 45 mph. The speedometer has gone up to 90mph when I'm traveling at about 40 mph. The speedometer seems to increase even if I am at a steady traveling speed.

- Minot, ND, USA

problem #84

Jan 302009

Trailblazer

  • 90,000 miles
Speedometer no longer registers correct speed. Gauge reads 110 mph while vehicle is sitting motionless in drive way. While driving speedometer swings wildly. While traveling using gps unit to give speed vehicle speedometer was consistently off by more than 50 mph.

- Brownstown, PA, USA

problem #83

Jan 012009

Trailblazer

  • 75,000 miles
The instrument cluster panel in my 2005 Chevy Trailblazer is severely out of whack! it started about a year ago when my speedometer told me I was going 90 mph when I was actually going about 50 mph. It eventually corrected itself, but now it goes out every so often without warning. Since the time when the speedometer 1st went out, my oil gauge is completely pegged out and will not correct itself, the battery gauge comes and goes, as well as the temperature gauge. I have been reading forums about this problem with Trailblazers all over the U.S. and it seems that there should be a recall to have the cluster panel corrected because it is an obvious problem with the GM Trailblazers. If you ask me, I believe it can be a serious safety hazard when you are uncertain as to how fast you may or may not be driving. I have read where a lot of people have had their gas gauge go completely out as well. Mine tried to quick working for me only one time, but corrected itself within 24 hours. Let's hope it doesn't go out like the oil gauge has and the fluctuating speedometer.

- Harrah, OK, USA

problem #82

Apr 052010

Trailblazer

  • 58,000 miles
Going down the interstate in my 2005 Chevy Trailblazer and the speedometer said I was traveling 95 mph and people were passing me like I was sitting still. Took it to the dealer and there was a recall on the speedometer/ cluster on every vehicle with the same speedometer except the Trailblazer. Now I'm finding many others with the same problem. GM says they will try to get a reduced fee to get it fixed - not good enough, they should fix it for nothing as it is a safety concern.

- Mcconnelsville, OH, USA

problem #81

Feb 102010

Trailblazer

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2005 Chevy Trailblazer ls (68,000 mi) speedometer goes out of control. Told instrument cluster needed replacing. Less than a year ago fuel gauge was messed up and had to replace tank sensor.

- New Braunfels, TX, USA

problem #80

Feb 212010

Trailblazer

  • 34,750 miles
Speedometer suddenly quit. And will not read over 25 mph. Luckily cruise was set so I know my speed. Odometer still counts correctly. Estimates for replacement of instrument cluster are %500 and up. This is a known safety issue with over 1000 complaints.

- Springfield, MN, USA

problem #79

Feb 192010

Trailblazer

  • 80,000 miles
Speedometer stops working, very erratic behavior. Will work for few minutes at a time.

- Napoleon, OH, USA

problem #78

Feb 152005

Trailblazer 8-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
Speedomter failure.

- Lafayette, GA, USA

problem #77

Jan 032010

Trailblazer

  • miles
Speedometer does not work on 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer and 2005 Silverado.

- Pearson, GA, USA

problem #76

Feb 142010

Trailblazer

  • 107 miles
I just bought a 2005 Chevy Trailblazer ls. Speedometer is going haywire. Needle points straight down and slowly ticks backwards. When im stopped it normally shows im going 60 mph and when driving it goes into the 100's and then way passed the 120 mph mark. Also my oil pressure gauge needle is way passed full and is almost facing straight down. Apparently there's been a ton of people with this exact problem and it should be a recall but apparently GM won't do anything about it.

- Palm Bay, FL, USA

problem #75

Dec 012009

Trailblazer

  • 40,000 miles
I have a 2005 Chevy Trailblazer with 50,000 miles. Starting a couple months ago the speedometer regularly malfunctions and gives me the wrong speed. GM refuses to correct the problem and tells me I have to spend $125 to diagnose the problem and possibly over $500 to ultimately fix the problem the problem has happened to many 2005 Chevy Trailblazer owners and nothing has been done.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #74

Feb 042010

Trailblazer

  • 124,634 miles
The speedometer on my 2005 Chevy Trailblazer malfunctioned saying I was going faster than I really was. This has happened 3 times; the first time on January 28th 2010, and twice on the night of February 4th 2010. It appears to be getting worse each time. The speedometer will increase during acceleration and not move for deceleration. With each deceleration and subsequent acceleration the speedometer continues to increase until you hit max speed of 120 mph. This is a large danger for frequent freeway/highway traveling considering the vehicles approaching from the rear and I have no way of knowing how fast my vehicle is really going. The only way that I have found to reset the speedometer, is to stop and shut off the vehicle, then restart the vehicle. However, this must be done multiple times, sometimes up to 10 times or more. Each time the vehicle is shut off and restarted, the speedometer will reset approximately 5 mph. This evening I had to restart my truck 12 times to get it back to zero. The first time this happened, a friend was driving for me, and this malfunction has resulted in a speeding ticket.

- Flagstaff, AZ, USA

problem #73

Jan 272010

Trailblazer

  • 76,000 miles
I own a 2005 Chevy Trailblazer. On highway 61 near troy, mo, there is a speed radar set along the road to display vehicle speed to drivers. On 2 occasions, my speedometer showed speeds of 60 mph when the radar display showed 40 to 45 mph and on 3 occasions, my speedometer indicated speeds of 60 (the speed limit), while the radar displayed speeds anywhere from 75 to 85 mph. I was going 15 to 25 mph faster than the speed limit, but did not know it according to my speedometer. This does not happen all the time, but has occurred at least 6 or 7 times over the past year at different locations. I have found that when I stop the Trailblazer, when the speedometer is registering low, the speedometer needle will actually move below the 0 mph. On those occasions when my speedometer was registering high, when I have stopped the vehicle, the needle will still be showing 25 to 40 mph! my fear is that on one of those occasions that my speed is actually faster than indicated, my speed my cause an accident. I have found that after stopping the car and turning it off, if I just turn the ignition key to run without starting it several times, the needle will gradually reset itself back to 0 and I won't have any more problems for a while. I have had an estimate to replace the instrument cluster for $500 to $600, but I feel this is a recall problem that Chevrolet needs to take care of. I have read numerous complaints from other Trailblazer owners on the internet, this is what moved me to file this complaint.

- Troy, MO, USA

problem #72

Jan 112010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 52,400 miles
The speedometer malfunction began on January 11, 2010. First the speedometer appeared to be stuck at zero. Now it has gone up and past the highest mph reading on the 2005 Trailblazer. There has been a recall on the other Chevy trucks with the same speedometer but has not included the Trailblazer. How can one safely drive when you don't have an accurate reading on how fast the vehicle is traveling?

- Waukesha, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?