Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,898 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 6 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #71

Jan 012010


  • 57,413 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer ls. He stated that the instrument panel displayed the incorrect fuel level, mileage, and speed traveled. The dealer stated that the instrument cluster needed to be replaced. There were no recalls on his vehicle. The dealer stated that the repairs would be at the owner's expense and that the panel could possibly fail again. No repairs were made to date. The failure and current mileages were 57,413.

- Boise, ID, USA

problem #70

Jan 232010


  • 73,000 miles
Speedometer stopped working.

- Janesville, WI, USA

problem #69

Jul 202009


  • 79,000 miles
The contact owns 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. Six months ago while driving 65 mph, the speed odometer failed. The manufacturer stated that they have not received complaints for the failure; therefore, there were no recalls and he should take the vehicle to the dealer to be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 79,000 and the current mileage was 87,000. Updated 2/17/10 updated 02/22/10.

- Philadelphia , PA, USA

problem #68

Jan 152010


  • 66,000 miles


The speedometer on my 2005 Chevy Trailblazer is out of wack. It registers at least 3 to 4 times faster than I am going. I have no way of knowing how fast I'm going.

- Otisville, MI, USA

problem #67

Dec 152009


  • miles
Speedometer stopped working while driving on the freeway. The only reason I found out was chp stopped me for going 45 mph. Once I began to slowdown the speedometer jumped to over 100mph! I explained the situation and he followed me to the next exit where I let the car rest. He knew I need to let the car rest because he had pulled over another Trailblazer with the same problem!!

- Turlock, CA, USA

problem #66

Jan 112010


  • 111,248 miles
1. while driving the speedometer stuck at 65 mph 2. the speedometer shows 65 mph when the car is stopped and when driven, it goes to a higher mph as I drive. 3. nothing has been done yet as I am waiting for a repair estimate.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #65

Jan 062010


  • 41,550 miles


I own a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer, have own it since I bought it in 2005 and have no problems up until recently. Today I was driving down the highway when my speedometer quit working. I would not show the correct speed in which I was traveling on the highway for the posted speed limit, realizing that everyone else on the road seem like they were parked on the highway, as I am flying by them is when I realized that my speedometer/instrument panel. This problem happened on my travel to a location and back on a couple of occasions. I managed to figure out that the longer I had the vehicle running the problem would occur. If I shut the vehicle off and let it cool down it would be fine for about 15-20 mins than act up again. This is something that is unsafe and can potentially cause harm in the near future if it is not addressed with other owners. Luckily I did not cause any accidents or pulled over.

- Whiteman Afb, MO, USA

problem #64

Nov 202009


  • 99,000 miles
The speedometer starting going higher while I was slowing down. It went to 120 mph while stopped. While I was driving on the highway at about 65 or 70 mph the speedometer dipped to 35 mph. Then it just stopped working after several times. This vehicle is a 2005 Chevy Trailblazer lt.

- North Webster , IN, USA

problem #63

Jan 052010


  • 70,000 miles
I have an 05 Chevy Trailblazer and my speedometer does not work. I will sit at 45/mph or something else when I turn it off/on.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #62

May 052006


  • miles
I bought my 05 Trailblazer in 07. About a year into it I started noticing that the gas hand would stop working. Then the speedometer. On many occasions the speedometer does what ever it feels like. God forbid im on a long road trip.

- Hinesville, GA, USA

problem #61

Jan 042010


  • 60,000 miles


We bought a 2005 Trailblazer about a year and a half ago. Out of the blue about two weeks ago, the speedometer goes haywire. It says that I am going 60 mph. When I was actually going about 15 because I was in a residential area and it was snowing. A few days later it started working again, and then today it just completely stopped working. It wont move at all. Its completely broken.

- Arlington Heights, IL, USA

problem #60

Nov 202009


  • 45,076 miles
The speedometer in my 2005 Chevy Trailblazer has broken and I only have 45,000 miles on my vehicle. I heard about a recall or getting assistance from GM to replace but learned it is only for Tahoe's, Suburban's and trucks. I don't feel that is fair they won't help me and that a speedometer should not wear out that quickly. Replacement cost can be $600 - $800.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #59

Dec 152009


  • 65,000 miles
Fuel gauge and speedometer are not reading correctly on my 2005 Chevy Trailblazer.

- Gulf Breeze, FL, USA

problem #58

Dec 062009


  • 72,660 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. After the contact started the vehicle, she noticed that the dashboard was not illuminated. The dealer informed the contact that the instrument cluster needed to be replaced. The contact also noticed that the oil level indicator stopped working prior to the failure. The current and failure mileages were 72660.

- Goodland, KS, USA

problem #57

Dec 192009


  • 56,000 miles
The speedometer on my 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer stopped functioning. It is now stuck below the zero mark, in between 0 and 120. The car has about 56,000 miles on it. This seems to be a serious problem with this make. It is completely unsafe, and I am not sure what to do.

- Annandale, VA, USA

problem #56

Dec 162009

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 55,736 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The speedometer will not display the accurate speed of the vehicle. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealership. The current and failure mileages were 55736. Updated 01/20/10 the consumer stated the problem initially happened when the cruise control set. The speedometer climbed to 110 mph, not the vehicle just the speedometer. The speedometer was erratic. Often, when the vehicle is in park, the speedometer will register 90 mph. The dealer informed the consumer a cluster was needed. Updated 01/22/10.

- Dyersburg, TN, USA

problem #55

Dec 192008


  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The speedometer intermittently malfunctions. On one instance, he was driving approximately 55 mph but the speedometer displayed 90 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealership for a diagnostic testing. The technician stated that the instrument cluster needed to be replaced. The fuel gauge was replaced two years ago. He noticed that the engine warning would illuminate on the instrument control panel. He called the manufacturer and was awaiting a response. The vehicle had not been repaired to-date. The current mileage was approximately 61,000. The failure mileage was approximately 51,000.

- Pana, IL, USA

problem #54

Dec 102009


  • 65,240 miles
Speedometer is broken. Just stopped working while driving.

- Navarre, FL, USA

problem #53

Nov 152009


  • 58,600 miles
Speedometer malfunction on a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer, erratic readings or no movement at all. Replace speedsensor did not correct the problem. I believed this is a manufacturing defect.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #52

Oct 302009


  • miles
Speedometer gauge is stuck and not moving. Dealer will not fix it even though it is a hazard. I have a 2005 Trailblazer.

- Canton, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?