Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,898 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 7 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #51

Nov 052009


  • 88,980 miles


Check engine light has been on for a year. Nov. 5, 2009, speedometer malfunctioned. When all the past the 110 speed. When sitting still it reads 110. Sometimes it will move up to 80 when sitting still but always goes past 110 when driving.

- Adamsville, AL, USA

problem #50

May 012008


  • 70,000 miles
Speedometer gauge does not work properly. When you drive it never displays the correct speed you are going and can read many different speeds as you drive. It can also remain at 0. this is happening on many Chevrolet models and can cause you to get multiple tickets for not going the correct speed limit. This should not be left to the consumer to repair for $700 as this a GM/Chevrolet problem. Look on several websites and put in a Chevy model and you will see that this is an ongoing problem and should be recalled.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #49

Nov 222006

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The fuel gauge on the instrument control panel inaccurately displays the vehicles fuel level. The vehicle was taken to the dealership and the fuel tank level system was repaired. The repair did not remedy the failure. The current mileage was 80000. The failure mileage was 33000. Updated 12/7/09 the consumer stated after the tank was filled with the gas, there was still a ringing sound as if there was no gas in the vehicle. The fuel gauge would drop even when the tank was full. The water pump and fan clutch was replaced. Updated 12/08/09

- Old Hickory, TN, USA

problem #48

Oct 202009


  • miles


Speedometer failed.

- Thunder Bay On Canada P7b1w6, 00, USA

problem #47

Jun 242009


  • 95,456 miles
My speedometer has completely stopped working in my '05' Trailblazer it has 96,000 miles on it and the gas hand is starting to go out also.

- Atlanta , GA, USA

problem #46

Aug 232009


  • 81,233 miles
Trailblazer 2005 speedometer sometimes works perfectly, then it will suddenly just sit below zero and stay there until it decides to move again. Occasionally, will hover around 10-20 mph, no matter what speed being driven. Seems like a consistent complaint. Local Chevy dealer quoted around $650 to repair.

- Tyler, TX, USA

problem #45

Jul 052009


  • 70,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. Since July 5, 2009, the fuel gauge dial fails to display the correct amount of gasoline in the tank. The contact feels that this is a safety issue because fuel began to leak out. In addition, the tank could be empty, but the fuel gauge would display a full tank. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Bellingham, MA, USA

problem #44

Jun 242009


  • 6,100 miles
2005 Chevy trail Blazer. Speedometer failed at 5900 miles.. 06-24-09 I looked up safty recals there are alot of the same poblems on this vehicle.

- Ridgecrest, CA, USA

problem #43

Apr 012009


  • miles
My speedometer is acting bizarre, it just goes round and round, started abut 2 months ago. I understand that the 2003 & 2004 were recalled for the Chevy Trailblazer. Now within the last week, my gas gage has gone crazy not showing accurately, first on empty light on low fuel, then while I'm driving light will go off and it registers to show full take when actually I may have 1/2 tank. I took to repair shop each item is over $300 for repair. He suggested to look into see if the censor was recalled for the gas, and that 03 & 04 was recalled for the speedometer and if 05's were being recalled.

- Canton, IL, USA

problem #42

Feb 262009


  • 92,000 miles
The RPM gauge is not working properly. Once in a while the speedometer is also off.

- Racine, WI, USA

problem #41

May 082009


  • 69,000 miles


The speedometer on my 2005 Chevy Trailblazer is going haywire. Once the vehicle is at a complete stop, in park, the speedometer read any where from 35 - 45 mph. After several hours in park the needle will eventually make it back to "0". while driving the speedometer is anywhere from 10 miles slow/fast of the true speed I am going.

- Fort Worth , TX, USA

problem #40

Feb 112009


  • 95,000 miles
The speedometer started sticking periodically at first. Then would read at least 40 miles per hour over, then now it is just stuck. There is nothing I can do to correct the issue short of replacing the dash.

- Rimrock , AZ, USA

problem #39

Mar 152009


  • 39,500 miles
My 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer ls speedometer has stop working. When we were driving it suddenly went to 120 mph and were actually driving 40 mph. It is not safe to be driving like that! an accident can occur or possibly death! to this date it I still stuck at 120 mph! I bought it new in 2005 and it only has 40,000 miles!

- Pico Rivera, CA, USA

problem #38

Nov 302008


  • 68,000 miles
I own a 2005 Chevy Trailblazer and the speedometer is 10 to 50 mph faster than I am actually traveling and some times is slower than actual speed traveling. It has been happening since thanksgiving 2008 on long trips. In the beginning it would correct itself and work properly till it was on a trip at interstate speeds then go crazy. Now the cruise control does not work from time to time and speedometer never goes back to zero it stops around 40 to 60 mph sitting still.

- Frisco City, AL, USA

problem #37

Mar 232009


  • 69,400 miles
I have a 2005 Chevy Trailblazer VIN#, I am having problem with the speedometer sticking, not working, showing 120 mph when I am completely stopped. I contacted my GM dealer & was told that GM was not covering the 2005 trail Blazer, but was covering 2003, 2004 GM Tahoe, Silverado & other trucks with the same problem & the same instrument cluster panel. I contacted GM customer service for a resolution on 3-11-09 I talked with joe sanders. On 3-12 a district specialist's contacted me & assigned a service request number 71-708713901. On 3-23-09 I talked with jenvive & she indicated my case had been reviewed & denied repair because GM was not covering this issue in this model. She said to pay for the repair & hold onto receipts that GM my cover the costs in the future. I asked for her supervisor & talked with erin mata & she denied my request for GM to repair the vehicle because they were covering the same part problem in earlier models, but not in the 2005 trail Blazer. My complaint is that GM should cover the issue in later models, when the problem is with the same instrument cluster panels. Any help you can provide would be appreciated.

- Nevada, MO, USA

problem #36

Feb 092009


  • 48,000 miles
Bought 2005 Chevy Trailblazer in March 2008. About a month ago the speedometer acting up. I would be going down the road and the speedometer would just starting declining. Once I stopped an put into to park it would reset itself. This happened 3-4 times and then today as I was driving my kids to school I was going maybe 30mph, just pulled out of drive way and it said I was going 110 mph. There is no recall on this problem for this vehicle and to fix the problem you are looking at $400-$600. This is ridiculous.

- Sperryville, VA, USA

problem #35

Sep 022008


  • 67,000 miles
The speedometer went out on my Trailblazer. It started where it was 10 miles an hour faster than my actual speed. I turned the car off and left it for a few hours. When I turned it back on and drove it had fixed its self. A couple of weeks past and it started to go up and down. No consistency of speeds. Now it wont work at all. It will even make complete turns and stop where there is no numbers. Speedometer no longer works at all.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #34

Jan 062009


  • 63,000 miles
Broken speedometer on 2005 Chevy Trailblazer.

- Jamaica, NY, USA

problem #33

Nov 272008


  • miles
I have a 2005 Chevy Trailblazer that the speedometer gauge has started sticking and will not return to zero. After searching on the internet I found out this is a very well known problem. The stepper motors are going bad. From what I understand the dealers know this is a factory flaw that they will not fix them under a recall. I would like to formally file a complaint to have this added for a recall.

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #32

Oct 012008


  • 40,000 miles
Speedometer is not working properly. Sometimes works, sometimes not. Cannot accurately gauge what speed you're travelling.

- Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?