Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,453 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments

problem #7

Apr 212013


  • miles


Today driving down a highway at 70 mph in my 2005 Chevy Trailblazer lt. We heard a loud clacking noise. As I turn around I see the large plastic piece of the tailgate fly off and the 3rd taillight just dangling. In my search tonight I have come to the conclusion I am not the only Trailblazer owner who has had this problem.

- Fruitland, ID, USA

problem #6

Sep 162010


  • 77,103 miles
I bought my 2005 Trailblazer in August 2008. In October 2008, the rear window hinge adhesive was separating causing the hatch to not close properly. This was replaced by the dealership. Now in September 2010 the same thing is happening. The rear window adhesive has completely disconnected from the hinge and the window does not close properly and has a possibility of completely falling off. When the entire rear door is opened now the hinge 'pops' up and hits the glass. The dealership is trying to find an appropriate adhesive to mend this problem and they say Chevy will not pay for another glass replacement. The first replacement came from the factory with the hinge connected to the glass. This seems like a factory defect. I know there are other Chevy vehicles of different years that have experienced this problem and worse when the doors did fall off or the glass scattered due to the poor adhesive on the hinge. This will cost over $800 to replace if this cannot be resolved and there is no guarantee the adhesive on the new glass will hold and I will have no recourse.

- Indian Harbour Beach, FL, USA

problem #5

Aug 152009


  • 77,000 miles
Thank you for your attention to my concern. I own a 2005 Trailblazer. Since day 1 I have had problems with the seals on the doors - esp back doors. For the most part this has been an inconvenience until the other day. Throughout the ownership of my vehicle, at about every 10 - 15,000 miles I was having my vehicle serviced for the door seals. Without fail, they continue to come off. The other day I was driving my truck and was wondering what that rubbing noise was. The door seal from my driver's rear door was hanging down into my wheel axle. The seal got worn down to the metal cord that is on the inside. This is a potential huge danger should this have fallen down any further and got twisted into my wheel axle. One thing it did do for sure is it destroyed my newer tire! the dealership said that the door seals on Trailblazers are a poor design by the manufacturer and that they encounter a lot of problems with the door seals.

- Lockport, NY, USA

problem #4

Mar 152009


  • 30,000 miles


The numbers on the selection for the radio and cd paint has peeled off and I had the radio replaced once.

- Taylor, MI, USA

problem #3

Feb 282005

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. Since purchasing the vehicle, the headlamps flicker or dim while driving, similar to a power surge. The dealer was initially unable to duplicate the failure. When the failure was able to be duplicated, the dealer was unable to make a repair. At the end of September of 2007, the steering column made a sparking sound and the dealer could not duplicate the failure once more. On September 20, 2007, the radio and all the components on the instrument panel failed intermittently. The vehicle had to be turned off and restarted for them to eventually operate again. In addition, the dome lights would remain illuminated. The driver's side door latches were replaced twice. The rear hatchback latch was replaced twice. When the key was removed from the ignition, the key buzzer would continue to sound. On January 25, 2008, the rear wiper motor was replaced and failed again on March 4, 2008. The current mileage was 36,182 and failure mileage was 70. Updated 4/2/08 the consumer stated the emblem on the rear tailgate loosing color, brake pads and rotors are worn. Updated 04/02/08

- Canton, NY, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #2

Jan 182006

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My head liner has fallen down 4 times and never been replace, just reglued or re velcroed, and the noises that come from my windows are quite loud and if windy the front passenger window gives a whistle, this was not the case when I purchased the vehicle but has gotten progressively worse and I am told it is normal wind noise(including the whistle that they were able to duplicate) and nothing can be done, my carpet under the mat in the drivers seat ripped (after 6 mos old) and the numbers on my radio 1-6, except 4, and the band button has started to rub off after about 6 mos old which I was again told was normal and it's because I change stations often. Incident date to follow was last date repaired.

- North Providence, RI, USA

problem #1

Nov 202005

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
Chevy Trailblazer has a whistling sound that is not able to be located to be fixed, the seals on the doors have been replaced as well as the weather stripping. The lights on the vehicles interior as well as head light go dim when the gas pedal is not pressed. The head lights flicker causing a distraction to the driver of the vehicle as well as on coming cars as it appears that someone is flashing their lights to on coming cars.

- Chadwicks, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?