Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,288 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 2 of 22)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #408

Apr 112012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles


The fuel gauge stopped working then all the other gauges of the instrument panel began intermittently then permanently stopped working. Aside from the battery gauge, the least important of them all.

- Parma , OH, USA

problem #407

Feb 092009

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
First, fuel gauge, then the entire instrument panel stopped working.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #406

Jul 132012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
I was driving during summer time and my fuel gage went from full to empty for no reason. I had just filled up, so I knew there was gas in the tank. It has since given me random readings. If I let the gas level fall below 3/4 of a tank. It will go to empty even if I filled the tank. It does work randomly sometimes.

- Ashland, MA, USA

problem #405

Jul 112013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 91,800 miles


Driver side master power window switch does not work the driver side window at all! out of the blue this stopped working. Further research shows that the 2006-2007 models were recalled not the 2005! really, this car is "currently registered in a cold weather state which uses salt to clear the roads" (direct quote from General Motors and Isuzu recall 258,000 SUVS, the associated press, August 19, 2012) since 12/2005 which is when the vehicle was purchased. Just because my vehicle did not have a fire "yet" but I have the "exact" problem which arose before these vehicles did catch fire, mine is not recalled? not only was the transmission recalled in 2008, I had a problem with the "blower motor" not working when you turn on the heat. You could only turn on the heat to no. 4. the truck was taken for service on 1/10/06, 1/30/06, 2/7/06 and 2/17/06 which was not even 2 mo. After purchasing said vehicle before the problem was corrected. In 11/06 the "fuel pump module" was replaced and covered "only" because I had the extended warranty and I had to pay the $100 deductible, because I had gas but it was not registering. Again, I continue to have this problem. When calling GM on 7/24/13 about the window switch recall, I now find out that there is a "special coverage" for the "fuel level sensor". this is covered until 7/24/14, per GM (866-694-6546), unless you have more than 120,000 something miles. Was not sure of the mileage exactly since mine is below that figure. The window switch is a serious malfunction that needs to be covered in "all years" of this vehicle. While sitting at a red light with your foot on the brake, the vehicle will just rev up and want to take off. I guess this isn't a "big deal" either. You can't even listen to the radio to distract you with all these problems going on because the radio only comes out of "one" speaker! go figure, it is GM!

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #404

May 012009

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
In the beginning the speedometer would go all the way to highest speed immediately upon cranking vehicle. After a few months or quit working all together. The gas gage quit working a few months after that. Then again a few months later all other gauges quit working except RPM gage. That is only functioning gage on instrument panel.

- Gonzales , LA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #403

Jul 072008

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
The fuel gauge says its empty but I have gas. My engine light comes on every time I start the car.

- Elmira, NY, USA

problem #402

Jul 042011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles


Gas gauge stopped working about 2 years ago. Shows as empty even when the tank is full. It's very frustrating as you have to always remember to fill up to count the miles. I received a letter from Chevy a couple of years ago letting me know that they are aware of the problem and will cover 50% of the cost of getting it fix. But why do I have to pay at all? it's not my fault, I should not have to pay at all.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #401

Sep 152012


  • 100,000 miles
My vehicle shows gauge light as empty even after filling up. My vehicle stopped in middle off road on early morning traffic. Now we have to estimate mileage to make sure we are not left without gas, very frustrating and unsafe but can't afford to fix.

- Mcallen, TX, USA

problem #400

Mar 152012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the odometer and fuel level gauge failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where it was stated that the clusters needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000.

- Bangorville , MI, USA

problem #399

May 012013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle fuel gauge sensor issues. The consumer state the first time the fuel gauge starting acting erratic was in 2007. The dealer informed his wife, the vehicle had ran out of gas, even though the gauge indicated there was 1/2 tank of gas. The consumer stated he continues to experience an erratic behavior of the fuel pump and the low fuel indicator light illuminated. The latest preliminary diagnosis was the vehicle was unable to sustain an idle, because of the erratic fuel pressure (fuel pump). The consumer also stated the vehicle has electrical problems and the oil pressure gauge was inoperative.

- Biloxi, MS, USA

problem #398

Apr 072009

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 26,000 miles


Purchased 11/24/2008 ~20K miles. Within 5months a whole host of issues started, the 1st being the fuel gauge not working by showing full & actually not (ran out of gas twice) and then showing empty after fillup. 1week later the engine light came on & the instrument panel stopped working. ~ one year later, Dec 2009 the speedometer fluctuated from working properly to ~50-55mph base instead of 0. after a few days, the speedometer did zero-out but then did not show any speed but stayed at 0. along with the speedometer issue are the headlights dimming sporadically. All of the issues have continued on-off since. March 2012 the windshield reservoir started leaking/cracked. February 2013 had tuneup, brakes, and thermostat replaced and since then add front vents stopped working plus severe, sporadic, high idle - driving to work (metropolitan, downtown, capital of state-high rush hour) the high rev started and all I wanted was to get to workplace parking lot ~2miles. 2blcks fr pkg lot, I was braking at a left, dblturn light with the rev & brakes grabbingh/counteracting. I come to a full stop but my SUV revs to over 3rpms & I thought the trblzr would break free & crash into the cars in front of me! I have a "christine" car and hate the feeling of driving an unsafe vehicle that Chevy won't recall/fix and I can't afford to buy anything else currently or get all these issues repaired. I place mine, my kids and passengers' lives & safety into jeopardy every time we get in to drive/ride. I only have 78K miles and 1yr of car pymnts left. I will never buy another Chevy again and I was a diehard Chevy and "buy american" consumer. This vehicle is a piece of junk. My next purchase will be any vehicle that is safe, whoever the manufacturer may be. Can anything be done to help"?"

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #397

Feb 102013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The fuel gauge reads empty when there is plenty of gas in the tank. It sometimes read full when there is little gas left.

- Surprise, AZ, USA

problem #396

Jan 042013


  • 55,500 miles
2005 Trailblazer ext, 55500 miles, bought new. In January 2013 I filled up my gas tank. Within one block of leaving the gas station the fuel gauge went to "0" (empty). Thereafter, the gauge reads intermittently between what seems to be normal & empty. The error code P0463 (obd II, obd2) indicates a fuel sending unit failure. This leaves me with a dangerous vehicle. Why? scenario: Your traveling 60 mph, run out of fuel & now have a disabled vehicle on a highway with other travelers whizzing by. The repair for the fuel sending unit is said to be $600 to over $1000. By the way, I had a '97 S10 Blazer that had the same problem. I understand there are currently almost one million complaints registered for the same thing on GM vehicles.

- Oradell, NJ, USA

problem #395

Aug 092012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Filled up truck and gas gauge still said it was empty. Gas gauge is faulty and no longer works. Have to keep track of mileage now so I don't run out of gas. I also read that GM is willing to cover half the cost and were suppose to send a letter stating that. Never received anything. Not at all impressed with GM and will find it hard to stay a loyal customer.

- Sheboygan, WI, USA

problem #394

Nov 012012


  • miles
I have a 2005 Chevy Trailblazer ext that has a faulty gas gauge I cannot tell how much gas I have its extremely dangerous when you have children you need to pick up daily and drive to practives not knowing how much gas you have so your always in a panic to put more.

- Prospect, CT, USA

problem #393

Mar 112011


  • 62,000 miles
There is a Chevrolet issue with the gas gauges that Chevrolet will not take full responsibility for. They are asking customers to pay 1/2 which can cost us to $300 or more for the customer. The gas gauge is registering full then empty without notice. The gauge lights up empty even when the tank is full. We never know how much gas is in the car. I have scheduled an appointment to have this fixed but Chevrolet is not covering the entire cost and this is truly a manufacturer recall.

- Chapel Hill, NC, USA

problem #392

Nov 122010

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 75,088 miles
On or about November 12, 2010 the vehicle owner had the instrument panel replaced. Shortly after replacing the instrument panel at a cost of approximately $550 the gas sensor stopped working. The owner complained to the Chevy service department but was told that this was a separate issue and not caused by the replacement of the instrument panel. The owner checked for recalls on the internet but found more complaints for the same issue but no manufacture recall or data on either the instrument panel or gas senor/gauge. Since the gas sensor/gauge/fuel level indicator does not work the vehicle owners have run out of gas at least 3 separate times. 1). a Friday night at 10:00 P.M. on a dark winding road; 2). On a very busy 4-lane thorough fare both vehicle owners and a passenger ran out of gas at a stop light; 3). Most recently was approximately 3-weeks ago. There's no way to know when the gas tank is full or running low on fuel because the "low gas" fuel light stays on most of the time or when the owners do fill-up the tank the gas gauge remains "E". the owners were quoted the cost of repair would be upwards of $500+.

- Antioch, TN, USA

problem #391

Nov 262008

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 26,266 miles
Nearly eight months after the purchase of the Chevy Trailblazer (April 2008) and while traveling from Tennessee to New York the instrument panel that controls the RPM, odometer, speed, fuel gauge, oil level, temperature, etc. Completely stopped working. While traveling in the state of New York on I-90 E the driver had no indication of the vehicle speed. When shifting from the left passing lane to the nearest middle lane a NY state trooper clocked the vehicle speed at approximately 90+ miles per hour. The driver was sighted with a speeding ticket during the thanksgiving holiday weekend. The vehicle owner had the instrument panel replaced at a cost of more than $500. However, soon after the instrument panel was replaced the gas sensor stopped working. The owner complained to the Chevy service department but was told that this was a separate issue and not caused by the replacement of the instrument panel. The owner checked for recalls on the internet but found more complaints of the same and no recall information. Since the gas sensor/gauge/fuel level indicator does not work the vehicle owners have run out of gas at least 3 separate times. Once on a Friday night at 10:00 P.M. on a dark winding road. Another time on a very busy 4-lane thorough fare the vehicle owners with a passenger ran out of gas at a stop light. Most recently was approximately 3-weeks ago. The vehicle owners have purchased at least 3 new gas cans since we cannot tell with the vehicle is full of gas or not. When the gas tank is filled up there's no way of knowing and the owners cannot tell when the vehicle is running low on fuel since the "low gas" fuel light stays on most of the time or the gas gauge rarely moves passed "E". the owners were quoted that the cost to repair would be upwards of $500+.

- Antioch, TN, USA

problem #390

Feb 012012


  • 80,000 miles
Cluster instrument panel failed. RPM odometer doesn't work, speed ranges from 80-off the charts, gas gauge not accurate. Apparently big problem w/over 300 complaints yet no recall. Firestone just quoted me $700 for a remove and replace instrument cluster gauge. $600 for the gauge itself. I can't afford that.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #389

Feb 142012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 52,345 miles
1 fuel level sensor not working 2. 70% of the time GM nothing 2005 Trailblazer.

- Le Center, MN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?