Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 32
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,842 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 5 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #123

May 102013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Daughter was driving in city traffic in orlando (disney world college intern) and notice smoke and then fire coming from passenger side, under the dash. Car was in motion, she tried to stop the vehicle and exit, had trouble getting car to stop, and the door would not open because the vehicle was not in park. Fire rapidly spread throughout the cabin. She had to put her hand into the fire to get to the shifter, and then hurt her knee when she left the vehicle because it was still moving. The entire interior was totally consumed, all windows are gone, all seats are burnt to the frames, and it appears that the fire department took out the front grill to get to the engine compartment. Unknown cause of fire at this time, vehicle is a total loss, and is now in a tow lot. We will never see the vehicle again since we live in Nebraska. Thankfully my daughter made it out alive with possible knee injury only.

- Bellevue, NE, USA

problem #122

Jun 012012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Last summer the windows on my Trailblazer started acting up. Sometime would work, sometimes not. Seem to be affected by the weather, if it was raining. Would stop working all together if it was raining, then would start to work, when it had dried up. I received a notice on a safety recall for my vehicle, but when I called into the dealership, they said that it was not covered since I had not registered in a list of the northern states. I know for a fact that this vehicle was manufactured and driven for at least three years in one of the northern states. Why would it matter if I had registered it here or there. There is still a safety issue with the window module. The recall should follow the vehicle not the registered owner.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #121

Feb 072013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 118,000 miles
I purchased a used car from ez cars & credit located in riverside California because they had some very good reviews. I could of bought a car from a private owner but I decided to go with a dealership because I figured that the law would protect me and they could not sale me a defective vehicle. I purchased an SUV, Chevrolet Trailblazer 2006 on 2/07/2013 and after taking the car for a test drive, I noticed the airbag light on. The manager [xxx] said it was just something that could be fixed in like 5 minutes and that it had to do with the fuses being replaced but his service technician left for the day so I should bring the car in tomorrow. I contacted the dealership and asked for [xxx], I was told by the sales manager who's name is [xxx], that [xxx] was on vacation for 1 week in Mexico. I explained the airbag situation and[xxx]said he doesn't know anything about it and I would have to wait for [xxx] to return from Mexico. A week and a half later driving with the airbag light on, not knowing if my kids, husband or myself were safe in this vehicle but we spent all our money to purchase this car. We here from [xxx] so I brought the car into the dealership, [xxx] had the car for 4 days and the airbag light is still on today! I contacted [xxx] and told him I was on my way to pickup my car, mr. [xxx] he was at the office, now when I pick up my car, I get my keys from the owner of the auto repair shop next door. He doesn't even work for the dealership! I have serious water corrosion under my car, the steering wheel feels shaky the fuel gauge never reads correctly and the lights go off and on inside the car after a while of driving. I don't know what to do?? information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Perris, CA, USA

problem #120

Mar 132012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Oct 2012 recall notice 12180 was received from GM Mar 2013 the parts available at dealer was received dealer, reliable chev., richardson tx, was contacted, SUV taken in. Did not have the part, special order. Isn't 6 months a little! long to take care of a recall"?"

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #119

Jan 182010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
The driver's door controls stopped working and there was an immediate electrical burning smell and smoke. The windows stopped working entirely. It was very apparent that something in the door had melted or burned (no visible appearance of fire on the outside, no flames). I took the vehicle to a GM dealership for repairs, which I opted for based on the severity of the issues and would other causes may be at work (would this happen again" what else was affected"), and they replaced the door control (not inexpensive). I believe this matches GM#12180 and NHTSA # 12V406000. The actual event occurred a few years ago- the date is very approximate and may not be accurate. The area is NJ. There were no out-of-the-usual circumstances with the use of the vehicle. In coming across this while researching it, I thought I would include my event for your purposes. The recall process has been slow; personally not very satisfied, I've spoken with GM and they are still working on sending the letters to reimburse those of us who actually encountered this.

- Egg Harbor City, NJ, USA

problem #118

Sep 082012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 85,460 miles
Left Blazer at airport for a week, while we took a vacation. Got back from vacation, the locks didn't work. After using the key to get into the vehicle, could smell something burnt. Driver side power window didn't work for any windows / locks. Went to repair shop, and the driver power window panel had to be replaced. I received a notice for a safety recall in Oct. 2012. The invoice #130355 from ron sick's for repair was $440.09.

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #117

Feb 252012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the electronic window and door locks failed to function and a burning odor was noticed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated the front driver side door module needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 12V406000 (visibility:power window devices and controls). The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 105,000. Updated 01/30/13 updated 01/31/13

- Lutz, FL, USA

problem #116

Dec 072012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
The SUV would not start in October 2012. I was told I needed a new battery, so I bought one right away. I drive the SUV very infrequently, maybe only 40 miles a week. On decmber 7, 2012 the headlights started to flicker while I was driving across the chesapeake bay bridge in Maryland. This was very concerning because it was getting dark out. I drove directly to a friend's house, and when I tried to park the SUV the lights would not turn off. Even after manually trying to turn off the lights and removing the key from the ignition, the lights would not turn off. Finally the lights went out, but the battery was dead when I tried to restart the SUV in the morning. We tried to charge the battery. This caused sparks by the fuse box and the lights inside the cabin began to turn off and on, even with the key out of the ignition. The headlights also started to flicker off and on and the doors locked an unlocked. I had the car towed back across the bridge to my local mechanic and was told I need a new battery. Obviously the battery is not the issue. I would like to know what GM intends to do about the faulty wiring in these models and how they are going to correct the issues related to the recall notice I received in October 2012. The recall number is 12180 and I think this current problem is related to it. I received the notice and it states the parts are not available at this time and to park the vehicle outside. I called and asked if it is ok to drive the SUV and was told "yes". since I must drive across a 5 mile bridge several times a week, I am concerned the truck will break down and cause an accident. I am also concerned a passenger or my pet dog could be injured.

- Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #115

Dec 032012

Trailblazer

  • 141,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that a burning odor and smoke started to emit into the vehicle. The contact mentioned that he believed that the driver's side door module was defective. The fire department was not contacted. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 141,000.

- Engadine, MI, USA

problem #114

Nov 092012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
The truck has been at a several times into a chevorlet dealer, the check engine light the reduced engine light and the traction control lights all come on at the same time and it causes a failure in which the vehicle losses 90% of power. The failure happens at random time and all weather and traffic conditions. I have had it at two dealers as well have contacted GM executive dept. They have claimed to be fixed several times but it still fails. The issue at hand is that in traffic conditions this failure proves to be a huge safety hazard for myself and other drivers on the road. Its not a used car issue as its an electrical failure issue. I have asked time and time again to have a GM field tech come look at the car but, they insist that the dealer fix it. I need someone more to see and understand the failure comes with at great risks of other drivers on the road. If you goggle this problem you will see others have the issue and I think its worth a recall if they can find a fix for it but after 3 years and several tries they are still unable to fix the issue.

- Wilmington , DE, USA

problem #113

Nov 102012

Trailblazer

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Drivers side window erratically went up and down with out key in ignition and car was un occupied. Began to smoke and consequently melted door panel switch and window motor.

- East Haven, CT, USA

problem #112

Nov 042012

Trailblazer

  • 86,000 miles
Car was parked, used my key pad to open doors only back hatch unlock, had to use my key to open driverside, very strong smell by the time I got the door open, like burning wire, car would not start smell got stronger was afraid car was gonna catch on fire so unhook battery, had it towed to shop, the drivers door module was burnt black, contacted GM after 2 days they told me it was a factory defect, and it would be taken care of. Cars fixed and now they only gave me 10% off, then they hung up on me.

- Eatonville, WA, USA

problem #111

Oct 032012

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the entire window function button stopped working. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was told that the master power window switch needed to be replaced. The contact spoke with the manufacturer in regard to NHTSA campaign id number: 12V406000 (electrical system) but was advised that the final list for vehicles that were included in the recall was not yet final. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 65,000. Updated 12/14/12

- Egg Harbor Township , NJ, USA

problem #110

Oct 282012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
I came out to my vehicle today, unlocked the door with the keyless remote but the driver's door was unresponsive. Upon starting the vehicle I realized the windows don't work on the driver's side as well. I removed the driver door control module to find a burn mark internally on the door as well as burnt plastic on the door module itself. The window and lock worked fine the night before so I'm concerned with the short circuit occurring over night without a key in the ignition.

- Renton, WA, USA

problem #109

Jun 132012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
The master window control module burned out.

- Pikeville, KY, USA

problem #108

Sep 192012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 105,921 miles
Driver door power window and lock control circuit board malfunctioned and started to smoke and failed to operate driver window, also lights inside window and door lock switches no longer works, upon removing switch assembly I found it to be badly melted and black, it appeared to have caught on fire.

- Sinking Spring , PA, USA

problem #107

Sep 012012

Trailblazer

  • 88,000 miles
Having a problem with the vehicle RPM dropping while idling and the head lights flickering and sometimes shutting off. Check engine light come on and the code said it was the "idle air control valve" it only happens when the ac compressor is engaged. The problem seems to go away when the ac is turned off. Have not had it repaired yet because it's a fairly expensive part.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #106

Sep 152010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
I have had several problems with my power windows going up and down and then just not working at all. I smell smoke sometimes but can't locate the cause of the smoke. I have also had problems with the electrical connection to the radio, which also works sometimes but the majority of the time it does not work. I have had this problem for a long time now and need a resolution before my SUV catches fire. I also have problems with the drivers side power door lock which works intermittently-whenever it pleases. I recently started having problems with my rear wiper blade-turn it on and it moves a little then stops. My headlights dim up and down while driving...I have replaced the alternator and the battery and still don't have enough power for some reason-dealerships want to charge a lot of money just to diagnose when it appears that this is obviously a defect in the electrical system of the SUV.

- Liverpool, NY, USA

problem #105

Aug 142012

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,150 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the power window and power lock on the driver side door failed. The dealer was made aware of the failure who informed him that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 12V406000 (electrical system). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages was 58,150. Updated 10/24/12 the consumer stated the drier's side window would not operate and the power door lock did not work. Updated 10/25/12

- Butler, PA, USA

problem #104

Sep 042012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
I have a 2006 Trailblazer and a few weeks ago my driver side control panel stopped working. Could not use my remote to open the door and was unable to put any windows down. I thought there was a short in the wires somewhere because the next day the panel worked. Now, two weeks later I stopped at the store and was getting out of the car and again I could not lock my doors using the button on the control panel. I left the door unlocked and when I came out (within minutes) my door window had gone down on its own while I was in the store. When I got into the car, my daughter and I could smell something burning. She immediately made me go to the garage and have her mechanic check it out. He was able to remove the panel and showed us where the plastic part that goes inside the handle had melted and could have caused a fire in the car. He called around to try and find a replacement part and was finally able to find one and was quoted over $300 for just the part!! then, I had to set up an appointment with the dealer to have it installed because it has to be programmed to my car and I was quoted about $103 for installation!!!! I can not believe this problem has not been listed as a recall after reading all the complaints with the same problem. I plan on getting a phone number from the dealer for the GM corporate office to file an automotive complaint tomorrow. I hope to be reimbursed for this part and the labor charge. This sounds like a serious safety issue to me and thank goodness my car did not start on fire while I was driving. Read more: wot.motortrend.com/NHTSA-opens-investigation-on-2006-2007-Chevy-Trailblazers-for-power-window-switch-issues-169431.html#ixzz26rrcv9ed.

- Enfield, CT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?