Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 32
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,842 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 7 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #83

Jul 112012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 100,450 miles


The problems just began with my car with the gas gauge working intermittently and with in 2 weeks I had to change the drivers side taillight which was not only burned out but the housing was melted to the bulb. Next within a weeks time I was in the drive thru getting food and all the gauges just flashed and the car died. Upon trying to restart it several times the lights flashed off and on; the doors locked and unlocked themselves and their was not even enough power to call onstar. Check fuses found no problems. Still waiting diagnosis and getting it fixed.

- Enid, OK, USA

problem #82

Jul 072012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 144,102 miles
The drivers side window control panel would not work for any of the windows. The vehicle was not running. I checked the fuse and found it to be blown. I replaced it with the exact same size and type of fuse. Then I tried to roll up the drivers side window. The door window control panel switch then began to smoke and there was the smell of burning electronics and plastic. I took it to the dealership and was told the control panel and regulator had fried and would need to be completely replaced.

- Eagle, MI, USA

problem #81

Jul 052012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, there was a burning odor. The contact later removed the window control panel and noticed the printed circuit board shorted out a few compoonents. The dealer was notified but offered little assistance. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure and current mileages were 92,000. Updated 08/14/12 the consumer stated there was no fire, only smoke. Updated 08/15/12

- Hudson, MA, USA

problem #80

Jun 222012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 111,302 miles


After a recent rainstorm, windows will not work from driver side window switch. Windows will go down and come right back up. They now are working intermittently. Sometimes they will go down and not come up, or go down and come right back up. Very dangerous, especially with kids if they like to put their hands out the window while your driving and it goes up on them; it's possible they could get their hands stuck and cause serious injury.

- Williamsburg, VA, USA

problem #79

Jun 202012


  • miles
Power windows were rolled up and key off and vehicle unattended and locked. Later in afternoon after it rained it was reported the drivers window was down. After checking on the vehicle the window had rolled itself down sometime while in at work. The drivers window switch would not operate. After getting estimate at GM dealer(700+) and body shop(350 plus programming at GM dealer), they were able to jump motor to roll up window and disable switch. Harness and switch were starting to melt and deform wire insulation at drivers window switch but did not catch on fire or melt to bare wiring.

- Williston, ND, USA

problem #78

Jun 042012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 165,000 miles
This issue started when the back hatch of the Trailblazer would not lock or open and the rear wiper would not work. After dealing with this for a few months the doors, windows and driver side seat stopped working. Also, the doors would not lock/unlock with the keyless entry. After some research, I changed the lgm fuse (it was blown). Once the fuse was changed everything started working except the back hatch. I manually locked the back hatch and closed it. Once the hatch was closed all of the doors locked and I could not open the truck. I manually used the key and opened the driver side door. When I opened the door I could hear the electrical wires burning in the door panel and throughout the truck. The truck was filled with smoke and smelt of burnt plastic. Luckily I was not inside the truck when the fire started because none of the unlock or window buttons worked. I would have been stuck inside of a burning truck. I unplugged the negative charge of the battery and put the fire out. Once the fire was out I tried starting the truck and it would not start. I went through all of the gears with the truck off, I pulled up the E-brake and the truck started. Once I shut the truck back off it would not start again.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #77

Jun 052012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles


While driving down city road, I began to smell a burnt smell. I looked to my left and saw a little wisp of smoke from my driver side power window switches. I immediately stopped, shut off vehicle, popped the hood and disconnected the power to my battery. I called a friend who is a mechanic and he took out the switch cluster. Opened the cluster and saw a burnt mark on the bottom left of circuit board. It will need to be replaced. Pictures received 06/25/12 updated 06/29/2012

- Troy, NY, USA

problem #76

Oct 122011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 61,250 miles
Driver side window switch had a burning smell and the functions of the window, driver side mirror and automatic door do not work. Upon inspecting the switch it was noticed the bottom of the circuit board had melted on the left side portion.

- Pembroke, NH, USA

problem #75

May 152012


  • 63,500 miles
Driver's side window started going up and down erratically. Next a small amount of smoke started to come out from around the window switch. Then the smell of electric wires burning began. Larger amount of smoke began coming from switch assembly. All occupants exited the vehicle safely. Door panel was pulled from the frame. Small fire started and became visible coming from behind door panel. Fire extinguisher was used to put out fire. Switch assembly was removed and confirmed electrical fire from the switch cluster.

- Lenoir, NC, USA

problem #74

Sep 012011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the instrument panel gauges and warning lamps stopped working sporadically. The contact mentioned that the door panel wiring was melted. As a result, she was unable to unlock the doors or open the windows. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 51,000 and the current mileage was 102,715.....updated 06/18/12

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #73

May 042012

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 124,000 miles


After work I went to leave when I noticed my car smelled like burned plastic, I couldn't figure it out until I tried to roll the windows down and they did not work. So I popped the window component out and unplugged it, which was the smell, the unit must have fried (melted) while the vehicle was off. Researching it, to try and replace the part I found multiple instances of this happening, where fires are caused by this module. I'm hoping this will help to have a recall, people door's should not be starting on fire, especially when the vehicle is off. Updated 05/17/12

- Nashotah, WI, USA

problem #72

Mar 012012


  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While parked, the contact noticed a burning smell coming from the front driver's side door. The power switches on the door also would not function. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a diagnostic test. The technician stated that the motor in the power unit on the front driver's door had failed. The VIN was not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000.

- Atwater, OH, USA

problem #71

Aug 212008

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
Fuel gauge suddenly became inaccurate. Reads empty and chimes empty even when full. Since it happens intermittently, it has caused me to run out of gas more than once in past three years. Received blanket offer from manufacturer to cover half of the expense, so they know it is an issue, but should be a total recall for safety.

- Chino Hills, CA, USA

problem #70

Sep 082008

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
Driver side speaker intermittently comes on (rarely). Driver side window switch intermittently works. It used to intermittently fail, now it rarely works. Occasionally, all the driver controls on the dashboard go dead and the radio doesn't work. The lock doesn't work. The ABS light and traction control light always illuminate. This intermittent electrical problem has been one big headache and it all seems to point to the drivers side window switch which is under investigation for fires. There is a defect in these window switches and the owners of the vehicles should not be burdened financially because of this.

- Fuquay Varina, NC, USA

problem #69

Oct 202011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Control panel in driver's side door shorting out: Window mostly would not go down, but if it did go down, it would not go up till you shut off the car and restarted. Heated seat would come on all by it's self. Discovered 1 morning side rearview mirror "re-adjusting" it's self, car was off. Occasional smells of hot wire. The fuse to control panel was taken out before anything else went wrong.

- Hamilton, IN, USA

problem #68

Apr 152012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
Got into vehicle. Noticed a burnt smell and it would not start. Had power to most things. Then I noticed the burnt switch. Pulled switch out and it was melted along with wiring harness. While looking online for a new switch a wiring harness I came to find out this is a recurring problem with the 06 and 07 models, and yet no recall on this yet. This is the 2nd issue with electrical devices on this vehicle. My flasher control box burnt up last year while I was driving.

- Franklin, OH, USA

problem #67

Nov 082011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the driver side door caught on fire. The contact removed the driver side door panel and found that the door wires and sensor was burned. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer nor repaired. The failure mileage was 50 and the current mileage was 2,000...updated 09-19-12 updated 09/19/2012

- Bloomington , IL, USA

problem #66

Dec 232011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the main power switch in the driver side window caught fire. The contact spoke with the manufacturer and was told that the switch was no longer covered under warranty and that they would be unable to assist. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 87,000 and the current mileage was 91,000. Updated 05/08/12

- Chester, PA, USA

problem #65

Aug 232007


  • miles
Window doesn't roll down or stay up. Gas gauge broke.. engine light and catalytic converter light stays on. Handle design on door came off. Engine went out due to a pistol loose.

- Silex, MO, USA

problem #64

Mar 242012


  • miles
I was in my vehicle and went to roll my window down and started smelling a burning smell and my windows started going crazy, going up and down. I tried the switches to the rest of then windows and none of them work.

- Blue Mound, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?