Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 32
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,842 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 8 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #63

Mar 192011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The middle of March 2011 I smelt something burning. I did not see smoke. My drivers side window and control panel stopped working properly. There are several different things that have occurred over the past year. Drivers window sometimes won't roll down at all. Sometimes it will roll 1/4 and stop, sometimes it will roll all the way down. When rolling back up I have to make 1000 clicks to get back up. Remote keyless will not lock or unlock drivers side door. Mirrors can not be adjusted. Currently all 4 windows will roll down from drivers side control, but will immediately roll back up without pressing the up button. Other 3 windows will roll down from each door but will also automatically roll up without being prompted to. It's almost as if the up button is being held down constantly. My concern is that I have a child who's hand or fingers could get caught without warning, and not knowing if the windows will roll back down is concerning. I am unable to lock the other windows from being controlled by other passengers. I have checked all fuses and so far they are okay. I have taken the panel apart thinking that the connections were dirty and not making a good connections and that did not help. Updated 11/14/12 updated 11/14/2012

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #62

Mar 242012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
I went to work at 4pm got off at 12am, unlocked my door and went to open but didn't open so I opened the back driver side door and noticed my whole truck had a burnt plastic smell, I started to look around and noticed the smell came from the driver door panel, no noticeable melting from out side but the burnt smell is there, door panel isn't lit up for working, I googled the problem and came across similar people with Trailblazers had the same problems, either the vehicle was in motion and caught on fire or in park unattended. Nothing was spilt before the incident happened, just happened while I was at work.

- Grayslake, IL, USA

problem #61

Jan 132012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Got into my 2006 Trailblazer one morning and could smell burning. Saw brown burn marks around the window and lock device on the driver side door. No components worked so I could not roll down the window, or work the mirrors. When the window/lock compartment was taken out it was melted from the bottom up like it had caught fire. Burn marks on the outside as well as the inside of where the device goes. Called GM regarding incident they stated that I could pay a service fee and take it to one of their dealers and if they thought the incident was caused by something they did they would fix it, but if they thought that it wasn't caused by them not only would I pay the service fee but I would also have to pay for the part and the labor at the dealer. Asked them if they had notified the correct authorities regarding the safety of driver side window/lock control catching fire. They stated that they did. Advised them that this is unsafe and that they should not treat their customers like this and I would be taking it to the next level because I do not have $75 for the service fee and another $350 for the part, plus labor if they decide this is not their fault. I now have left the melted part out of my car terrified that if I put it back in that it will continue to burn and catch a huge fire while im driving with my children in the car.

- Lebanon, OH, USA

problem #60

Oct 072011

Trailblazer

  • 29,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The driver side power window switch has failed. Windows, door locks, power mirrors will not operate.

- Asheville, NC, USA

problem #59

Mar 062012

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 158,000 miles
The driver and passenger side began to go up and down without me touching it. The driver side mirror also would not function. I was told that it was the master power switch that needed to be replaced. Again I had to pay out of pocket for something that GM should cover. I just want GM to own up to this defect and offer reimbursement for this repair. Updated 7/11/12 updated 07/17/12

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #58

Mar 072012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
As many of the other complaints my 2006 Trailblazer is having a fuel tank sending unit problem, the fuel gauge will read empty then shoot up to half full, I was told that the repair will cost approx 600. To $700 which I can't afford. I don't believe it's time to force GM to step up to the plate and issue a recall seeing that so many others are having the same problem.

- West Long Branch, NJ, USA

problem #57

Mar 042012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I recently heard about problems with the model year 2006 Chevy Trailblazer master control window switch in the driver side door. Last week, on March 4th, my driver side controls completely went out-- no window, lock, heated seat, or mirror control/functionality. It's clearly the same problem everyone else has been having, and now I'm concerned that the unit has shorted out and may cause a fire similar to what others have experienced. I do not want to have the control unit replaced with the same part number, as I'm concerned the new unit will be subject to the same issues.

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #56

Mar 132012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
My gas gauge reads empty after I fill up with gasoline.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #55

Jul 292010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 139,000 miles
When I started care on above date I smelt something hot looked under hood saw nothing. After entering car realized the electric window control switches on driver side was the issue it was hot and smoldering. Smoke by then was entering car. I pulled over and called a friend mechanic who took the melted part out and unplugged electric wires. I was told it would cost $1500 to replace and do not have that kind of money.

- Albany, OR, USA

problem #54

Jan 262012

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 82,811 miles
Car was parked and not running. An hour later, I returned to the car and manually unlocked the driver's door with the key and smoke came rolling out of car. I looked around and saw the driver's seat and the dash and ceiling covered in black ash and looked at the driver door and saw a hole melted in the door panel near the door handle by the automatic window and door locks. Automatic window on drivers side would not work and auto lock/unlock would not work on driver side. Updated 03/06/12 the consumer has since traded the vehicle. Updated 03/08/12

- Seymour, IN, USA

problem #53

Feb 142011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 99,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power window switch melted and scorched door driver side.

- Pinetop, KY, USA

problem #52

Oct 072010

Trailblazer

  • 37,309 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the driver side door control module caught on fire. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who replaced the module. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 37,309 and the current mileage was approximately 43,000.

- Warren, PA, USA

problem #51

Aug 042011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
PE12003 my Trailblazer 06 window automatically went up and I could smell burning, I made the kids get out of the car and I had my dad search. The door panel was popped off, the switch had melted and burned a hole into the white insulation, now nothing works on the Trailblazer driver side door. I notified the cac and sent pictures. They told me there was no recall on the vehicle. I don't have the money to get it fixed so it is still not functioning. Updated 6/26/12

- Utica, OH, USA

problem #50

Feb 102009

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
Drivers door control panel burned causing failure of door locks, windows, etc. Gas gauge continually showed incorrect amounts of fuel causing running out of fuel. Replaced the part and it happened again.Chevrolet took no blame.recently Chevy notified all owners that there is a problem that they will fix up to 1/2 of the actual cost.(my share will be $218 for their mistake) back tail lights have blown out over and over again since purchase. Finally replaced entire units on my own andit continued to happen. Contacted Chevrolet dealer and Chevy customer service.went to dealer and had the taillights repaired but Chevy again took no responsibility but kindly sent me a$1000 voucher for use on a new purchase of a Chevrolet.the dealer repair cost was apprx.$680. Still own the vehicle and will have make fuel gauge repair.

- Watertown, CT, USA

problem #49

Jan 252011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
I noticed an article on fox news about an investigation regarding door fires. I would like to report that issue happening to me about a year ago. The problem started intermittently where the window/door switches would not work. After dealing with that problem for a couple of months I got in my truck one morning and could tell it smelled like an electrical fire. From that point none of the windows or door locks worked and I could see some brown discoloration that had come up between the door and the panel for the door switches on the drivers side door. I pulled the switch panel up and there was a hole on the side of the switch panel and part of the plug was melted where the very small fire had occurred. I ordered a new switch panel from a dealer and had the dealer flash it so it would work in my truck and so far so good. I may have the old switch panel in my garage if needed for anything.

- Bloomington, MN, USA

problem #48

Dec 212011

Trailblazer

  • miles
I have an 06 trail Blazer & I have had nothing but problems with the driver side window controls I am unable to use the keyless entry or unlock the doors with driver door or even put down the windows in my truck & this is not a good thing if I have to wonder if my driver door is going to start on fire or not. Also the drive side module has burn marks on it as of right now I have been lucky with no fires in the door but if this did me or someone in my family could be seriously injured because of this faulty part & for this one part to cause so many problems to so many people I think that this needs to get looked at & fix now be fore something tragic happens to someone.

- Milwaukee , WI, USA

problem #47

Jan 192011

Trailblazer

  • 112,020 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the front driver's door caught on fire. The contact disconnected the fuse to stop the fire. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, where the dealer replaced the buttons on the front driver's door. The manufacturer had not been notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 112,020 and the current mileage was 128,000. Updated 03/09/12 updated 03/13/12

- Springhill, LA, USA

problem #46

Dec 112008

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
I am failing compliant case of fire hazard on the blower resistor, have complained to the Chevy garage about this they have known the problem was there since 2004 and never reported this, the wires burnt filling the Trailblazer hazard smoke causing my grandchildren to cough and nauseated, along with my wife and me. They will not cover to repair this.I am seeking help on this matter.also there is a bad short somewhere causing a the battery to drain which may cause a fire....... not sure of what this is. I have contacted state representative [xxx] the congressman. Please contact me a.S.a.P if any more details needed. My wife uses this for work and I am very concern on the fire which may occur I am an auto mechanic for 40 + years and I know there is a server problem of a defect in this vech. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Mercer, PA, USA

problem #45

Feb 012011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated the driver side door caught fire. The contact was driving 25 mph when the door started to smoke. The contact stopped the vehicle and poured a bottle of water in the door to extinguish the fire. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic who stated the door needed to be replaced. The failure mileage was unknown, but the current mileage was 56,390. Updated 03/06/12

- Hallandale Beach, FL, USA

problem #44

Sep 152011

Trailblazer

  • 52,000 miles
Started vehicle, went to lower drivers side window and it would not go down. Master window controls as well as outside mirror controls and remote keyless locking/unlocking of drivers door were no longer functional. Researched the most likely problem and discovered many other owners experiencing trouble with the "drivers door module". I pulled mine out of the door and discovered the module was melted and burned and it was severe enough to leave burn marks on the insulation inside the door. The entire switch burned out and appeared to melt/smolder inside the door. Not sure if this happened the instant the switch was activated or if it happened sometime else while parked. Called the dealer and they acknowledged that "they replace these all the time" and were happy to sell me one to for over $500 installed/programmed. I declined because I could not get a satisfactory answer as to why a fuse didn't stop this from occurring and causing such an expensive piece of electronic equipment to catch fire inside my garage. Upon reading of an investigation by the nhtsb tonight, I feel compelled to let you know this is a dangerous situation that needs immediate fixing. By the dealers own admission these are replaced frequently. GM didn't acknowledge the fuel sending unit issue until after many people were inconvenienced or injured and it appears they are doing the same with this situation. Beyone the obvious fact that this is a faulty part, please initiate a recall on this before it catches someones home on fire while parked in the garage.

- Baldwinsville, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?