Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,668 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #30

Jul 152014


  • 150,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the electrical system on the driver side door failed. As a result, the window could not be opened and the exterior mirror could not be adjusted. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 150,000.

- Brownstown , MI, USA

problem #29

Jun 152014


  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the power window switch became inoperable once the key was inserted in the ignition. The problem recurred multiple times. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or independent mechanic. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Pittsville, WI, USA

problem #28

Jun 012012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Last summer the windows on my Trailblazer started acting up. Sometime would work, sometimes not. Seem to be affected by the weather, if it was raining. Would stop working all together if it was raining, then would start to work, when it had dried up. I received a notice on a safety recall for my vehicle, but when I called into the dealership, they said that it was not covered since I had not registered in a list of the northern states. I know for a fact that this vehicle was manufactured and driven for at least three years in one of the northern states. Why would it matter if I had registered it here or there. There is still a safety issue with the window module. The recall should follow the vehicle not the registered owner.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #27

Feb 252012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the electronic window and door locks failed to function and a burning odor was noticed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated the front driver side door module needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 12V406000 (visibility:power window devices and controls). The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 105,000. Updated 01/30/13 updated 01/31/13

- Lutz, FL, USA

problem #26

Nov 102012


  • miles
Drivers side window erratically went up and down with out key in ignition and car was un occupied. Began to smoke and consequently melted door panel switch and window motor.

- East Haven, CT, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #25

Jun 132012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
The master window control module burned out.

- Pikeville, KY, USA

problem #24

Sep 192012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 105,921 miles


Driver door power window and lock control circuit board malfunctioned and started to smoke and failed to operate driver window, also lights inside window and door lock switches no longer works, upon removing switch assembly I found it to be badly melted and black, it appeared to have caught on fire.

- Sinking Spring , PA, USA

problem #23

Sep 042012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
I have a 2006 Trailblazer and a few weeks ago my driver side control panel stopped working. Could not use my remote to open the door and was unable to put any windows down. I thought there was a short in the wires somewhere because the next day the panel worked. Now, two weeks later I stopped at the store and was getting out of the car and again I could not lock my doors using the button on the control panel. I left the door unlocked and when I came out (within minutes) my door window had gone down on its own while I was in the store. When I got into the car, my daughter and I could smell something burning. She immediately made me go to the garage and have her mechanic check it out. He was able to remove the panel and showed us where the plastic part that goes inside the handle had melted and could have caused a fire in the car. He called around to try and find a replacement part and was finally able to find one and was quoted over $300 for just the part!! then, I had to set up an appointment with the dealer to have it installed because it has to be programmed to my car and I was quoted about $103 for installation!!!! I can not believe this problem has not been listed as a recall after reading all the complaints with the same problem. I plan on getting a phone number from the dealer for the GM corporate office to file an automotive complaint tomorrow. I hope to be reimbursed for this part and the labor charge. This sounds like a serious safety issue to me and thank goodness my car did not start on fire while I was driving. Read more:

- Enfield, CT, USA

problem #22

Sep 012009


  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the driver door master window switch failed. The vehicle doors could not be unlocked automatically and the windows could not be opened or closed. The contact mentioned that the doors could only be opened manually. The driver door master switch was replaced twice; however the failure was not corrected. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and advised that recall NHTSA campaign id number: 12V406000 (visibility: Power window devices and controls) was not finalized. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure and current was unknown.

- Nesconset , NY, USA

problem #21

May 012012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact was driving 60 mph when a short caused the power door locks and window switches to function intermittently until becoming inoperable. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 12V406000 (visibility:power window devices and controls )however the manufacturer informed the contact that the vehicle was not eligible under the recall based on the state in which she resided. The vehicle had not been repaired. The mileage was unavailable. Updated 9/25/12 updated 10/04/12

- Woodstock , GA, USA

problem #20

Aug 042012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 89,880 miles


While on vacation in NY I went to move my Trailblazer to be able to pack up for the trip home and when moving it I noticed a strong smell of electrical fire and noticed smoke coming from the area around the drivers door master window switch. I quickly turned the truck off and pulled the switch plate out of the door but it was to late. The damage had already been done. The switch had shorted and melted all of the ribbon cable in the switch and rendered it inoperable. There was a slight misty rain when all of this occurred, I am just glad it happened in the driveway and not on the highway. I called and talked with Chevy and they told me there was no recall for this and there was nothing they could do to help and then stated that it was VIN specific. So which is it no recall or VIN specific?

- Pickens, SC, USA

problem #19

Aug 072012

Trailblazer 4WD 8-cyl

  • 138,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer est. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, burning fumes started to come inside the vehicle. The contact mentioned that smoke was emitting from the driver side window control panel and a result, the panel melted. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included on any recalls. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 138,000 and the current mileage was 138,100...updated 09/12/12 updated 09/12/2012...updated 10/19/12 the consumer stated the driver's side mirror stopped working and the door lock and top half of the driver's seat no longer moved. Updated 10/25/12

- Wise , VA, USA

problem #18

Nov 162011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that he attempted to open the driver side window but the window would not respond. All of the remaining windows also failed. The vehicle was not taken the vehicle to the dealer for inspection or repairs. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 95,000. Updated 8/28/12 the consumer stated he was driving when the windows stopped working. The entire dash cluster shut down, the windshield wipers came on by themselves, the side mirrors started moving, and all the lights came on, the vent blowers stopped and the windows rolled up on their own. After 30 minutes, the dash cluster stared functioning again, and the mirrors stopped moving, but the driver side door panel was not working as the vent blowers did not come back on. The consumer was quoted $200 just to take the driver's side door panel off and look at it. Updated 08/29/12

- Gainsville, GA, USA

problem #17

Jul 072012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 144,102 miles
The drivers side window control panel would not work for any of the windows. The vehicle was not running. I checked the fuse and found it to be blown. I replaced it with the exact same size and type of fuse. Then I tried to roll up the drivers side window. The door window control panel switch then began to smoke and there was the smell of burning electronics and plastic. I took it to the dealership and was told the control panel and regulator had fried and would need to be completely replaced.

- Eagle, MI, USA

problem #16

Jul 052012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, there was a burning odor. The contact later removed the window control panel and noticed the printed circuit board shorted out a few compoonents. The dealer was notified but offered little assistance. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure and current mileages were 92,000. Updated 08/14/12 the consumer stated there was no fire, only smoke. Updated 08/15/12

- Hudson, MA, USA

problem #15

Jun 222012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 111,302 miles
After a recent rainstorm, windows will not work from driver side window switch. Windows will go down and come right back up. They now are working intermittently. Sometimes they will go down and not come up, or go down and come right back up. Very dangerous, especially with kids if they like to put their hands out the window while your driving and it goes up on them; it's possible they could get their hands stuck and cause serious injury.

- Williamsburg, VA, USA

problem #14

Jun 052012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
While driving down city road, I began to smell a burnt smell. I looked to my left and saw a little wisp of smoke from my driver side power window switches. I immediately stopped, shut off vehicle, popped the hood and disconnected the power to my battery. I called a friend who is a mechanic and he took out the switch cluster. Opened the cluster and saw a burnt mark on the bottom left of circuit board. It will need to be replaced. Pictures received 06/25/12 updated 06/29/2012

- Troy, NY, USA

problem #13

Oct 122011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 61,250 miles
Driver side window switch had a burning smell and the functions of the window, driver side mirror and automatic door do not work. Upon inspecting the switch it was noticed the bottom of the circuit board had melted on the left side portion.

- Pembroke, NH, USA

problem #12

Dec 232011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the main power switch in the driver side window caught fire. The contact spoke with the manufacturer and was told that the switch was no longer covered under warranty and that they would be unable to assist. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 87,000 and the current mileage was 91,000. Updated 05/08/12

- Chester, PA, USA

problem #11

Aug 232007


  • miles
Window doesn't roll down or stay up. Gas gauge broke.. engine light and catalytic converter light stays on. Handle design on door came off. Engine went out due to a pistol loose.

- Silex, MO, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?