Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.

2.4

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,900 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments

problem #14

May 272015

Trailblazer

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V404000 (visibility); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- North Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #13

Nov 242014

Trailblazer

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V404000 (visibility). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced any failure.

- Cambridge , MD, USA

problem #12

Aug 232013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
With regard to the below service bulletin, I would like to file a complaint. At approximately 106,000 miles, my 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer windshield wipers and windshield spray mechanism activated without being prompted. The spray reservoir pumped washer fluid, at an alarming rate, all over the windshield while I was on a major freeway. I had a very hard time moving to the safe lane to bring the vehicle to a stop, because I couldn't see anything. Even though the wipers were on high speed, this was not fast enough to remove the washer fluid so I could see. The wipers will not turn off unless I remove the fuse. Therefore, when it is raining and I'm driving, I have to pull off the road and insert the fuse into the fuse box to get wiper action. I completely disengaged the washer fluid reservoir because I could not get it to turn off any other way. GM, of course, fails to acknowledge that this is a problem. Mak haik Chevrolet noted that the wiper motor was malfunctioning in Dec. 2013. Service bulletin no.: 040843005B component(s): Visibility NHTSA id number: 10008492 all products associated with this service bulletin close vehicle makemodelmodel year(s) buickrainier2004-2006 chevrolettrailblazer2003-2006 gmcenvoy2003-2006 gmcenvoy XL2003-2004 gmcenvoy xuv2004 oldsmobilebravada2003-2004.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #11

Feb 282013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the windows would open and close independently. The contact mentioned that he was unable to lock or unlock the door using the electronic key fob, readjust the mirrors, or utilize the heated seat function. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the driver's side door control module was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 120,000 and the current mileage was 125,000.

- Elmhurst , IL, USA

problem #10

Feb 252012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the electronic window and door locks failed to function and a burning odor was noticed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated the front driver side door module needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 12V406000 (visibility:power window devices and controls). The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 105,000. Updated 01/30/13 updated 01/31/13

- Lutz, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #9

Mar 042012

Trailblazer

  • 96,532 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While parked, the contact depressed the door lock on the front driver's door. The contact then smelled a burning odor coming from the door. When the contact attempted to lock the door or open the window on the front driver's side, he was unable to. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic for a diagnostic test. The mechanic stated that the front driver's window switch and wiring would have to be replaced. There was an investigation under NHTSA action number: PE12003 (electrical system visibility:power window devices and controls), that may be related to the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 96,532.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #8

Apr 212012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was stopped for a safety check by Ohio state patrol and told I was driving a unsafe vehicle and it was unlawful to drive it in Ohio due to the factory tinted glass.

- Hicksville, OH, USA

problem #7

Mar 192011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The middle of March 2011 I smelt something burning. I did not see smoke. My drivers side window and control panel stopped working properly. There are several different things that have occurred over the past year. Drivers window sometimes won't roll down at all. Sometimes it will roll 1/4 and stop, sometimes it will roll all the way down. When rolling back up I have to make 1000 clicks to get back up. Remote keyless will not lock or unlock drivers side door. Mirrors can not be adjusted. Currently all 4 windows will roll down from drivers side control, but will immediately roll back up without pressing the up button. Other 3 windows will roll down from each door but will also automatically roll up without being prompted to. It's almost as if the up button is being held down constantly. My concern is that I have a child who's hand or fingers could get caught without warning, and not knowing if the windows will roll back down is concerning. I am unable to lock the other windows from being controlled by other passengers. I have checked all fuses and so far they are okay. I have taken the panel apart thinking that the connections were dirty and not making a good connections and that did not help. Updated 11/14/12 updated 11/14/2012

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #6

Apr 292011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 95,326 miles
Washer fluid sprays and windshield wipers activate when switch is not on and at times would continuously spray and wash windshield when the switch is in the off position. Now wipers will only work on high position or you can turn them on and they stop in the middle of the windshield.

- Whiteville, NC, USA

problem #5

Oct 202010

Trailblazer

  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the front driver side automatic door lock and window regulator failed to operate. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 92,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Columbia , SC, USA

problem #4

Mar 012011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. Consumer states problem with brakes and traction control light illuminating. The consumer the ABS would activate when making right turns. Several components were replaced, but the consumer continued to experience problems. The blower resistor was replaced due to it only working on high. The engine light illuminated, the fuel sensor was not working, the heat was inoperative, there were noise/creaks coming from the steering wheel when driving slow and making turns, the power windows and heated seats stopped working, the fuel gauge was inaccurate, the 4-wheel drive switch had to replaced, the seat belt was difficult to fasten, the head lights and tail lights sockets burned out, the fan for the heater and defroster stopped working, the transmission would not down shift properly and eventually had to be replaced, the ignition switch didn't always work and the key would sometimes get stuck.

- Branson, MO, USA

problem #3

Sep 042010

Trailblazer

  • 60,000 miles
In September 2010 I started having problems with my 2006 Chevy Trailblazer with the windshield wipers going all of the time. The only way I can get them to shut off or turn them back on is to take the fuse out. This is so inconvient because the fuse box is located in the backseat on the passengers side. I have to lift the seat up and remove two boxes and put in the fuse and to remove it I have to use pliers to get it out.... also my low fuel light stays on even when I have a full tank of gas so I am constantly at the gas station getting gas so that I am aways sure to have gas in my vehicle. The dealership wants to put the vehicle on diagnostic for $99 which does not go towards the cost of repairs which I can not afford because I am unemployed.. I have taken the vehicle back to the dealership I purchased it from and they indicate that it is no longer under warranty and there is nothing they can do but repair it and maybe give me 10% off of my repairs since I purchased it from them...... I see where U have many complaints on this same year and make and model.. do U have any suggestions on what can be done on this?

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #2

May 222009

Trailblazer

  • 53,745 miles
On Friday, May 22, 2009, I had my 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer serviced at the classic Chevrolet dealership in grapevine for replacement of the fuel tank sensor (which appears to be a manufacturer defect as well). At approximately 6:00 P.M., I picked up my vehicle at the dealership. When my daughter and I got into the vehicle, the air conditioning was set to the highest fan setting with the temperature set to 60 degrees. I reduced the fan setting to ¿auto¿ and raised the temperature setting to approximately 70 degrees. Less than five minutes and approximately one (1) mile from the dealership, the rear glass window of the vehicle spontaneously exploded. At the time of the incident, I was traveling approximately 15 ¿ 20 miles per hour and there was not a vehicle in front or behind me. The noise and mess scared my daughter in the back seat and luckily, the glass did land on her. I immediately pulled over the vehicle to examine the damage and check the street for any objects that may have caused the damage. Upon finding none, I returned to the dealership prior to there closing at 6:30 P.M. upon return to the dealership, the service technician offered to provide a quote the next morning for replacement of the glass, and could not provide any possible reason for the incident. Upon leaving the dealership, I returned to the scene of the incident in order to examine the area more closely for a possible clue to the reason for this occurrence. After examining the street, the shoulder of the street and surrounding area closely, there was no evidence of the glass shattering from an external object. Pieces of glass were on the street and surrounding areas up to twenty feet from the location of the incident. The next morning, I removed items stored in the rear of the vehicle and removed the broken glass, piece by piece. There was not a single object in the vehicle that could have caused the window explosion. This has occurred in other GM vehicles over the years.

- Grapevine, TX, USA

problem #1

Jun 252006

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 0 miles
I recently contact the Wisconsin dept. Of consumer protection in regard to my 2006 Chevy Trailblazer. When I purchased the vehicle I did not notice this, now obvious, engineering defect. I am @ 6'2" tall. Several months after the purchase of the 2006 Trailblazer I was almost in a near collision. I simply did not see a car at a stop sign on my right because the rearview mirror had completely blocked my vision of the vehicle before me. I then tried to adjust my seat to bring me down lower so that I could have a full panoramic view of the front windshield. The seat would not adjust to accommodate a full panoramic view of the front windshield. I have had other close calls due to this condition. I finally decided to contact the Wisconsin dept. Of consumer protection whose intervention precipitated a representative from GM to contact me. This representative has been telling me that there have been no complaints or accidents attributed to this sort of condition. This representative also stated that the 2006 Trailblazer meets all NHTSA standards. This is my question to the NHTSA. Does the NHTSA allow a vehicle to be mass produced and disseminated on all of the us roads and highways that does not allow the drivers (over 6-foot tall) to have a full panoramic view of the traffic through the front windshield? I would appreciate a response to this communiquÉ as well as copies of all records and all other data pertaining to the 2006 Trailblazer.

- Franklin, WY, USA

Not what you are looking for?