Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 35
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,558 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 4 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #109

Jul 212013


  • 163,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that while the driver's front window was open, water penetrated the door panel. The contact attempted to close the window but the controls failed to respond. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The dealer informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 13V248000 (electrical system, visibility). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 163,000.

- Elwood, IN, USA

problem #108

Jul 152013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
Blower motor was running after vehicle was turned off. Didn't discover until I smelled smoke, burning rubber smell in the garage. Had to pull fuse out to get motor to stop. Very hot and felt it may have caused fire at some point. GM dealer of course said there is no bulletin or recall, ....yet.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #107

May 012013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated his vehicle was included in NHTSA recall campaign number: 13V248000 (electrical system, visibility). The contact stated the driver's side door window and door locks were not functioning intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for the recall repair where a protective coating was applied to the driver's side door module. After the recall repair was performed the driver's side door window and locks stopped functioning completely. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the technician stated the driver's side door module wiring had to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 115,000.

- Springfield, OH, USA

problem #106

Apr 022013


  • 65,000 miles


My fuel gauge is starting to fluctuate. I just filled it up and when I go down the road it will go down at least a quarter of a tank and when I stop and let it run idle for awhile it will go back to where it was. It just started this past week. From what I am reading, it won't belong before I will have to spend another bunch of money into it. Last month I had to put a new throttle body on it because the sensors went bad and with this year the sensors are in the throttle body, so you have to buy the whole thing. As I was getting into the vehicle about a month ago, the part for the seat controls on the bottom side of the seat just busted off. Everytime it gets colder out, the stabilitrak system won't stay on. It was always off in the winter time, never worked. When living in Michigan and getting lake effect snow alot of the time, it would be nice to have it available. I will never buy another GM product. Been buying them and my family members for more than 50 years, more and more of the newer vehicles have too many problems. I don't make that much money to keep putting money into a vehicle that is supposedly reliable and take days off of work to get them fixed. No thank you.

- Hudsonville, MI, USA

problem #105

Sep 192012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 156,000 miles
I bought my 2007 Trailblazer in September 2012. I was so excited, but a few days after purchase the driver door window regulator stopped working. I contacted Chevy and they told me there were no open recalls on this yet and are continuing to tell me this. They wanted over $500 to fix the issue for me. When I looked I noticed that there are recalls on this item, but still Chevy keeps telling me there is no open recall. I am scared after reading other complaints that this could lead to a possible fire.

- Glencoe, KY, USA

problem #104

Mar 202013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 117,000 miles
Traveling at 65 mph at 9pm on a unlighted, remote highway the low beam headlights went off. The headlight switch was in the automatic position. I tried all headlight switch positions and determined that only the parking lights worked. I did not try the high beam switch. I was behind a large truck which I followed since there was no location to safely stop. I planned to follow this truck to the next town about 6 miles away. After about 4 miles the lights came back on. I had not noticed any others issues with the lights in the past. I have left the headlight switch in the automatic position all the time.

- Georgetown, TX, USA

problem #103

Nov 152012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 122,000 miles


While picking my children up from school on 11/15/2012 I smelled burning plastic, then I looked down at the drive door it was smoking really bad. I put the car and park and opened the door, a police officer was near as I was in the school zone he saw the smoke coming from my car and ask me was I okay. He turned the car off unsure if a fire was started on the inside of the door. After about an hour the smoke stopped, but my main power window and door was not working anymore. My car smelled like burning plastic for months. I was advised that the motor may have burned out and it would cost $550 to have repaired. I noticed on 01/26/2013 my gas gauge was not working. I stopped at a local gas station and filled my car up with $62 worth the gas and when I turned the car on it showed my car was on empty and the gauge light remained lit along with my engine light. So I turned the car back off and waited about 30 sec and turned it back on it stayed the same. I took it to the shop and was advised the fuel sensor was bad and I would need to have a new fuel pump put in. I bought my car on 02/27/2010 pre-owned with 76,000 miles on it, and was given a car fax report, and it was clean. I read all these reviews about the 2007 Trailblazers and it seems they all have the same issues. These issues need to be corrected as they have to be a manufacture defect.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #102

Oct 162012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 12V406000 (electrical system, visibility) but was advised that the parts needed to complete the repair would not become available until March 2013 and a second notice would be sent at that time. The contact stated that the defect was reported in August of 2012 and that a remedy should have become available before March. The contact had not experienced a failure. The current mileage was 56,000. Updated 4/24/13 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 05/16/2013

- Andover, MN, USA

problem #101

Jan 052013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 121,098 miles
I crunk the truck up to warm up when. I came back out of the house I notice a smell like electronics burning it was coming from my driver door after that the window switch never worked again.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #100

Feb 062013

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that after having the vehicle serviced under NHTSA campaign id number: 12V406000 (electrical system, visibility), the master switch on the driver's side door for the windows malfunctioned. The contact could not control the power windows or locks from the driver's side switch. The dealer stated they could not reprogram the switch for an unknown reason. The contact called the manufacturer who advised that they would not pay for any further repairs. The failure mileage was 78,000...updated 04-08-13 the consumer stated the motor control switch burned out. The dealer replaced the switch, because they were unable to reprogram it. Updated 04/23/13

- Boothwyn, PA, USA

problem #99

Aug 012012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles


Within the past 6 months, various electrical and fuel problems have emerged: The fuel gauge no longer functions at all (it always shows "empty"); the A/C works intermittently; the rear A/C and heater do not function regularly; the service engine light is always lit; odd and random issues with the stereo system occur (stations & settings randomly changing on their own, powering on/off by itself, not powering on/off as it should, & only one speaker is working at the moment); the key not releasing from the ignition; engine not turning over to start; battery dying without reason; power steering failure; alt. Gauge dropping; reduced engine power while on the highway (suddenly limiting speed to 20 mph or less); rear wiper turning on by itself; power seat malfunctioning; rough engine idle; entire instrument panel lighting up; running out of fuel while the gauge indicates that there is ample fuel in the tank; brake lamps not functioning; reduced gas mileage. On 02/25/2013, the controls on the driver's side doors stopped working; the windows will not operate or lock/unlock, the exterior mirrors will not adjust, and the locking mechanism will not work. I have brought the vehicle to the dealership for diagnostic testing at least a half dozen times, and each time no problems were detected, no explanations given, and no remedies suggested! from what I've gathered, there were recalls issued for electrical/wiring problems as well as fuel gauge problems, yet I have never received notice of any such recalls from GM!

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #98

Feb 162013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Pushed to put passenger window down and would not go up, stuck open. Evidently the window regulator broke at a part cost of about $300. Just had in for a blower problem where the blower came on while the car was just sitting in the garage with no keys or anyone in it. That was $400 some dollars. This car does not seem like it should be having these problems.

- Grand Haven, MI, USA

problem #97

Oct 082012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
Driver's door module shorted out and produced a smoky smell.

- Greenwood, IN, USA

problem #96

Apr 042012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
The windows on my 2007 Trailblazer ss are constantly (nearly daily) getting stuck in the down or up position and do not respond to the switches. The vehicle must be turned off and on several times for the computer to make the windows work again. I've been caught passing through heavy rains on the highway with windows that won't roll up without the opportunity to safely pull over and turn the vehicle on and off a dozen times to make the windows temporarily work again. It also affects the door locks from completely locking leaving my vehicle vulnerable to theft.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #95

Nov 082012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Drivers door module stopped working.

- Dundalk, MD, USA

problem #94

Jan 192013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 106,000 miles
I got into my vehicle Saturday (1-19-2013) to drive into town to do some errands. I tried to put down my driver side window and the switch would not work. I got into town and went to the store. Upon leaving the store I tried my window again and it went down 1/4 of the way and stopped. Now it is stuck 1/4 of the way down. On occasion I have smelled something that smelled like wiring getting hot but could never pinpoint the cause.

- Urbana, OH, USA

problem #93

Jun 162012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 101,512 miles
Some of the items forthcoming happen all together and/or intermittently separate. The initial issues noticeably started upon my arrive in South Carolina, but it was not something that immediately recognized before my relocation, because I thought it was something I did myself. I came out to my car on Saturday, 6/16/12. My car window was down and some items were stolen. I did not see any glass on the ground so I thought I left the window down myself and someone just stolen items. After speaking with the complex security and reporting the incident to hoa, I came out the truck again it smelled of wires burning and the window was down again. Several days later the tire pressure light was on and took the truck to get the wheels balanced and oil change at Firestone. The tire pressure light would not go out, nor did the engine and oil light go out. A few months after that the smell of wires burning happened again and the engine remained on for over 2 weeks, then went off. In the late fall there was a really bad thunderstorm and when arrived to truck after work; running in rain, I saw that my window was down and I could not get the window back up for about 5 minutes. I was soaked and so was the car. The truck received an oil change recently and all the lights would not go out and the walmart mechanic who did the oil change stated that he smelled gas and some wires burning, lights on panel would not go out. Smell of wires burning. Engine light comes on and stays on for days-then goes off by itself. All lights emergency lights on panel intermittently on (oil/traction/tire pressure). Fuel gauge shows/clicks as full, smells like gas in truck and runs out of fuel with gauge showing full. Driver's window goes down when keys are not in truck. Heating knob on off, still blowing hot or cold air and gauge does not turn on past 2. lights dim when using power button for windows.

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #92

Jan 062013


  • 85,230 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that there was a burning odor in the vehicle. The front driver's side door window and the door locks failed. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 12V406000 (electrical system) and was advised by the manufacturer that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 85,230.

- Goodyear, AZ, USA

problem #91

Oct 052011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
I purchased my 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer ls in May 2009. I initially noticed that the windows moved slowly and would moan when going up and down as well as the lights dimming simultaneously. I took it in on multiple occasions to accredited Chevy dealerships and they said nothing was wrong and it might be your battery. My driver side window occasionally would not respond and 10-20 minutes later would be active again. Finally this year October 2012 all functionality was lost from the driver side door. My driver door module burnt out and needs to be replaced. Since then I have been driving around with no operating ddm which in return affects locks, lighting, windows, mirrors etc. This is very inconvenient and I would like some answers. I don't want to have to purchase a new ddm at $500 and have it burn out again or cause a fire in some cases.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #90

Oct 292012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Came out of work 11:30 pm to find the drivers door window down on a rainy night. As I got close I could smell the elec./plastic fire smoke smell. My seat and floor were soaked from the rain. I could not put the window up and had to drive home wet. I had the dealer where I bought it check it out and was told the door module had melted from fire from a shot and was lucky the car did not burn. I have called Chevrolet assistance center about 5 times and was told I have to wait parts are not available.

- Kittery, ME, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?