CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 35
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,239 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 4 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #113

Sep 022013

Trailblazer

  • 64,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

TL - the contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the vehicle caught fire and all the doors failed to unlock. The contact stated that the back hatch window was used to insert a hose and attempt to put out the fire. The fire department was made aware of the incident and advised the contact that the fire began from the passengers master power window switch. The contact burned his arm while attempting to put out the fire meanwhile the fire department arrived. The contact was not taken to the hospital. There was a police report filed. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number:13V248000 (electrical system, visibility), however the contact did not receive the recall notice. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 64,000.

- Sayreville, NJ, USA

problem #112

Aug 282013

Trailblazer 4WD 8-cyl

  • 139,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 12V406000 (electrical system) and the contact stated that the passenger's side window continued to failed to decline. The vehicle was not repaired a second time. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 139,000.

- Ashburn , VA, USA

problem #111

Jul 302013

Trailblazer

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the power control unit failed to operate the windows. The contact was informed by the dealer that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 13V248000 (electrical system, visibility). The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 82,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Mantua, NJ, USA

problem #110

Jul 182013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 88,450 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On July 18th goldsboro Chevrolet in nc we were told could not seal that leak, because it was to far gone. So he had to order part for it, we set a date to bring back truck on July 23 2013. Then we was told they was going to use a sealant kit that he was thinking we need whole part but then he change his mind that it was not needed. We are confuse about it, because the circuit board has a mind of it on. So we do not want patch work we want a new unit, can someone please respond back to me telling us our rights, and what to do.

- Goldsboro, NC, USA

problem #109

Jul 212013

Trailblazer

  • 163,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that while the driver's front window was open, water penetrated the door panel. The contact attempted to close the window but the controls failed to respond. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The dealer informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 13V248000 (electrical system, visibility). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 163,000.

- Elwood, IN, USA

problem #108

Jul 152013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
Blower motor was running after vehicle was turned off. Didn't discover until I smelled smoke, burning rubber smell in the garage. Had to pull fuse out to get motor to stop. Very hot and felt it may have caused fire at some point. GM dealer of course said there is no bulletin or recall, ....yet.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #107

May 012013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated his vehicle was included in NHTSA recall campaign number: 13V248000 (electrical system, visibility). The contact stated the driver's side door window and door locks were not functioning intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for the recall repair where a protective coating was applied to the driver's side door module. After the recall repair was performed the driver's side door window and locks stopped functioning completely. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the technician stated the driver's side door module wiring had to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 115,000.

- Springfield, OH, USA

problem #106

Apr 022013

Trailblazer

  • 65,000 miles
My fuel gauge is starting to fluctuate. I just filled it up and when I go down the road it will go down at least a quarter of a tank and when I stop and let it run idle for awhile it will go back to where it was. It just started this past week. From what I am reading, it won't belong before I will have to spend another bunch of money into it. Last month I had to put a new throttle body on it because the sensors went bad and with this year the sensors are in the throttle body, so you have to buy the whole thing. As I was getting into the vehicle about a month ago, the part for the seat controls on the bottom side of the seat just busted off. Everytime it gets colder out, the stabilitrak system won't stay on. It was always off in the winter time, never worked. When living in Michigan and getting lake effect snow alot of the time, it would be nice to have it available. I will never buy another GM product. Been buying them and my family members for more than 50 years, more and more of the newer vehicles have too many problems. I don't make that much money to keep putting money into a vehicle that is supposedly reliable and take days off of work to get them fixed. No thank you.

- Hudsonville, MI, USA

problem #105

Sep 192012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 156,000 miles
I bought my 2007 Trailblazer in September 2012. I was so excited, but a few days after purchase the driver door window regulator stopped working. I contacted Chevy and they told me there were no open recalls on this yet and are continuing to tell me this. They wanted over $500 to fix the issue for me. When I looked I noticed that there are recalls on this item, but still Chevy keeps telling me there is no open recall. I am scared after reading other complaints that this could lead to a possible fire.

- Glencoe, KY, USA

problem #104

Mar 202013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 117,000 miles
Traveling at 65 mph at 9pm on a unlighted, remote highway the low beam headlights went off. The headlight switch was in the automatic position. I tried all headlight switch positions and determined that only the parking lights worked. I did not try the high beam switch. I was behind a large truck which I followed since there was no location to safely stop. I planned to follow this truck to the next town about 6 miles away. After about 4 miles the lights came back on. I had not noticed any others issues with the lights in the past. I have left the headlight switch in the automatic position all the time.

- Georgetown, TX, USA

problem #103

Nov 152012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 122,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While picking my children up from school on 11/15/2012 I smelled burning plastic, then I looked down at the drive door it was smoking really bad. I put the car and park and opened the door, a police officer was near as I was in the school zone he saw the smoke coming from my car and ask me was I okay. He turned the car off unsure if a fire was started on the inside of the door. After about an hour the smoke stopped, but my main power window and door was not working anymore. My car smelled like burning plastic for months. I was advised that the motor may have burned out and it would cost $550 to have repaired. I noticed on 01/26/2013 my gas gauge was not working. I stopped at a local gas station and filled my car up with $62 worth the gas and when I turned the car on it showed my car was on empty and the gauge light remained lit along with my engine light. So I turned the car back off and waited about 30 sec and turned it back on it stayed the same. I took it to the shop and was advised the fuel sensor was bad and I would need to have a new fuel pump put in. I bought my car on 02/27/2010 pre-owned with 76,000 miles on it, and was given a car fax report, and it was clean. I read all these reviews about the 2007 Trailblazers and it seems they all have the same issues. These issues need to be corrected as they have to be a manufacture defect.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #102

Oct 162012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 12V406000 (electrical system, visibility) but was advised that the parts needed to complete the repair would not become available until March 2013 and a second notice would be sent at that time. The contact stated that the defect was reported in August of 2012 and that a remedy should have become available before March. The contact had not experienced a failure. The current mileage was 56,000. Updated 4/24/13 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 05/16/2013

- Andover, MN, USA

problem #101

Jan 052013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 121,098 miles
I crunk the truck up to warm up when. I came back out of the house I notice a smell like electronics burning it was coming from my driver door after that the window switch never worked again.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #100

Feb 062013

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that after having the vehicle serviced under NHTSA campaign id number: 12V406000 (electrical system, visibility), the master switch on the driver's side door for the windows malfunctioned. The contact could not control the power windows or locks from the driver's side switch. The dealer stated they could not reprogram the switch for an unknown reason. The contact called the manufacturer who advised that they would not pay for any further repairs. The failure mileage was 78,000...updated 04-08-13 the consumer stated the motor control switch burned out. The dealer replaced the switch, because they were unable to reprogram it. Updated 04/23/13

- Boothwyn, PA, USA

problem #99

Aug 012012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
Within the past 6 months, various electrical and fuel problems have emerged: The fuel gauge no longer functions at all (it always shows "empty"); the A/C works intermittently; the rear A/C and heater do not function regularly; the service engine light is always lit; odd and random issues with the stereo system occur (stations & settings randomly changing on their own, powering on/off by itself, not powering on/off as it should, & only one speaker is working at the moment); the key not releasing from the ignition; engine not turning over to start; battery dying without reason; power steering failure; alt. Gauge dropping; reduced engine power while on the highway (suddenly limiting speed to 20 mph or less); rear wiper turning on by itself; power seat malfunctioning; rough engine idle; entire instrument panel lighting up; running out of fuel while the gauge indicates that there is ample fuel in the tank; brake lamps not functioning; reduced gas mileage. On 02/25/2013, the controls on the driver's side doors stopped working; the windows will not operate or lock/unlock, the exterior mirrors will not adjust, and the locking mechanism will not work. I have brought the vehicle to the dealership for diagnostic testing at least a half dozen times, and each time no problems were detected, no explanations given, and no remedies suggested! from what I've gathered, there were recalls issued for electrical/wiring problems as well as fuel gauge problems, yet I have never received notice of any such recalls from GM!

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #98

Feb 162013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Pushed to put passenger window down and would not go up, stuck open. Evidently the window regulator broke at a part cost of about $300. Just had in for a blower problem where the blower came on while the car was just sitting in the garage with no keys or anyone in it. That was $400 some dollars. This car does not seem like it should be having these problems.

- Grand Haven, MI, USA

problem #97

Oct 082012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
Driver's door module shorted out and produced a smoky smell.

- Greenwood, IN, USA

problem #96

Apr 042012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
The windows on my 2007 Trailblazer ss are constantly (nearly daily) getting stuck in the down or up position and do not respond to the switches. The vehicle must be turned off and on several times for the computer to make the windows work again. I've been caught passing through heavy rains on the highway with windows that won't roll up without the opportunity to safely pull over and turn the vehicle on and off a dozen times to make the windows temporarily work again. It also affects the door locks from completely locking leaving my vehicle vulnerable to theft.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #95

Nov 082012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Drivers door module stopped working.

- Dundalk, MD, USA

problem #94

Jan 192013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 106,000 miles
I got into my vehicle Saturday (1-19-2013) to drive into town to do some errands. I tried to put down my driver side window and the switch would not work. I got into town and went to the store. Upon leaving the store I tried my window again and it went down 1/4 of the way and stopped. Now it is stuck 1/4 of the way down. On occasion I have smelled something that smelled like wiring getting hot but could never pinpoint the cause.

- Urbana, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?