CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 35
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,239 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 5 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #93

Jun 162012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 101,512 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Some of the items forthcoming happen all together and/or intermittently separate. The initial issues noticeably started upon my arrive in South Carolina, but it was not something that immediately recognized before my relocation, because I thought it was something I did myself. I came out to my car on Saturday, 6/16/12. My car window was down and some items were stolen. I did not see any glass on the ground so I thought I left the window down myself and someone just stolen items. After speaking with the complex security and reporting the incident to hoa, I came out the truck again it smelled of wires burning and the window was down again. Several days later the tire pressure light was on and took the truck to get the wheels balanced and oil change at Firestone. The tire pressure light would not go out, nor did the engine and oil light go out. A few months after that the smell of wires burning happened again and the engine remained on for over 2 weeks, then went off. In the late fall there was a really bad thunderstorm and when arrived to truck after work; running in rain, I saw that my window was down and I could not get the window back up for about 5 minutes. I was soaked and so was the car. The truck received an oil change recently and all the lights would not go out and the walmart mechanic who did the oil change stated that he smelled gas and some wires burning, lights on panel would not go out. Smell of wires burning. Engine light comes on and stays on for days-then goes off by itself. All lights emergency lights on panel intermittently on (oil/traction/tire pressure). Fuel gauge shows/clicks as full, smells like gas in truck and runs out of fuel with gauge showing full. Driver's window goes down when keys are not in truck. Heating knob on off, still blowing hot or cold air and gauge does not turn on past 2. lights dim when using power button for windows.

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #92

Jan 062013

Trailblazer

  • 85,230 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that there was a burning odor in the vehicle. The front driver's side door window and the door locks failed. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 12V406000 (electrical system) and was advised by the manufacturer that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 85,230.

- Goodyear, AZ, USA

problem #91

Oct 052011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
I purchased my 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer ls in May 2009. I initially noticed that the windows moved slowly and would moan when going up and down as well as the lights dimming simultaneously. I took it in on multiple occasions to accredited Chevy dealerships and they said nothing was wrong and it might be your battery. My driver side window occasionally would not respond and 10-20 minutes later would be active again. Finally this year October 2012 all functionality was lost from the driver side door. My driver door module burnt out and needs to be replaced. Since then I have been driving around with no operating ddm which in return affects locks, lighting, windows, mirrors etc. This is very inconvenient and I would like some answers. I don't want to have to purchase a new ddm at $500 and have it burn out again or cause a fire in some cases.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #90

Oct 292012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Came out of work 11:30 pm to find the drivers door window down on a rainy night. As I got close I could smell the elec./plastic fire smoke smell. My seat and floor were soaked from the rain. I could not put the window up and had to drive home wet. I had the dealer where I bought it check it out and was told the door module had melted from fire from a shot and was lucky the car did not burn. I have called Chevrolet assistance center about 5 times and was told I have to wait parts are not available.

- Kittery, ME, USA

problem #89

Jul 262012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
Drivers side window and lock control panel does not work. Control panel for side mirrors does work. I cannot lock my doors from the drivers side or roll up/down any windows in my vehicle from the drivers side.. the passenger side window and lock control panel works, rear drivers side window control panel works, and rear passenger side window control panel works. I have had the fuses checked and they are all fine. I have a child and "liked" to keep my back windows locked for the safety of my child, now that my control panel does not work I cannot lock my windows when needed for the safety of my child. I do not have any control over the locks or windows from the drivers door. My keyless entry will unlock all passenger doors and rear hatch, but I have to manually lock the drivers door when exiting my vehicle and use my key to manually unlock the drivers door to get into my vehicle. I see many complaints about this being an issue with this make and model Chevy. Not just the complaints and issues with this problem, how about the safety of our kids having control over their windows and locks"???? when the driver should have control over window, locks ect.......per law the driver is responsible for everyone in any vehicle....how can the driver of these vehicles with this ongoing problem be in control of the locks and windows if they do not work???" this could cause minor to fatal injuries with small children including adults. This needs to be a recall on GM! updated 05/29/13 updated 05/31/2013

- Orange Park, FL, USA

problem #88

Dec 092012

Trailblazer

  • 116,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While parked, the contact smelled an electrical burning odor inside of the vehicle. He then noticed that the driver's side door module overheated and melted. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 12V406000 (electrical system) however, the contact's VIN was not included in the recall campaign. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 116,000.

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #87

Dec 042012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 118,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While on the highway the drivers side door window lowered by it's self, soon there after a strong smell of smoke, came out from the switch that controls the power locks, and windows. I immediately pulled off the road, as the control was literally sparking the window then went up on it's own and there after it did not work anymore. I have contacted GM and they stated that parts are currently not available, however they state that when they become available they will call me in the mean time they suggested that the vehicle be parked out doors since it can still catch on fire. This vehicle was purchased new and now I am stuck without a car for transportation. GM also states that these modules will not be available until January 2013...note the module literally melted.

- New York , NY, USA

problem #86

Nov 072012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 124,110 miles
Hi, the windows in my Trailblazer won't open. Then open sometimes but then close themselves. I can hear crackling inside the driver side door and the power is also surging throughout my truck, I then hear clicking. I am in Canada, not Montana, but there is a usa recall on a door module that I think is the problem. I am writing you because it wasn't disclosed to me at the time of my purchase, but my truck was bought used in the usa, brought into Canada by a dealer, it was apparently a rental at one time, and it was sold to me by southpark used lot in edmonton, ab in late 2007. This is the used car lot for don wheaton Chevy/olds, it had approximately 18,000km on it. I found out it was a rental from a Chevy salesman about 3-4 years later when I went to see about trading it in. I have had many problems with this truck and it has not been the reliable vehicle I needed with kids but I have been forced to deal with it not able to afford another. I actually bough a second car 2 years ago for $550, it's a 87 thunderbird coup LX and I have had to use this car many many times because the truck isn't working half the time and it costs me piles and piles of money, it's very stressful. I am a single parent and doing my best like everyone else just to get by. I am not asking for anything special here. I have had to pay a lot to keep this truck on the road already, I have had many issues that the Chevy dealer would not fix because they say they can't "recreate" the issues and yet I take it to a non dealer mechanic and they find the issues just fine and this is wrong because I had full warranty to pay it all. Please see recall: 12180 established this year, I would be very grateful if someone could help. We are in full swing of winter here and I need to have functioning windows and do not want to catch fire especially with someone else with me, children or grandma, please.

- Edmonton Ab, MT, USA

problem #85

Nov 062012

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the driver side window switch ignited in flames. The vehicle was not destroyed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the electrical switches had shorted out and caused the fire. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and stated that they would call him back at a later date. The failure mileage was 105,000......updated 01/14/13 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. The faulty part was replaced with O.E.M. with known failure history. The known failure is not available. Updated 1/15/2013

- Rock , MI, USA

problem #84

Oct 152012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 64,250 miles
The fuel gauge is not reading properly. After a fillup, I drove to work, when I drove home later, the gas gauge read near empty. I thought someone stole gas from my tank. I get off work at midnight and live in a rural area, so I was very worried about running out of gas before I got home. (there are no gas stations on my route). Next day I got a can of gas to fill the tank enough to get me to a station, and I found the tank to be full. Since then the gauge has been fluctuating between half full and empty activating the low fuel warning light. This is very unnerving and I won't let my wife drive it now. Asked about this problem at a repair shop and they told me this is common and GM will pay half repair cost. Contacted Chevrolet and the help line confirmed they have a program to fix this problem at half price. If this is such a common problem, why should I have to pay anything to get repairs done when they are admitting it is defective?.

- Swan Lake, NY, USA

problem #83

Jul 182012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driver side door and window switch module failed incremently starting with the windows then door and window locks.this failure occurred over a period of approximately week, ending with a complete failure of the switch module. At around the same time the fuel gauge began to show empty after filling up along with the low fuel light. The window switch's on the other doors remain operational. I believe this to be a safety issue, as the driver has no control of doors or windows with children in the vehicle. Chevy dealer says this window switch is 426 dollars plus labor and the fuel gauge problem is another 450 dollars. From what I gather this is a common problem with the trail Blazer with no offer by GM to replace known defective parts. There were no fires or injuries.

- Trinity, TX, USA

problem #82

Aug 292012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
While driving at 45 mph (foot not on the gas, going downhill) the vehicle lost all power. Was approaching a stoplight and brake to stop. After truck came to full stop due to me braking for light anyhow, brake pedal became hard, unable to push down or pump. Stopped at traffic light not knowing what happened since gas tank was full, I shut key (truck) off, and on waited till light turned green, it restarted on the first attempt thank goodness. Why the complete powerfailure while driving at 45 mph, I have heard this could be onstar related, even though I am not signed up as a customer, if a Trailblazer 07 is stolen or in an accident, I heard the onstar features confusion w/ satellite and causes them all to shut down. Don't know if this is true, but something went way wrong, luckily no one was hurt or I'd be suing bigtime. Today is 10-12-12, yesterday got a recall notice in the mail for door/windows/locks problem. They will fix for free however no parts to replace are currently available, really"?" wow.

- South Bend, IN, USA

problem #81

Sep 212012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
The power locks & windows control sometimes does not wanna work on the drivers side. The lights on the that buttons on the driver door panel are not on at when this happens. Usually you can turn the car off then back on and it will work again. I have a feeling there is some sort of shortage.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #80

Oct 082012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
Got in the Trailblazer today and it smelled like an electrical fire. None of the door switches are working. Lo and behold I came to this website to find that my vehicle had a recall for this very problem, posted in August. I called Chevy to have it fixed and they know nothing of the recall.

- Leicester, MA, USA

problem #79

Jan 012012

Trailblazer

  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the driver's door and window failed. The driver's door could not be unlocked automatically and the door would only open manually. In addition, the window could not be opened. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and advised that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number:12V40600 (electrical system). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 56,000 and the current mileage was 62,000.

- Fridley , MN, USA

problem #78

Aug 142012

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the circuit S on the driver's side door burned out. The contact referenced NHTSA recall campaign id number: 12V406000 (electrical system) for the circuit board, but the manufacturer advised the contact that the vehicle was not included in the recall campaign. The failure and the current mileages were 72,000...updated 11/14/12 the consumer received a recall notice from Chevy at the beginning of October 2012. However, the letter indicates parts aren't available yet. The consumer will be notified when they become available. Updated 11/19/2012

- Duncanville, PA, USA

problem #77

Feb 072011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
The driver side window switch burned up and melted inside while vehicle was unattended. The window switch is now inoperable. Updated 10/19/12 updated 10/23/2012

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #76

Jun 232011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
My husband was driving with the whole family in the car, it was raining that morning and only a minute into our drive, the drivers door window rolled down by itself...he pushed the switch for the window to go back up..the window went back up and not even 30seconds later it rolled down again on its own...at about the same time smoke started billowing out of the drivers door, the smoke filled the car, it smelled like an electrical fire. We were only a block from home so we took the car home, pulled the interior from the door where we discovered the switches that control the locks, windows, and side mirrors were all melted and still smoking...we disconnected all the switches and are without use of any drivers door electrical switches. Updated 10/03/12 updated 10/04/2012

- Davenport, IA, USA

problem #75

Aug 272012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 145,352 miles
The power window switch in the drivers side door was melting and extremely hot to the touch. The switch burned out and we had to remove it to prevent a potential fire. I telephoned GM about it as there had been a recall on my year and model of car but I was told my car didn't fall into the recall. Clearly I have the same issue that was reported by others and this has been an issue with that switch since I owned the vehicle. It would stop working then come back on. I took it to them once before but the switch was working so they said there was no issue. Updated 10/24/12 updated 10/26/2012

- Spring Lake , NC, USA

problem #74

Sep 122012

Trailblazer

  • 76,450 miles
Car has a delay in starting. Starts to turn over, but sounds like its trying too hard. Once started the clock resets to 1200 and the check engine light was on. When the dealership checked for a code the only thing that came up had to do with the gas cap not being on tight. It has been happening with more frequency regardless of how tight the gas cap is. Check engine light is no longer coming on. Battery gauge is where it should be once it starts and does not drain. Wondering if it could possible be a faulty ignition switch, but the dealership won't attempt a fix as they cannot get the problem to duplicate.

- East Jordan, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?