Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 35
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,832 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 6 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #70

Sep 042012

Trailblazer

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the driver side door started to smoke. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer was notified.the vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #69

Aug 302012

Trailblazer

  • 107,000 miles
The window and lock controls stopped working, and we smelled something burnt. My husband took apart the piece, to find the part had caught on fire or smoke or something. A big hole with melted plastic. This had to have happened overnight. Everything was working fine yesterday, and when we went to get in the car today is when we noticed the problem.

- Hartford, MI, USA

problem #68

Aug 272012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
My Trailblazer was parked in the morning. When I approached my car to go home after work, I found that the driver side window was lowered. I entered my car and noticed a burning smell. I opened the window module and found that the driver's side power window switch was burned. I tried to buy the window module via online and found that there is an investigation going on by NHTSA.

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #67

Aug 252012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 148,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Just got home and it was raining. I hurried up and got out of my driver door. About 15 minutes later after the rain stopped got back in my Trailblazer and noticed a burning electrical smell, and that my power locks and windows would not work. When I took of the top panel for the master window I saw that it had burned the panel and even some of the door.

- Lafyatte, LA, USA

problem #66

Jan 302012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
When I started my car, I went to turn the ac on and there was beeping and the emergency brake, ABS/stability, and a few other instrument panel lights come on. The overhead interior light comes on as well and the air will not blow out. The only way to get this to stop is to turn the A/C off or either turn it up to the highest level (5). If it is on 5 and I try to turn it down, the beeping starts and the lights come on. Sometimes it will just happen randomly even if I don't touch the air. Once while I was on the interstate doing 75 mph, it randomly happened and my car stalled and slowed down as if it were cutting off which scared me so badly because if my car had cut off I could have been in a serious accident, or even with it slowing down the way it did. My foot was on the gas driving and the car just started slowing out of nowhere. Also, the air bag light has come on and will not go off and the air bag has never been deployed. I love my truck so much, but am considering getting rid of it if I cannot get any assistance with getting it fixed because of my concern for my family's safety as well as other drivers on the road.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #65

Jul 072012

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
Driver noticed smoke and burning electrical/plastic smell coming from the driver door in the area of the door and window buttons. Stopped at a service station and had the mechanic look at it. He pulled out the driver control module and said it had started to burn. The top and side of the unit was melted. This rendered all of the buttons inoperable. The door control unit was left out of the door to minimize further risk. Updated 9/13/12

- Wytheville, VA, USA

problem #64

Jul 172011

Trailblazer 8-cyl

  • 29,570 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The fuel gauge level indicator just went from "full" to "empty", it just went that fast. Minutes before it had just been filled at the gas station. When starting, the gauge rises then falls to empty. On occasions the warning message, "please tighten gas cap" comes on. Now months later, same problem; after contacting "GM" hotline, they still have not shown any concern. I keep track of miles driven since last fill-up and gas used, so I know when it is time to fill-up. I have read many same complaints, and I wonder why "GM" has not issued a recall. It is now 08/21/2012 and problem is still ongoing. Can you please help. Please. "GM" has on numerous occasions suggested that the wire harness on top of the gas tank needs to be replaced, to do so, requires a five (5) hour visit and they expect the customer to pay half the cost. Please help.

- Albany , GA, USA

problem #63

Jul 122012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
During a heavy rain, opened door and inside of door panel was soaked after it was done raining I dried off door panel and window would not work I was told that a module may have gotten wet. Updated 09/05/12 pictures received 09/05/12

- Plantation, FL, USA

problem #62

Oct 082011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 56,900 miles
Intermittently the power locks, windows and auxiliary power would work and not work. After a few weeks of the 'work, not work' it just plain failed to work. Updated 09/07/12 repair orders received. Updated 09/11/12

- Whitewater , WI, USA

problem #61

Jul 072012

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
Vehicle was parked with all doors locked and the vehicle not running. The remote unlock button was engaged and all doors unlocked with the exception of the driver door. The remote unlock was engaged 3 to 4 more times. The door was manually unlocked from passenger's side. When the door was opened, smoke was pouring out of the inside. We poured available liquids down the window slot but smoke was still pouring out. While my spouse went inside the business where we were parked to grab a pitcher of water, I jerked the plastic oval piece around the inside door handle off and saw flames. He returned with the pitcher and we poured the water down the open hole at the door handle and finally managed to extinguish the flames. We drove the vehicle home but none of the door functions worked at all. It is going to cost me approximately $600 to fix this issue. I have been afraid to drive my Trailblazer since that time. Also the fuel gauge quit working about 3 months ago. We finally fixed that issue today. The next issue to repair after the door is the heat/air actuator as the air conditioning no longer comes thru my air conditioning vents... updated 08-27-12 the consumer also stated the fuel gauge stopped working. Updated 08/28/12

- Westmoreland, TN, USA

problem #60

Aug 032012

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 46,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We were on vacation and we were getting ready to leave and we tried to unlock doors to enter vehicle and all doors except the driver door unlocked. A passenger leaned over to unlock the driver door and hit the driver window down switch. The key was not in the ignition. A burning smell was noticed and the driver door was completely dead. We were able to open the door and drive the vehicle. When I returned home I popped out the driver door module and noticed that the plastic case was melted. I opened the unit and noticed that a wiring harness connecting the 2 printed circuit boards was completely burned. Luckily this did not cause a major fire. Updated 12/27/12 updated 12/31/2012

- Orland Park, IL, USA

problem #59

Jul 312012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
Driver's side door switch panel had an electrical fire (smoke only, no visible flames) while in motion. Driver side window operated without driver's touch, smoke from electrical fire inside of door came thru seams of the interior finish panels. Fire did not spread however no controls on the panel work anymore.

- Franklin, MA, USA

problem #58

Jul 132010

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
On vacation with my family last summer the windows upon entering the vehicle started to go up and down all by themselves. It almost caught my sons arm inside of it. After a few minutes the windows stopped and remained down. We couldn't get them to go back up for a few hours and had to leave them down overnight. The next morning my husband went out, turned the key, pushed the buttons and they all went back up. He told us not to touch the windows just in case weren't able to get them back up. Once we returned from vacation I took it to a suggested mechanic as per my warranty company. They diagnosed it as the master window switch, the gentlemen told me that they are about 2-3 hundred dollars and are not covered under warranty, imagine that!well I paid the gentlemen for his time and have been without windows for over a year now because I make my 500 payment every month and do not have the extra money not only for the part but then for labor and to have it programmed by an authorized dealer. Now I see that this is a common problem with this year Trailblazer, are we waiting for someone to die before we issue a recall? I sent an email to GM about it and they did contact me, what they said is to once again have it diagnosed at an authorized GM dealer (ok more $) then they would look at the report and if they ok it I would then be reimbursed for everything (ok good one) I just had it diagnosed and still have the report but I need to get another one, come on people I don't make your salary and have 2 kids to support!. so I took it, well when I talked to the GM dealer they said just to look at it will be about 100 so I cancelled the appointment. That is very sad that GM would knowingly let this go on with out offering to fix the problem. I will never buy another GM motors vehicle in my life, sad to say that I will be buying not made in the usa vehicles from here on out. Updated 8/22/12

- Freeland , PA, USA

problem #57

Jul 022012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
The power window, side view mirrors power seat and power door locks stopped working. Took it to a private mechanic and the wires have melted. The module cost me $385 plus another $110 to program the module. I also have a problem with the gas gauge, it tells me that I have low fuel but even when I fill the car up, it still tells me that I have low fuel.

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #56

Jul 172012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 117,640 miles
Vehicle was parked for the evening, turned off, no key in ignition, and unattended. Driver door module worked fine the previous day. The next morning, no parts of the module worked. Upon investigation, we discovered that the left side of the module by the driver window button had a burn spot on it and smelled like an electrical fire. The dealer quoted the part only price as over $300. Updated 7/31/12 the dealer replaced the door lock module. Updated 08/01/12

- Port Gibson, MS, USA

problem #55

Jun 042012

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 54,020 miles
Left front window went to the down position by itself, while unattended, and burned the window switch/module, burned wiring. Updated 07/11/12 the dealer found the front door module/switch had shorted out. Updated 07/12/12 updated 10/10/12 updated 10/10/2012

- Saegertown, PA, USA

problem #54

Jun 092012

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 28,737 miles
Fuel sender stopped working only shows below empty. Checked many other sites found many have stopped working this must be a recall on this part.

- Yorktown Heights, NY, USA

problem #53

May 142012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While sitting in the vehicle. The contact noticed that the master switch began burning. After examining the switch the contact stated the inside of the switch had also burned. The vehicle failure was not diagnosed by a dealer nor had it been repaired. The current and failure mileage was 83,000. Pictures received 06/21/12

- Hoover, AL, USA

problem #52

May 122012

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 61,350 miles
Driver side window controller melted....updated 08-03-12 updated 08/09/2012

- Newfoundland, PA, USA

problem #51

Nov 012011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
I noticed months ago that the lights weren't working on the power windows switches on the driver's side of the truck. I have definitely noticed some odd smells (burning/melting/plastic/chemical) that I was never sure where they were coming from. Before the issues with the lights, which was probably around the beginning of November, the one touch window opening control button (all the way down with only one touch instead of holding the window button) stopped functioning, the window would stall in the middle of either closing it or opening it and when it didn"T stall and closing/opening was successful it would be very, very, very, very, very slow. The window in my truck is now dead. It will not operate at all. I went to try to shut it Monday night and it wouldn?T shut, there is about 2-3 inches of space where the window is down. There is no power to any of my window controls, or to my power locks on the driver?S side. While doing some research on this issue I came upon this site where others had listed very similar problems. I also understand that this is currently under investigation to see if a recall is warranted. Given that this is a very well known problem, what recourse is there for the unsuspecting consumer" I purchased this vehicle less than 1 year ago as a used vehicle.

- Raymond, NH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?