Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 4
Average Mileage:
61,300 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments

problem #9

Feb 272016

Trailblazer

  • 131,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This issue occurred about 6-7 times throughout my 15 mile trip. My travel was on a highway and speeds were between 55-68 M.P.H. at the onset of each occurrence. I would hit a bump in the road (not a major one ¿ just a bump) and then the 'stabilitrak active¿ light would be illuminated in the dash continuously blinking like it's stuck. Then: -the truck would become sluggish dropping speed and knocking off the cruise control -you can¿T accelerate -the steering locks up sort of causing it to feel like the truck is out of control, this occurring at highway speeds -the amount of power used by stabilitrak was immense ¿ the headlights began to dim the longer it was stuck in this state -if you try braking during these spells it has the anti-lock active so you¿re just grinding away like you¿re in a skid but not stopping (and this is on dry pavement!) -- this occurred one time while I was on an exit ramp and and I was unable to slow thankfully I had taken the ramp a little slower to begin with or I could have been in major trouble in the curve then suddenly as quick as it all started it releases ¿ the light shuts off and all returns to normal.

- Eagan, MN, USA

problem #8

Mar 102014

Trailblazer

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated while driving approximately 40 mph, the entire instrument panel illuminated and the vehicle suddendly accelerated. The contact mentioned that the failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who repaired the vehicle however, the replacement parts were unknown. The repair failed to remedy the issue. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #7

Aug 102011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 74,200 miles
Fuel gauge started fluctuating between full and empty, now it just stays on empty. 09-09-2011 with car in park the idle sometimes goes up to 2100 rpms then will go as low as 600 rpms, recently as of 09-16-2011 I have been noticing a fluctuation in speed on its own or without my assistance.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #6

Mar 132011

Trailblazer

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the driver was traveling at an unknown speed when the vehicle abnormally accelerated and crashed into a concrete wall. There were four occupants in the vehicle, all of which were killed. A police report was filed. The black box was investigated and the investigating officer determined that vehicle accelerated but the driver did not apply the brakes during the failure. The contact stated that there were black tire marks at the scene of the crash, indicating that the brakes were depressed. The contact discovered numerous complaints online regarding the same acceleration failure for the year, make and model vehicle. The contact stated that he did not believe that the driver would have driven and crashed into a concrete wall without there being a vehicle malfunction. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #5

Oct 052010

Trailblazer

  • 52,000 miles
Driving 40 mph in city traffic, approaching stopped traffic. Brakes start to lock up. While completely stopped the brakes are locked, the pedal will not compress. When apply gas, the car does not go forward. I had to put the car in park, turn off the car, and then start it and put back into drive for it to work.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #4

Sep 022010

Trailblazer

  • 35,000 miles
2wd 2007 Trailblazer super sport goes wide open throttle after start up and selecting reverse. This is with foot on brake to shift and no throttle applied or touched since start up. Vehicle was in a parking lot. Engine went full throttle and smoked rear wheels just after selecting reverse. This dragged the front wheels backwards a short distance with the front brakes locked up. Shifting to neutral had the engine go over the 6500 RPM redline ignoring all PCM programmed rev limiters. (rev limiters: 4000 RPM in neutral and 6500 RPM in gear.) dealer found dtc U1017 loss of serial communications for class 2 devices. I know of 4 other 2007 Trailblazer super sport that have randomly gone wide open throttle. This is an additional problem since complaint number : 10269455 throttle hang up - not always returning to idle power.

- Fountain Hills, AZ, USA

problem #3

Aug 152009

Trailblazer

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Check engine lightstarted coming on, then the stabil-trax and the engine deceleration light started coming on. When this started, the engine would shut down every time the lights came on.at first it was at intervals of 40 to 140 miles. Whenever the engine first started this, you could shut the ignition off for 1-2 min., then the vehicle could be started and driven until the lights came on. Dotson Chevrolet, in big sonne gap, va. ( where we bought vehicle), has had the vehicle off and on for 6 weeks. They have changed the sending unit in the fuel tank, and the PCM module on the engine so far. As of today, 10-19-09 the vehicle is now shutting down at 8-10 miles. They say they are still checking, but now they are thinking the problem may be in the wiring. So far, we have luckily been driving in light traffic, where we were able to get out traffic to the side of the road, without any problem. If this problem occurs on the interstate of in heavy traffic, it could cause a serious accident. The dealer says the have been in contact with GM about the problem. I would have thought that GM would have tech people, of engineers that would know why the codes and lights don't correspond when this occurs, or would have some idea what might cause such a problem.

- Neon, KY, USA

problem #2

Jan 202007

Trailblazer

  • miles
When I have the truck moving it doesn't matter what speed the throttle body stays open making it very hard to come to a stop. Feels like the engine is fighting me to stop.

- Maspeth, NY, USA

problem #1

Jun 302008

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving approximately 25 mph on normal road conditions, there was a low power response when the accelerator pedal was depressed. Immediately, the vehicle accelerated unexpectedly. The traction warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel and remained lit until the engine was turned off. The vehicle was taken to the authorized dealer for inspection and they stated that the failure was related to the throttle body freezing. The throttle body was replaced. The failure recurred and the throttle body was replaced again. The failure mileage was 21,000 and current mileage was 35,950. Updated 1/8/09 the trac light illuminated, the right front window would not roll up. Updated 01/14/09.

- Grand Forks , ND, USA

Not what you are looking for?