Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,804 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 3 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #174

Nov 082011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles


The first time I noticed there was a problem with the fuel gauge sensor in my '07 Trailblazer, I had about 1/3 of a tank of gas when I parked and turned the engine off to go into a store. When I started the engine again, the fuel gauge went to empty and the low-fuel light came on. I went to fill the tank and only needed about 11 gallons, which is when I confirmed the gauge was wrong. The gauge continued to show empty and has ever since. I am now doing my best to keep track of fuel by estimating usage based on the miles driven after each fill-up. I've been reading up on the recall and I'm outraged that GM is still only offering to pay for half of the repair costs if done at a dealer, which, by the way is why I haven't had this repair done yet. I've read in some cases there have been estimated costs between $700 and $1200. So if GM is only going to pay half of the cost, I'm looking at potentially $600 or so to repair something that GM has admitted is a problem. I cannot afford this repair, and I hope that I am able to keep track of my gas based on mileage so I never run out of gas, especially with my two young children in the vehicle. I also don't believe I or any other vehicle owner should have to pay for something that has been recalled by the manufacturer. GM should accept responsibility if they want to keep their loyal customers happy and keep them coming back. Is there any help out there for people in my situation" I know the recall was issued, I know GM has only offered to pay half of the cost, but what about people who cannot afford this additional expense" I know there are many.

- Cranford, NJ, USA

problem #173

Jun 012011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 52,408 miles
Fuel gauge in 2007 Chevy Trailblazer began fluctuating from proper fuel level reading to empty at around 50,000 miles. After about 2 weeks of this, fuel gauge failed altogether and now consistently reads empty regardless of fuel level in tank, which indicates a failure of the fuel sensing unit. Received a letter from GM stating 1/2 of repair costs would be covered by manufacturer, however due to the fact this problem appears so common and widespread, it is apparent the NHTSA needs to issue a recall on this problem. We are driving the vehicle based on the trip odometer and my husband has run out of gas twice as this is not a reliable way to estimate the amount of fuel in the tank. Both times he was on his way to work and on heavily traveled roads. This in itself created a safety hazard.

- Marion, OH, USA

problem #172

Nov 052011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
Approximately a month ago my low fuel indicator light came on and my fuel gauge reflected empty despite filling up my gas tank just hours earlier. Since that time this has kept happening and seems to always indicate an empty tank despite the fact that it is incorrect. Evidently this issue is very common with my vehicle and I feel that it needs to be documented. This is a huge safety concern due to the fact that I am never sure exactly how much fuel that I have in my vehicle. After calling the dealership I was told that this is an approximate $400 total repair. GM stated that they will pay for 1/2, however this is still a large out of pocket expense. They also stated that I will only get the 1/2 off as long as I bring my vehicle to the dealership. GM should have issued a 100% total recall on this component since its so widespread. I have no alternative but to pay for this repair at their dealership.

- Carrollton, TX, USA

problem #171

Aug 242010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles


Gas gauge does not work. Reads empty even after vehicle is filled with fuel. Check engine is always on because of gauge problem.

- Santee, CA, USA

problem #170

Nov 272011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 62,300 miles
The first time the tank read empty was on November 23, 2011 when there was about 1/4 a tank of gas in the vehicle. The gauge went back and forth between empty and just over making the light and noise come on. Today November 27, 2011 it came on after fueling a little over 9 gallons of gas in the vehicle. I pulled over to the side of the road to see if turning the car off an restarting the vehicle would reset it, it didn't work. We continued on with the light on and did what we needed to do. We went to the gas station and filled the tank the rest of the way and it still showed empty with the light coming on.

- Virginia, IL, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #169

Mar 182010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
I have experienced problems with my 2007 Chevy Trailblazer since I purchased this car. The transmission messed up originally and now I am having problems with my gas gauge indicator. This recent problem started last year 2010. The levels were reading inaccurately at that time and seemed to have repaired itself. The beginning of this year, the indicators stopped working again. I never know how much gas is in my truck and I am paranoid and constantly going to the store to add more gas. I am understanding that this appears to be a problem with the majority of Chevy vehicles and GM actually knows that the problem exist and has done absolutely nothing to help the millions of loyal customers that purchased these cars. There is no reason that this all should be happening to my vehicle that I purchased brand new; so I am the original and only owner. Is there any help for the consumers that have purchased GM vehicles. I could see if this was a problem with one line of vehicles manufactured by GM but this problem appears to be all across the board. I have run out of gas numerous of times because I never know how much gas is in this vehicle. This is absolutely insane that GM can scam millions of customers and not fix a known problem.

- Mcdonough, GA, USA

problem #168

Nov 012011


  • miles


The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated the fuel gauge was providing inaccurate fuel levels. The contact stated that when refueling, the fuel gauge would read accurately but would fail after several moments after driving. The dealer was contacted and advised that the fuel sensor failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unknown. The VIN was not available.

- West Bloomfield, MI, USA

problem #167

Oct 242011


  • 42,000 miles
Fuel gauge when driving will show inaccurate gas level. Drops down to empty a lot after you pumped. Gas will fill up after pump on gage, but almost close to half when driving will go down and hit empty when gas is in vehicle.

- West Bloomfield, MI, USA

problem #166

Nov 012011


  • 46,000 miles
Fuel gauge not working properly.

- Lansing, MI, USA

problem #165

Nov 012011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 47,800 miles
The gas gauge was showing that the tank was empty although it had been filled less than 100 miles earlier. When I filled the tank right after the light went on - I was only able to put 8 gallons of gas in it. The gauge then would move from empty with the warning light coming on to half full and back down during the trip immediately following the fill up. Once the vehicle was started the following morning, the gauge went to full but shortly after went back to empty. Now it continues to read inconsistently every trip moving back and forth between full and empty and other times remaining on empty with the warning light on for an entire trip.

- Hoffman Estates, IL, USA

problem #164

Mar 102011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 28,000 miles


Fuel sender failed 8 months ago resulting in the gas gauge always on empty. Chevy just sent out a courtesy letter advising they would pay for half the repair. I found 1000's of cases out there for the same issue with the same make and model vehicle. To me, this is a large scale problem that Chevy should repair at no cost to their customers. Very disappointing. Chevy vehicles used to be rough and tough like their slogan "like a rock", but these days with all these costly problems, it's only fitting that they changed it to "Chevy runs deep" in your pockets....:-( my larger concern is that we already ran out of gas once with our two kids in the car on the tollway with 75mph speed limit. Very dangerous and a serious problem that Chevy needs to fix!

- Thornton, CO, USA

problem #163

Dec 212010


  • 36,000 miles
Fuel gauge stated I had enough fuel and I ran out of gas. It happened again just 2 months ago and I received a letter from GM telling me this might happen and that they will cover 50% of the cost. That's not good enough, I see complaints all over the internet. This needs to be a recall!!!!

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #162

Jun 012011


  • miles
Fuel gauge began giving an inaccurate reading and eventually stopped working altogether.

- Bennington, NH, USA

problem #161

Oct 172011


  • 68,117 miles
I would like to add my complaints about the 2007 Chevy Trailblazer fuel sensor issues. The gas gauge when I bought the vehicle at about 55,000 miles worked but not accurately over the last few months the sensor has stopped working all together and constantly shows an empty tank. I generally by gas twice a week to limit the possibility of running out and was actually on my way to the gas station when the vehicle ran out of gas while I was on a highway. To me that is a danger to myself and other drivers and the more that I have researched the issue I see that it appears to be a common one that I would feel the NHTSA would be justified in issuing a recall notice for. Thanks.

- Derby, KS, USA

problem #160

Sep 232010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 36,202 miles
Fuel level sensor doesn't register correct amount of fuel. Stalled in traffic in middle lane of 6 lane highway. Chevrolet has admitted problem with "some" vehicles. I feel this is more widespread than has been admitted. Chevrolet should recall and replace at no cost to consumer.

- Greensburg, PA, USA

problem #159

Oct 012009

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that after refueling, she noticed that the fuel gauge would read empty. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they advised her that the fuel level sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they advised her that they would take the liability for fifty percent of the repair costs. The failure mileage was approximately 40,000. Updated 11/16/11 the consumer stated the vehicle stalled periodically, due to low reading of fuel after filling the gas tank. Updated 11/18/11

- Grand Ledge , MI, USA

problem #158

Sep 012011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 36,500 miles
With a full tank of gas the fuel gauge stopped working and now reads empty all the time. The check engine light comes on and off depending on how much fuel is in the tank.this Trailblazer had only 36,500 miles on it when this started. I believe the dealer should pay for all the repairs as this is a safety hazard.

- Derby, NY, USA

problem #157

Sep 012008

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
Gas gauge does not function properly and drops to empty when there is gas in the tank. Passenger side window does not go up and down. Vehicle has been back to the dealership twice for electrical issues-dashboard and radio lights go on and off. Problem was repaired in 2009 but is now re-occuring.

- Swansea, MA, USA

problem #156

Jun 272011


  • miles
Fuel gauge indicator misrepresents actual fuel in tank. Begins to decline after 10 minutes of driving. There is a problem with the sensor. GM needs to recall and fix this feature in my 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer.

- Wayne, NJ, USA

problem #155

Sep 122011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
I received a letter advising me of the possibility of the fuel sensor in my 2007 Chevy Trailblazer malfunctioning. About one week prior to receiving the notice, the fuel gauge began falling to empty and the low fuel warning sounding, even when I had just filled the tank. The letter advises that GM will only cover half of the repair cost. Obviously, this was a problem with the vehicle when I purchased it new and I see no reason why GM should not be responsible for the entire cost of the repair. Also, why has there been no recall for this problem?

- Irving, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?