Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.

1.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
108,897 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #45

Oct 152014

Trailblazer

  • 101,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving 30 mph, the headlights failed without warning. The contact stated that the failure was intermittent. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V519000 (exterior lighting). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 101,000.

- Talahassee, FL, USA

problem #44

Jun 152015

Trailblazer

  • 100,000 miles
While driving at any speed the headlights go out and the high beams have to be used in order to see safely. This is very dangerous and unsafe thus can cause an accident. I understand there is a recall on this but our cars VIN number is not included in the recall. Why would other VIN numbers with the same problem have a recall and ours does not" isn't it just as unsafe for us as it is for them" this has been going on for months and none of the garage mechanics can seem to find the problem. We have been very diligent with all maintenance items and would like to keep our car so any help you can give us would be greatly appreciated. We have no specific date this started but I am using the middle of June 2015. This seems to be happening more and more frequently.

- Columbia, PA, USA

problem #43

Oct 242015

Trailblazer

  • 60,000 miles
The low beam headlights will go out (off) without our doing anything. One occasion occurred on I-4 West bound from orlando. Have read of other people having the same problem., yet no recall. Do accidents and injuries have to happen before action is taken.? it is occurring more frequently than before and will happen under any conditions. Has been occurring for a couple years.

- Clearwater, FL, USA

problem #42

Oct 262015

Trailblazer

  • 146,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving my headlights will quit working and cease to turn on until after sitting for a few hours. After driving and and parking, sometimes the headlights will fail to turn on after starting vehicle. My headlights are having the very same issues as mentioned in GM recall 14291 where issues with the headlamp driver module (hdm) overheat and fail, causing the headlamps and daytime running lights to then fail and not illuminate. I contacted Chevrolet and they refused to cover the issue under the recall stating it is VIN specific and my VIN was not under recall. This issue has been occurring for several months and is very dangerous.

- Hendersonville, TN, USA

problem #41

Oct 082015

Trailblazer

  • 160,000 miles
Headlights go out occasionly while driving at night. It does not happen all the time. Looks to me exactly like recall 14V755000 / GM # 14291. GM says it could not be that because my Trailblazer does not have those parts that they know are defective? I am skeptical. Where it asks for date this happened I put the last date it occurred.

- Montreal, MO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #40

Sep 252015

Trailblazer

  • 71,001 miles
While driving on the inter state at 8;30 pm both the low beam headlights failed I moved the light switch from auto to manual with no affect. The fog lights and high beam lights continued to work. However using the high on the interstate could affect on coming drivers so where the highway was lighted I used the fog light. Got home off interstate using high beams. Next morning the daytime lights and low beams working however shortly after driving to store the lights again were not operative stopped at pep boys and asked them about it and they said they could make sure bulbs were okay but normally both bulbs don't fail at the same. Later in the afternoon tried lights and both daytime and low beams worked. A friend told me GM was having trouble with 2006 and 2007 trail Blazer with the light just shutting off and a module was believed to be problem. Apparently GM has known about this problem and was suppose to recall the vehicles yet they did not warn anyone one about this issues however people with earlier trail Blazer have been having problems also. Even if GM is trying to decide on a recall fix they and the government should mandate that they at least warn the vehicle owners and tell him how to fix the problem. I have have not received any notices about the low beam lights as a point of reference my lights failed on an over pass down ramp and caught me totally by surprise thank god it was not a two lane secondary road with on coming traffic. Its time to force GM to deal with the problem. I am taking car to the local dealer to see how they deal with it. I have also seen on the internet you can get a module at local auto parts store I am looking into this tomorrow since I live in Florida and soon it will be dark at 5 O"clock and I will be constantly driving home in dark on the interstate.

- Oviedo, FL, USA

problem #39

Sep 142015

Trailblazer

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer had low beam headlights not working when I turn them on. I have to drive at night with high beam lights (they work fine) and I am very annoying to other drivers. I had vehicle checked out and fuses and light bulbs appear fine. I understand this is a common occurrence. I need it fixed.

- Kuna, ID, USA

problem #38

Sep 142015

Trailblazer

  • 108,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving 25 mph, the low beam head lamps failed to function. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the head lamp module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was aware of NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting); however, the VIN was not included. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 108,000.

- Conway , MO, USA

problem #37

Sep 012015

Trailblazer

  • 103,500 miles
Solid state relay module for low beam - high beam headlights. When driving at night, both low beam headlights went out at the same time. Was able to switch to high beams to continue home, but not without blinding other vehicles. Replaced the solid state relay at a local autozone store. This relay is a single point failure, which an un-experienced driver could have had a possible accident if the person did not know what to do quickly in a calm manner.

- Hamburg, NY, USA

problem #36

Aug 262015

Trailblazer

  • 78,505 miles
At approximately 9:00 pm I was traveling on a rural road at highway speeds and suddenly my headlights went out. The headlamps were on low-beam at the time. I checked the headlight switch and it was in the proper position. I switched the headlights to high-beam and the lights came back on. I researched the issue and it appears that a 'headlight driver module' is to blame. This module appears to be a significant source of failure. This is a terrible design flaw. Something as important as headlights should not be subject to such a poor quality device. I would like to see no devices between the battery and the headlight switch and the headlight switch and the lights.

- Fredericksburg, TX, USA

problem #35

Aug 312015

Trailblazer

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced intermittent failure of the front head lamp. The failure was experienced on several occasions. The vehicle was diagnosed that the head lamp driver module failed. The vehicle was not included in the NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 89,000.

- Chesterfield, MI, USA

problem #34

Aug 252015

Trailblazer

  • 184,000 miles
I got into my car to go somewhere and noticed that my lights did not appear to be on. I got out of my car to verify that they were not on and realized that indeed they had not come on. Tried turning on my light to auto and they still did not come on.

- Lonoke, AR, USA

problem #33

Aug 022015

Trailblazer

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. After starting the vehicle, the low beam headlights failed to illuminate. The vehicle was diagnosed, but not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Pasadena , TX, USA

problem #32

Aug 152015

Trailblazer

  • 88,122 miles
Vehicle daytime running lamps and low beam headlamps failed again. Took to dealership but was closing time. Dealer documented failure but did not have time to diagnose. Manufacturer notified of failure (up to executive level) but refused to include my VIN in the existing recall campaign for headlamp failures. Husband, who is a mechanic, switched hdm module with fan module, and headlamps came back on. This points to same type of failure included in existing campaign. Please get these VIN's included in the recall. Mileage was 88,122 for this failure. Previous failure also reported. Impossible to get dealer to diagnose this when driver has mostly noticed low beam headlamp failure at night--when dealers are closed. What is the driver supposed to do when GM refuses to provide assistance with replacing the part--simply because they insist that a dealer firmly diagnose it. They cannot diagnose it if they're not open for business!!! see campaign number 14V755000. Note that high beam headlamps work just fine--just as the vehicles that ***included in the recall!!!

- Clayton, NC, USA

problem #31

Jun 132015

Trailblazer

  • 87,000 miles
After leaving a movie theatre and upon entering the freeway June 13, 2015 at 12:30am, it appeared that the headlights were not on. I drove the vehicle, (with the high beams on) to the first available exit to pull over and found the headlights were not on and would not come on. I turned light switch on and off, turned the vehicle on and off and tried light switches again - this did not resolve problem. The high beams were still working. After leaving the high beams on for a while and trying the headlights again, they came back on. Approximately 2 months later, on August 8, 2015 while driving to the store, the headlights were not working again. I pulled the vehicle over tried the switch, tried turning the car on and off, again this did not resolve the issue. After driving with the high beams for about 5 minutes, I tried the headlights again and they came on. The same problem occurred two more times in the same week on August 11th and 12th, 2015 while driving at night.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #30

Aug 102015

Trailblazer

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the driver and passenger side low beam headlights failed to function due to the head lamp driver module overheating. Also, the fuse box melted and there were no flames visible. Whenever the vehicle was driven at night, the high beam headlights were activated. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Clearfield, PA, USA

problem #29

Jul 282015

Trailblazer

  • miles
Headlamps failed while driving. Driver switched from high beam headlights to low beams. Nearly crashed when low beam lights failed to work. All other lamps functioning properly. After stopping, driver tried to switch the lights on and still failed. Only high beam lamps functioning. Vehicle can no longer be driven at night. I have been registered owner of this vehicle for past 5 years and was not notified of this recall by GM.

- Clayton, NC, USA

problem #28

Jul 042015

Trailblazer

  • 50,000 miles
Third brake light trim fell off vehicle wile traveling on highway at fast rate of speed. Vehicles behind had to swerve to miss flying parts. Have seen this is a common problem. Very dangerous situation. Updated 9/15/15.... updated 09/30/15

- Mattawan, MI, USA

problem #27

Jun 132015

Trailblazer

  • 67,341 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving approximately 60 mph, the headlights failed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The failure was diagnosed as a failed head lamp control circuit. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 67,341.

- South Miami, FL, USA

problem #26

Jun 212015

Trailblazer

  • 125,726 miles
I parked my 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer in my driveway Sunday 6/21/2015. I received a call an hour later from my neighbor that my lights was still on. I always have my lights set that when you get out of the vehicle they go off automatically. Tried to turn off the lights with no luck. I smelled electrical burning coming from the engine area. Found the fuse box in the engine bay and noticed that the hdm module #45 was completely melted. When I took the car to the auto shop, not only did they find that the hdm module #45 was melted, it had ruined the main fuse circuit board from the heat. Luckily this happened during the daylight and not at night, because I wouldn't have had headlights very long with this module being melted. Also this could have easily started a fire in the engine bay with the amount of heat that was coming off of the melted hdm module. This I believe is a safety problem in the Trailblazers and should be recalled.

- Nampa, ID, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?