Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.

1.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
107,986 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #30

Aug 102015

Trailblazer

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the driver and passenger side low beam headlights failed to function due to the head lamp driver module overheating. Also, the fuse box melted and there were no flames visible. Whenever the vehicle was driven at night, the high beam headlights were activated. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Clearfield, PA, USA

problem #29

Jul 282015

Trailblazer

  • miles
Headlamps failed while driving. Driver switched from high beam headlights to low beams. Nearly crashed when low beam lights failed to work. All other lamps functioning properly. After stopping, driver tried to switch the lights on and still failed. Only high beam lamps functioning. Vehicle can no longer be driven at night. I have been registered owner of this vehicle for past 5 years and was not notified of this recall by GM.

- Clayton, NC, USA

problem #28

Jul 042015

Trailblazer

  • 50,000 miles
Third brake light trim fell off vehicle wile traveling on highway at fast rate of speed. Vehicles behind had to swerve to miss flying parts. Have seen this is a common problem. Very dangerous situation. Updated 9/15/15.... updated 09/30/15

- Mattawan, MI, USA

problem #27

Jun 132015

Trailblazer

  • 67,341 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving approximately 60 mph, the headlights failed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The failure was diagnosed as a failed head lamp control circuit. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 67,341.

- South Miami, FL, USA

problem #26

Jun 212015

Trailblazer

  • 125,726 miles
I parked my 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer in my driveway Sunday 6/21/2015. I received a call an hour later from my neighbor that my lights was still on. I always have my lights set that when you get out of the vehicle they go off automatically. Tried to turn off the lights with no luck. I smelled electrical burning coming from the engine area. Found the fuse box in the engine bay and noticed that the hdm module #45 was completely melted. When I took the car to the auto shop, not only did they find that the hdm module #45 was melted, it had ruined the main fuse circuit board from the heat. Luckily this happened during the daylight and not at night, because I wouldn't have had headlights very long with this module being melted. Also this could have easily started a fire in the engine bay with the amount of heat that was coming off of the melted hdm module. This I believe is a safety problem in the Trailblazers and should be recalled.

- Nampa, ID, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #25

Sep 062014

Trailblazer

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving at 76 mph, the low beam head lamps illuminated intermittently. In addition, the contact stated that the thermostat became stuck in the open position. As a result, the vehicle took a longer time to warm up. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the thermostat needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact was aware of NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting); however, the vehicle was not included. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Ormond Beach, FL, USA

problem #24

May 272015

Trailblazer

  • 138,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While attempting to start the vehicle, the low beam headlamps failed to illuminate. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The contact was aware of NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting); however, the VIN was not included. The failure mileage was 138,000.

- Joliet, IL, USA

problem #23

Apr 102015

Trailblazer

  • miles
I was driving my truck heading home and noticed the road looked dark. I pulled over into a parking lot and realized I had no low beams. My blinkers, fog lights and high beams all worked properly. I had to drive home with my high beams on, blinding other drivers. My headlights and daytime running lights have intermittently went out off and on (approximately 4 times) over the past year. I had the dealership look into it the last time I was there and they couldn't find a problem. When researching what could cause both lights to fail at the same time, I came across the latest recall info. I called Chevy and gave them my VIN and was told my vehicle is not affected by this recall. Strange, since I have all the exact same problems listed in the recall and my vehicle has been affected by all of the other recalls on it so far.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #22

Mar 272015

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 72,500 miles
Both headlights went out at the same time while the parking lights remained on. The high beams would work when activated. After about 5 minutes both of the headlights came on for another 15 or so minutes then failed again. Again after several minutes the lights came on. This happened at night which limited visibility to see and be seen.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #21

Mar 192015

Trailblazer

  • 221,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving at night at approximately 55 mph, both low beam headlights failed to illuminate. The high beam headlights were engaged in order to continue driving. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 221,000.

- Fort Payne, AL, USA

problem #20

Mar 162015

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I turned on my car at dusk and my daytime running lights weren't on, and my lowbeam headlamps would not go on either. Blinkers, brake lights, and every other type of light worked, but I was unable to see on my drive home because of the headlamps that would not turn on.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #19

Dec 012014

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
The left turn signal starter failing intermittently sometime last year. Three months ago it started not working most of the time, and now it has failed working at all. I am unable to signal a left hand turn at all. Quite dangerous in a large city with lots of traffic!!

- Woodstock, GA, USA

problem #18

Sep 012014

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
While driving home late at night on a dark road the headlights just went out. I was able to get home using the high beams. This has happened a couple of more times, but the high beams would not engage and I had to hold it on in order to get home.

- Woodstock, GA, USA

problem #17

May 012013

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that while driving approximately 55 mph or lower, the low beam head lamps failed without warning. The failure recurred on several occasions. The contact stated that the low beam relay failed. The low beam relay was replaced on two separate occasions. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The contact stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000. Updated 4/6/15 updated 04/09/15

- Crooksville, OH, USA

problem #16

Feb 202015

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 11,600 miles
Low beam headlights went out while driving at night. This is the 3rd time this has happened and it almost killed me because I was on a winding road with no street lamps. It was pitch dark. I threw on the high beams and saw that I was about to crash into the center divider. I was able to maneuver the vehicle and get it back on the road without an incident. I called GM customer assistance center and spoke with [xxx] ext [xxx] and he told me that the recall that is out for this issue does not include my VIN number. I explained to him that I was experiencing the same problem that the other Trailblazers are having and he told me that I would have to pay for this issue myself if I wanted it to be fixed. I need GM to know that my vehicle is having this same issue and it needs to be recalled for this issue. He also told me that your Agency notifies them of when a recall needs to be addressed, not the other way around and that he would do nothing to help me. I have a wife and a son. Our life is in their hands. Please help me get this recall through so other families don't experience the near dead experience that we did. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). Updated 4/14/16

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #15

Feb 152015

Trailblazer

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. After starting the vehicle, the low beam headlights would not operate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for repairs. No further information was available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting). The contact stated that the vehicle experienced the same failure listed in the recall. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Starke, FL, USA

problem #14

Feb 072015

Trailblazer

  • 135,000 miles
My headlights when out while I was driving on the highway at night with my children in the car. My lo-beams failed and my hi-beams continued to work.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #13

Oct 042014

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
I was coming home at night and the headlight didn't come on. Tried to manually turn them on and nothing. The running light came on just fine just the headlight wouldn't. changed the light bulb and checked the fuses and no luck. Found out there is a headlight driver module that went bad. That is dangerous if you cant turn them on manually if the auto don't work.

- Fremont, OH, USA

problem #12

Sep 102014

Trailblazer

  • 54,000 miles
Headlights will not work but high beams do. Driverside door control does not work either.

- Grand Rapids , MI, USA

problem #11

Jul 082013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
I can smell as if something burning, on different occasion.the headlights would randomly shut off, while driving. I would switch to high beam in order to see. The back hatch window, locks when it wants to. The airbag indicator lights come on and stay on awhile. The vehicle will stall and then accelerate at times. The tire pressure lights, does not come on when pressure is low. The check engine light comes on, and stay on awhile, and then goes off, and comes back on. The climate control heater system blows cold air. At one time the key would not come out of the ignition. Had to continue to giggle the key to get it out of ignition. Noticed my headlights did not come on when I used the remote entry to unlock or lock the door. The windows stall when going up or down. I have contacted GM, but they are telling me that my make, model and year are not part of the current recall. And that the letter they sent me, was to purchase warranty for the vehicle. I feel that this vehicle is not safe due to this electrical problems.

- Dallas, TX, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?