Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
108,591 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 4 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #20

Mar 162015

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 0 miles


I turned on my car at dusk and my daytime running lights weren't on, and my lowbeam headlamps would not go on either. Blinkers, brake lights, and every other type of light worked, but I was unable to see on my drive home because of the headlamps that would not turn on.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #19

Dec 012014

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
The left turn signal starter failing intermittently sometime last year. Three months ago it started not working most of the time, and now it has failed working at all. I am unable to signal a left hand turn at all. Quite dangerous in a large city with lots of traffic!!

- Woodstock, GA, USA

problem #18

Sep 012014

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
While driving home late at night on a dark road the headlights just went out. I was able to get home using the high beams. This has happened a couple of more times, but the high beams would not engage and I had to hold it on in order to get home.

- Woodstock, GA, USA

problem #17

May 012013

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that while driving approximately 55 mph or lower, the low beam head lamps failed without warning. The failure recurred on several occasions. The contact stated that the low beam relay failed. The low beam relay was replaced on two separate occasions. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The contact stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000. Updated 4/6/15 updated 04/09/15

- Crooksville, OH, USA

problem #16

Feb 202015

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 11,600 miles
Low beam headlights went out while driving at night. This is the 3rd time this has happened and it almost killed me because I was on a winding road with no street lamps. It was pitch dark. I threw on the high beams and saw that I was about to crash into the center divider. I was able to maneuver the vehicle and get it back on the road without an incident. I called GM customer assistance center and spoke with [xxx] ext [xxx] and he told me that the recall that is out for this issue does not include my VIN number. I explained to him that I was experiencing the same problem that the other Trailblazers are having and he told me that I would have to pay for this issue myself if I wanted it to be fixed. I need GM to know that my vehicle is having this same issue and it needs to be recalled for this issue. He also told me that your Agency notifies them of when a recall needs to be addressed, not the other way around and that he would do nothing to help me. I have a wife and a son. Our life is in their hands. Please help me get this recall through so other families don't experience the near dead experience that we did. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). Updated 4/14/16

- Riverside, CA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #15

Feb 152015


  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. After starting the vehicle, the low beam headlights would not operate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for repairs. No further information was available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting). The contact stated that the vehicle experienced the same failure listed in the recall. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Starke, FL, USA

problem #14

Feb 072015


  • 135,000 miles


My headlights when out while I was driving on the highway at night with my children in the car. My lo-beams failed and my hi-beams continued to work.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #13

Oct 042014

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
I was coming home at night and the headlight didn't come on. Tried to manually turn them on and nothing. The running light came on just fine just the headlight wouldn't. changed the light bulb and checked the fuses and no luck. Found out there is a headlight driver module that went bad. That is dangerous if you cant turn them on manually if the auto don't work.

- Fremont, OH, USA

problem #12

Sep 102014


  • 54,000 miles
Headlights will not work but high beams do. Driverside door control does not work either.

- Grand Rapids , MI, USA

problem #11

Jul 082013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
I can smell as if something burning, on different occasion.the headlights would randomly shut off, while driving. I would switch to high beam in order to see. The back hatch window, locks when it wants to. The airbag indicator lights come on and stay on awhile. The vehicle will stall and then accelerate at times. The tire pressure lights, does not come on when pressure is low. The check engine light comes on, and stay on awhile, and then goes off, and comes back on. The climate control heater system blows cold air. At one time the key would not come out of the ignition. Had to continue to giggle the key to get it out of ignition. Noticed my headlights did not come on when I used the remote entry to unlock or lock the door. The windows stall when going up or down. I have contacted GM, but they are telling me that my make, model and year are not part of the current recall. And that the letter they sent me, was to purchase warranty for the vehicle. I feel that this vehicle is not safe due to this electrical problems.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #10

May 082013


  • 32,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the low beam headlights failed and the high beam headlights had to be used instead. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 32,000 and the current mileage was 76,000.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #9

Mar 212014

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 69,300 miles
This has happened a couple of times before while I was driving at night (fortunately in well lit areas), I thought I had inadvertently turned the headlights off. When I turned the headlights off then back on the low beams came on. Last night I came out of the grocery store and noticed my headlights did not come on when I used the remote entry to unlock the door. It took a few moments to realize my low beams were still not on once I started the vehicle and put it in drive. My hi beams, parking lights and tail lights are all working. Twenty-four hours my low beams still are not working.

- Uncasville, CT, USA

problem #8

Mar 202013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 117,000 miles
Traveling at 65 mph at 9pm on a unlighted, remote highway the low beam headlights went off. The headlight switch was in the automatic position. I tried all headlight switch positions and determined that only the parking lights worked. I did not try the high beam switch. I was behind a large truck which I followed since there was no location to safely stop. I planned to follow this truck to the next town about 6 miles away. After about 4 miles the lights came back on. I had not noticed any others issues with the lights in the past. I have left the headlight switch in the automatic position all the time.

- Georgetown, TX, USA

problem #7

Sep 252012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 31,600 miles
My headlights went out and would not come back on. About 10 minutes later I was able to turn the lights back on thisis the 3rd time it has happened. I am also concerned because my passenger side window in the front will not roll up or down and I have read about recalls due to a danger of fire / recalls on electrical systems in 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazers.

- Ladson, SC, USA

problem #6

Jan 292012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Left rear blinker would not work. Diagnostic test showed failed circuit board. Circuit board had to be replaced and reset.

- Euless, TX, USA

problem #5

Feb 192012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
I left my house for work at approximately 0650 hrs on February 19th, 2012. Upon exiting my neighborhood's entrance, I accelerated to 35 mph. About 100 yards down the road, I begin to smell burning plastic and as I looked down I observed thick smoke billowing from the openings of my driver side door panel. I didn't know what to do except stop the vehicle and shut it off. Even when off, the smoke continued to billow until I disconnected the battery. Needless to say I was late to work, so I reconnected the battery in an attempt to make my way to work in a reasonable amount of time. When I started my car, the dome lights would not turn off, the gas gauge was inoperable and the driver side windows/locks were rendered inoperative. As I pulled into work, I glanced over and saw the smoke emitting from the door panel again, but it was not as thick as the first time. Thankfully, my coworkers were standing by ready to assist me as it had begun to rain. This event could have ended much worse if the door panel had actually caught fire. I have a newborn son who is approximately 5 weeks old and the Trailblazer is our main source of Transport. It makes me angry to think about the possibility of him being in the vehicle with me and having an event such as this occur. Hopefully GM will issue a recall. Until then, I have to find a way to pay for the repairs on a faulty vehicle.

- Richmond Hill, GA, USA

problem #4

Nov 202011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
While driving the low beam head lights will go out the only way to restore the lights is to turn car off and wait 10 min then the lights will come back on but go back off shortly after.

- Jacksonville Beach, FL, USA

problem #3

Apr 302011


  • 45,000 miles
Headlights would go out at random.

- West Palm Beach, FM, USA

problem #2

Jun 172011


  • 77,000 miles
2007 Chevrolet trail Blazer headlights go out while driving at night.

- Hurricane, WV, USA

problem #1

Sep 112009


  • 49,000 miles
Near collision because of loss of brake lights due to brake light switch malfunctioning.

- Sioux City, IA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?