Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 14
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,474 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #30

Sep 212012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles


The power locks & windows control sometimes does not wanna work on the drivers side. The lights on the that buttons on the driver door panel are not on at when this happens. Usually you can turn the car off then back on and it will work again. I have a feeling there is some sort of shortage.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #29

Feb 072011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
The driver side window switch burned up and melted inside while vehicle was unattended. The window switch is now inoperable. Updated 10/19/12 updated 10/23/2012

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #28

Jun 232011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
My husband was driving with the whole family in the car, it was raining that morning and only a minute into our drive, the drivers door window rolled down by itself...he pushed the switch for the window to go back up..the window went back up and not even 30seconds later it rolled down again on its about the same time smoke started billowing out of the drivers door, the smoke filled the car, it smelled like an electrical fire. We were only a block from home so we took the car home, pulled the interior from the door where we discovered the switches that control the locks, windows, and side mirrors were all melted and still smoking...we disconnected all the switches and are without use of any drivers door electrical switches. Updated 10/03/12 updated 10/04/2012

- Davenport, IA, USA

problem #27

Aug 272012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 145,352 miles


The power window switch in the drivers side door was melting and extremely hot to the touch. The switch burned out and we had to remove it to prevent a potential fire. I telephoned GM about it as there had been a recall on my year and model of car but I was told my car didn't fall into the recall. Clearly I have the same issue that was reported by others and this has been an issue with that switch since I owned the vehicle. It would stop working then come back on. I took it to them once before but the switch was working so they said there was no issue. Updated 10/24/12 updated 10/26/2012

- Spring Lake , NC, USA

problem #26

Aug 272012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
My Trailblazer was parked in the morning. When I approached my car to go home after work, I found that the driver side window was lowered. I entered my car and noticed a burning smell. I opened the window module and found that the driver's side power window switch was burned. I tried to buy the window module via online and found that there is an investigation going on by NHTSA.

- Troy, MI, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #25

Aug 212012


  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the driver side window failed to open or close. Also, he was unable to adjust the side mirrors. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the driver side control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance. The failure and current mileage was 61,000.

- Palm Bay , FL, USA

problem #24

Jul 032012

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 66,105 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the console on the drivers side door caught fire while the contact was closing the window. The contacts mechanic stated that the entire motor and actuator for the window needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 66,105. The current mileage was 67,001. Updated 10/03/12 the consumer stated the box that holds the controls is melted and smells burnt. The driver's side door would not lock or unlock with remote. Memory seat controls, locks, windows, and heated seat controls all failed as a result. Updated 10/09/2012

- North Syracuse , NY, USA

problem #23

Jul 132010

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
On vacation with my family last summer the windows upon entering the vehicle started to go up and down all by themselves. It almost caught my sons arm inside of it. After a few minutes the windows stopped and remained down. We couldn't get them to go back up for a few hours and had to leave them down overnight. The next morning my husband went out, turned the key, pushed the buttons and they all went back up. He told us not to touch the windows just in case weren't able to get them back up. Once we returned from vacation I took it to a suggested mechanic as per my warranty company. They diagnosed it as the master window switch, the gentlemen told me that they are about 2-3 hundred dollars and are not covered under warranty, imagine that!well I paid the gentlemen for his time and have been without windows for over a year now because I make my 500 payment every month and do not have the extra money not only for the part but then for labor and to have it programmed by an authorized dealer. Now I see that this is a common problem with this year Trailblazer, are we waiting for someone to die before we issue a recall? I sent an email to GM about it and they did contact me, what they said is to once again have it diagnosed at an authorized GM dealer (ok more $) then they would look at the report and if they ok it I would then be reimbursed for everything (ok good one) I just had it diagnosed and still have the report but I need to get another one, come on people I don't make your salary and have 2 kids to support!. so I took it, well when I talked to the GM dealer they said just to look at it will be about 100 so I cancelled the appointment. That is very sad that GM would knowingly let this go on with out offering to fix the problem. I will never buy another GM motors vehicle in my life, sad to say that I will be buying not made in the usa vehicles from here on out. Updated 8/22/12

- Freeland , PA, USA

problem #22

Feb 152011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
I was going into the drive through bank window and when I went to open my window it would not go down. The other windows worked but not from the main switch. I called the dealer and they said I need a new module which is going to cost me $300 to replace which I do not have. After doing some research this seems to be a problem with this model.

- Bethlehem, PA, USA

problem #21

Jun 042012

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 54,020 miles
Left front window went to the down position by itself, while unattended, and burned the window switch/module, burned wiring. Updated 07/11/12 the dealer found the front door module/switch had shorted out. Updated 07/12/12 updated 10/10/12 updated 10/10/2012

- Saegertown, PA, USA

problem #20

May 162012

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 118,000 miles


I will soon be replacing my 3rd fuel pump. You can not purchase a sending unit separately and you can not replace a fuel filter for maintenance. Also the master window switch stopped operating yesterday after a burning smell filled the truck. The master window switch is melted. Had issues with I first bought the truck with it "shutting down" on the highway, no gas, no power steering, no control. Received a year of free oil changes from Chevy after a complaint was filed, they still to this day can not tell my why my truck would randomly shut down.....updated 06/18/12 updated IVOQ 06/20/12

- Columbia, CT, USA

problem #19

May 122012

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 61,350 miles
Driver side window controller melted....updated 08-03-12 updated 08/09/2012

- Newfoundland, PA, USA

problem #18

May 072012


  • 94,000 miles
The Trailblazer died when my wife and children was sitting at a red light and when she started it back the motor was making a loud knocking noise. She pulled it to the side of the road and called a tow truck and had it towed into a garage. The mechanic said that the engine was shot. There was no indication anything was wrong when it happened all the gauges were showing everything to be good there was no noise in engine or any warning lamps lit up on the dash. We had the oil changed just 2-3 weeks ago. We have only had the vehicle for 8 months. Also, the driver side window switch has been acting up when you press the switch to put down the window it will not go into automatic down.

- Corbin, KY, USA

problem #17

Nov 012011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
I noticed months ago that the lights weren't working on the power windows switches on the driver's side of the truck. I have definitely noticed some odd smells (burning/melting/plastic/chemical) that I was never sure where they were coming from. Before the issues with the lights, which was probably around the beginning of November, the one touch window opening control button (all the way down with only one touch instead of holding the window button) stopped functioning, the window would stall in the middle of either closing it or opening it and when it didn"T stall and closing/opening was successful it would be very, very, very, very, very slow. The window in my truck is now dead. It will not operate at all. I went to try to shut it Monday night and it wouldn?T shut, there is about 2-3 inches of space where the window is down. There is no power to any of my window controls, or to my power locks on the driver?S side. While doing some research on this issue I came upon this site where others had listed very similar problems. I also understand that this is currently under investigation to see if a recall is warranted. Given that this is a very well known problem, what recourse is there for the unsuspecting consumer" I purchased this vehicle less than 1 year ago as a used vehicle.

- Raymond, NH, USA

problem #16

Mar 222012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 49,872 miles
2007 Trailblazer ss drivers door module/window switch on my normal commute to work, I had noticed a faint burning smell of plastic that would only linger in the cabin for a few seconds. The smell continued for almost a week with the same symptoms and then disappeared for almost 4 days. After the smell of burning plastic was no longer there, one night while driving, the drivers door module lights (drivers, passenger, rear windows, window locks, and lock) were flickering and noticeably power surging. I was concerned about this issue so I had done some research online looking for any information that may lead to a solution to my problem and if any other Trailblazer owners were experiencing the same problem. Seemed to be a pretty popular problem among Trailblazer owners ranging from 2004 and up. Some research indicated that wires may had been broken inside the insulation that goes from the interior of the car to the door. I had the vehicle inspected at a Chevy dealership and they told me that the ddm was functional and just needed a fuse replacement. That same night when moving the vehicle from the street to my driveway, smoke started pouring from the top of the door panel and it was obvious that plastic was burning and on fire. I then pried the drivers door module off and noticed a dime sized hole right under where the drivers window switch button is located. That hole still singing I disconnected the ddm and have been driving with non-operational windows ever since.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #15

Mar 292012

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 116,000 miles
I was driving home from work and started smelling burned wires - then smoke started pouring out of all creases in my driver side door. I pulled over and had a drink with me and dumped the whole thing into the door to get it to stop. Fire dept came and told me not to drive the vehicle and had it towed to the dealership. The dealership determined in was a faulty driver door window regulator and it had a hole burned through it. I looked on internet and saw this ad: this is exactly what happened to my car. Insurance says not covering it. I could have been injured very badly as I was on the highway and there was so much smoke in my car.

- East Peoria, IL, USA

problem #14

Mar 212012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 60,800 miles
While driving my car today I tried to roll the window down on the drivers side. The window would go down and then automatically go up. I tried all the windows and they would all go down and automatically go up. I took it to the repair shop. The left master window switch was stuck in the down position. They tried to reset it and now the left master window switch will not respond at all. They said the switch was getting very hot while they were diagnosing the problem.

- Euless, TX, USA

problem #13

Feb 052012


  • 119,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving approximately 55 mph, the contact smelled a burning odor. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and the mechanic stated that the master window switch melted in the front driver's side door. The mechanic also stated that the master window switch would have to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 119,000.

- Davie, FL, USA

problem #12

Oct 142009

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the driver's side window was open and there was an odor of smoke. The vehicle was taken to an independent where they advised the contact that the door mechanism was melted. The vehicle was repaired for the door mechanism. The manufacturer was contacted and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000. Updated 04/10/12 updated 04/16/12

- Hawthorne, CA, USA

problem #11

Jan 162012


  • miles
I woke up one morning to a smoky garage and noticed my driver door module had caught on fire, luckily the whole truck did not catch on fire in my garage while my family and I were inside our home sleeping. I can no longer control the power windows and locks in my truck. I contacted my local Chevy dealer and they tried charging me nearly $1000 for a module and door panel replacement and notified me there were no such recalls on my vehicle at this time. This is not the first incident I also had another fire while at a drive through window, the wiring to the cigarette lighters inside my vehicle caught on fire a few weeks after the door again the Chevy dealer said there are no recalls and I would have to pay out of pocket. So many what if questions come to mind. This is not the only Trailblazer I have known or read upon to have electrical issues or even fire damage. GM definitely needs to take responsibility before there is harm to anyone due to these unknown fires.

- Houston, TX, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?