Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 14
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,474 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #50

Jul 162014

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 132,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the driver's side power window failed to open or close. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 14V404000 (visibility). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 132,000. Updated 2/24/15 updated 03/02/15

- Haile, MI, USA

problem #49

Sep 292014

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
My master window switch caught fire on 9/27/14. I woke up that morning to find that my window did not work while driving my daughter to school. Then all of sudden there was a smell of something burning on my side of the car. I immediately stopped the car and noticed smoke coming out of the door panel. I took out the switch and it was burned. It also burned some of the material inside of the door. Then all of sudden while I was sitting on the side of the road. The window started going up and down randomly with the smoke coming out of it. I took it my fathers house where he disconnected the module. The window was half down. It was 45 degrees that morning. I paid someone to put the window back up with a price of $150 due to extremely cold weather and having a 2 year old. I went to crew cheverolet to have this repaired when they said that all 2005-2007 master door switch was on recall due to electrical issues that may cause the switch to catch fire. When they looked up my VIN they told me that my truck was not covered. My vehicle is a 2007 and im not sure why my vehicle is not covered. If this is a known issue, then I believe I should get a new part due to a manufacturing error. They told me I had to pay $405 for the part and programming but could not guarantee that my motor for my window was not damaged as well. I contacted GM myself and they said there is a recall on 2005-2007 Chevy Trailblazer but my VIN was not included. I was told there was a recall for Chevy Trailblazer in my state just not my vehicle even though it is a 2007. My daughter and I could have been seriously injured.

- Charleston, SC, USA

problem #48

Aug 082014


  • 102,000 miles
Re reference to recall subject : driver's master power window switch may short this also can cause the entire drivers door panel to become unusable (dead) causing the drivers door to become unlockable from the inside you have to use a key from the outside to unlock the door or climb over the console to exit the passenger side. This could be a real hazard in and accident.

- Hesston, KS, USA

problem #47

Aug 052014

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles


I had the recall for the door window master control taken care of about 9 months- 1 year ago. Today, the window or door lock did not work on the driver's side. When I attempted to try the power mirror adjust, the window went down and smoke came from the door panel. I contacted GM and they told me it was pretty much tough luck because they already took care of the recall. I was told that I could take it to a GM dealer to have it fixed but I would have to pay for it. Really" I'm guessing the module was bad and corroded when I took it in for the recall. The recall states that if the window works, seal the problem area and send them on their way. At the time of the recall, the window and other components did work but now the original problem is showing up. I was not allowed to watch recall work being done but obviously this problem resulted from liquid leaking in at one time and causing damage. It just took for today to show up and cause a problem. My interior stinks of burnt plastic. My window is partially down and can not be adjusted. I've read online forums consisting of the same symptoms that I experienced today with my Trailblazer. If this was just a random problem or something caused from my use or negligence, I would man up and take care of this on my own... but it's not. GM used a band aid to take care of this problem and somebody will end up getting hurt or burned yet. I have a prosthetic leg and what if the door locks were locked shut and the thing started on fire" GM listened as I [xxx] about it but didn't have much to offer for a solution. I will take it to a local Chevrolet dealer for their "diagnosis" on a faulty switch and workmanship. It will be interesting to hear what they have to say. I'm very disappointed in what happened today and the stench in my vehicle. I don't want anybody to get hurt but that seems to be the way anything gets solved. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Melrose, WI, USA

problem #46

Dec 082013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 71,839 miles
Drivers door window regulator want out. This vehicle has a recall #12180 for door switch replacement which fluid can enter drivers door and can cause shorts.

- Dallas, TX, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #45

Sep 022013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. Consumer seeks reimbursement for vehicle repairs. The consumers first reimbursement claim was denied, because payment could not be confirmed with the repair shop.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #44

Aug 282013

Trailblazer 4WD 8-cyl

  • 139,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 12V406000 (electrical system) and the contact stated that the passenger's side window continued to failed to decline. The vehicle was not repaired a second time. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 139,000.

- Ashburn , VA, USA

problem #43

Sep 192012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 156,000 miles
I bought my 2007 Trailblazer in September 2012. I was so excited, but a few days after purchase the driver door window regulator stopped working. I contacted Chevy and they told me there were no open recalls on this yet and are continuing to tell me this. They wanted over $500 to fix the issue for me. When I looked I noticed that there are recalls on this item, but still Chevy keeps telling me there is no open recall. I am scared after reading other complaints that this could lead to a possible fire.

- Glencoe, KY, USA

problem #42

Jan 052013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 121,098 miles
I crunk the truck up to warm up when. I came back out of the house I notice a smell like electronics burning it was coming from my driver door after that the window switch never worked again.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #41

Feb 162013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Pushed to put passenger window down and would not go up, stuck open. Evidently the window regulator broke at a part cost of about $300. Just had in for a blower problem where the blower came on while the car was just sitting in the garage with no keys or anyone in it. That was $400 some dollars. This car does not seem like it should be having these problems.

- Grand Haven, MI, USA

problem #40

Feb 012013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 61,117 miles


I had gone to a friends house and on the way home my power steering malfunctioned. I took the vehicle to a local auto repair shop and was told the power steering cooler had rusted through. I also had to replace this part on my 2003 Trailblazer not realizing there was a problem. If this part rusts out on different years of the same model there seems to be a problem. The vehicle became very hard to steer. I know for a fact that I and many other people have had problems with transmission lines gasoline lines and power steering lines. I had to replace the gasoline line and fuel pump on the 2003, and just replaced transmission line on the 2007. I think there needs to be an engineering change on these vehicles. I also received a recall notice on the 2007 Trailblazer for the electric window switch. The notice said I would be notified when to bring my vehicle in. It has been several months since I received the notice and I am still waiting for notification. It cost me $350 to have the power steering repaired..

- Slippery Rock, PA, USA

problem #39

Apr 042012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
The windows on my 2007 Trailblazer ss are constantly (nearly daily) getting stuck in the down or up position and do not respond to the switches. The vehicle must be turned off and on several times for the computer to make the windows work again. I've been caught passing through heavy rains on the highway with windows that won't roll up without the opportunity to safely pull over and turn the vehicle on and off a dozen times to make the windows temporarily work again. It also affects the door locks from completely locking leaving my vehicle vulnerable to theft.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #38

Jan 192013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 106,000 miles
I got into my vehicle Saturday (1-19-2013) to drive into town to do some errands. I tried to put down my driver side window and the switch would not work. I got into town and went to the store. Upon leaving the store I tried my window again and it went down 1/4 of the way and stopped. Now it is stuck 1/4 of the way down. On occasion I have smelled something that smelled like wiring getting hot but could never pinpoint the cause.

- Urbana, OH, USA

problem #37

Oct 292012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Came out of work 11:30 pm to find the drivers door window down on a rainy night. As I got close I could smell the elec./plastic fire smoke smell. My seat and floor were soaked from the rain. I could not put the window up and had to drive home wet. I had the dealer where I bought it check it out and was told the door module had melted from fire from a shot and was lucky the car did not burn. I have called Chevrolet assistance center about 5 times and was told I have to wait parts are not available.

- Kittery, ME, USA

problem #36

Dec 142012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that while attempting to open the front driver's side window, the control module failed to respond. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was confirmed that the power window switch failed. The manufacturer was contacted to schedule repairs but the contact was informed that the parts were not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact also stated that three months was an extremely long time to wait for a recall remedy repair. The failure and current mileages were 69,000. Updated 01/15/13 the consumer stated it is now January and repairs had not been made to the vehicle. Updated 1/24/2013

- Wellington, FL, USA

problem #35

Jul 262012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
Drivers side window and lock control panel does not work. Control panel for side mirrors does work. I cannot lock my doors from the drivers side or roll up/down any windows in my vehicle from the drivers side.. the passenger side window and lock control panel works, rear drivers side window control panel works, and rear passenger side window control panel works. I have had the fuses checked and they are all fine. I have a child and "liked" to keep my back windows locked for the safety of my child, now that my control panel does not work I cannot lock my windows when needed for the safety of my child. I do not have any control over the locks or windows from the drivers door. My keyless entry will unlock all passenger doors and rear hatch, but I have to manually lock the drivers door when exiting my vehicle and use my key to manually unlock the drivers door to get into my vehicle. I see many complaints about this being an issue with this make and model Chevy. Not just the complaints and issues with this problem, how about the safety of our kids having control over their windows and locks"???? when the driver should have control over window, locks ect.......per law the driver is responsible for everyone in any can the driver of these vehicles with this ongoing problem be in control of the locks and windows if they do not work???" this could cause minor to fatal injuries with small children including adults. This needs to be a recall on GM! updated 05/29/13 updated 05/31/2013

- Orange Park, FL, USA

problem #34

Nov 282012

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number:12V406000(visibility:power window devices and controls) on August 28, 2012. The contact called the dealer to arrange a date to have the vehicle serviced for the recall and was advised that a start date had not yet been determined for the recall repair. The contact was concerned because per the recall, there was a chance that the vehicle could catch on fire as a direct result of the defect. The manufacturer was contacted and confirmed that a start date had not yet been determined. The vehicle had not yet been serviced. The contact had not experienced a failure. The current mileage was 51,000. Updated 01/02/2013 updated 1/7/2013

- Jamestown, NY, USA

problem #33

Nov 072012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 124,110 miles
Hi, the windows in my Trailblazer won't open. Then open sometimes but then close themselves. I can hear crackling inside the driver side door and the power is also surging throughout my truck, I then hear clicking. I am in Canada, not Montana, but there is a usa recall on a door module that I think is the problem. I am writing you because it wasn't disclosed to me at the time of my purchase, but my truck was bought used in the usa, brought into Canada by a dealer, it was apparently a rental at one time, and it was sold to me by southpark used lot in edmonton, ab in late 2007. This is the used car lot for don wheaton Chevy/olds, it had approximately 18,000km on it. I found out it was a rental from a Chevy salesman about 3-4 years later when I went to see about trading it in. I have had many problems with this truck and it has not been the reliable vehicle I needed with kids but I have been forced to deal with it not able to afford another. I actually bough a second car 2 years ago for $550, it's a 87 thunderbird coup LX and I have had to use this car many many times because the truck isn't working half the time and it costs me piles and piles of money, it's very stressful. I am a single parent and doing my best like everyone else just to get by. I am not asking for anything special here. I have had to pay a lot to keep this truck on the road already, I have had many issues that the Chevy dealer would not fix because they say they can't "recreate" the issues and yet I take it to a non dealer mechanic and they find the issues just fine and this is wrong because I had full warranty to pay it all. Please see recall: 12180 established this year, I would be very grateful if someone could help. We are in full swing of winter here and I need to have functioning windows and do not want to catch fire especially with someone else with me, children or grandma, please.

- Edmonton Ab, MT, USA

problem #32

Nov 062012

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the driver side window switch ignited in flames. The vehicle was not destroyed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the electrical switches had shorted out and caused the fire. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and stated that they would call him back at a later date. The failure mileage was 105,000......updated 01/14/13 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. The faulty part was replaced with O.E.M. with known failure history. The known failure is not available. Updated 1/15/2013

- Rock , MI, USA

problem #31

Jul 182012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
Driver side door and window switch module failed incremently starting with the windows then door and window locks.this failure occurred over a period of approximately week, ending with a complete failure of the switch module. At around the same time the fuel gauge began to show empty after filling up along with the low fuel light. The window switch's on the other doors remain operational. I believe this to be a safety issue, as the driver has no control of doors or windows with children in the vehicle. Chevy dealer says this window switch is 426 dollars plus labor and the fuel gauge problem is another 450 dollars. From what I gather this is a common problem with the trail Blazer with no offer by GM to replace known defective parts. There were no fires or injuries.

- Trinity, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?