Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,189 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments

problem #9

Feb 022015


  • miles


2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer recall notice #12180. The consumer stated he had the recall performed. However, later in the year a brief rain shower occurred and the consumer left the windows cracked a couple of inches and water entered the door module and consequently, all of the switches stopped working. The consumer went back to the dealer where he was informed the fix was not intended to protect against water as a liquid, but only ambient moisture in the air.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #8

Jul 162014

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 132,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the driver's side power window failed to open or close. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 14V404000 (visibility). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 132,000. Updated 2/24/15 updated 03/02/15

- Haile, MI, USA

problem #7

May 012013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated his vehicle was included in NHTSA recall campaign number: 13V248000 (electrical system, visibility). The contact stated the driver's side door window and door locks were not functioning intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for the recall repair where a protective coating was applied to the driver's side door module. After the recall repair was performed the driver's side door window and locks stopped functioning completely. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the technician stated the driver's side door module wiring had to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 115,000.

- Springfield, OH, USA

problem #6

Oct 162012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles


The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 12V406000 (electrical system, visibility) but was advised that the parts needed to complete the repair would not become available until March 2013 and a second notice would be sent at that time. The contact stated that the defect was reported in August of 2012 and that a remedy should have become available before March. The contact had not experienced a failure. The current mileage was 56,000. Updated 4/24/13 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 05/16/2013

- Andover, MN, USA

problem #5

Mar 172012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 74,700 miles
My fuel gauge meter doesn't work. When ever I start the car, the fuel meter drops to empty. Also, one day in summer of 2011, my driver-side power module just stopped working. The power windows and locks no longer work from my driver-side door. I am concerned I will run out of gas on the interstate or highway and cause a wreck. I also can not see in the mornings from my window because it gets foggy and there is no way to roll my window down. This is a serious safety hazard.

- Savannah, GA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #4

Feb 192012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
I left my house for work at approximately 0650 hrs on February 19th, 2012. Upon exiting my neighborhood's entrance, I accelerated to 35 mph. About 100 yards down the road, I begin to smell burning plastic and as I looked down I observed thick smoke billowing from the openings of my driver side door panel. I didn't know what to do except stop the vehicle and shut it off. Even when off, the smoke continued to billow until I disconnected the battery. Needless to say I was late to work, so I reconnected the battery in an attempt to make my way to work in a reasonable amount of time. When I started my car, the dome lights would not turn off, the gas gauge was inoperable and the driver side windows/locks were rendered inoperative. As I pulled into work, I glanced over and saw the smoke emitting from the door panel again, but it was not as thick as the first time. Thankfully, my coworkers were standing by ready to assist me as it had begun to rain. This event could have ended much worse if the door panel had actually caught fire. I have a newborn son who is approximately 5 weeks old and the Trailblazer is our main source of Transport. It makes me angry to think about the possibility of him being in the vehicle with me and having an event such as this occur. Hopefully GM will issue a recall. Until then, I have to find a way to pay for the repairs on a faulty vehicle.

- Richmond Hill, GA, USA

problem #3

Sep 012010


  • 70,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the automatic window failed. The fuse for the window was replaced but after ward, the contact witnesses smoke coming from the door in which the window had failed. The contact then disconnected the fuse entirely. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the wiring for the window switch was replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance since this failure was under investigation. The current mileage was 100,000 and the failure mileage was 70,000.

- Del Ran, NJ, USA

problem #2

Nov 012011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact was driving 35 mph when the front driver side door / insulation caught on fire. My husband poured a cup of water to put out the fire. The entire interior door panel, power master window switch and harness had to be replaced. The contact was not injured. The contact also stated prior to the failure the door failed to open and the power windows failed to operate. The vehicle was not destroyed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 77,000. The driver's side door switch and module assembly caused the fire. There was damage to the wiring harness, door trim panel and insulation. The inner door handle and power mirror switch needed to be replaced. Pictures received 05/07/12

- Perkiomenville, PA, USA

problem #1

Nov 152010


  • 78,000 miles
My windshield cracked while impact, no stone, no thud. Just a crack developing across the windshield. I wirite this because the other day I stopped at a dunkin donuts and just happened to park next to another Trailblazer. While I was in the store, a third Trailblazer pulled in next to me. When I left the store I saw that all three trailblzers had cracked windshields in virtually the same place"??" I also own a 2006 Chevy cobalt....and guess what.......cracked windshield this fall just driving down a street. I think Chevrolet windsheilds need to be investigated for the quality of glass/material that they are using. Thank you.

- Mogadore, OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?