Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
83,601 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer EXT fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer EXT:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer EXT Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #36

Nov 152014

Trailblazer EXT 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles


NHTSA action number : PE07014 occurred on my vehicle around November 2014. The problem presented as P0442 cel and odor of gas after parking in garage. GM has indicated because the special consideration allowance has expired, despite the low mileage they will do nothing. This vehicle was purchased new in August 2003. I do not understand why GM was not compelled to issue a safety recall due to the risk of gas leaking. I would appreciate assistance to get GM to minimally provide defective parts replacement, due to the know manufacturing defect in the gas tank.

- Guilford, CT, USA

problem #35

Jul 202014

Trailblazer EXT 8-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
Ses light came on. Dealership had no apps brought to mechanic. Code was for fuel emission leak. Replace gas cap. Week later code ses came on again. Brought back to the mechanic, said fuel tank is cracked. Called Chevy and was told there was a recall but not my VIN.....

- Brick, NJ, USA

problem #34

Jun 092014

Trailblazer EXT 8-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
There is a strong odor of gasoline vapors coming from the rear of the vehicle, a crack can be seen in the neck of the fuel tank. When filling the vehicle, fuel spills out of the tank from the crack. The fuel gauge cluster in the dash doesn't work. The blower on the A/C unit doesn't work on the highest (5) level. Also, the fan clutch went out causing the car to overheat severely. The fan does not engage, causing the water pump shaft to become damaged. Also, the rear driver side window quit functioning, despite buying an expensive new regulator and replacing it. Having researched the issues, I find that I am among hundreds, possibly thousands of unsatisfied people with the same problems.

- New Iberia, LA, USA

problem #33

Mar 052014

Trailblazer EXT 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles


Where the gas filler neck connects to the gad tank this area develops a crack allowing gas to leak from the vehicle and during filling up to a couple quarts of gas can run onto cement by the pump, also strong gas smell in the garage.. this also triggers the check motor light. According to internet postings other trail Blazer owners are experiencing the same problem.

- Peoria, AZ, USA

problem #32

Mar 242014

Trailblazer EXT 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
This is my second complaint due to a second problem with the fuel system. Vehicle was taken to dealership for gas leak, which turned out to be caused by 2 different, well-known fuel system problems. GM offered no solution to either problem because I'm 3 months outside of the extended warranty. My total bill for both leaks was $1,500. Both leaks are known safety problems, as referenced in bulletins 07099 and 07076. I was told the vehicle should not be driven because of the leaks. Gas tank replacement is not what I consider normal a maintenance item. It is a known problem and these tanks need to be recalled.

- Vinton, IA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #31

Mar 012014

Trailblazer EXT 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
Fuel leak on top of fuel tank. This is a known safety issue, and an extended service/warranty was added to fix this problem. The dealership said the vehicle should not be driven as-is. I did not receive notice of this warranty. GM refuses to offer any more than a 10% discount, even though 3 months prior this same defect would have been fixed at no cost under the special warranty coverage. I was willing to split the cost 50/50, but no other options were deemed acceptable by GM. My vehicle is under the 120,000 mile cutoff as specified in the extended service, but 3 months out of date. Being this is a known problem and severe fire hazard, I feel GM should offer a better solution and at the minimum a reduced cost repair.

- Vinton, IA, USA

problem #30

Jan 012014

Trailblazer EXT 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles


In the past 3 years vehicle had gas odor upon exiting vehicle upon use. Until recently, fuel started leaking profusely when vehicle was running. General Motors issued extended warranty due to many complaints regarding this issue. We being the original owner of the vehicle were never sent any information regarding the extension of any factory warranty regarding this issue. After contacting General Motors about this issue, they stated that the vehicle is beyond the year and mileage of the extended warranty. If we would of been notified by GM about this problem with leaking fuel tanks we would of resolved this issue when we started smelling the fumes a few years back when the extended warranty would of been in effect. After contacting GM and speaking with a representative, they refused to honor the warranty. GM neglected to contact and inform us of any extended warranty that applied to our vehicle regarding this issue. We feel that this problem with the fuel tank is a safety issue that could be a potential fire hazard causing serious injury to anyone inside or around the vehicle. We are going to file a written complaint with General Motors. Please let me know how you feel about this situation. Thank you.

- Venetia, PA, USA

problem #29

Feb 032012

Trailblazer EXT 6-cyl

  • 177,000 miles
Had to replace fuel tank because filler neck cracked due to being brittle had to replace fuel pump due to top rusting out and causing a gas leak I received a large bill to replace these parts and expected them to last longer then 8 years.

- Middletown, DE, USA

problem #28

Aug 042010

Trailblazer EXT

  • miles
I, along with many others are experiencing major problems with the instrument panels on our Chevrolet trailblazer. My mother traded hers in because her speedometer was going out. But my problem is much worse, my whole entire dashboard is out. My gas gauge doesn't work, my speedometer doesn't work, my oil pressure doesn't work, my thermostat doesn't work, nothing works. My cruise control acts up too.

- Bay Saint Louis, MS, USA

problem #27

Aug 012011

Trailblazer EXT

  • 120,000 miles
Leak of gas from 2003 Chevrolet trailblazer. Point where filler neck connects to gas tank. It is defective part and leaks gas under driver side door.

- 55040, MN, USA

problem #26

Aug 032011

Trailblazer EXT 6-cyl

  • 149,000 miles


I have a 2003 Chevy Trailblazer ext the fuel pump module has started to corrode, I knew something was wrong because of the strong odor of gasoline inside the vehicle and further investigation showed a leak of gas also.this is in addition to our gas gauge not working for the last 3 years. Upon talking to multiple rep's, GM claims they sent out letters in 2007 alerting the consumer to a potential problem. I am the second owner of this vehicle. I purchased this vehicle in September 2005. GM stated that letters do get lost in the mail, when I stated we were not made aware of this situation. I was never informed of this potential hazard waiting to happen. GM claims the service bulletin had parameters of 10 years or a 120, 000 miles which ever comes first. I have been in contact with the rep several times, and have not been successful. I do have 149,000 plus miles on this vehicle. I took the truck to the local dealership, they were claiming nothing has ever been documented on this type of vehicle. This is when I did my own research and found the service bulletin as mentioned above and the complaints of this same problem all through the internet blogs. It seems we are not getting anywhere and would appreciate some condsideration from GM and taking part of the responsibility for this problem. We had our children in this car when the gas was leaking out, what if it would have caught on fire? I would like to contact our regional representative for GM.

- Decatur, IN, USA

problem #25

Jan 012011

Trailblazer EXT 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 207,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer ext. The contact stated that the fuel tank was rusted and as a result, was leaking large amounts of fuel. The dealer and manufacturer were contacted but were unable to provide assistance to the contact. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 207,000 and the current mileage was 209,000. Updated 07/26/11 updated 08/02/11

- Edgerton, WI, USA

problem #24

May 102011

Trailblazer EXT 4WD 6-cyl

  • 48,400 miles
Fuel system, other:delivery:hoses, lines/piping, and fittings fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #23

Jan 162011

Trailblazer EXT 4WD 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
I have a fuel line leak and my husband got on-line and saw that there is possibly going to be a recall. I called Chevy and the guy told me that there is a possibility of "special coverage" for this. He asked me my mileage and the VIN number then put me on hold. Then he came back on line and told me that my trailblazer was 10,000 miles over the limit for the coverage. I think this is ridiculous. It's only 7 yrs. Old and I don't think that mileage should have anything to do with it. It's a safety hazard and I have 3 children that are passengers in this vehicle. So therefore I have no vehicle until this is fixed and the cost is so outrageous that I have no idea when I'll be able to get it fixed and I have no way of getting myself to and from work and I'm going to have to try to rely on other people to take me to and from places. I think this problem should have absolutely nothing to do with mileage of a vehicle and that Chevy should fix this. I have read on-line of alot people having the same issue with their trailblazer.

- Port Washington, OH, USA

problem #22

Jun 102010

Trailblazer EXT

  • miles
I have a 2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer ext and it has started to smell like gas is leaking. After some research on the internet I have found this is more common in these vehicles than I would of thought. I have contacted my local dealer and a part is being ordered, but I would like to make sure that it will be at no cost to me to have this repaired. I understand it can fall under a special policy adjustment or tsb# 05012. This is a big safety hazard and would like to know that someone is making sure this is fixed so that a leak will not put any families at risk.

- Southbridge, MA, USA

problem #21

Jun 142010

Trailblazer EXT

  • miles
Fuel smell inside and outside of vehicle.

- Washington, NJ, USA

problem #20

Jan 012010

Trailblazer EXT

  • 130,000 miles
I own a 2003 Chevy trailblazer XLT, when I fill the tank up and park on a hill the tank leaks gas out from the top of the tank or the top of the cup that connects to and goes into the tank. I have a steep driveway and now I notice that I leak gas when I am on a full tank and parked on a steep hill...I have 3 boys ranging from 2, 4 and 14 and they all smelled and saw the gas.

- Somerset, KY, USA

problem #19

Oct 302009

Trailblazer EXT

  • 91,020 miles
Re: special policy adjustment-fuel tank inlet check valve fracture #05012. About 2 weeks ago I started to smell gasoline in a very strong way in my 2003 Chevy Trailblazer ext and had this checked out and was told that my gasoline tank neck was cracked. This apparently is a recall but I was told my vehicle had too many miles and would not receive a new gas tank. I have 3 children and the smell was very overwhelming this has to present some type of danger while driving. My vehicle is no longer under warranty and my auto mechanic can obtain a gas tank from a dealership for $600. The total cost of repair is $800. Is it possible to receive some type of reimbursement for this clear and present danger from a defect that is not my fault? thank you, denise randall

- Oxford, CT, USA

problem #18

Oct 292009

Trailblazer EXT

  • miles
I am filing a complaint against the 2003 Chevrolet trailblazer. I took my car into the mechanic because to see why the service engine light was on. He stated in that is was the evap system, meaning gases are leaking from my car. He stated in that its a common problem on these models because the hose attached to my gas tank causes the rim to crack and gas leaks through the crack everytime I fill up my car. I inquired having it fixed. In some many words he stated the only thing I could do is to replace the gas tank, but part (the hose) has not been modified from the original, so basically I will have the same problem. He showed me where the gas tank was moist from gas leaking. I am fortunate to have not been in an accident yet. However just to know that I have gas leaking from my car is enough to have me concerned. I would appreciate if someone can look into this problem. Thanks

- Louisville , KY, USA

problem #17

Nov 062009

Trailblazer EXT

  • 69,000 miles
The service engine light was coming on and we had diagnostic done and was told that it was the gas cap. We replaced several time. Everytime I drove or rode in my vehicle I smelled gas and I would get a horrible headache. My husband took my vehicle to get an emission test done we were told the fuel tank was cracked at the neck and leaking gas. We had it repaired Nov 6, 2009 after we had been told of this. The shop that repaired my vehicle said they were shocked it had not caught on fire. There was evidence this had been going on for a while. Probably when we were told the gas cap was loose is when it started, and that had been over a year before.

- Port St Lucie, FL, USA

Read the next 16 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?